Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
97%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 226 reviews
97%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

226reviews

  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Very impressed by quality of service - Simply one of my favourite hotels in the world

By

04 February 2016

Executive suite with river view is around 55 sqm
Very elegant décor
3,40 m height from floor to ceiling
Antiques, Iran rug, Books

Very comfortable bed (with heating options)
Convenient usb plug sockets next to the bed

2 large flat screen TV (one with surround system)
iPod dock
Francis Francis! illy espresso coffee machine. Kettle
bathroom with the magic bathtub (filled in 2 minutes) and separate shower,
Anne Semonin amenities

River view

GOOD
- Very impressed by the quality of the service, from check-in desk to spa, bar and concierge
- Lovely birthday welcome gift
- Grandeur of the décor
- Boutique hotel feeling
- Love the spa and indoor pool
- The new A bar is elegant and has a trendy atmosphere
- Fast wifi

BAD
- Nothing. It was just a perfect stay

The InterContinental Amstel is my favourite hotel in Amsterdam (and simply one of my favourite in the world).

Read More
Read Less

SERVICE

By

28 January 2016

THE HOTEL IS EXCELLENT , IN TERMS OF LOCATION , SERVICE AND QUALITY.
EXCELLENT STAFF .
OVERALL 100 % PERFECT .

Posted byHotelStaff
01 February 2016
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about your stay at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a perfect stay with us and that you experienced excellent service. Our team takes great pride in contributing to a most comfortable stay and I will definitely share your compliments with them. Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

27 January 2016

Lovely hotel, very traditional, some would say a little dated in terms of styling, but this is more than outweighed by the excellent, attentive staff and superb location on the banks of the Amstel.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the traditional environment and location of our hotel. Your kind words are shared with the team. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Posted byHotelStaff
28 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your dinner with us in Amsterdam and that the view was to your liking. Your compliments are shared with the entire team. Thank you once again and please visit us again. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great accommodations and even better customer service!

By

25 January 2016

What a great place to stay! You won't be disappointed!

Posted byHotelStaff
26 January 2016
Dear guest, Thank you for writing a review about your stay at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us and that you experienced excellent service. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Amazing hotel!

By

25 January 2016

Stay at the Amstel Intercontinental whenever you can. The staff are amazing, the rooms comfy and inviting, and the services provided are the best I've ever experienced at any hotel in the world! (Concierge, Wi-Fi, Spa, Tours of the Canals, etc.)

I will definitely stay at this hotel again next time I'm in Amsterdam!

Posted byHotelStaff
26 January 2016
Dear guest, Your enthusiasm about your stay in our hotel fills me with joy and I very much appreciate it that you share such a great guest experience. We provide our guests with extra services to ensure a most comfortable stay and I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the services that we offer. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you again next time you are visiting Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Wochenende in Amsterdam

By

20 January 2016

platinumelite

Ein wunderschönes Wochenende, das man im Sommer wiederholen sollte.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 January 2016
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung unseres Hotels. Es freut uns, dass Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat. Unsere Mitarbeiter freuen sich sehr über positive Bewertungen, daher wissen wir Ihr Feedback zu schätzen. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder im Sommer bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

well under par

By

18 January 2016

I really hate writing a bad review about any Intercontinental as is in my view the best of any Hotels around but my expectations probably where too high..but many problems a 5 star Hotel shouldn’t have. Check-in was cumbersome and cold , no smiles no happiness just business it’s all about minimizing costs and maximizing profits , IHG member privileges are cut to a bare minimum and the lowest and cheapest of any Interconti I have ever stayed in . Entrance is impressive and beautiful ,
Once in the room everything took a turn the to the worst the room was freezing , the carpet was dirty and stained the wallpaper had dirt marks all over the window was leaking during the rain , wash basin had been broken for a long time as dirt settled in the cracks for good…paint on the wardrobes were worn off…all basic maintenance issues which should have been addressed many month before , never seen that in any Hotel before .Why have huge liquor bottles in the room ?? So you just have a taste for a Vodka orange you open a euro 50.- bottle ??? Great for the raging alcoholic but not for the average guest . I think there is a great reason for mini bottles in minibars they are consumer friendly.
The location is a bit isolated about 1 mile walk from the heart of Amsterdam The pool area is outstanding ….Before The GM writes a beautiful reply to this review( how glad they are to improve and so on) I would suggest showing some interest to the day to day business and deal with problems when they arise and not just later when they can’t get fixed as I have tried to get in contact but she is well protected by ihefront office manager who seemed totally out of touch, more interested in avoiding addressing problems than fixing them…what a shame.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your personal experience with the travel community. I am sorry to learn you found your stay with us disappointing and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We strive to make sure all our guests are satisfied with their stay, therefore; we have taken all feedback into account and there is already been act upon. I regret you have declined all additional compensation offered during your stay and I hope we can continue our conversation via amstel@ihg.com. Please, accept my apologies once more and I remain at your disposal for any resolution conversation. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fabulous location and great service

