Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Amstel Amsterdam

WELCOME TO

Amsterdam

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Aad van den Berg
Chef Concierge, Aad van den Berg

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

BICYCLES

Bicycles are the fastest and most efficient way of exploring the city, however they can also be a bit of a nuisance when walking around the city. Before crossing the road, make always sure you look in all directions as you cannot normally hear their approach.
A GRAND DUTCH RESIDENCE
Since it opened in 1867, this luxury Amsterdam hotel has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Noteworthy features include Michelin-starred restaurant, La Rive, overlooking Amstel River, crystal chandeliers in the Amstel Lounge and a 15 metre heated indoor pool. This landmark Amsterdam hotel is ideally located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, within walking distance of the Van Gogh Museum and the Royal Carré Theatre.

Guest Reviews

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Dinner options include: La Rive, a one-star Michelin restaurant serving French Mediterranean cuisine. Amstel Brasserie, a more casual setting featu...
  • Amenities & Services

    Make sure you get a chance to visit our recently renovated Health and fitness club. Enjoy the horizontal shower, the indoor swimming pool, or get a...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Amstel Amsterdam
  • Professor Tulpplein 1
  • Amsterdam , 1018 GX
  • Netherlands
  • Front Desk +31-20-6226060

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Dutch

Pet Policy

All Pets Allowed. Pet fee not applicable with guide dogs or service animals
Pet Fee €60.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:35 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 1 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 208 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by overpriced I have stayed at Holiday Inn hotels for around 50 years, and this is the poorest value that I`ve experienced with them. To be charged a room rate of 208 euros for this suburban Amsterdam 4 star hotel was, in my opinion, greatly overpriced. October 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was cold This holiday inn was excellent with the acception of the room and the non-functioning HVAC system. The room was a little on the chilly side, making it difficult to sleep. I tried increasing the room temp using the thermostat with no desired effect. The location to the train station and overall amenities was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly, curious and helpfull though. September 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff, great location Stayed here as a base for touring Amsterdam. Awesome location - walk downstairs and catch the tram, metro or bus anywhere. We didn't here any noise from the station either. Convenient on site parking also. The staff was very friendly and made certain to recognize me as a Rewards Club member. Bar tender was friendly and helpful as well. Rooms are European standard - a bit on the cramped side, but clean and sufficient amenities. Breakfast was good - but very busy!! The staff did a good job of keeping things stocked so there as plenty of food available. September 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Very nice property. Steps away from Sloterdijk station which is a definite advantage. Would have appreciated a fridge in the room however to keep cold beverages and lunch items. Restaurant on premises would have also been appreciated. All in all, a great stay! September 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at a nice convenient hotel Great stay at a nice convenient hotel. Will definitely stay again. September 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice size room and comfortable bed Over all a great experience, great location for seeing the city easy in and out with train and or tram. September 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Amsterdam- Sloterdijk Station I enjoyed the hotel very much. The staff was very helpful. Your breakfasts were very good and had a lot of choices! Thank you for a wonderful stay! September 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great breakfast I loved this hotel because of its location at Sloterdijk station because you were only one stop away from Central station (which is where all the action is) and at the end of the day you could get away from the chaos. I saw other people dragging their luggage around the busy area of Central Station and did not envy them. We simply got off the train at Sloterdijk and the hotel was right next to it. The breakfast was awesome. Though a cold continental breakfast, there were so many options and it was very filling. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and spacious. We were facing the track but didn't seem to notice the noise, though if you did have the window open it definitely was noisy. I would definitely stay here again. Only negative was there wasn't a great restaurant nearby. There is a bar at the hotel which doesn't serve food and a Starbucks and convenience store at the train station but nothing in the hotel. September 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The reception is always staffed and the staff is professional though always friendly and helpful. I had forgotten an item in my room after checking out, not realising it until I was at the airport. Just one call solved the whole matter. The item was found and safely placed in a safety box for me to pick up and the next visit. However obvious it is the calm way in which they responded to me impressed me the most. This kind of experience is a perfect example on good customer service. September 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel with great service Good train station into central station 5mins Clean and tidy rooms Friendly and polite staff Enjoyed unlimited wifi useage Easy to get about Only 10 mins from airport September 8, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice location and good value Instead of paying 50 % more for being in the city center; this is a good alternative. easy to reach from airport and city by train and brand new is this a nice place. Hard to reach with luggage however since the "mistery" entrance is not reachable with luggage and you need to climb quite some stairs when arriving by train. Friendly staff! September 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beside the station Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station, the 2nd stop from Airport. This hotel build beside the station. But Hotel entrance is not same floor as station exit. Going down from the station, and you'll arrive entrance. August 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice experience Location excellent close to train station which allow you to reach in 5 minutes centre of amsterdam Rooms capcious well furnitured and clean service excellent Breakfast reasonable and satisfying enjoyed accomodation only drawback reception in the first floor if haveheavy luggage need to pull to escalator if going leave by train overall i would recommend and come back again August 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tidy and comfortable, great bathroom Tidy and quiet room (though opposite to railway), comfortable bed, big bathroom; brakfast average but OK; very helpful service staff; good connection to city; would stay there again August 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in Amsterdam area I always stay at this Holiday Inn Express in Sloterdijk Station when I am visiting Amsterdam. They are very accommodating. The location is steps from the Metro train so it makes it easy to get around. It is 2 stops from the Airport and 3 stops from Central Station Amsterdam. The staff is friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay memorable. The hotel is clean and quiet. This hotel is a good value. The breakfast is outstanding... I also felt the hotel was safe with appropriate security systems in place. I would strongly recommend this hotel. I travel as a single woman and would never hesitate to book this hotel every time I visit Amsterdam for business or pleasure. August 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cheaper than the city! Hotel's in Amsterdam tend to be on the pricey side, so staying at this hotel was a better bet for me, and the price included breakfast. The Hotel is very well placed for quick access by train to Amsterdam Central (7 mins# and Schiphol airport #10 mins#. The rooms are of a good size and comfortable and I found no noise problems, though I was not on the main #elevated# railway line side of the hotel. The breakfast was of a good standard, not a massive selection but as good as some hotels where you pay extra for this service. The only thing not included is a city tax which is a percentage of the room rate and paid in a separate transaction, but this is Dutch policy and not the fault of the hotel. #Same applied at other hotels in Holland) August 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and locataion are great! This hotel is really conveniently located. All public transportation is literally right at the front door. The flip side of the coin is that public transportation, especially the trains, cause noise and the windows are not the best for keeping out the noise. The staff were very helpful and friendly. All in all we had a good stay there and would go back again. August 20, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel! Really nice stuff and the connection to the train station next to the hotel is really good, 5 minutes to amsterdam centraal station :) Also the breakfast which is for free was really good. (also free wifi in the Hotel and in the Room) It was a nice stay in Amsterdam for us, Thank You!! August 19, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Nice hotel expecially if you stay on the opposite side of Station. You won't hear any noice of trains. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, easy to travel to city. August 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff were welcoming and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. Only drawback was storage in bedrooms - if you are staying for longer than a couple of days - I was staying eight days and sharing a room - there is little space to store clothes. Bathroom was wonderful - I hate showers normally but this one was fabulous - plenty of room and powerful jet. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Very nice hotel. The city centre is very easily accessible on either tram or bus and you can get a bus ticket for 24, 48 or 72 hours from the front desk. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as an excellent base to visit Amsterdam. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service with a smile Of all our stays at Holiday Inns throughout Europe, this was by far, the one that stood out for friendliness of staff. They could not do enough for us and always with a smile. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value - spacious and comfortable room Stayed at the hotel 4 – 6th August; requested a top floor room (views across the station and surrounding area) a couple of days before our arrival and this was allocated on arrival. Very tidy, clean and modern bedroom and shower room – free wi-fi, flat screen tv with BBC1 & BBC2 (not that we watched much), desk and desk chair, easy chair and a very comfortable bed. Excellent continental breakfast (rolls, cheeses, meats, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit etc. etc.) served between 6:30 & 10:00. All the staff were extremely helpful, polite and cheerful and our room was cleaned and tidied thoroughly on a daily basis. Hotel is literally a stones throw from the station and trains appear to run frequently – we did not have to wait for a train more than 15 minutes maximum travelling in either direction and the journey takes only 5 or 6 minutes and is only one stop. When we flew in we purchased single tickets from Schiphol to Amsterdam Central (having first confirmed that we could break our journey at Sloterdijk to check in at the hotel) for €3.90 each. We then purchased single tickets back to Sloterdijk from Amsterdam Central for €2.10 each. Make sure you have plenty of change as the ticket machines only take Maestro cards and don’t accept notes. Remember to enter ‘Amsterdam Sloterdijk’ into the machines as ‘Sloterdijk’ by itself is not recognised. The following day we bought return tickets for €4.20 each. Could not work out how the room thermostat worked – we probably should have asked at reception! Will definitely use this hotel again when returning to Amsterdam. August 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT EXPERIENCE This was our first time in AMESTERDAM the easy location from airport to HOTEL. We had a Great stay from the first staff meeting us to our breakfast staff saying GOOD BYE!!! Thanks August 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very handy to airport and city centre. The hotel is situated on the train line to city centre and at the end of Tram no. 12 which makes it very convenient to get to and from the airport and the city centre. Hotel is the usual high standard as you would expect from Holiday Inns. Breakfast is an excellent selection of the Continental type. The rooms are very up to date and clean. My only gripe is that the mattress was way too soft for my liking as I like a firm one. I do not know if you have a choice like you do with the pillows. Room cooling in the very hot weather was not very effective and room got a bit stuffy with the outside temperature in the 30's. Otherwise .a very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Brackley .UK August 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business hotel,nice and functional room with good wifi Clean room. Good for short term stay. Breakfast can be improved with more variety. August 1, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by It is not in fact air-con - it is more like building climate control This hotel is in a good position for travelling. You can get there in a few minutes on the train, or in an hour with the metro buses from the airport. The rooms are clean and in good condition. The shower is great. The air-con does not work and that is true for all rooms. It is not in fact air-con - it is more like building climate control. I would not book this hotel in summer. Never again! I would only consider booking there in the cooler months. Would have been 4 stars with working air-con. July 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff Great location - 5 minute train trip into Amsterdam central station and a tram that drops you close to the Van Gogh Museum. We were able to sleep with the windows open as it was quiet at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but some items ran out as we would come down 30 minutes before the breakfast service ended. All in all, great if you want to be close to Amsterdam and get a good quiet nights sleep at an affordable rate! July 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Evn thou our visit was short and we arrived at the hotel behind a large group the staff moved along quickly and very friendly to everyone there in the lobby Was impressed at how fluent they were in mutilple languages And accommodated everyone We were checked in very quickly and when ask question on the area the staff was very knowledgeable Thank you to all the staff We had a wonderful stay and will be sure to stay At the same location on our next trip over July 21, 2013
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>