Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 256 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experience -It took 1.5 hour for having four bowls of noodle arriving the room -The table lamp was broken -It took 6 calls, 1.5 hour for getting a heater because of the poor English level of the staff. -The seafood buffet was so unimpressive with limited choices and not up to standard quality 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful location and property Overall one of the most beautiful properties I have seen. While location is remote it is worth it as a destination. Stunning architecture and views. I think more recognition to IHG Ambassodor status is required. It was a bit lacking and I had to speak with manager who did take care of matter. The airport lounge and staff were great. A very valuable perk! 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Resort, Awesome service! We just got back from this resort and stayed for a week celebrating Christmas there. My husband and I took our two boys and had a wonderful week. The weather (chilly and no sunshine) was the only thing that was not ok about the week, but the resort made up for it by a long shot. We booked airport transportation to the hotel through the hotel and it was wonderful. They had people waiting on us to get our luggage and the car was right out front. It was about a 30 minute ride to the airport and although it was 1:00am the hotel was working just like it was 1:00pm. Our room was beautiful! We stayed in the Heaven level on the very top and had a beautiful view down. The bathroom is as big as the bedroom and it was so neat. The shower has a window that opens up to the outdoor area. Amazing views!! We slept with the sliding doors open every single night hearing the waves!! The entire resort is amazing! There are so many nooks and crannies to relax and beautiful architecture to look at. Can be very romantic or excellent for a family. Beautiful at night because it was all lit up and had fire torches. The day is amazing too with the views. The nam tram is so cool to ride down to each level or the ocean level. Also, they have golf carts (buggies as they call them) to take you anywhere in the resort. The staff was always helpful and on top of their service. Pretty much everyone we dealt with spoke English too. The food was so good! Of course on the expensive side, but it's a resort so you can expect that. Try the Vietnamese food at Citron, so Yummie! Breakfast there is buffet and delicious too. Our favorite was the long bar! (Right next to it is the kids cafe and our kids loved it!) Barefoot cafe is great and when you order at the Long Bar the food comes from there. The kids club was perfect! Great location and staff was wonderful. They knew our boys names by the end of the second visit and had excellent activities. They provided free dinner some nights too!! Definitely recommend this resort and would love to go back when it's warmer. :-) THUMBS UP by far! ***** 5 STAR!!! 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful architecture; good scenery The overall architectural design of the resort is beautiful. The cable car service that links different levels of the resort is unique, convenient and interesting. The resort staff is friendly and the concierge staff is helpful. However, the buggy service in the morning is not reliable. On two occasions, we called the buggy, waited for some time but the buggy did not arrive. 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Where "Heaven" meets "Earth" and "Sea"..... fantastic stay! We just returned from staying at this luxurious, and beautiful property.... it was NOT the right season to go, it was very cold, and windy. it was usually cold this year, and therefore, my kids were disappointed that no water sports, no swimming, and it was always so troublesome to get all bundled up before I let them go out the door. The AMAZING thing was, despite this weather, (lucky it never rained during our 6 days of stay).... we had a fantastic and amazing vacation. It was very relaxing, and very memorable. The whole resort is so beautiful, and simply breathtaking. From the reception, to the restaurants, and the rooms, and the Nam Tram ...all the decor, design, and atmosphere is amazing, and wonderfully unique and unforgettable. Like many have commented, hardware is all there.... however, staff still needs a bit of training. English speaking wise wasn't a huge problem for me, it was as I witnessed for many other guests. I don't mind their English skills not being top notch, I spoke slower, and found simpler words, the staff wants to help, their attitude beats SO many other hotels I have been to. They can't do enough for you, IF you give them a chance. The professionalism of housekeeping team still needs work though. It's hit and miss, but this is really minor things, it didn't bother me much, but it is worth noting. I get days with my bathroom amenities replenished with TWO shampoos, and one conditioner, when I really need the SHOWER gel..... the slippers at my turndown service each night is always mismatched, one big and one small. They forget to open and close curtains, and the funniest thing was while we were IN our room, they opened our door and came in to do housekeeping ! We had a connecting room, but it was connected by a foyer. So you have to close this GIGANTIC door that is outside the foyer to get privacy. It is two separate rooms with the doors facing each other, (let you imagine), once you close the foyer door, you can walk across the room like it's connecting. The rooms are HUGE ! I made my daily walking target number of steps from just walking from my room to my kids' room I think ! The bathtub is beautiful, you don't want to get out of it once you soaking in it, facing the spectacular view. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept on ( I travel a lot, and to many 5-6 star properties)... I slept like a baby EVERY night. It is amazing. Their TV entertainment is also stunning, thousands of movies, FREE of charge to watch. Kid's channel with cartoon network and kids' movies....hundreds to choose from. Spa was very good too. Thank you to Christina for everything. And the staff at the spa, thank you for a great time. My daughter had her first kid's massage... she enjoyed very much. So thoughtful of the Harnn Spa to offer such a choice to kids. Not only parents get to relax and massage..... Love the Harnn Spa products, bought SO much back to Hong Kong. Citron 's service was amazing. Thank you for every staff who helped us and made our every meal there so pleasant. I lost my scarf there and they kept it and gave it back to me next time they saw me. On the Sunday Brunch of Dec 22, my kids had a good time in the kids' corner. made handcrafts, and beading.... and the "yellow " themed brunch was not only delicious, it was stunning to see. A visual feast ! It was so beautiful and so creative by the team in Citron. The kids' club- Tram, and rest of the staff there, thank you so much for your care, and genuine dedication to ensuring my kids had fun ,and a good time. My kids cannot wait to return. Highlight to mention is the Nam Tram. The resort has this Tram that takes you from top of the resort down to the bottom. It is HEAVEN (where reception, concierge, and Citron located), then you go down one level to SKY (where we stayed and shops are), and then to EARTH (where the Three Star Michelin restaurant La Maison and other suites are), then finally down to SEA, where the beach, spa, kids' club, the LOOONG bar, the gym, swimming pools are located. It is so nice to go into the Nam Tram (beautiful design) and the tram operator asks you "where would you like to go" , and depending on where you are going, you will hear "HEAVEN please".... or "EARTH please"..... You can also do the hundreds of steps as good exercises to access each level. My husband walked everyday.... I think each time it is 210 steps..... We also booked tour through the hotel to Hoi An and Farming tour. Fabulous time. I booked airport and hotel transfer through the hotel. SO much to write about still, but I think this is long enough. Had the pleasure to meet with the GM, Arnaud, and the resort manager Bruno. Keep it up please, you and your team are doing very well. We are planning to return very soon, cannot wait to be on the beach when it's warmer weather. 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best experience I have had in a longtime. I don't even know where to start. This trip was for myself and my new fiance and we both had an amazing experience at this resort. From the day we got there till the day we left everything was just perfect. I would like to thank all the staff and managers you all made our vacation a memorable one. Thank you 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Resort ever! I normally do not rate or review places I go but this place is a "Hidden Paradise". For a property that is only open for a little over year and a half this place is gorgeous. My trip was during Christmas and it was very festive. The room we got was an Atrium suite and it was amazing beautiful. We booked a premiuim room and paid $200 extra for Ambassador status and they gave us an upgrade with a 4pm check out which I recommened to anyone who does not have a membership with IHG. Picture does not do this place justice but I am a frequent traveler to places like Paris, Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Italy and this is by far the nicest resort I have stayed in. So with that said...you must stay here to really know how it is. The only downside I have about this place is it's pretty cold in the winter and if you like to surf bring a wet suit. Also it's a 20 minute drive down into Da Nang so if you like to eat local food then by taxi is usually $10-12 dollar which is not bad. There is always a taxi standing by so no need for car rental. 28 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE Unforgettable vacation in Da Nang.Everything are good,but the weather is so cold,so I didn't have enjoined the sea.Definitely will coming again but not in Winter! 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one of the best resort in asia totally over expectation! my friend and i were so satisfied. would love to have more water sports option at beach. what a beautiful resort! staffs are trying their best to provide ultimate service. our waiter in restaurant was excellent. the heavy umbrella was miss placed a little bit cause we are having a late lunch, he was trying all he can to move it even though it weight so much!!!!! so appreciated!!! 22 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful holiday We choose Internental resort Danang for our 15 year wedding anniversary. This is a wonderful resort. However, maybe we stayed on the low season, not too many guests here, resort tried to fix things: clearing cesspool with bad smell, mosquito repellenting, shop repairing with noises....that disturbed the wonderful and perfect environment (like a heaven) a little bit. Be careful with low season. And should choose Black Ha for your ourdoor activities, he is charming, experienced and enthusiastic Anyway, this is the most beautiful resort that we 've ever stay. 17 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantasic beach resort The hotel is very beautiful, and stylish. Food also very good, and not so expensive for IC standard. This I book a atrium suite and upgrade to beach villa, quite