By

15 January 2016

club

A great location for Amsterdam exploring, and lovely to come back to after a hard day pounding the pavements

Posted byHotelStaff
19 January 2016
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a lovely stay with us while exploring Amsterdam. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located in the city centre with easy access to the main attractions of Amsterdam. Also, I am glad to learn that you received great service by our staff. It is something they take great pride in and they do their utmost to contribute to a most memorable experience. Thank you again and I look forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Hotel in the Canal City

By

15 January 2016

Great choice away from the sleaze and in walking and bicycle distant of most major city attractions.
A beautiful building reminiscent of Amsterdam and bygone years the staff will welcome you and treat you courteously and enthusiastically. The hotel will provide you well maintained bicycles for touring and are as comfortable recommending a local bar with reasonably priced food as five star dining.
Nestled up against the waterway the rear of the hotel boasts a restaurant set against a shimmering canal scene, and rooms that overlook the water.
Finished in traditional style the hotel offers a great spot for the sophisticated traveller.

If you are looking for a party hotel with instant access to coffee shops and nightclubs look elsewhere.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 January 2016
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience about your stay with us. InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam is indeed conveniently located and within any minutes you can reach the city’s highlights. Even though the hotel lies in the city centre, its location along the River Amstel makes that the sounds of the city are kept to a faint murmur, so that your room is very peaceful. And how wonderful that you took advantage of the bicycle to discover the city! I am happy to learn that you also were treated courteously and enthusiastically by our staff members and I will definitely share your compliments with them. Thank you for your recommendation and we all hope that we may welcome you back in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A Grand Hotel that everyone Involved can be most Proud

By

08 January 2016

AMSTEL HOTEL

The InterContinental Amstel Hotel Amsterdam is for me one of the best hotels in the Netherlands.
From the very moment you arrive the service is superb, from the doormen, the reception team and all the back office team members that I had communications with, they are all Marvelous. The very best and most professional section is the team on the Concierge desk. Aad is a super star, Stephen a hero, literally, Stefan efficient and Tim a very fine young true Gentleman. There are many more team members, staffing for this huge but only 78 Suite hotel is wonderful. They made reservations for us getting great tables in restaurants, supplied us museum tickets and offered us umbrellas while raining. They are really the best concierge team I've ever experienced and I really recommend every guest in the hotel to take advantage of their great services.

The location of this "Grand Residence"on the shore of the Amstel River offers stunning views, the rooms/suites are decorated with taste, many in different styles. There is a Michelin star restaurant La Rive, this space is used in the mornings to serve a superb full extensive buffet with hot and cold offerings, eggs, pancakes, waffles and other breakfast treats cooked as you desire I also had carrot juice and some other items I hadn't been offered at other InterContinentals so it left a good impression. All this while watching the river flow by. On the ground level in the gorgeous lounge you can enjoy a brilliant High Tea on the weekends, both these places offer great views of the Amstel river.

Please make sure you book a room/suite with Amstel view. You will love it. On this occasion I had a beautiful suite, though it was on the city view side, which is dull. It did of course make us spend time in that lounge downstairs. This hotel is very well managed by one of only two women in Europe to be GM's of InterContinental hotels, both Dutch, something they can be very proud of. The passion and fine hospitality desire filters down to every one, and you truly leave this hotel better for your wonderful experience.

I highly recommend this hotel as a 16 year IHG rewards club member, and Spire Elite Ambassador.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. The entire team takes great pride in all your beautiful compliments, especially our colleagues at the concierge desk are filled with joy. I do agree that the view over the Amstel during your breakfast is very pleasant and a perfect way to start your day. Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and for your recommendations for other potential guests. We look forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A feeling of luxury

By

06 January 2016

Elina provided a very warm and professional check in experience for what is arguably one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam.
The room was excellent with ample space and a generous bathroom- even the shower had fantastic canal views.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. It is an absolute pleasure to learn that you had a great experience with us in Amsterdam and that the room was to your liking. Your beautiful compliments regarding our colleague Eline is something we are very proud of. Thank you once again. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel with Great View of Amstel

By

05 January 2016

This hotel is one of the best InterContinental I have ever stayed.

Its location is great. It is just on the Amstel and not far away from the city center. For Amsterdam, the city center is a little too busy and I think this hotel is just on the perfect location.

The room is great. Amenities are high quality. And I was greeted by friendly staff. I had breakfast in room and the food was really good.

I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Amsterdam.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 January 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you very for your wonderful words. It is great to read that you experienced the location of the hotel in Amsterdam as a great plus; it is indeed true that we are located at the edge of the city centre. Besides your beautiful compliments regarding the location it is an absolute pleasure to learn that the room, amenities and service was to your liking. We look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
Read More
Read Less