Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 1073 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1073reviews

  • 5 Stars
    488
  • 4 Stars
    353
  • 3 Stars
    124
  • 2 Stars
    60
  • 1 Stars
    48

Great for a short break

By

June 30, 2021

club

room needed decorating, bathroom was a bit scruffy and toilet was stained. previous guests had clearly been smoking and the smell still lingered so we had to open the window.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable hotel and location

By

June 28, 2021

platinumelite

Very convenient as I was helping my daughter move from London to her new house in Newport

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

June 26, 2021

club

Good location - safety can be improved , mask wearing , hand gel dispensers not working
Room is very tired , hotel spent money on the reception area

Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

June 24, 2021

Could not recommend this place more, stay was excellent, the staff were brilliant could not do more for you, very comfortable surroundings, will be back next year

Read More
Read Less

Great Location but not the typical HI experience

By

June 22, 2021

The hotel was good, staff friendly and check-in/ check-out was great.
Problems
1) Bathroom did not have enough body wash for even 2 people to take bath - not great when you run out of soap in the middle of the bath
2) Kettle in the room was not clean
3) Breakfast was a bit haphazard - understandable given low number of visitors probably.

Read More
Read Less

The Staff are this hotel’s strongest asset

By

June 16, 2021

club

Despite the modern, fresh upgraded reception and fantastic lobby loos, the rest of the hotel is somewhat dated. We had an issue with room suitability on arrival but the staff made an exceptional effort to try and find us a room that would suit (wheelchair accessible). Note. Many of this hotels larger rooms are upstairs and there is no lift. Likewise the gymnasium and swimming pool are downstairs only access possible by stairs. We observe many guest disappointed that the swimming pool was closed and they appeared unaware.

Read More
Read Less

One night stay to visit family

By

June 15, 2021

club

Hotel staff all very welcoming. Hotel easy to find and free parking with IHG membership. Lovely to have a fridge in room and complimentary water on arrival. Air conditioning was great as it was a hot day. Would definitely return, hopefully when leisure facilities are back open. Enjoyed our stay .

Read More
Read Less

Very friendly staff and good food

By

June 14, 2021

It's been quite a few years since I stayed here. The bedrooms haven't been updated but the public area has and is very nice

Read More
Read Less

Quite Dated

By

June 13, 2021

The hotel feels tired. The choice of food for vegans was very poor. The walls are thin so noise from other rooms is an issue. The staff were friendly

Read More
Read Less

Bank Holiday Stay - Great Staff!

By

June 12, 2021

club

The manager and the reception staff were very helpful in resolving my issues in terms of my stay where the central reservation colleague who took the booking misleadingly stated that the pool and gym were operational at the site which was one of the principal reasons why I had decided to select this hotel. On arrival I found out that the leisure facilities were not and they went to great lengths to manage my expectations under the circumstances and I really appreciate the effort that they made. Considering that they had just reopened after lockdown and we’re operating with a reduced level of staffing the hotel was clean, comfortable and welcoming. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel as I’ve stayed at other hotels in the area previously and I didn’t receive this great level of service.

Read More
Read Less

Leisure Facilities non existent

By

June 11, 2021

Booked on the basis they had a pool. When arrived told that it was under refurbishment. They must have known this was happening when we booked but did not inform us when we booked. Happy to take our money but no services.

Evening meal was not good. The fish

Read More
Read Less

Lovely relaxing stay

By

June 09, 2021

Had a weekend with family stay, asked for 3 rooms next to each other, which we got, the staff were so friendly.

Read More
Read Less