nice, and super huge. Good for holiday. Although price is a little high 13 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by First or Second Class? The resort is hidden away on the drive from Da Nang as you wind along the road past the Lady Budha statue. But once you get on site it appears stunning. On the first day the staff were absolutely brilliant and we sampled La Maison where the food was brilliant as was the service and staff. In parallel It became clear that the resort was getting ready for a conference for a large Corporation, we initially didn't think this would matter, unfortunately the second day and night at the resort were not great as we were challenged on the way to our room to check whether we were part of the corporation, on hearing we weren't the staff were not actually sure how to handle us. Similarly, going to the gym, I was challenged on the way as to was I part of the Corporation or not - with no explanation as to what difference that made! Going to dinner, that evening we were not allowed to try La Maison again because apparently it had been booked out even though we had provided plenty of notice and could clearly see that the hotel was not actually full. Finally, on checking out, having requested concierge to send a buggy for our bags, 30mins later, a second phone call by pressing the Concierge button on the phone actually ended up as the hotline to the Corporation helpdesk who kindly passed our message to "another" concierge (whoever that was - we don't know) So ultimately, what was potentially a great couple of days was spoilt by the fact that we were treated as second class citizens on for the latter part of the stay and that was why I have downgraded the Overall Experience and Memorable Experience to average rather than more positive. 27 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Hotel Staff The room was top notch. Hotel staff in general are all horrible. They have bad attitude. I was checking out at 4.30AM to catch my early flight back home. A guy at front desk looked at me like "what do you want ?!" Saw me there, didn't care, kept doing his work for about 15seconds then pretend like he just saw me and switch on his fake smile. Oh and there was a bell boy who wouldn't leave unless I paid him with my backup $20 bill. No, I did not have any other cash on hand. Only stay for a night and expect to pay everything with credit card. I will not go back there ever again. 22 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay! The intercontinental fullfil all my expectations, in terms of decor, luxury, confort and even value for money. I don't think a hotel at this scale can be found for this rate anywhere else in the world. The Asian theme, the attention to detail and the understanding of the space was beyond anything I ever seem in Southeast Asia. Is the Charlie and the chocolate factory of decoration. Views, service, foods and everything else is perfect. La Maison 1888 was a unique experience that one can only wish to repeat over and over again. Don't miss it. Beach is ok. Is quite far from downtown Danang and Hoi An but suttle is available. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The existence of Paradise I have just spent 3 days in the resort for business as well as for pleasure. Being an atheist I was surprised at how this wonderful resort managed to put a doubt in my mind as to the existence of paradise:) I loved everything about the place, The amazing bathroom, The unique way in which the resort is organised ,The beauty of the surrounding nature, the private bay , The bathroom, The luxurious service ,The gentle staff speaking rather good English, The caring Management, The bathroom, The gorgeous retail shop and The fabulous fabulous design by Bill Bensley , incredible combinations of colours ,all into the small details and the rule of elegance in every and each corner .....would have stayed forever ! 05 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely beautiful resort. Our family had the extreme pleasure of staying at at the DaNang Sun Peninsula Resort in late September. When we arrived, there was a typhoon headed toward DaNang. With the red flags on the beach and all of the wind and rain for a couple of days, it really diminished our swimming and beach time. Even with the bad timing of the typhoon, my family still had an incredibly relaxing and fabulous vacation. The staff was so nice and accommodating. The restaurants were excellent and the ambiance of the whole resort was just incredible. Beautiful architecture and decor throughout the entire resort. There were plenty of indoor activities to keep us busy while the storm passed from playing pool, wii and chess to hitting the gym and even getting our own private yoga lesson. I can't even imagine how great this place is when the weather is good. We would love to return sometime when we can enjoy the sun and surf! We loved our stay and will never forget the breathtaking view off of our patio! 28 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tranquil yet cozy We had a great time chilling out at Intercontinental Danang. The hotel was exotic and well managed. The boat lift was creative and we enjoyed the short strolls from the lift station to our villa. Food quality is great. We will love to return for another relaxation holiday! 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Stay Fantastic resort. Stayed for 5 nights which did not seem long and mundane at all. Whilst we were there during the recent typhoon, the resort and staff still provided superb service, which was professional, efficient and friendly. The food was amazing, consistently well prepared and fresh. The layout of the hotel is great, with a truly private beach, not shared with other properties and generally has great facilities. Highly recommended and will be back! 