• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Apr 2014)
(e.g. 18 Apr 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London - City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel.

    £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of accessible rooms:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your complimentary buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tidy & Comfortable A nice comfortable room, clean & tidy, bathroom clean & functional the cooked breakfast in my view could be better (Sausages 3/10, beans not much better) The staff were superb, a warm friendly greeting. Not sure if I'm being picky but £22 for car parking was over the top, but guess for where we were might have a bearing. We'll book there again 15 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel centrally located. Stayed at this property for 3 days. The hotel is located close to South-bank, Westminster and London Eye to mention just a few. Nice refurbished hotel, breakfast included, free wifi in the lobby. The staff's service level was a bit uneven, I must say that Jennifer was the most friendliest and helpful member of staff at the hotel. The rooms are adequate with A/C, coffee and tea facilities, the bathroom comes with shower only which I for one really appreciate. All in all a nice hotel but I you are used to the HIE hotels in the US, you might get a bit disappointed. When I return to the city I will probably book at another IHG property. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT HOTEL STAYED OVER THE MAY DAY BANK HOLIDAY WEEKEND WITH MY FIANCEE AND 12 YR OLD SON. THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. OUR ROOM WAS CLEAN, TIDY AND HAD EVERYTHING THAT WE NEEDED FOR OUR SHORT STAY. THE CHOICE OF BREAKFAST WAS GOOD AND HAD MORE THAN ENOUGH EVEN TO PLEASE A FUSSY 12 YR OLD !!! THE HOTEL CAR PARK ONLY HAS A FEW SPACES, BUT WE STILL MANAGED TO GET IN EVEN THOUGH WE ARRIVED LATE AFTERNOON. THE COST OF THE CAR PARK (£22 PER NIGHT) WE THOUGHT COULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED BUT WASNT !!! GREAT LOCATION ONLY A FEW MINUTES WALK TO NEAREST TUBE STATION (SOUTHWARK). IT ONLY TOOK US 15 MINUTES TO WALK TO THE LONDON EYE FROM THE HOTEL. IF YOU ARE THINKING OF BOOKING THIS HOTEL DO IT YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED ! WE WILL DEFINATELY BE GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. GREAT HOTEL !!!! 13 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favourite hotel in London Without a doubt its my favourite hotel in London. And I always try and stay here when in town. It is the perfect balance of price an service. 07 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again and recommend Service and staff were excellent and extremely friendly and very helpful. The location was far more central then I anticipated (A short walking distance from blackfriars and southwark stations and minutes away from the river and Tate). The room was spotlessly clean and the cleaning lady even knocked on the door one day to check all was ok after I'd left it ajar and fallen asleep. The only small issue I had was that the mattress was not as comfortable as those I have slept in in other holiday inns but I am used to being spoilt and slepy very well all the same. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again. The sausages served for breakfast were worthy of a mention aswell, fantastic, and not your typical cheap meatless fare. 28 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good middle of the road hotel What it lacks compared with higher-rated hotels are a minibar, safe, and toiletries. Otherwise, it's perfectly fine for what it is - you pays your money, takes your choice. 24 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful and friendly staff! We had a great stay; the room was comfortable and the service was excellent. I will definitely consider returning on my next trip to London! 22 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently good Hello. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times over the last couple of years and always recieve attentive and professional service from the friendly staff. The 2 rooms we had were on the 6th floor facing the back and they were quiet on both nights (Frid and Sat). The beds were comfortable and the bathroom facilities all good. The shower was hot and powerful. The new breakfast space was clean and adequate but busy. We had to ask a waitress to wipe the table before we could collect our food, even though she had walked past us several times clearing other tables. This was a particular high point previously enjoyed which was missing on our latest visit: the waitress actually making eye contact with you and efficiently clearing away. The food was as usual good, with a very good variety of hot and cold choices, although still no bacon. The other main feature of this hotel is it's location, easily walkable to so much. We asked the receptionist to organise a taxi for us to go to the Barbican, early on Saturday morning. The man who turned up needed his sat nav to get there. He also charged £16. The black cab we got back, independently, charged £8. Not sure what's going on there. Would still highly recommend this hotel. Overall, well done yet again. 