Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Amstel Amsterdam

WELCOME TO

Amsterdam

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Aad van den Berg
Chef Concierge, Aad van den Berg

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

BICYCLES

Bicycles are the fastest and most efficient way of exploring the city, however they can also be a bit of a nuisance when walking around the city. Before crossing the road, make always sure you look in all directions as you cannot normally hear their approach.
A GRAND DUTCH RESIDENCE
Since it opened in 1867, this luxury Amsterdam hotel has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Noteworthy features include Michelin-starred restaurant, La Rive, overlooking Amstel River, crystal chandeliers in the Amstel Lounge and a 15 metre heated indoor pool. This landmark Amsterdam hotel is ideally located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, within walking distance of the Van Gogh Museum and the Royal Carré Theatre.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Dinner options include: La Rive, a one-star Michelin restaurant serving French Mediterranean cuisine. Amstel Brasserie, a more casual setting featu...
  • Amenities & Services

    Make sure you get a chance to visit our recently renovated Health and fitness club. Enjoy the horizontal shower, the indoor swimming pool, or get a...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Amstel Amsterdam
  • Professor Tulpplein 1
  • Amsterdam , 1018 GX
  • Netherlands
  • Front Desk +31-20-6226060

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Dutch

Pet Policy

All Pets Allowed. Pet fee not applicable with guided dogs or service animals
Pet Fee €60.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:10 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 1 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 191 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel! Really nice stuff and the connection to the train station next to the hotel is really good, 5 minutes to amsterdam centraal station :) Also the breakfast which is for free was really good. (also free wifi in the Hotel and in the Room) It was a nice stay in Amsterdam for us, Thank You!! August 19, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Nice hotel expecially if you stay on the opposite side of Station. You won't hear any noice of trains. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, easy to travel to city. August 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff were welcoming and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. Only drawback was storage in bedrooms - if you are staying for longer than a couple of days - I was staying eight days and sharing a room - there is little space to store clothes. Bathroom was wonderful - I hate showers normally but this one was fabulous - plenty of room and powerful jet. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Very nice hotel. The city centre is very easily accessible on either tram or bus and you can get a bus ticket for 24, 48 or 72 hours from the front desk. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as an excellent base to visit Amsterdam. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service with a smile Of all our stays at Holiday Inns throughout Europe, this was by far, the one that stood out for friendliness of staff. They could not do enough for us and always with a smile. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value - spacious and comfortable room Stayed at the hotel 4 – 6th August; requested a top floor room (views across the station and surrounding area) a couple of days before our arrival and this was allocated on arrival. Very tidy, clean and modern bedroom and shower room – free wi-fi, flat screen tv with BBC1 & BBC2 (not that we watched much), desk and desk chair, easy chair and a very comfortable bed. Excellent continental breakfast (rolls, cheeses, meats, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit etc. etc.) served between 6:30 & 10:00. All the staff were extremely helpful, polite and cheerful and our room was cleaned and tidied thoroughly on a daily basis. Hotel is literally a stones throw from the station and trains appear to run frequently – we did not have to wait for a train more than 15 minutes maximum travelling in either direction and the journey takes only 5 or 6 minutes and is only one stop. When we flew in we purchased single tickets from Schiphol to Amsterdam Central (having first confirmed that we could break our journey at Sloterdijk to check in at the hotel) for €3.90 each. We then purchased single tickets back to Sloterdijk from Amsterdam Central for €2.10 each. Make sure you have plenty of change as the ticket machines only take Maestro cards and don’t accept notes. Remember to enter ‘Amsterdam Sloterdijk’ into the machines as ‘Sloterdijk’ by itself is not recognised. The following day we bought return tickets for €4.20 each. Could not work out how the room thermostat worked – we probably should have asked at reception! Will definitely use this hotel again when returning to Amsterdam. August 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT EXPERIENCE This was our first time in AMESTERDAM the easy location from airport to HOTEL. We had a Great stay from the first staff meeting us to our breakfast staff saying GOOD BYE!!! Thanks August 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very handy to airport and city centre. The hotel is situated on the train line to city centre and at the end of Tram no. 12 which makes it very convenient to get to and from the airport and the city centre. Hotel is the usual high standard as you would expect from Holiday Inns. Breakfast is an excellent selection of the Continental type. The rooms are very up to date and clean. My only gripe is that the mattress was way too soft for my liking as I like a firm one. I do not know if you have a choice like you do with the pillows. Room cooling in the very hot weather was not very effective and room got a bit stuffy with the outside temperature in the 30's. Otherwise .a very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Brackley .UK August 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business hotel,nice and functional room with good wifi Clean room. Good for short term stay. Breakfast can be improved with more variety. August 1, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by It is not in fact air-con - it is more like building climate control This hotel is in a good position for travelling. You can get there in a few minutes on the train, or in an hour with the metro buses from the airport. The rooms are clean and in good condition. The shower is great. The air-con does not work and that is true for all rooms. It is not in fact air-con - it is more like building climate control. I would not book this hotel in summer. Never again! I would only consider booking there in the cooler months. Would have been 4 stars with working air-con. July 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff Great location - 5 minute train trip into Amsterdam central station and a tram that drops you close to the Van Gogh Museum. We were able to sleep with the windows open as it was quiet at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but some items ran out as we would come down 30 minutes before the breakfast service ended. All in all, great if you want to be close to Amsterdam and get a good quiet nights sleep at an affordable rate! July 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Evn thou our visit was short and we arrived at the hotel behind a large group the staff moved along quickly and very friendly to everyone there in the lobby Was impressed at how fluent they were in mutilple languages And accommodated everyone We were checked in very quickly and when ask question on the area the staff was very knowledgeable Thank you to all the staff We had a wonderful stay and will be sure to stay At the same location on our next trip over July 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend experience We were in Amsterdam for a concert and stayed at holiday inn