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed at response to ciricis We spent a week in Danang. First space was the Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. There’s no doubt about romantic place and good facilities. But you should think about the weather and the staffs’ attitude. So, I don’t recommend visiting in rainy season because this resort didn’t have a process in response to typhoon. They didn’t give any direction and notice before they had closed resort facilities such as pool, restaurant, and spa. I disappoint with they don’t suggest an alternative. It’s difficult to make reservation the resort’s restaurants and call the buggy. If someone ask me what is good thing in Sun Peninsula Resort, I will tell the Spa was perfect. 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oriental Myth along in the tropical oceanside The experience was peaceful and beautiful. The design of this resort is enough to be the resason of visit, exiquisite oriental myth mixed with modern lexury style. Not to mention the location, private, in between of the tropical woods and the ocean. I love the careness it brings, from the sightseeing, smell, the breeze touch, and the suitable music around, that's a place to get away to take a deep breath. And I think because it's quite new, so there is no crowd and everything is well facilitated. And I have to mention, I just love the Citron Restaurant! It makes a perfect balance of local Vietnam cultrual essence and western eye of aesthetic view. Quite a experience! 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent resort The resort is beautiful. Nice view everywhere. The beach, the cable car, the swimming pool are nice places to take pictures. There is a distance to walk to the cable car stops, but it is not hard to jump on the electric cars passing by, or just call one to pick up. The room service is very nice. It is fast and the food delivered is warm and delicious. The soup and the noodle were stored in different containers so the noodle was not too soft when we took it. Shuttle bus service to Danang downtown and Hoi An were very helpful especially when we just wanted a safe trip to take a couple of hours to look around. 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing My wife and I stayed here for 5 days! We found location; service; accomodation all absolutely amazing. 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing like it Exceptionally creative concept and design. This is a can't miss experience...not just a beach hotel. 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds were like sleeping on clouds but... The hotel is quite far from town and there are not enough shuttle buses to and from the city centre. The language barrier was worse than expected but you can see the staff are really trying. We also had issued with the airport transfers (which were included in our package but not initially honoured). I think for a luxury resort like this airport transfers should be included at no charge. If you want to simply stay at a resort and do nothing then this is a great destination (although I would hate to see it in the peak season as I doubt you would get a lounge by the pool). Overall a lovely getaway with nice food. 29 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by luxurious room but need more Room and most facilities are fascinating, especially pick up service in the airport was helpful for strangers. I was impressed with kindness and hospitality by InterContinental staff in Danang airport, they did their best even I alreay checked out the resort. But not recommend this report for family trip with kids, cause kids pool is too boring and small. We cannot use long pool as our girl is under 12. Even they have kid-club, overall interior was really chic and modern, but most toys were broken and quality is not good. And didn't have various choices for food just Citron, long bar and bare foot. and last 2 restaurants' menu are almost similar. Will be better half-day tour program in Danang city or Hoian with cheaper price for family trip. 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Been to 40+ Countries and Tons of 5* Hotels... This Was the Best Where do I start... First of all, on the look and feel of the hotel: the property looks like it was handed to a genius madman designer who was allowed to build anything he wanted with no cost spared. Honestly, I spent so much of my time walking around and being astonished at the level of detail at which they finished everything. To emphasise how amazed I was: I took pictures of two toilets. That's how intense it is. The designers worked with the main theme of black and white, but they threw in accents of green here and there, which really popped. I have since looked up the Bangkok-based designer and have put his other properties on my "must visit" list. Honestly not a single complaint or even constructive criticism. Previously the Oberoi Udaipur held the top spot for me in terms of design and beauty, but this replaced it. Disclosure: I'm from a real estate family and do real estate now, so I may be more in tune to this than the average Joe/Jane. That said, we met other guests who also said they took a picture of a toilet... Second, the setting: I had been to Vietnam and other southeast Asia countries before. We all know there are stunning settings, but this was probably the prettiest piece of property I've come across. The resort is built into a lush jungle on the the side of something in between a mountain and a hill. The green of the jungle and the black and white of the buildings were really stunning. The real advantage of the setting