16 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easter family break with 10 and 12 year old kids My family and I stayed here for a 2 night break at Easter, 2013. The family room was everything we needed, warm, comfortable and enough space for everyone. The shower was amazingly hot and powerful - just the thing after a long day's sight seeing! The buffet breakfast was fabulous, self service with juice, tea, coffee, sausages, eggs, beans, toast, croissants, fruit, yogurt and a choice of cereals, all fresh and hot, and no rush, as it is served from (if I remember correctly) 7:00am - 10:30am It is within easy walking distance of Southwark station (2 mins), and is only a ten min walk from the London Eye The only possible negative may be the noise from traffic/aircraft, so make sure you pack your ear plugs! The room was warm, clean and tidy, the beds comfy with a choice of firm or soft pillows, the staff helpful and friendly - I have no complaints at all, and highly recommend this hotel. 13 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location....but traffic noise was a pain. The Holiday inn express at Southwark is in an excellent location. It is no longer than a 10 minute walk from the tube station. The only issue was the traffic noise. Although we were on the 5th floor the traffic noise did disturb our daughter's and therefore our sleep. If you are a lighter sleeper I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel. All in all though and excellent stay. Thanks to all the staff. 05 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and room The Holiday Inn Express is located just 10 minutes walk from Blackfriars Station, perfect if you would like to explore central London or travel further afield. The staff were polite and professional, the room was immaculate and the bed comfortable. My only criticism was the cost of using WiFi in your room, which started at £8 for 4 hours. 03 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Such a convenient situation The Holiday Inn Express on Southwark Street offers comfort and has recently been renovated to make the public area very pleasant. Unfortunately, bacon is no longer on the breakfast menu but, to compensate, use of the computers are now free of charge! Ease of access to so many parts of London is great for business and leisure travellers alike. The RV1 bus stops almost outside the hotel and connects all parts of London from Tower Gateway to Covent Garden, the 63 bus on Blackfriars Bridge Road goes direct to St Pancras and King's Cross and Southwark tube stop on the Jubilee Line connects to all part of the tube network. 30 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, good location Having stayed in many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels, I would rate the Holiday Inn Express Southwark as a good example. The location is convenient, central - approximately 10 minutes walk from Southwark or London Bridge tube stations. The public areas of the hotel are basic, but clean and well maintained. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although possibly a little small for spending an extended amount of time in. Bathroom clean and tidy with basic essentials provided. Recommended. 13 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise from traffic and building works Well placed hotel for seeing London, close to Southbank, rooms are comfortable and bright.Good breakfast staff are pleasant & helpfull. The only drawback is traffic and a lot of building noise. 07 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good family location Not knowing the areas of London, the hotel was located in a clean and safe location, which was ideal for tube connections, close to the Thames and near to restaurants/pubs. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was good, clean, and very quiet. The mattress though was rock hard and gave me and my husband bad backs, and the room was a little too hot at night. The breakfast was great, bacon and mushrooms would have made it perfect. We didn't use the bar area, it didn't feel very 'cosy' but would recommend this hotel for a small and friendly stay. 05 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great location Stayed for three nights during a trip to london with our daughter. Having worked in the hotel business in london for nearly 20 years, both my wife and I are naturally always aware of hotel standards and service. With most hotel prices out of the reach of so many people outside the corporate sector, we were very happy to have found this hotel. Although not immediately in the centre of london, it was ony a short walk from either southwark underground or Waterloo station and therefore only 3/4 stops into town. The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast had a reasonable choice including english breakfast items, given the price of the room. The outstanding part of the stay was definately made by the staff, who were all very welcoming and professional. Most of them multi-tasked which I think is a feature of the 'express' brand but showed no problem in being able to adapt to different areas of the hotel. The staff of a hotel will always make a difference to your stay, whether good or bad and this was definately a good stay. 03 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Successful Refurbishement the refurbishment has worked brilliantly - nothing to fault (although face cloths in the bathroom & biscuits in the bedroon remain sadly missed! 03 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, good value and good location Good location, clean and comfortable and a good breakfast. 02 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in a fantastic location Perfectly placed for the Southbank (Tate Modern, The Shard, Borough Market, The Globe etc) this hotel was clean, comfotable and came with wonderful service from the staff. Complimentary breakfast was of good quality and plenty of it so an ideal set up for the day ahead. Would definately stay here again. 28 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly welcome and comfortable stay My wife and I were delighted by the welcome we received at Holiday inn, Southwark. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing our room earlier than we expected and always greeting us with a smile. the room was clean, spacious and provided all that we needed. the bed was comfortable. Inevitably it was rather noisy, being on such a busy street. 25 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Building Site This was a booking for 6 rooms and 7 work colleagues which I made on recommendation from an online booking company. When we all arrived after a long journey, we were greeted by a building site - both inside and outside (next plot) the property. The wind was blowing a gale in reception and the reception staff could hardly be heard above the banging and hammering. The lift was tiny and antisocial with guests crammed together in close contact. The Complimentary WIFI, dd not work and breakfast was dire. The sausages inedible, no bacon and plastic sheeting everywhere. I could have been more disappointed for me and my colleagues who were there to attend an awards ceremony and had not been to London before. I had hoped this would be a special experience for them. This is not what I expect from Holiday Inn, a chain which I use on a regular basis through work. 12 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good clean room Nice stay in a good location. Room very good, nice, comfortable bed and easy chair. Breakfast a bit of a let down. 11 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall I Have to say this was the worse hotel I have stayed @ in the IHG group in 12 years, & will not be staying again :- 1) Breakfast Poor 2) Building work going on when I arrived , that I was not warned off and there was no bar .. 3) Pipes were rattling all night and could not sleep 4) Order Newspaper that never arrived 5) Check out staff clearly need some happy pills . 08 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by del The hotel is under a major refurbishment in the lobby and breakfast area but this is not mentioned by anybody at the time of booking. The corridors are cramped, the only lift is old and clunky. The bedrooms are tiny and very unclean, including black mound in the bathroom, and cracked tiles all over the place. But the worst of all was the radiator next to the bed which made loud noise all night long, rendering sleep impossible. Do recommmend this place to your worst enemies! I will add that the staff did their best under very difficult circumstances. But management should be ashamed! 08 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff but No Restaurant. The staff at the Hotel was excellent. Very helpful. I faced problem due to lack of in-house Restaurant for Lunch and Dinner. There is no Lunch, Dinner or room service. There was heavy snow in London and we could not go out for Lunch or Dinner and had to remain on food bought from India. Also there were no closed cupboard but an open closet for cloths. You do not like to keep your cloths in open. there was renovation work going on but the staff provided free internet vouchers to be used in the room as there was lot of disturbances in the lobby. Again an excellent attitude of the staff. See some photos of snow with the Hotel staff. 28 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay It was very pleasurable my stay and my deepest thank you to the helpdesk crew who was extremely helpful all the time. 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room & Comfortable beds Ten minutes from South Bank, five mins from tube, great location for exploring London. We had a quiet room that was really well designed. Well worth returning to. 23 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location My partner and I came for a theatre visit,this hotel is ideally situated within easy walking distance of not only Dury lane but all else that London as to offer, The reception staff were very welcoming and professional.u Upon our arrival we were greeted with a smile and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. We are already planning a return visit. 21 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really good value for money Would stay there again. Very good value for money considering the location. 21 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second visit not as good as the first, but third visit already booked. This was our second visit as the location is fantastic. Just off Waterloo and close to the Tate etc and all the bars and restaurants that the southbank offers. From here, we walked to the barbican (no time at all) and the V & A (quite a walk, but well worth it). We were given a room on the 6th floor and the receptionist seemed to imply this was a good thing. I'm sure it might be elsewhere, but our room (604# had a low level rumbling generator above it #on the roof?# which ran all night. The manager seemed horrified that this was the case and that we had not spoken up earlier #perhaps we should have, I think they would have moved us). The breakfast was adequate due to the renervations and there was reduced space to sit. However, this will not put us off as we know how good this hotel normally is and it's location suits us. 20 January 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions