Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 1589 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1589reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1120
  • 4 Stars
    275
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    69
  • 1 Stars
    40

Great Service

By

21 September 2021

platinumelite

I use this hotel on a very regular basis, staying a week or two every month. The hotel is great with the staff always very accommodating, delivering great service. As a business traveller I am privileged to be cared for by Haley and the business accounts team who have been excellent, ensuring that I am very well looked after during my stays. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Newcastle.

Read More
Read Less

Great service and good value hotel

By

21 September 2021

club

I stayed here for a week when doing the Great North Run. The staff were great, the hotel was clean and the breakfasts perfect. I'd happily stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Will definitely stay again.

By

21 September 2021

Lovely hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Just what we needed for visiting Newcastle for 2 nights. Staff at hotel were helpful and attended quickly to requests. Location was perfect, just behind train station. Easy walk to city centre. Multi-storey parking right next to hotel, very convenient and reduced rate when staying at hotel. Very impressed at the standard of the hotel, will definitely stay again during next visit to Newcastle.

Read More
Read Less

Handy for Newcastle Centre

By

20 September 2021

club

We used the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Central Newcastle for a weekend away after Covids lockdown. Very conveniently placed just behind Newcastle Central Station, so handy for Newcastle centre tourist attractions, pubs & restaurants. Only a short walk to the Quays area on the River Tyne too.
Good parking next door discounted to £10 per 24 hours.
Modern & clean. Very busy that weekend as there was a rugby tournament going on in town.
Room large and comfortable, but no servicing due to Covid so had to pop down to a very helpful reception desk to replace toiletries such as shower gel & shampoo.
Breakfasts (included in our booking) were great-well cooked, hot & tasty, with the buffet being regularly replenished. However those coming late for breakfast found themselves queuing for tables as the hotel was so full.
The bar was comfortable but busy & very pricy as you would expect in a city centre hotel of this level.
Overall a great stay at a very reasonable price, and the weather stayed good too.

Read More
Read Less

The room was great and very comfortable - had a good night sleep

By

20 September 2021

My experience with staff though was poor. Was not satisfied with the overall customer service experience. Whilst the room was comfortable and facilities in the hotel very good, some staff at reception checked me in was excellent but the lady the following day was not so nice, she had a very unwelcoming attitude towards me.

Read More
Read Less

Sleepless Night

By

19 September 2021

club

I had booked a quiet room in club class pending my daughters graduation the following day. The hotel had a large number of corporate builders staying there. Many men with company overalls.

At 02.30 I was awoken by banging doors, loud televisions and the sound of men returning from their night out in the City. I could not get back to sleep and the noise went on while 04.30. I did not go to reception in my pyjamas and neither did I telephone the hotel. Level 6 club class is a long way from reception and the three night staff would not have heard the loud TV's unless they had done a walk-around between 02.30 and 04.30. I complained the following morning and was told I should have telephoned reception. The onus was put back on me. I discovered that the three reception staff did a walk around at the beginning and the end of their shift. I suggested that the manager and I go and knock on the doors of the loud guests and ask them to explain themselves. They were still in bed at 07.30 having gone to sleep three hours earlier. I was told not to do this but the hotel manager assured me that he would do this. He did not do this.

I am still waiting for a refund as my stay was a disaster and the following day was spoilt as I struggled to stay awake.

Most disappointing response from the Room Division Manager and the Front Office Manager.

Read More
Read Less

Filthy room

By

18 September 2021

Hair, dust and dirt. The room was a nice size and comfortable, but was absolutely filthy. There are better hotels in Newcastle and the area which will provide a better experience at a lower price.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay and the hotel never seemed busy.

By

16 September 2021

A full a busy hotel due to the Great North Run,however the hotel never seemed busy.
Courteous and smiling staff.
Fantastic Gin selection.
Wonderful room.l

Read More
Read Less

1 night stay after GNR

By

16 September 2021

The bedroom and hotel were both inviting and clean. The check in staff member was so lovely and helpful. We unfortunately didn't rate the swimming pool experience and found this to be disappointing. The reasons for this were linked to the number of people using the space during current covid 19 restrictions. We acknowledge that travelling from Scotland meant there would be differences in restrictions but still felt that covid 19 was overlooked in this area. There was too many people to swim and two seperate people just sitting in the top two corners of the pool made it a strange experience. We didn't stay long.

Breakfast was really busy and lots of queuing. Again we feel this is due to the influx of runners from the GNR

Read More
Read Less

Fabulous hotel

By

16 September 2021

club

Always a pleasure staying at this hotel. Staff exceptionally professional and friendly. Bedrooms spacious and cosy. Highly recommend.

Read More
Read Less

Some things good

By

13 September 2021

Loved the stay apart from night time staff no help what’s so ever and I requested petals on the bed for my wife’s birthday got a email to say how much I replied saying yes that’s fine and they didn’t put the petals on which I was very disappointed

Read More
Read Less

Great stay.

By

12 September 2021

My friend and I shared a King room which was really nice. Plenty of space, beautifully clean, comfy bed, nicely decorated.
The location of the hotel is very, very good. Just behind the train station, a few minutes walk from the town centre and a 5 minute walk from the quayside.
Staff were very pleasant.
Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice. We went slightly later when it was quiet. A couple of times staff came over to ask if everything was okay.
The public areas and the swimming pool were very pleasant and clean. We left it too late to book a treatment at the spa so its probably best to book in advance.
If visiting Newcastle I would definitely stay here again. We booked our stay through Secret Escapes where we got an amazing deal. But even without this deal think I think its value for money.

Read More
Read Less