Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 2035 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2035reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1189
  • 4 Stars
    557
  • 3 Stars
    152
  • 2 Stars
    80
  • 1 Stars
    57

Recomendo!

By

17 December 2021

O staff nos recebeu muito bem, e chegamos bem tarde da noite.
O quarto e banheiros são amplos, limpos e bem cuidado.
O spray chamado deep sleep pillow spray, oferecido pelo hotel é maravilhoso, gostaria de ter mais!!
O café da manhã é um pequeno almoço maravilhoso!! Superou as minhas expectativas!
Recomendo muito ficar neste hotel! Eu ficaria novamente, sem dúvidas!

Read More
Read Less

Amazing staff and service!

By

16 December 2021

I always visit Birmingham every December, with my sister to do our Christmas shopping and usually stay at a different hotel. This year we changed to the Crowne Plaza and were absolutely thrilled at the service, staff and our overall stay.
A special mention goes to Sylwia and Jaspal for making our stay so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel like old friends. Definitely recommend this hotel, their restaurant and the superb customer service. See you again December 2022!

Read More
Read Less

Returning customer

By

15 December 2021

Whenever I visit Birmingham I always stay at this hotel. Above all else the staff really make the visit and make you feel special. The rooms are great and with a nice view of the city and the bathroom was spotless.

Read More
Read Less

Convenient city centre hotel

By

13 December 2021

club

Just a 5 minute walk from Birmingham's New Street station, this hotel provides luxury accommodation within easy reach of the City centre

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel, excellent location

By

13 December 2021

club

Perfectly located, this hotel is of a very high standard, with friendly and helpful staff, who made my stsy all the more enjoyable.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel for Birmingham City Centre

By

11 December 2021

club

Stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights for our daughters graduation. Excellent location for visiting the city centre, with onsite parking, quiet and comfortable rooms, and a good breakfast buffet. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the hotel and room very clean. Our room did have a couple of minor maintenance issues, but it was clean, quiet, comfortable, and had modern decor.

Read More
Read Less

Great overall hotel

By

10 December 2021

Excellent visit great staff very attentive to our needs great service

Read More
Read Less

Large room

By

09 December 2021

I stayed here before several years ago .
The room was large and clean but at times it got cold as the temperature was set . I struggled with the lack of plug sockets especially near the bed . However , the room and bathroom were very clean .

It is looking a little tired in places and maybe in need of a refresh soon . I choose the Crowne Plaza because cleanliness is a big deal for me .

Read More
Read Less

Underwhelming experience

By

09 December 2021

platinumelite

Two-night stay in December 2021 (Room 843). I've had Platinum Elite status for a couple of years via the IHG credit card and have been impressed with stays at Crowne Plaza's in Newcastle, Leeds, Manchester and Birmingham in the past. I've moved to Cumbria but work for a London based company and this was my first go at finding a London Crowne Plaza for office visits. I'm sorry to say my experience of the Kings Cross Crowne Plaza was not a good one

- I arrived on a Monday night at circa 2100. It took quite a while to check in as there was only one member of staff on the desks. A colleague arrived after ten minutes but it took some time to check me in due to problems with printers and only one functioning card machine. The whole process took around 20 minutes which I could have done without after a full day’s work followed by a four-hour journey.

- There was no sense that Platinum Elite status offered me any preferred service which is at odds with the level of service I have enjoyed in the past. I was asked about my preference between a free drink and more points but that was all.

- I understand that upgrades to the Executive rooms are not guaranteed but I was disappointed not to be upgraded given the hotel appeared to have low occupancy level at the time.

- I was not offered access to the Executive Lounge, it was empty.

- The bedding in the room was basic and not to the standard I have enjoyed at other Crowne Plazas. Just some crumpled white sheets.

- There was a 4-inch scratch across the TV screen.

- The air conditioning did not work. It expelled cold air regardless of the setting (including off) and was rattling all night. I called Housekeeping the first morning but nothing was done. As a result, the room was colder than I would have preferred and I didn’t get as much sleep as I needed.

- The bathroom is a wet room and there is no way to keep any part of it dry when you take a shower so you need to dry your feet in the room.

- There was no toilet brush.

- At breakfast on both days the buffet food was lukewarm at best. Most notable for me were the grilled tomatoes that were served at fridge temperature which was an unpleasant experience on a plate of 'hot' food. Given they appeared to have been grilled I assume that was done the day before but the kitchen forgot to warm them back up before serving out of the fridge which made me wonder just how long ago had the hot food been prepared. Grim.

- Upon returning to my room on the second evening from work I could not gain entry as my key card had not been coded properly the night before, necessitating a return visit to reception for a new key. An unwelcome detour after a long day at the office.

- Upon gaining entry to the room I discovered it had not been made up and was in the same condition I left it at 7:30am that morning.

- Having lost confidence in Housekeeping I tried to call down to reception to raise my concerns about my stay but I could not get an answer.

- I did send an email to the hotel management that evening giving feedback, they have not responded.

- Exhausted, after an all-day meeting, I decided to make the best of it and went to sleep in a track suit and earplugs.

My advice to busy business travellers is to give the Crowne Plaza Kings Cross a miss and look for an alternative.

Read More
Read Less

excellent value for money

By

09 December 2021

club

excellent hotel very clean near all attractions staff so friendly nothing to much trouble

Read More
Read Less

Superb location for Symphony Hall

By

09 December 2021

club

Friendly, helpful staff, great location for Symphony Hall,

Read More
Read Less

Ok but overpriced

By

08 December 2021

We paid one hundred and eighty pounds for room only for a one night stay at The Crowne Plaza, Birmingham. The room was nice but nothing special. Comfortable bed and nice staff but rather expensive!

Read More
Read Less