Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Some visit Sydney’s icons. Others stay in them. For more than 25 years, InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia’s harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental lounge overlooking the harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set within breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonall...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

Let's Do Bento

Enjoy a healthy bento box for lunch in our historic Cortile lounge. For only $20 for a bento box or $25* inclusive of a drink there is no better wa...

Festive Delights

Indulge in our market-fresh buffet with turkey and ham carving stations whilst you enjoy what Christmas is all about - enjoying time with family an...
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    8:46 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 613 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wi Fi Great hotel excellent location. However, I have never been in a hotel/motel that didn't have complimentary WI FI. It cost me $18+ to send one e mail!..??? June 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sleep Quality The air conditioning was turned up too high, so it was very hot in our room and we could not sleep very well. Also we did not like the lack of a top sheet, there was only a doona. Otherwise our stay was pleasant. June 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, excellent breakfast and terrific staff Hotel is perfectly located in the rocks area with great views from the roof top. Staff were wonderful, couldn't fault them at all. Breakfast buffet was the best I've ever had! was good value with the kids as they ate free with the adults. Disappointed that the spa wasn't functioning properly but not a major issue. The hotel itself is dated, as are the room bathrooms, they need replacing but they were clean which, to me, is more important. I would stay here again as given it's in the rocks it was very reasonably priced. With a bit of a re-vamp, this place would be superb ! Would recommend. May 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vivid Festival Spectacular My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney during the Vivid Festival. This hotel was situated in the best spot for all the Vivid Festival sights. One of the best sights being from the Pool on top of this lovely hotel. Buffet Breakfast each morning was scrumptious. We found the staff extremely courteous and they went out of their way to help if there was a problem. Rooms were quite spacious and the beds very comfortable. I loved how you had the choice between soft or firm pillows. We will certainly be staying their again. May 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything we wanted We were a little concerned that the room would be noisy with Rocks Markets just outside our window but we were very happy with just how quiet it was. We were there on the weekend of the opening of Vivid and very much appreciated the communication the hotel had with us prior to arriving in regard to parking. Overall it was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in the city. Thank you. May 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Ecxellent service, staff were friendly, very professional and helpful. The King Superiour room was spacious, the bathroom lacked the wow factor for such a nice hotel. Overall, I was very pelased with my stay, and would not hesitate to stay there again. :) May 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location in The Rocks Staff was great and room ready with good view. Within walking distance of just about anything! Would highly recommend! May 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Area of Sydney It is an older hotel, but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, yet clean. It's in a great area for walking to so many areas. Circle Quay is real close for catching ferries or subways. Only complaint, I wanted to do my laundry after getting back to the hotel on our last evening before heading to our next destination in Australia, and it was after 8pm, and it was closed. They don't allow it to be used after 8pm because it is too close to a few rooms. I say they need to move it, it was a great inconvience. The free fruit was great, just picked up a piece on our way out in the morning for a quick snack. Too busy to use the swimming pool on the roof top, but there was a great view from up there. May 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 location and value really enjoyed it. VG location right in the rocks Markets and close to the bridge and circular quay May 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room, good location with great staffs I was there with my partner and we got the excellent service from staffs. We get what we ask for, staffs are very helpful. Room was good, comfortable with the good harbour view. Bathroom is good but bath a little bit small I think. I like the pool at the rooftop, surrounding with good view. will be return to the hotel again and recommend friends as well. May 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed service good Overall we had a stay service and rooms are good maybe a better view might have help we were in back corner 420 May 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and perfect location We had a marvelous short stay at the Old Sydney recently. We were lucky to get an upgrade but the real highlight was the service. It was exceptional - friendly, patient and helpful, every time. The location was perfect for our cruise ship departure, too, and close to all sorts of interesting things and places. Why stay anywhere else? May 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable. only drawback is the bathroom always enjoy stay here. only drawback is the size of bathroom. However, not much way you can improve that. Staff are all excellent and friendly. Bar area is comfortable and a great place for a drink before dinner, after dinner - any time. It might sound silly, but I feel you had more room before the bar was refurnished. However, I can see you have tried to update the furnishings. Probably the best location "value for money" hotel in Sydney. Great restaurants and bars at your door step. A DEFINITE recommendation. May 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, just check the cruise schedule if you book an opera house view First impressions of the property were good. A light and airy reception with an attentive reception staff. Upgraded to an opera house view and to be fair to the receptionist, she did check the inhouse system to check no cruise ships were due, however when we woke the next morning there was a ship blocking our entire view of the opera house. Again to be fair to reception, they removed the upgrade cost as the ship was to be there for our entire stay. Room a good size, clean and with a comfortable bed. Food was good and the pool nice on the roof, although not heated. Excellent location to walk about the main sights of the city. May 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Breakfast, Beautiful Location We cannot fault our stay at The Old Sydney, the staff are all determined to make your say as pleasurable as possible, the breakfast is fresh and tasty, especially the American bacon. The location is so central its just a short walk to circular quay and any amount of first class restaurants. April 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel we arrived at the hotel late