Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 1887 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1887reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1227
  • 4 Stars
    419
  • 3 Stars
    106
  • 2 Stars
    71
  • 1 Stars
    64

Won't be staying again

By

01 December 2021

Disappointed since the take over from holiday inn. It looks and feels the same with great staff as before.blet down by new revamped Limited menu and a huge hike in price

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room, staff let it down

By

01 December 2021

Great room, clean and comfortable.
However staff attitude spoilt our stay.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely Hotel, Poor Massage, Poor Service

By

01 December 2021

Unfortunately, we’ve had a rather disappointing experience on a number of levels.
> 1. The treatments at the Espirit Spa; were less than satisfactory. We would go so far as to wonder if the woman who did both of our massages was actually trained. We had a back, neck and shoulder and an Indian head massage.
> The Indian head massage stated head, face, neck and shoulder massage for 25mins. Sadly what was experienced was 25 minutes of the back of the head being very gently dry-rubbed without oil. The best way I can describe this is as if someone was gently stroking my hair. Nothing further happened. Having had a number of these before, you can imagine the surprise and disappointment. I was asked to lay face down (not sure how she was ever supposed to massage my face, neck and shoulders this way?).
> The back, neck, and shoulder massage was very weak, and the areas asked to be focused on were neglected. There was barely any pressure and her technique seemed questionable as she seemed to be drawing lines on my back. Again, having had a number of these before we were surprised.
>
> 2. Spa service; as soon as we arrived, the lady on reception seemed fairly careless in her approach. We were not offered towels, locker keys, shown where the facilities were or anything you’d expect from a spa package.
>
> 3. Delayed and poor quality food/drink; we ordered tea which came incorrectly (but this was later corrected once raised), and later ordered nachos, halloumi fries and 2 cocktails. These took 50 mins to arrive, and when they did they were overcooked and luke warm. The halloumi fries specifically were over cooked and seemed burnt. The quantity and quality of food didn’t seem to match the price and once again the service was lackadaisical and unhelpful. When we chased the food and drink order we were told “it’s very busy it’ll just be a while” with no apology. When ordering food we were simply handed a piece of paper and a pen with no explanation, which was later clear we were to write our own order down.
>
> 4. Response at reception

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable Hotel Stay

By

01 December 2021

We enjoyed our one night stay. The room was clean and tidy, the restaurant had a good choice of food and the pool was warm. A nice comfy bed and a good night sleep.
On the negative side, the hotel was short staffed. Not sure if this was short term (Covid absences) or longer term (Brexit discouraging EU workers), so there were long queues at check in, check out, and at the bar.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel

By

01 December 2021

This hotel is well worth a stay. If definitely come back

Read More
Read Less

Hotel let down by a few members of staff

By

29 November 2021

Hotel, rooms and public areas were all good but some staff lack enthusiasm or care. Shame

Read More
Read Less

Awful reception staff

By

28 November 2021

After booking with your company I called reception to organise a surprise for my for my girlfriend as it was our anniversary. I was informed for a fee of £12 I could have a bottle of proceso and chocolate covered strawberries placed in my room for when I arrived. This fee was to be paided on Arrival. After check in I was annoyed and disappointed to see my request hadn’t been for filled and the two items were not present. I went to reception to see what the issue was. This is where I began to get even more annoyed and felt undervalued and like I was being a nuisance. I explained the situation to a member of staff behind the desk to which she checked your booking system and confirmed there was a note on my booking. She quickly deferred blame away from herself and told me she had just started her shift and it should of been picked up by a member of staff who was across the room decorating a tree. The lady behind the desk asked the lady by the tree to come back to the desk to help resolve the issue to which she refused this happened 2 more times as she “busy sorting the tree”. The lady behind the desk then walked over to the lady at the tree to confront her and they continued to argue until she returned behind the desk and the other lady continued to decorate the tree as the tree was clearly more important then my issue. The lady behind the desk then tried to tell me to pay for the two items now was £42 and £5 on arrival. As you can imagine I was furious at this point as you staff have not fulfilled my request argued infront of me and decided decorating a tree was more important than me and now your staff is trying to charge me 3x as much for a service which had already lost its charm as my girlfriend had now Been in the room and had no surprise. After trying to explain to your member of staff the promises I had been made of £12 when I had originally organised the suprise she just disregarded it and refused to do anything to compensate for the mess up. After feeling annoyed and upset at the whole situation I told her to leave it as she just didn’t seem to understand my feelings and care about how I felt about the whole situation. But before I had even moved 5 step away from the desk the lady stormed from behind the desk back to the lady at the tree and they began to argue again in front of me.

Read More
Read Less

2 night Spa at Crowne Plaza at Reading

By

23 November 2021

club

I booked 2 night spa birthdays surprise for my boyfriend. The first night we had a meal at the hotel which was absolutely lovely and we enjoyed. The second day we had a full body massage which was lovely. The staff were very helpful. We both enjoyed our stay at Crowne Plaza at Reading. Looking forward to come back next time. I will recommend to anyone who wants to go somewhere to relax.

Read More
Read Less

Not clean room

By

18 November 2021

Nice quiet room but my local gym had jacuzzi steam room you can sit in for more than a few minutes unlike this one which was way too hot… 4-5 mins top could anyone last!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Great birthday treat

By

18 November 2021

My friend and I visited for a birthday celebration. The staff were all fantastic. Room was great although the tea / coffee tray was rather limited and disappointing (no flavoured teas and only 1 small pack of biscuits). Beds were really comfortable. Although pillows not so much. Spa treatments were really relaxing and the pool was enjoyable. I had visited before and this time a gratuity charge was added to the meals- I prefer to provide tips for service directly. The restaurant staff made my friend's birthday meal extra special with a the presentation of decorated plate whilst singing happy birthday. Overall a brilliant stay.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable overnight stay

By

18 November 2021

Nice room. Good diner, but it would be nice if the Indian menu was available every day.

Read More
Read Less

Stayed in many

By

16 November 2021

Expensive, over priced beverages and been charged for room service which took 1 hour to deliver 2 drinks, bathroom is small with hardly any pressure in the shower

Read More
Read Less