Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:46 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 863 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Picked up a "funk." Horrible hotel. Stinky room and furniture. I sat on the couch for a few minutes and the stink attached itself to my shirt. For the rest of the evening I kept smelling a funk on my back. It was like a Seinfeld episode. Food was bad. $26 for bad eggs and bacon. The potatoes were hard and inedible. The sausage was shriveled and overdone. My room was on the alley, so I was serenaded by a garbage truck emptying dumpsters every morning at 5:00. Take my advice and avoid this one. July 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and convenient The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf but not close enough to be noisy. The room was well appointed and clean. There were several restaurants near by. The price was a great value for the area. July 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay My stay at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf was excellent and would stay here again and recomend it to anybody. Easy walking access to all attractions in the area. July 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty toilet bowl Except for the dirty toilet bowl, out 3-day stay was very comfortable. July 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service/ disappointed in room Everything was nice, although I was disappointed that I had stayed at a Holiday inn express for much less money(i realize location makes a difference) and the room was SO much better. I had a couch & coffee table with that room, was much more comfortable. I also was disappointed that if I ordered fried eggs or omelet I was charged an extra $5.00 dollars! I feel with th cost of the room eggs to order with buffet should be included. The location and staff were Very polite and helpful. July 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, friendly and close to everything I recently visited San Francisco with my niece for a graduation gift. We arrived very late, due to a delayed flight, and found our reception very welcoming. The gentleman at the desk even helped us find a place to eat at 2:00am. The service through the remainder of our visit was the same, including the concierge for daily itineraries or random questions at the desk. The location was very close to everything we were doing and we walked to cable cars, pier 39, pier 33 (Alcatraz), pier 17 (TCHO tour), ghiradelli, tower tours, Stinking Rose Restaurant, etc. Our feet and legs were tired after four days but it's doable. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Ours was very noisy, however. I'm sure this has to do with where you are in the hotel and I don't recall the street we were facing. Lots of street noise, of course, and peope noise until the bars/lounges nearby close . When I stay again, and I will stay again, I'll try to request an inside room. At least the pool noise is over at 10:00. All in all, nice room, good hotel, great staff, excellent city! July 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service I loved the hotel it is super clean, has accesible cost and is super well located! July 11, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel Overall the hotel is clean and the beds are fairly comfortable, was nice having a Denny's in the hotel and being in walking distance to the wharf was great. The only downside was in checking in at the other Holiday Inn and then having to walk with our luggage out on the street to our hotel. Not sure why we were not able to check-in at the hotel we were staying at. July 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great position and excellent value. We enjoyed this hotel for the excellent value and grest position for the bay area. we were disapointed that the cafe was operating on restricted hours. July 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Me and my family really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was cozy and very comfortable. We were able to get a good night sleep. The location was awesome! We would definatly stay here again and would recommend it. July 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, very comfortable, shame about the cost of a piece of toast! An excellent location, with rooms that were spacious, clean and comfortable. Thought the breakfast buffet was very poor value and was charged $18+ one morning for a slice of toast - a new definition of Continental Breakfast, perhaps. Parking also very expensive. July 10, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. easy reservations, you have all my information already. check inn automatic, no required front desk, unless you need something. easy adaptability to change rooms and to get up grades on line. hot line for needs and emergencies when in the hotel. better food choices. parking facilities, cleaning more focus in save greens. July 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location - Very Good Service and Value The location is perfect for a stay in San Francisco. The service at the front desk was professional and efficient. The concierge was helpful, although staying there during July 4th week kept her so busy that you likely would have to wait for her to help others first. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. The good-sized outdoor pool was great for the higher-than-average temps we experienced during the week. To save on the cost of the rental car and the costly (but typical for SF) on-site parking fee, we didnt rent a car during our time here, and didnt miss having a car at all. We walked everywhere on the waterfront with ease. For anything outside of walking distance, the Muni system - with buses, cable cars, and trolleys - could get you anywhere you need with ease (consider multi-day visitor passes). July 10, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff front desk-slow/no show maintenance The hotel is in a great location. The staff was helpful and provided help and suggestions. The room is dated, and our curtain rod just about fell down. This was reported the first night and 1 attempt was made to come and fix the problem. The price is high for the quality of the hotel, but can't beat the location. To be fair, all hotels in San Francisco tourist area are expensive. I would probably stay here again due to the location. The Denny's that is connected to the hotel is TERRIBLE! I would not attempt to eat there!!!!! July 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay next to Fisherman's Wharf! We thought the hotel was great! Location was perfect. Room was clean and the beds were comfy. Definitely stay there again. July 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location a plus staff very helpful Just spent 6 days on the wharf with our kids. The hotel location was great for our adventure the rooms were cleaned well everyday and staff were very helpful. The pool got crowed at times as guests from other hotels were sneaking in around the work out facilities to gain access. Overall would reccommend and stay again. July 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great Service Overall had a great experience. Fair pricing for the area with excellent service when we needed it. Highly recommend staying here!!! July 8, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay - Good but... I enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly and pleasant. A couple of things you may need to watch out for. 1) Internet is free, but when I received my passcode it didn't work, so I had to spend time calling technical support so they could give my IP permissions to access the internet. This is time I really couldn't afford, but did it so I could get internet to do my work. 2) The front desk told me to go down to the parking. Parking, parking? Parking? I couldn't find the parking. It was hidden around a corner without any signs. I finally found it. It was in a good hidden place that I happened to stumble upon while leaving the hotel. Very strange. Nothing to eat after 9:30 pm. Went to Denny's across the street. Food was decent. Other than that. I enjoyed my stay. July 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Pleasant staff and. Great location. Short stay but we enjoyed our visit. Would go again. July 6, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Showing some age, but still can't beat the location Few little things hear and there that show the hotel needs a bit of TLC. Popcorn ceilings. Really? Those went out so long ago. Pealing wallpaper in the bathroom. This is an easy fix if you can spare the room being down to allow the work to get done. There were a few cosmetic things in the bathroom but nothing that made the room un-liveable. Bed was great. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Maids would say hello to you in the hallways. Restaurant staff were wonderful. Food was good and large portions. Hotel pool is a bit small. But is heated. Parking is limited above ground. They do have a underground parking garage. $40 a day to park was painful. Personally, I rather have that included in the room rate and have "free" parking. But I do understand a lot of people come to San Francisco without cars. Walking is easy to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradeli Sqare , Cable Cars, Pier 39, North Beach and if you want a good walk, The Explortorium at Pier 15 and the Ferry Building. Large teen tour group would be in the lobby each morning. Couldn't they be asked to meet outside or by the pool instead of blocking the lobby each morning? July 5, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check In Experience Stayed here from July 26-27 '13 , which was a busy period for the city as most hotels were sold out. Location is great , has the features you would expect from an IHG mid tier hotel. Due to the busy week, the rates were almost 2x which wasn't good value. I was upgraded to the business level, but didnt really find anything special in that room The other issue was hotel staff. Being a Gold member, was expecting the membership benefits to be offered at check in which were not. On asking for it, check in agent provided half of the items and seemed wasn't aware of what all to offer. The operator was the second bad experience. When a call came in looking for me, she could not "find" me in the guest list, refused to check for me using the first name and ultimately the caller was not connected. If location works for you, this place may be fine. But don't pack expectations with you, for surely you may not want to tell your friends the next day you "stayed at a Holiday Inn" July 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service Poor service in bar and food not very good in restaurant July 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleasant; Helpful Staff Excellent location. View of Alcatraz from our room. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Doorman paid for our cab with his own cash when complimentary limo (higher level prior club perk) was late. Experience exceeded my expectations. June 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Enjoyed the room; great location allowed us to do numerous sites without having to drive. Close to a trolley stop so it was easy to get throughout the city. Would stay here again. June 27, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fisherman's Wharf June 2013 I was very disappointed in this location for a number of reasons. The room rate is outrageous, in addition to parking fees. i understand that these prices are standard for san fransisco. however, i would have expected much nicer rooms and also free breakfast for this rate. in addition, the staff was VERY unpleasant. i had to wait over 45 minutes to check in; they were slower than turtles! i would not recommend this location to people, due to the cost and rude staff. June 26, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Insane Policies Ruined my Experience I stayed at this location for 7 consecutive nights. I was required to make FOUR separate reservations, spending about an hour and a half on the phone to do it. I had to continually check out and check in, because making anything easy for a guest is 'against company policy.' Honestly, I will try any other option before I ever stay at a Holiday Inn again. As far as the room and stay goes, it was very dated and the 'fitness room' was a re-purposed 10'x10' shack. It wasn't terrible, but it sure wasn't anywhere near a good value for the price. June 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco hotel The Holiday Inn- Fisherman's Wharf is ideally located for that area. The staff is most accomodating and cordial. Get the room rate that includes the breakfast buffet-great value. The dinner menu is also a great value. If you are traveling with "light" luggage you can access this property with public transportation. Take the BART from SFO Airport to Embarcedaro- $8.25 . Get off-walk one block to Market St- Get the " F" line trolley ( $2)to Wharf area. Get off at Jones St and walk the one block up to 1300 Columbus Ave-HI property A cab from airport will cost one anywhere from $50 -$80 depending on traffic. June 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is right around the corner from Gherardelli's and Lombard Street. The Piers are close, walking distance. We didn't rent a car until we left San Francisco because you can either walk to everything and take the Trolley or Cable Car. There is a City pass you can buy that has the transportation and various tour options that come with the pass. It really depends on how long you are there and what you plan on doing. We only needed the 1 day single pass so we could go to Union Square and China town (not walking distance#. Depending on the time and where on the Pier you are #example: Pier 33) the trolleys and cable cars get full and several of them will go by before you ever get to get on one. We ended up walking back towards Pier 39 so we could get on. Then we passed the people we were in line with at Pier 33, still waiting for a spot on one of the cars. If you plan on doing the Alcatraz tour, book it BEFORE your trip otherwise they will be sold out. If you check the site it is usually sold out about a week at a time. HOWEVER, I didn't reserve mine because I didn't know this but I found a very nice gentleman that had his own little booth behind some stores at Pier 39 and was able to buy tickets from him but at a higher price than the website. Plan ahead! June 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We had a great time staying at your hotel. The service and room was great. I would highly recommend your hotel. Spend the extra and stay on the 5th floor. June 23, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by change your concierge The front desk staff and bell captain were very nice, but the concierge was useless. We had heard about a special weekend event with many various street vendors in North Beach that we wanted to take relatives and other people to see. The concierge not only didn't know about it, (only a few blocks away), he informed us that he had no idea as to how to help us find out about it. We felt like he was annoyed at us for asking such a difficult question. As it turns-out, we asked someone in the lobby and got a great answer,.. and ended-up having a great time there. To not be familiar with a major city event 3 blocks from the hotel is not cool, and to make no effort to help is being useless. June 22, 2013
    <<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 30 next>>