and only had one night at the hotel and the reception staff were very quick booking us in and providing all the information we required the room was very good and the food excellent all the staff wery helpfull April 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellence with with puzzling small faults Unbeatable for location - which tips the scales in its favour against any other Sydney hotel stayed in. Excellence marred only by two faults: The bed lights are extinguished when you turn off the main lights - so you must go to bed in the dark, and cannot read. Remedy: you unplug the clock radio and plug in the desk lamp. There is loud air conditioning noise in the bathroom, which cannot be switched off. Remedy: you stuff the face cloth in the vents and keep the door closed. But why does the guest have to resort to such ingenuity? The staff are welcoming and efficient. April 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Rocks Excellent location. Nice and quiet. Near Bridge Walk and the Quay. Explorer bus stop directly across. Numerous restaurants within an easy walk. Staff was very good and helpful. April 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and wonderful service Hotel was location in the heart of The Rocks making everything easy to get to, especially the The Rocks Market! Elena's sangria's were a wonderful way to end the day with especially up by the roof top pool with views of the bridge and Opera House. However the rooms are not large and the beds could be more comfy but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff could not have done more to assist us. A special thank you to Pina on the front desk. April 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great plea to stay! My husband and I had a rocky start to our two week vacation and by the time we got to Sydney and the Holiday inn for our second week in Australia we were tired and really looking to settle in and relax for awhile. The staff at Holiday Inn in Old Sydney allowed us to do that and more. We had a deluxe room which was wonderfully roomy and the bed and service to the room great. A must mention among the staff, though all were most helpful and a joy, was Mitch, who, when we were trying to get to the hotel by rental car with a GPS that kept taking us to 55 George Street in the wrong suburb of Sydney, stayed on the phone for some 15 minutes or so directing us street by street until we arrived. And in other services he was great like all the others. Really an exceptional staff. We ate the first night at the lounge as we were too tired after a drive from Hunter Valley to go out. The food was pretty good. I really enjoyed mine, my husband felt his was ok. Continental breakfast had a nice variety, the only problem being when we hit it in the morning many things were not hot or warm as they were meant to be. Otherwise good. If I could come to Sydney again, considering the accommodations, the room with a view of the opera house, the staff and the location in the Rocks, I would definitely reconsider the Holiday inn in Old Sydney again. April 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ecellent staff service we had a major delay with our flights home and the staff Casey in particular were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. April 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Views We had a fantastic room views to the sydney harbour bridge from our window and opera house, great service would stay there again. April 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay in Sydney We have stayed in this Hotel several times and have always been impressed with the very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and the hospitality tray very welcome. We would definitely recommend this Hotel. April 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and a great place to stay. We walked off the cruise ship and we were already at the hotel. No need for a taxi. The staff are fantastic and the hotel looks great. The location, in the heart of the Rocks, can't be beaten. The room was great, but the bathroom was starting to look its age. A quiet drink in front of the fire at night was a perfect end to our day in Sydney. Breakfast the next morning was magnificent and great way to start our day. Only disappointment.... We just stayed for one night. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will be back. April 14, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Heart broken After staying at this hotel for over 20 years and being treated like royalty we now find that cruise passengers fill the hotel and the regulars are now incidental. In the past this hotel was good value for money but now it is 5 star prices for 3 star rooms. Many thanks to the staff as they are always great and they understood our disappointment. April 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location sydney is very expensive, hotel is located by many restaurants bars, all expensive, you are across the street from the water, whether you want to take a ferry to the zoo, the harbor bridge is a bit of a walk but another famous thing to do. the opera house is seen from the water. I believe the cruise ship is here also. so its centrally located.. staff very helpful. pool is on roof, jacuzzi wasnt working, breakfast buffet is 30 unless you are a priority member I suggest it. you get free wifi and a discount on the breakfast to only 22.00 it even has a juicer to make fresh fruit and vegi drinks in the morn. they let you keep your extra luggage if you plan to travel elsewhere and return back to the hotel. which is great. no schlapping extra suitcases. well Im on to a cruise after the zoo. wonderful place, bring lots of money. and enjoy April 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A relaxing time good location.. We had a great break from the family this weekend at the Old Sydney Holiday Inn. Nothing was a problem and Catherine on the front desk was vey accomodating to several requests I required. The location is fantastic, we had a great dinner by the harbour, went to a show and then came back to hotel and had a nightcap by the cosy fireplace. The next morning we had a great breakfast then went on a walk through the rocks markets and around to Walsh bay and Barangaroo. We felt well rested and once again marvelled at our great city and what it has to offer. Thank you and well done. April 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff at the hotel were wonderful and so helpful. The location is outstanding for engaging with the city of Sydney. The rooms are really small but comfortable. April 5, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very good stay let down by bedding The stay was very good, Breakfast was enjoyable. Rooms comfortable. Staff service excellent. The location is superb, with great access to public transport, taxis and by car. The surrounding area is wonderful. Since my last stay, the hotel has almost eliminated noise from outside. Two items let the whole stay down: the lack of sheet - no matter what the air conditioning setting, it was too hot under the doona, and we don't sleep well without some light covering- and the pillows tended to pack down too much. April 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb room size, great service. Great service with a smile! Lovely staff at reception. Quick check in and even speedier check out! Thankyou for a wonderful stay! View from rooftop SPECTACULAR! April 2, 2014
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 next>>