Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

The Clement Monterey

WELCOME TO

Monterey

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Lucille Ushakoff
Head Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Weather

Monterey is not known for typical warm coastal weather. Check the weather forecast before travelling as even on clear sunny skies, there are know to be chilly breezes so packing warm clothing may be necessary.
MONTEREY LUXURY HOTEL WITH OCEAN VIEWS ON THE HISTORIC BAY
Overlooking the ocean, this Monterey luxury hotel is ideally situated in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Explore fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and a vibrant street scene, just minutes away. Enjoy unique, contemporary style right on Monterey Bay, from the Pacific View Courtyard with sunset fires, to the tranquil lap pool and suites with private balconies. The area is famous for Vintners, so don’t miss wine country or stunning Point Lobos.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    At the C, taste buds are tantalized by fresh seafood, premium meats and organically grown local produce. The panoramic bay views on our outdoor pat...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our fitness center offers the latest LifeFitness equipment for a complete workout while The Spa at InterContinental offers a timeless echo of ancie...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
The Clement Monterey
  • 750 Cannery Row
  • Monterey , CA , 93940
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-831-3754500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish, French, Korean, Portuguese, Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pets not allowed except service animals. Please inform hotel prior to arrival if there will be a service animal in the guest room.
  • Local Time

    11:38 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 9 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service My daughter and I stayed at the Monterey/Cannery Row Holiday Inn Express on August 20, 2013. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. My only advice would be to NOT have a room that is close to the metal swinging gate, which leads to the back street. The slamming gate woke us up in the evening and the morning. Being allowed to park in the hotel's underground parking lot prior to check-in and after check-out was a time and money saver. Not needing to search or pay for parking around Monterey made for a less-stressful visit. Plus Monterey's free shuttle, which we rode to and from the Aquarium and the Wharf, stops almost in front of the hotel's front door. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. August 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unique Holiday Inn Express I stayed in 7 hotels during a 3 week road trip and this one is great. Unique building for an Express and very well located. Staff were very friendly and helpful in getting an urgent fax sent to the UK for me and were persistent in getting it done when there were problems with the fax machine and phone number. Overall good atmosphere. August 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous!!!! Great location and hotel. Staff excellent - particularly Sanjay. August 20, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired The location is great, just minutes walk to the centre of Cannery Row. the room really needed redecorating and was very tired and unwelcoming August 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Cannery Row Monterey !Like We had a great room for our short vacation. Parking was a little trouble some but we got through it. The room was clean but had a slight chemical odor that left the smell on all of our clothes. The bathroom was a little small but if you lived on the East coast your used to it. The one thing is you could smell the wood odor probably due to the humidity in the air. Overall the bed was comfortable the TV stations were great and so was the TV. I was able to get Coffee at 2am and it was fresh. Most of the staff were very nice and even went above and beyond to find me three banks in the area that were my bank. The hotel is within walking distance of the bars and the local tasting rooms (Wine tasting), the hotel even had it's own wine tasting. You have to stay here if you are going to Monterey its worth the money. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The room was great lots of room and a good view. The front desk Staff were very helpful and friendly. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best hotel stay during our 12 night/6 hotel CA trip! The room was spacious, king bed AND queen pull-out couch. Breakfast was good (typical HI Express fare, but well stocked) and the wine and cheese tasting in the evening was excellent. We had a local winery running the tasting, paired with gourmet cheeses. We were concerned that it would not be kid friendly, but it was. Great location as well, great to walk to the aquarium with the kids and leave the car in the free parking garage. I wish they had a coin laundry, that was the only negative. August 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Great location, service and nice rooms. Very nicely decorated rooms and the service was excellent. August 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location The hotel looks a little iffy when you pull in but the rooms were very comfortable and the housekeeping was great. Staff were very thoughtful and efficient. the location is the selling point you can park your car and leave it...walked everywhere. Stay on the 3rd floor or else you hear everyone on the outside walkways. Kids were a bit noisy running and screaming at times. This wasn't the hotel's fault just bad parents. Summer travel! the bed was super