though is that pretty much every location on the property has an amazing view of the water and beach. We had a Atrium Suite closer to the water, but the regular rooms up higher may have even had a better view (oddly). The downside to this setting is that you've got to hike a bit up and down. For this reason, they designed a really clever "lift" that goes up and down the hill around the centre of the property. They had two of these, but were only operating one when we were there, so sometimes it was a bit of a wait, and in one instance it wasn't working at all. For those who aren't in bad shape, none of this should matter, but I could see someone who doesn't like to exert themselves to be annoyed by the hiking. One last thing about the location: Danang, while cute, isn't really worth hanging out in too much. It's worth taking a trip down to Hoi An for a day, but if you go here, plan to spend most of the time in the resort. The food: the Citreon (spelling?) was awesome... I can't underemphasise this. The breakfast buffet has 5 different types of honey, one of which was dripping from the honeycomb. The had a great mixture of western and eastern foods, along with fresh fruit and pastries. La Maison (also spelling?) was excellent... just like any top restaurant in New York or London. The beach bar (I think it was called barefoot cafe?) had a perfect vibe for sitting on the beach and having a relaxing dinner, although the menu was limited enough that you'd probably run out of choices after 2 or 3 visits. The staff: The good is that everyone without exception was so genuinely nice and as helpful as they could be. We even found two of the staff that we honestly wished we could make an offer to come back to London to be personal home staff. The not as good is that the english skills for some of the staff are still not great. I had a handful of orders that were mistaken. Also, it seems they are still ironing out some of the operational details. All that said, I can't say that it took away from my experience; the people are so sweet and genuine that even when I got a Vietnamese coffee instead of a plain coffee, I couldn't get upset. Oh, and I now love Vietnamese coffee. The value: eh... not great, but not bad. Being from London probably makes everything seem like a deal, but this felt less like a deal than I expected. I've had unbelievable meals in Ho Chi Min and Hanoi for £5 all in (obviously not in a hotel... just in a restaurant), but a basic meal for two with a drink or two each will be £50. Given how beautiful everything was, I actually didn't care, but the invoice just showed up on my credit card, and I'm pretty amazed at how much I spent. On the room price, it was a bit of a better deal. They don't try to nickel and dime you... they leave tons of free bottled water around the room, and they have lots of on demand movies that are all free. I can't complain for what you get. A tip: if you aren't a member of the Intercontinental rewards programme, then you can join with some high status for $150 USD, which guarantees you an upgrade. We booked a "premium" room and got upgraded to the Atrium Suite, which has an outdoor living room complete with a bed and sweeping views of the water. Well worth the price. If it isn't obvious, i was pretty impressed with the place. I travel quite a lot, both for work and personally, and I've stayed at a lot of great places, but this is the only one of those greats that I didn't feel like I wanted to keep exploring other great places; I just want to go back. One last comment: you know how most hotels put pictures on the website that show the only good angles of the hotel? Well, the really odd thing about this hotel is that it seemed they missed the good parts of the hotel. We booked 5 nights under the impression that it would be pretty nice given the pictures we looked at. I think the pictures I took on my iPhone were better than their marketing pictures. Strange. Okay, one super last comment (I promise): Danang isn't the easiest location to get to from the western world. If you're going, then be sure to book more than 5 days... the travel time to relaxing time ratio was a bit off for us, even though we had only come from Hong Kong. 07 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Food Hello, overall the experience was wonderful. the one thing that could be improved is the food. I was not really very impressed. a bit plan. Thanks Best, Vanessa 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Magnificent Hotel We stayed at Intercontinental Danang for 10 nights and purely that was not long enough. What a magnificent hotel with magical views from any point at the hotel. You have to go to experience this magical resort. We had a beach front villa with our private swimming pool and we were breathless when we were shown to our villa. Absolutely beautiful inside and so stunningly decorated. Our private butler nick was such a great guy so helpful and attentive and very professional. The views from our villa over the ocean were gorgeous and such a peaceful beach so clean and quiet. The views from the sea to heaven above (top of the resort) we unbelievable, you can see the whole resort and something different wherever you look and the cable car going from sea to heaven and back was a sight to see. All restaurants were fantastic, a different theme in all of them with La Maison a sight to see all on it's own, silver service dining and you would not believe the variety of themes in this restaurant a must to dine in if staying at this hotel. The food in all restaurants was of the highest of quality very well presented and a great variety to chose from especially at Citron for breakfast outstanding. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. If you are travelling to Vietnam this hotel is a must stay located all on its on private beach in Danang with the modern city not too far away if you can pull yourself away from this magnificent hotel. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as being one of the best we have ever stayed in and we have such wonderful memories which will be with us for a lifetime. Well done all the great team at Intercontinental Sun Peninsular resort for making this hotel such a beauty. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Style without Substance Upon reading all of the comments on Trip Adviser before we booked, the Intercontinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort received largely positive comments. We therefore decided to book 2 rooms for 2 weeks at the resort as we were prepared to pay for the quality if we were going to get quality. By being a Gold Class Ambassador we were under the impression that as we booked 2 king ocean view rooms we would be given free upgrades to 2 atrium suite rooms, and I later confirmed this with the hotel by e-mail. We were picked up swiftly from the hotel and upon arrival we were amazed by the architecture and design of the hotel. However, our first impressions soon turned sour when the staff told us that we were only subject to an upgrade on only 1 room which wasn't mentioned on any of the emails I sent to them. We were also given no welcome drinks, cool towels or flowers (which were previously mentioned by other guests). We then asked to see the manager who offered to show us the two rooms and then make our mind up as to what we wanted to do. Our children, although older (15&18) were halfway across the hotel. Not only that but our room wasn't even ready-so much for a 2:00 check in! We then decided to pay for our children to be upgraded to an Atrium suite room but this was only available 2 days later. By the time our room was ready and we had unpacked we decided to have an early meal and went to Bare Foot restaurant. Although the staff were very kind it was clear that they were undertrained and there was a huge language barrier. Furthermore, the manager who was western went round to every table and had a long conversation with all of the guests except us even though we were one of the last people sitting there. On the next day we decided to go to Citron for breakfast but the disappointment didn't stop here. As soon as we walked in it was very obvious that much of the staff didn't know what was going on. One told us that we would have to wait for 20 mins for a table and the other showed us to a table straight away. They then took us to an area completely separate from others which, to begin with, we appreciated as we were away from the hustle and bustle of a very busy breakfast. However, we soon realised that we would be totally forgotten about, we asked for 2 coffees and 2 teas which both came 20 mins later-freezing cold. Furthermore, the plates were not cleared once when we were there but we were lucky that the table was so big so we could continue pushing the dirty plates into the centre. The beach was extremely beautiful and was most definitely the highlight of our trip. Even though there were no lifeguards we were lucky that we were all strong swimmers. The attendants were also somewhat attentive and they offered us some unique services such as a sunglasses cleaning and cold cucumbers for your eyes. Although at one point, one of the women offering the sunglasses cleaning service had the audacity to ask us to mention it on trip adviser!! The idea of free kayaks, body boards, snorkels and paddle boards was a great idea however when my husband wanted to go with my son out for a trip on the kayaks we were told that the 2 person one "had a problem" &only 1 single person kayak was available yet again as a family we were unable to do activates together. As we were at the hotel for such a long time we decided to go on the trek which was mentioned in the book in the room. We spoke to a receptionist about it and we asked what the difficulty was like-she said it was very easy and so we booked it. We then met the guide at the concierge who spoke little English and kept mentioning 'buggy'. When we queried this with the woman behind the desk she told him in Vietnamese that we wanted to walk but he insisted we took the buggy, Compared to most families our fitness levels were between average and above average so we knew we wanted to walk there. However, soon after weset off we realised why the guide wanted us to take the buggy. The hill was a vertical incline for a good half hour and my son felt faint. The guide, Viet was clearly very concerned and from what we understood this was a common occurrence however we made it back with our lives! Overall, they should have made this more clear in the book that it is an extreme hike and not for everyone to do. Furthermore, Viet was one of only few staff who welcomed us and had a proper conversation with us day to day. For dinner we decided to go to Citron for the Vietnamese buffet. Much of the food was unlabelled and because I had a fish allergy I had to go around with the chef and ask him what each dish had what, although he was very helpful this would have been unnecessary if all the food had been correctly labelled. Furthermore, the executive chef Ian was also very welcoming and gave us more information about what to do and what was going on more than all of the staff in the hotel!! Another night when we went to Citron my husband asked for the Vietnamese Braised Beef, the waitress then 15mins later came back and said that they had literally just sold out, fair enough he ordered another dish. However, the following two nights he attempted to order the same