Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:01 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home We truly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. We were made to feel at home immediately upon our check-in. Baker was excellent at the front desk and he made the check-in process go very smoothly. Baker knew that we were Platinum Members and he was able to upgrade us right away, which we greatly appreciated. The view of our upgraded room was fantastic and we got to see some fabulous sunrises and sunsets over the bay. We appreciated the kindness and helpfulness of the dining staff, especially Rose, Chris, and Elizabeth. We were glad that we stayed at the Golden Gateway. We felt that we were centrally located to all of the points of interest we wanted to see while staying in San Francisco. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit the Bay Area. January 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel. We had a great time staying at this hotel.The restaurant food is yummy and the waitress Kate in the hotel restaurant is great at her job. January 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always pleasant stay staff is the best from front desk to room service. January 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room Clean room and bathroom. Modern, updated decor. Motorized window shades a nice touch. In-room safe also. Hotel is close to the cable car stop, which was perfect for getting to Chinatown, Nob Hill and Union Square. Places nearby hotel if needed for errands for sundries. We were on the 10th floor and had a nice view of the city, and the bay to some extent. Note: the tissue box in the bathroom is installed into the wall, behind the hand towels. January 5, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive charged breakfast despite breakfast package Though we have booked the room with breakfast package, the breakfast is limited to 2 guests per room and we are 3 guests each in 2 rooms. So, we had to pay $17 per person per day for breakfast for additional 2 guests which is very expensive. January 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, efficient staff, and comfortable room! Warm, hospitable welcome and efficiency from check in throughout every encounter with staff. Well lit, clean room with extremely comfortable bed. Especially appreciate the soft vs. hard pillow offerings.....a nice touch. January 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and best priced hotel Came to San Fran for the Fight Hunger Bowl. Seached around for an nice hotel that wasn't so expensive for our budget. This place was awesome. Great friendly service from all the staff the 4 days we stayed there. Especially great friendly informative service from Charles the bell hop. I think that was his name. Next time I'm in town I'll stay there for sure. Thank you for your great service. January 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great space and price Very enjoyable room - bigger than some other major hotels with awesome view. Very good food at seminar. Could use bigger fitness center. December 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room and Amenities - Staff Overworked Overall, the experience was great but it started out pretty rocky. I had made a Rewards Nights reservation weeks in advance for three nights. When I arrived at the hotel around 8pm, I waited in line for almost 20 minutes as the single check-in person was struggling to check people in. When I finally got to the desk, I was told that my room was not yet available for check-in and would have to wait. After only a few minutes, the check-in person switched me to a room one floor higher and a room with the same amenities. After that, everything was great. A corner room on the 23rd. floor with an excellent north facing view of the San Francisco skyline. Room was of average size but nicely arranged and full of the latest amenities and a Rewards Club Platinum Member welcome gift. Even with the bustling streets below, the room was very quiet. The temperature select climate controlled room was also a very nice touch as the weather was flip-flopping from warm to cold outside but the room stayed comfortable the entire time. I would definitely stay here my next time in San Francisco. December 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place, amazing view! Great place to stay, convenient to everything in the city. Clean and nice rooms. Will definitely stay here next time we visit San Fran. December 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed, Clean Room, & Great Staff I cannot find anything to seriously carp about concerning this hotel. Although the lobby area is being renovated, my rooms on the 21st and 26th floors were quite nice. The staff is superb. My only complaint is the small bathroom counter, but since I was alone, it was adequate. I stayed there for 4 weeks, and I'd stay there again. I'm attaching a photo of a sunset from Room 2619. I hold the copyright for the photo. December 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn GG Room was very nice and clean, Food at the restaurant was goon and the staff courteous. View of SF from my room was great. December 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Manager We have a very good time in Holiday Inn, the hotel is comfortable, very nice location and friendly environment. We needed some help and we met Ru Paster the manager who was very helpful and very attentive for the needs of guests. We also met the concierge Aida that is lovely lady that help us all the time. We definitely felt at home. Best Regards Bruno / Vanessa Brazil December 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by loved our room great location, clean, quiet room with city view, comfortable bed and friendly staff December 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay here very very nice hotel, lovely views and wonderful staff....I will always return to this hotel over any other holiday inn in the city. December 12, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel I was not impressed with this hotel at all. We were not even in our room for 30 minutes and the maid unlocked the door and walked right in. Their was hair on the wall of the shower and what looked to be a booger on the wall. The hotel was under construction with a make shift restaurant and bar. I was very disappointed with this hotel. December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend this Hotel This is my second time saying at the Holiday Inn. Both of my experices have been incredible and exceeded my expectations. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. I couldn't have been more happy with my experience and I am looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn again. December 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 clean, comfortable and convenient hotel my friends and me stayed 3 night here. the room was very clean and facilities in good condition. they gave us a high level room, very quiet and view not bad. also the location was good, bus stop is just opposite. also you can walk, like 15 mins to Chinatown( not recommended, SF, you know, walking is like hiking) the only problem is parking too expensive, cost 45 dollars including tax, but it was common in SF. most hotels charge like this. December 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Great stay. Loved the rooms and the views. Great value Thanksgiving dinner in hotel restaurant. Best Holiday Inn we have stayed in with respect to staff friendliness and value. December 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by suggestions If you are serious about wanting your guests to reuse their towels you need to provide towel racks and hooks so that we could hang wet towels and washcloths up rather than leaving them on the floor for housekeeping to replace. Also the clock/radio or whatever was too confusing. I could not figure it out and fortunately I was able to use my cell phone alarm. Since you don't serve lunch it would have been helpful to have a list of nearby restaurants where a light sandwich or lunch could be found. Thermostat and heating leave a lot to be desired. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed our stay on the 22nd floor and the view of the city was amazing! Thank you for making us feel special. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Nice stay at the holiday inn. Clean and reasonably priced for SF December 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the view & the bed The room was oh, so clean and the linens were high quality. The location was perfect for me to visit family, shop, and find restaurants. No problem getting a cab, bus, or zip car. I plan to stay there again. December 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Unbelievable View, All the Amenities, even the coffee in the room was good. An excellent stay. Shuttle to California Pacific Medical Center every 20 minutes. From the guest rooms to the car park was all convenient. I would recommend this to anyone. They even supply the fluffy white robes! December 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service!!! I am very grateful for a most pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness Avenue in San Francisco. My husband has been undergoing cancer treatments and is often in a lot of pain and very weak most of the time. We came to SF due to an appointment the following day at UCSF Cancer Center. I reserved a room with a king bed and included the parking package deal, and at check-in I asked whether there was a room available with a sunset view, or possibly even a corner room (just to make things a little nicer). I'd heard about the corner window rooms having exceptionally beautiful views. Well, the lady found a corner window room available. However, when I realized it's an extra $30 for that room, I declined -- didn't realize it would be more. When I declined, she then offered the room at no additional charge from what I was quoted for the regular room package! I am very grateful for her service and going the extra mile for us. Also, the room service was outstanding! My husband was too ill to go to the downstairs restaurant, so we ordered room service, and the gentleman provided first-class treatment all the way. I give this Holiday Inn experience a perfect 10!!! November 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thumbs Up A few days ago I stayed at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Golden gateway. It has been a while since I had stayed at a Holiday Inn and the reason I selected the Golden Gateway was that it was close to my daughter’s apartment. My stay at the hotel could not have been better. Everyone on the staff (doorman, reception, housekeeping, and restaurant) was courteous, friendly and helpful. The management deserves high praise for the coaching and training of the staff. My room was comfortable and nicely appointed, the price competitive and in a city like San Francisco quite fair. The daily fee for parking hurt a bit but completely understandable given the location. If I was to complain at all, it would be about the noise. I could hear my neighbors (slightly) through the walls and the street traffic from the busy Van Ness Boulevard. However this is negligible at best and in no way detracted from my stay. Kudos to the great staff. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway to anyone visiting the bay area. November 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Fun What wonderful staff and accomodations! We are Platinum Elite and we were treated that way. What pleasant people. The upgraded room was wonderful and the gentleman who checked us in was incredible kind. Really appreciate this hotel great location lounge was very nice we will stay here again. Only down side was 40.00 guest parking seemed very high. November 27, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad ironing board/iron=Bad experience Basically, the hotel room's ironing board collapsed; one of the legs was broken. So I put the ironing board on the desk, and turned on the iron. I started ironing my white shirt, and quickly noticed the iron was emitting a black, staining powder. I used another shirt. I went the lobby, reported the issue, and the front desk clerk promised to send another ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. The next morning, I called the front desk and asked for an ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. As I checked out the hotel, I complained to the front desk clerk. I hope this isn't how Holiday Inn regularly treats its customers. November 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything is great except staff needs more training The location, room and all other amenities are great except the staff. The front desk staff obiviously needs more training and need to be more flexible. With all the stays, my wife has always been able to check-in on behalf of me, while I am the drive in the car. Yet, the lady inisisted that i have to be presented in order to check-in. We have a total of 4 nights but under two separate reservations due to our change in plan and the first reservation was already pre-paid. The front desk first told us that we had to check-out and then re-check-in later the day as this is the policy. We said "WHAT???" We called the 800# when booking our second reservation and the rep told us that she will take care of everything, noted both reservations clearly so that we wouldn't need to change the room. The same occured to our previous few night stays at Monterey and the staff were experienced enough to easily acknowledged the two reservations without any problems. So we really don't under why can't a Holiday Inn in a big city do the same! Luckily, we went back down the next morning and got a very experienced gentleman (sorry that we forgot your name but he's a dark color built man in his 40s). We told him our situation and he immediately told us that it is not a problem at all. We can surely stay in our room without the need to check-out and check back in later the day. He took care everything for us easily. Your hotel is lucky to at least having him there. Separately, the staff serving the breakfast area was horrible. We waited for 10 minutes for our coffee to be served, then waited another 10 minutes attempting to order our fresh omelette. Other staff wouldn't even care about you if they are not responsible for your table! Our waitress was no where to be found in that 10 whole mintues. After we finally got a woman's attention and made our order, she came back 10 minutes later just to advise no more spinach (in a very unfriendly tone)!!! We finally got fed up and simply canceled our order, stood up and left. They dared to charge us $44.00 for two breakfasts. I've been staying under various IHG hotels throughout our 3-week trip. We were at French Polynesia, then drove from San Diego to San Francisco (not to mention other IHG hotels that we have been staying throughout these years). All hotel staff were very friendly and knowledeable except yours, which is pretty shocking as San Francisco is such a major city. Those staff (two asian ladies in the front desk and those in the breakfast area) that we have encountered were so rude and unexpreienced. They can't even be comparable to a staff located in a little town! Besides the staff, everything else, including the location of the hotel is great. I would go back to this hotel if visiting San Francisco again. Hopefully, I don't have to confront those unfriendly staff again! November 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing views! Inviting atmosphere. I was so pleased with this hotel! I felt comfortable from the moment I checked in. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was amazing! The staff was friendly and welcoming. It will be my home away from home in San Francisco! November 22, 2013
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>