comfortable! August 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Convenient We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. Our top floor, corner room was very nice and included safe, mini fridge, and updated bathroom . The only drawback was the short set of stairs we had to descend after getting off the elevator with our luggage. And of course we had to drag the luggage back up the stairs when checking out. It's an interestingly designed building, and we did, after all, ask for a room on the top floor. The staff members at the front desk were always quite helpful, especially in giving us great directions. The hotel is conveniently located just steps away from Cannery Row, and the walk to the aquarium on Cannery Row is interesting. The trolley stop (rides are free) is also conveniently located just steps away from HIE, and the trolley loops from the aquarium to downtown Monterey every 10-15 minutes. It also stops at Fisherman's Wharf. There are also some nice restaurants within walking distance, including Schooners and The Chart House right across the street. July 31, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location I definitely enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express. It was in the perfect location. I am in a wheelchair and I was able to "walk" to the Aquarium, the stores, restaurants and any where else I needed to go. This hotel was a last minute choice. I had booked us to stay at another hotel but when we got there... let's just say I am sooo glad we found this hotel! Since it was a last minute choice we had to move to another room after one night. The one we were in was booked for the next day but they did all they could to make the move easier for us. If I visit this area again this will be the hotel that I will be staying in. This is the hotel that made me a Holiday Inn Express convert!! July 19, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A mixed feeling about this Holiday Inn Express We booked this hotel as a last minute getaway just a few days before our travel. We read some comments and understood that there are steps in between floors. We called the night before trying to get more information on it. We were told we would be staying on the first floor anyway and no need to worry about steps. While on the phone, we also inquired about the weather there. I was told it was hot, humid and muggy. Then I asked if there was air conditioning in the unit and was told "no" (actually there was but not sure why we were told there wasn't.) He then asked a strange question - if we wanted to cancel our reservation. We never intended to cancel it when we called. We knew no matter how hot and humid it was in Monterey, it had to be better than where we live. Besides, it already past our cancellation deadline and too late to find another accommodation anyway. In all, we were just surprised someone was so eager (at least that was how we felt with his tone at that moment) to rid of potential customers. After we got there, things seemed to be fine overall. We were assigned the room right next to the front desk, living with the (loud and vibrating) public toilet flushing throughout our stay. That must be the worst room on that property and somehow we got it. Must be the draw of our luck that day. July 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service/Location HIE Monterey was clean, comfortable and the service was outstanding. 3rd floor room. Looking forward to staying again. Short 5 minute walk to Aquarium. No pool or spa. July 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good location close to restaurants, shops , beach etc. good car parking July 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff service We stayed at Monterey-Cannery Row for a couple of days early in July, and were greeted with a big smile from the staff in charge. The hotel is in excellent locaiton. The ambience is a bit different from traditional HIE. The only inconvenient was the different levels you need you walk through with your luggage but not a major problem. A bit pricy for the quality of the hotel, but again. The staff service compensated for everything else. July 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Heart of Cannery Row In the AAA book and it should be! Great design and the room appeared to have just been redone. Bed and bedding was great. Easy walk to Cannery Row. Underground garage was nice for keeping our vehicle out of the sun. July 3, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Monterey experience Our 2 rooms were clean and neat but one of the beds had a mattress that needed to be replaced. It was quite lumpy. The two rooms had a musty smell. I informed the desk clerk and was told he would look into the problem. The hotel has a beautiful garden area with outside seating. The complimentary wine and cheese are a nice touch. Although the rooms had a musty smell I have always had good service at Holiday Inn Express. July 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We loved the Hotel, it had a great location across the street from Cannery Row. We will return again. Thank you. June 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyed our vist. great place! We enjoyed our stay here. The location was perfect. Easy walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Nice room, breakfast was good, wine and cheese was a nice treat that we didn't find during our trip at other hotels! June 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything Excellent value for money. Close to the Cannery row and aquarium. Clean comfortable rooms, WiFi. Would not hesitate to stay here again. June 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unique The most different HI I have ever stayed at. Building really fit the area, not your typical Express. Minimal recognition for Platinum member but front desk staff was very good and pleasant. Asked for a king bed and said he would give it to us but charged the additional 60 per night.Close to Cannery Row and all kinds of activities. Enjoyed most of the places in the area. We had a ground floor unit and it was tough to sleep with heavy footed neighbors above. They did a very nice and quiet wine and cheese reception one night with a great wine tasting as well. Great staff! May 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok for location Great location, close to a lot of things to do.. staff was very un-personable at check in. Did not off any upgrade, even being a Platinum member, didn't even recognize the fact. The best of the staff was the young men at Valet parking, very polite and personable. Close to activities and sightseeing and restaurants, but the front desk staff could use some customer service training. Breakfast is packed in the mornings and as anywhere in SF, parking of 45 a night is about right. Given th choice I will probably stay at another HI next trip. May 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 “Great location and walking distance to aquarium!” Nice and clean hotel within walking distance to the aquarium and cannery row and free parking. The hot breakfast in the morning is really good and an extra nice bonus was the wine and cheese event in the hotel lobby. May 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Upgrade to Large Suite We had booked a standard room with a king size bed. Upon check in we were given a small handicap room with a double bed. We went back to the desk clerk and mentioned that this wasn't the type room we were expecting on our 23rd wedding anniversary and he initially said that they were booked up and that was all that was available. After we left the desk, he checked with the Manager and they decided to upgrade us to "The Library" suite. What a great room! It was twice as big as the other rooms and included a large jacuzzi tub. We really enjoyed our stay and want to thank the management for upgrading our room. May 22, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by something hinky going on nothing concrete but this place doesn't feel like the normal holiday inn, owners seem to be cutting corners at every opportunity. i would not stay here again, the only plus is the location and parking. May 7, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Pointless to book ahead I am a gold member with IHG and I stay in a lot of them for work. However, this was the first time I used them for vacation. I booked about 2 weeks ahead, I requested top floor and a king size bed. We got the bottom floor, with a double bed and it was a room designed for the handicapped. I asked the manager if there was anything he could do, and his response was "We are all booked up. May 5, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, helpful staff This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the aquarium, and the wharf. The hotel staff is very helpful, and pleasant. The breakfast was OK with several items to choose from. We had no complaints. I especially liked the location. We walked everywhere. And the antique mall next door was a pleasant distraction. I would definitely stay there again. The parking is a little cramped, but adequate. April 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fair, but need new towels I though the hotel was very nice and very clean. Slightly off the main road so as to be quiet but close to walk to everything. The rooms were clean but the towels need to be updated, they felt light sandpaper and must be pretty old. When staying at Holidays Inn's, and I do it very often the staff is always dressed in "Holiday Inn" uniforms. The staff behind the desk when I checked in and out (2 different people) were wearing baseball hats (cocked) and T-shirt and SF Giants T-shirt, I did not think it set a very professional overtone to set, but that is just my opinion. April 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value in Cannery Row We recently stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Cannery Row, Monterey, California. The hotel is so well located to enjoy the sights of Cannery Row and walk or bike along Ocean View Blvd. Once we parked our car, we didn't have to drive again during our stay. The price of the room included tickets to the Monterey Bay Aquarium for two days' admission. The morning breakfast included sausage, eggs, bagels and toast. The hotel even has a great pancake-making machine - perfect pancakes in a minute! After a day at the beach, the hotel offers appetizers and wine. The staff was hard-working and courteous. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. April 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and PANCAKES! This was our third trip to this hotel, and it gets better each time. First, we love the location for the price/amenities. Free WiFi/parking/breakfast/wine/cheese. The hotel is 1 small block to the water, and walking distance to everything. It is about a 6 minute walk to the Aquarium down the bike /walking path. This isn't a luxury hotel though. The rooms are lovely, clean and modern, but the doors are outside and you need to go up/down half flight of stairs to most room. There is no view of the water, and if anything the view from the rooms is of the street or nearby houses/businesses. Breakfast is typical HI Express which is great for my family. We especially love the new PANCAKE machine (it is so cool and the pancakes are yummy). The best part of the hotel is the staff. They are wonderful, very attentive and able to resolve any issue quickly. I definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again! April 9, 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>