dish again but yet again they said that they had just sold out. They did however have all of the other Vietnamese beef dishes, so what makes this dish so different? Surely on 3 different occasions if they don't have it in stock they should just take it out of the menu or let the customer know before hand. Mateo the floor manager of Citron was very professional and always said hello. However, it seemed like he was doing all the work and there was a lack of support from the other staff. Furthermore, one week when we went to Citron in the evening at 4/5 tables there was one staff having a long conversation with the guests. Fair enough if we didn't have plates piling up on our table. It was then Mateo who was clearing up for them rather than pulling them aside and telling them to do their job. One couple didn't even have to get up once during the buffet because they were being waited upon personally by one of the staff who worked there! By the end of our meal we weren't even asked if we wanted coffee or deserts which we wouldn't mind to have looked at but having to try and explain what we wanted and how we wanted it was exhausting so most evenings we went without. On the following day we then moved our kids into the room on top of us as planned. Reception didn't seem to know what time the guests were leaving or whether they had already left or whether they were leaving at all. After finally getting to the bottom of it she said she would call when the room was ready which, yet again, was extremely unhelpful. We wanted to lay beside the beach but instead our day was put on hold for their incompetence and at our cost. Once we got our children settled in their room it was evident that it wasn't set up for kids, they couldn't put two single beds in and only offered a camp bed, furthermore the fan was broken outside and the tap dripped constantly and the plug didn't work.Furthermore on several occasions there were mushrooms growing in the shower which you wouldn't expect in a 3 star hotel let alone a 5 star hotel. When we called reception to get the fan fixed half an hour later they sent two men up who fixed the fan. However, once they had left we soon realised that the fan couldn't be turned off but by that time we were so fed up we left it and went into Da Nang and by the time we had come back it was broken again. (Probably the motor had burned out!!) Furthermore, the cable cart in theory was an amazing idea but in reality at least one of the cable carts were being 'serviced' every time we went to use them and in the end we decided to walk most days. One morning we decided to go to Bare Foot for breakfast as the Executive Chef Ian told us it would be extremely busy and we couldn't bear slow service and cold coffee again. He told us we could order as much as we wanted as ala carte and so we did. My husband wanted an omelette with a steak and bacon on the same plate. About 15 mins later the plate arrived with an egg white omelette and mushrooms. We then explained to her again what we wanted. She then brought an omelette with bacon which was, yet again wrong. She then brought out sausages, bacon and fried eggs-god knows where she got that from!! By this time we were so frustrated we asked to have another waitress who spoke better English and she got it right first time. Yet again, the lack of service, training and the language barrier got the better of them which I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel. One day me and my family decided to hire a car to go to Hoi An however, most drivers only accept dollars and as we only had big notes ($100) we needed to get our money broken up. I went to reception and asked for some change. At first she said that she needed to ask whether this was possible so I decided to come back later. The following day I visited again and I was told that this was not possible which didn't make any seance as lots of people had asked for dollars to be changed into Dong so surely some change should be available. Therefore I asked-one of the many managers at the hotel-Melissa why this was. She said that apparently it simply wasn't possible and that "its not that they won't it's that they can't" . As a paying guest surely she should have taken this into account and perhaps looked into the problem rather than shutting us down entirely. As I turned around to say goodbye she ignored me and was on to the next guest! Not only does this make me feel inadequate as a guest but it also makes me question as to why we were paying for a five star hotel when we weren't getting five star treatment. Another problem I found was transport for tours. The hotel offered expensive 4X4 private cars which were grossly overpriced for a hotel which is so out of the way. *continued on trip adviser* 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a wonderful stay with Danang Sun Peninsula Resort Thanks for giving me a wonderful stay. I 'd never been stayed a resort like this, no matter the hotel design, F&B, facility and the service. I really enjoy the stay with your hotel. I believe I will come back in the future. Unforgettable trip. Thanks a lot! 25 August 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>

InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

  • Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula
  • Danang City
  • Vietnam
  • Front Desk +84-511-3938888

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Japanese, Chinese

Pet Policy

At InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, only guide dogs and service animals are allowed. Maximum one guide dog or service animal per room.
  • Local Time

    4:44 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 2 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking