Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    3:30 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treats Platinum guest really well We enjoyed everything about this hotel for our business & leisure visit to SF. They treated us very special with an upgraded beautiful corner room and extra perks like a nightcap. The rooms are updated, comfortable, quiet and right on a cable car line and major bus line. If you are arriving from the east coast a room facing east towards the bay lets you wake up to a beautiful sunrise. Very special November 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This property is in a great, centrally located location with excellent access to both busses and a cable car terminus (it's just around the corner on Washington St.). With MUNI passes, one can get to virtually anywhere and everywhere in the city one would wish to go--including to the BART lines for further travels as well as the ferry terminals to go over to Tiburon (Sam's Anchor Bar--yea!!) and Sausalito (see the Dr. Seuss artwork in the Petri's Fine Arts gallery). Also, if you're a meat eater, don't miss the House of Prime Rib located about a 10 minute walk away north on Van Ness. November 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Unique location with spectacular view from the room over the city and bay. Walking distance to Union Square or Fisherman's Warf. Excellent service from all staff. Spacious rooms. Highly recommendable. November 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room , great staff Great room (newly renovated) with an incredible panoramic view of SF Bay and Oakland Bay! The friendly and professional staff could not have been more welcoming! Thanks for a great weekend stay! November 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but a bit too noisy Overall a good stay with this hotel. Street noise is rather too penetrating and disrupted sleep with window already shut tight . Calls to front desk did take long to get response. November 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good-Average Stay I stay at the "Golden Gateway" for business and usually have no issues. However, my last stay they put me in a two double bed room that reeked of cigarette smoke. What I don't understand is why the maid didn't notice and try to cover up the stench. There are only two employees at the front desk that I like to deal with. The rest of the staff is mediocre at best. If your looking for a great value the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway has some of the best rates. What you save in good prices sometimes comes back to haunt you in other ways. Overall decent hotel for the price. November 14, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by let me breathe. No fresh air available in the room. The windows are now sealed shut "for your safety". This is what I was told by the helpful person at the desk when I asked how I could rid the room of heavy paint fumes. At one time the windows opened. This is evident by the design of the track. Now however they have been sealed. Are we now to consider ourselves more suicidal than when we were younger? or is the chance of a "bad" person to climb 16 stories up the outside of the building to enter and steal my toothbrush greater than in the past? (there is a safe in the room) to safeguard my valuables, such as they are. I was told to "turn on the air conditioner. Why would I want to "condition" the terrible air which was recycled, not exchanged or filtered for fresh? San Francisco is blessed with good air from the Pacific, a decent breeze can flush air heavy with fumes...FUMES.. from paint and new construction. The assumption I must draw is that the Holiday Inn group believes the chances I might hurl myself from the window or do a criminal act outweigh my discomfort from sleeping poorly because of an energy consuming noisy device that does not clean poor quality air...The carpet was clean, new and still outgassing as new synthetic carpet does. Thank you for taking such good care of me because evidently I am considered by the wise and benevolent corporation incapable of doing so for myself. However I am able to generate sufficient capital to gain entry to their hallowed halls, after which I don't matter...GOT YOUR MONEY, NOW LEAVE PLEASE...Sound familiar? Incidentally please put decent coffee in the room, I will pay the additional seven cents to cover the cost or should I bring my own with me in a tool box to open the window? WHY DO YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO "MODIFY" MY REVIEW? November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay and Tremendous Staff! I had such a great stay at this hotel. No complaints at all. Just wish I had longer to hang out. Great location. Quiet , comfortable room and your staff are beyond friendly, pleasant and helpful. So nice to experience that type of friendliness and warmth in a place of business such as this. Keep up the great work and I Iook forward to another stay soon! November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met and went past my expectations. Everything I asked for was delivered. I enjoyed my stay and would return there if the occasion comes up. November 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Comfortable clean centrally-located hotel. Very friendly staff. Restaurant needs better food quality and options though November 7, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Far too noisy, and few/no vegan/healthy menu options While the staff tries very hard to serve their guests, the hotel itself has only a half-complete feel to it renovation. Both the windows and the HVAC units appear to be straight out of the 70's, and it shows: the remarkably noisy heaters and street noise that passes through unimpeded into the rooms makes sleep difficult. Lastly, the restaurant menu choices appear to favor remarkably poor food choices with little or nothing for vegans that prefer to avoid the dozens of diseases that come from consuming animal flesh. Sadly, a poor example of what a Holiday Inn should be. I hope the management finishes the renovation correctly, and soon. November 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Very clean, friendly staff, good location, and excellent room layout. Concierge staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. First choice for future trips to San Francisco. November 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spectacular View We were on the 23rd floor on the corner of the building and the view was spectacular. This was an expensive room but it was worth it and very comfortable. We were close to our daughter who lives on Nob Hill and they were just married on Saturday night in Sonoma. The location was perfect. We were very pleased with our stay. November 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, convenient location, stunning views Very friendly staff. At check-in, "Baker" was very helpful and friendly, and made us feel at home. Room was always clean and had everything that we needed. The view and location are perfect for first time visitors November 1, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, comfortable bed and great view! This is the first time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gate and we were pleasantly surprised. Beautiful room, great view and very friendly staff! Next time we visit family in San Francisco we will stay there again! October 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel for the price Nice hotel for the price. As a Platinum, I was upgraded to the 25th floor with a great view of the city. Location is just okay, depending on where you want to be in the city. Added bonus of cable car turnaround right outside the hotel. All staff was friendly, particularly Anthony at the front desk. October 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good position, excellent bed and services Found the hotel to be on the Tram line which made transportation very easy. Extremely comfortable room/bed and coffee machine first class and easy to use ! Did not use the pool facilities. Would stay again and recommend. Did not recognise UK IHG Priority Card Member and therefore no points ! October 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay lots of eating place nean by from high end to cheap.. transportation close by.... hotel bar need to open earlier then 4:30 pm October 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, friendly staff, good value Clean & comfortable room. Excellent view of the SF bay fm the 26th floor room. Slight mix up on our request for early arrival inadvertantly noted as a late arrival and therefore had a rather extensive wait b4 gaining access to the room. However, in view of the room we did get, in retrospect the wait was somewhat more tolerable. In that regard, we want to especially acknowledge and thank Anthony at the front desk. Also, the maid service was excellent. October 20, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible service, great rooms, perfect location This hotel has the best service I've ever received anywhere. We've been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years, and they've never let us down. Their employees could teach customer service. October 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our San Francisco Experience What a hotel!! We truly enjoyed our stay for 3 nights while we toured San Francisco. The best part of our room on the 26th floor was the spectacular view! The corner room was awesome! Our room was beautifully furnished and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shop on the main floor provided good tips for our tours and transportation. We were able to rent a car with ease for the remainder of our California adventure. Lastly, we were able to print our boarding passes for your flight home right in the hotel. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel! October 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a bit dusty around the edges I think a crevice tool needs to be used on the carpets. It seems there is about an inch of carpet from wall that doesn't get vacuumed up. The rest of the carpet is vacuumed, just not closest to the baseboard which means accumulated detritus. October 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect to be in San Francisco Nice, friendly Staff, perfect Location to discover the City (the Cable Station "California Street" to the Market street is just arround the Corner. Nice and clean room (we where at the 25th floor) with a great overview. Good breakfast with nice staff there too ... all in all very perfect stay! October 10, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls, cramped room If I had visited this hotel prior to booking a conference here for my international group, I would have found a different property. When I first arrived, the hotel seemed nice enough, albeit the service was less than desirable. Within 5 minutes of checking into my room, I could hear talking in the hall, quite loudly from inside my room, beside the bed. Since I was very close to the elevator, I was concerned with late night noise from returning guests. I called the front desk, asking for a different room and was met with a sarcastic response. I ended up keeping the room because I was not guaranteed that any other room would be quieter. They did promise me ear plugs, which took them hours to deliver. To their defense, they did bring a tray, with an eye mask, chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine. I am not sure if they were truly apologetic for their lack of customer service, or they realized that I was a meeting planner. We also had a conference attendee travel from Japan for our conference and they lost his reservation and bumbled that too. I would not recommend this hotel for conferences. October 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very nice room We stayed in the King executive room with a corner window with NW view of the city and the bay. It was lovely! The price was average to high for this city and location, but the price was pretty good for this room. It felt luxurious to be there. Great bed and pillows, clean and well stocked bathroom, great tv and accommodations. We really enjoyed our room. Having available parking is also great but it was pricey at $40/night. This is SF though, so we expected to pay for it and it was very nice not to have to worry about parking down the street or worrying about street parking. The location is great because within a 2-3 block radius there are numerous bars and restaurants. Perfect for our overnight couple night getting away from the kids and enjoying an evening in the city. We did not use the pool or restaurant but had a drink in the bar. There was happy hour on the weekend so that was nice. The hotel gift shop was also very nice. I live in the bay area and saw lots of things I wanted to get for family. The best part of the staff were the cleaning women. We ran into them multiple times getting into and out of the elevators and they were so nice to us. Gave us a warm greeting each time. October 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff the staff is excellent. they were all professional and accomodating, from the manager of rooms to housekeeping and the bartender and wait staff. October 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent reception Lets get the negative out of the way......During our 17 day travels in Canada and the US, we stayed in 8 hotels/motels - some very modest - before booking in with you and in 7 of them we had free access to a computer. You could do better! We liked your location, ameneties and especially Mr Baker who booked us in. We arrived early - 12 noon - and Mr Baker went out of his way to get these two tired travellers in a room.....he made our day! October 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and comfortable rooms. Nice welcome. Very polite and service oriented front office staff. Cosy and clean room with nice view. October 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and space room Clean and space room; Good view of the city; convenient location. Everything is fine except shortage of bell boys! October 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good solid hotel as a base for travelling sf Bed and rooms were comfortable Staff were friendly and overall a solid hotel October 7, 2013
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>