express.our room was comfortable and service good .my only complaint would be lack of atmosphere within the hotel it is obviously a quick stop for business and travellers.still good value and the transport system is on the doorstep and very punctual and efficient. July 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable basic hotel The location is great. Easy access next to the Sloterdijk Station, which is a quick 5 min ride from Amsterdam Central or 15 min from the airport. I found the reception to be fantastic, each and every time I approached them, no matter the time. Each person was warm, welcoming and should be commended for their service. The rooms are basic but nice, clean, and quiet. The tea/coffee in the room was pleasant to have. The wifi worked well. There's no fitness center at the hotel. The elevators are a bit slow and seemed to always want to go down (from reception) before going back up - several of us noticed this, but that was a minor inconvenience. The new noodle dish vending machine in reception was great. July 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money, quiet surrounding Close to amsterdam city centre. Only 6 minutes by train or 15 minutes by bus (bgv line no.48). Quiet and has a nice breakfast. The room is clean, and there is a tea/coffee making facility in the room. The receptionists are helpful and friendly. The only thing needs improvement is the reduce if the waiting time for an escalator June 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Stay We arrived from Canada early in the morning, well before check in time, and much to our delight and surprise, we were given a room. After a night flight with no sleep, this was exactly what we wanted! We were on our way to meet the ship the following day for a Baltic Cruise. Not only that, the gal told us to go in and have breakfast. So much fresh food, so many choices, excellent variety of coffee! Upon arriving at the airport, you take the train, just 2 stops, very short ride and you simply get off right at the hotel. To go into Central Amsterdam, you take the train, one stop and you are there! Location, Location, Location!! Friendly staff, gal who looked after us was awesome...so sorry, I did write your name down and now I cannot find it. However, you will know who I am referring to. Thanks Holiday Inn for our excellent stay and our first impression of your lovely City. June 26, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Property Property is next to, not above station. Station is convenient to downtown via train as well as Schipol via train. Rooms are basic but nice. There is some train noise but it is not too bad. Internet and breakfast is good. Not much around though so either have a car or be willing to train a bit for night life or food. June 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Value for money, comfortable and clean The hotel is almost directly at Sloterdijk Station, with direct lines both to the airport and city center, Only 15 minutes on the bus to the Central Station or 5 minutes by train. Very clean and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff. Check in & out was made easy. We enjoyed staying here. June 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleaning staff Great hotel, quiet and next to train station so one stop to center city. Great staff but cleaning people need to be retrained. Missed a lot when cleaning the room. Still, I'd stay there again if in the area. June 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and Great Location Our first time to Amsterdam, it was easily located beside the station. Only a 5 minute train ride into Center. The room itself was clean and the staff was helpful. June 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and clean atmosphere We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, transportation from this location is any place is very convenient. We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel in the future. June 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - right next to train and other public transportation This is a high end Express location and would recommend it to anyone. Like other European locations, it serves drinks and has a limited but appropriate food menu. One criticism - no workout room.... June 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Handy to transport, comfortable First time in Amsterdam, stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our time immensely. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate. Everything was clean and even though right next door to the train station, we were not disturbed by any train noise. Although not able to just walk into the city (need to catch a train/bus/tram), it was handy as we needed to travel by train to 2 other cities while there. Only one restaurant close by, but of course one can eat in the city and then train it to the hotel - 5 minutes. Main drawback was access to the front entrance with heavy bags, lugging them down stairs from the train station. And the entrance is a bit hidden, we needed directions from the train staff. A sign in the station would help. Other than that, enjoyed our stay. May 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn at Sloterdjik Station in Amsterdam Very pleasant 3 night stay while visiting Amsterdam last week. The hotel met or exceeded all of my expectations for a Holiday Inn. It is conveniently located on a main rail station only 1 stop from Amsterdam's Central station, and only 10 minutes by train from the airport! Also streetcar 12 stops just across the street, that also goes directly to the center of town. The breakfast served was better than what could be ordered in most restaurants, and the free wi-fi is another plus. May 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location convienient for airport and centre We travelled as a group for the Europa final at the Amsterdam Arena. Hotel convenient for the airport (20 min) , city centre (10 min) and Amsterdam Arena (30 min) all direct from sloterdjck. Tram 12 goes direct to museums and heineke experience. May 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent standards from Holiday Inn Express The hotel was well located within easy reach of the airport and city centre of Amsterdam. It has excellent train links to the airport and the central station with direct tram links to the main museums. The hotel was very comfortable and welcoming. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon. May 19, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury and convenience Good size room, quiet, comfortable and clean. Easy access from Amsterdam city and airport, on tram, bus or train. Just buy your 24 hour ticket, and you are in the centre of the city in minutes without any noise or hassle. I will definitely stay there again. May 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay - Excellent Location Excellent location. Front desk and breakfast room staff were very accommodating and helpful. Very limited number of safe deposit boxes so ask early in your stay if you'll need one. Wonderfully convenient internet access with 2 computers in lobby. Ice machine not convenient since it's only in the lobby and not on each floor. Very nice choices on the breakfast bar but absolutely no variety from one day to the next. Don't expect toiletries in bathroom but still a very nicely appointed room. Remember as in most European hotels, there are no washcloths in the bathroom. Closet is very small and storage is very limited. Very convenient to train station, Dam Square and Schipol airport but there is some train noise if you are on that side of the building. May 5, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff, Good Service, Excellent location, well connected The staff was very friendly and efficient. They understood the customer and their specific needs. Rooms were given as per the preference without waiting. Breakfast options were good. Hotel is very well connected by Bus, Tram, Train, Metro yet away from the crowds of the city. Good Value for the money paid. May 3, 2013
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>