Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 436 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely rooms and Atmospher! Our stay was lovely as the rooms are beautiful, quiet and luxurious. We had a swim, used the heated bubbling spa and Sauna. On this part we enjoyed our stay and really unwound but that is where the joy reached its peak. Our stay was somewhat let down by the food and lack of knowledge by the staff in room service and the Restaurant. We waited about 20min just for two slices of gluten free toast after asking 3 staff members where it was. The room service menu had gluten free options but when we called for these we were told that they were not in fact gluten free at all. The food did not have the same wow factor as the hotel itself. Breakfast was perfect and I have to say it was one of the best I have had. I would stay based on the rooms and amenities but would find other places to eat in a city known for its food. 27 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by International hotel with the friendly warmth of a boutique hotel We checked in to celebrate an anniversary. From the front desk check in to the bar and restaurant we experienced genuine warm of service. Having travelled extensively overseas and in Australia we were delighted by our stay. Thank you 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience was memorable! Room comfortable Staff excellent, helpful and friendly High Coffee experience was excellent Club lounge comfy Breakfast bar vast selection Location excellent to all major Melbourne touristy attractions Highly recommend this hotel for business and tourist alike! 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite 5 star hotel in Melbourne My husband and I chose to spend our 5 year wedding anniversary at 'Melbourne The Rialto" by 'Intercontinental Hotels and Resorts'. We had stayed a couple of times at The Rialto before it was refurbished and taken over by the Intercontinental and really enjoyed it (more than other 5 star hotels in Melbourne) so were not sure if we would receive the same vibe under the new name. Well, our concerns were allayed as soon as we arrived. The arrival at Valet was quick and very friendly and courteous. The valet escorted us to the check in desk where I was greeted with a very cheerful and friendly lady who quickly checked us in, and upon learning about our reason for staying promptly upgraded us to a better room to help us celebrate (this has never happened to us in any other 5 star Melbourne hotel that we've stayed at...including on our wedding night). We were then directed to the concierge who carried our bags for us and took us to the lifts explaining the features of the hotel; he then escorted us into our room and discussed the features of the room (again this has never happened in any other 5 star hotel we have stayed at in Melbourne before). He set our bags up in the (very large) walk in robe and bid us adieu. The hotel room was huge, with very high ceilings and plenty of space to move around comfortably. Another feature we appreciated greatly was a proper lounge area where we could sit and relax (rather than one person on the chair and the other on the bed). The rooms are immaculately appointed and have a very classy, yet relaxed vibe about them (very Melbourne really). However, not wishing to sit in our room for too long and wanting to celebrate we headed down to the bar. Upon arriving the lady that checked us in recognised us and escorted us to a comfortable couch and ordered our drinks for us; a complimentary glass of good quality bubbles each (wow!). From there we headed out for dinner externally to the hotel, but wished we had stayed in the hotel, because if the service we had received so far was anything to go by, there was no reason to suspect that the dining experience would be any less. We are disappointed we did not par take because the restaurant we went to was hugely overpriced and we left still hungry (grrrr). To cut a long story short we arrived at the restaurant the next morning for breakfast and were greeted with a huge spread of everything you could possibly imagine from many cultures around the world (truly an international hotel experience), evident in the fact that there were many overseas guests in the restaurant enjoying their traditional breakfast. The only flaw of the stay? We ordered room service and it never arrived but were charged for it on our bill. When we advised the lady that checked us out, she promptly corrected the mistake, apologised profusely and offered us a free upgrade the next time we stay for the inconvenience (any 'inconvenience' we had experienced evaporated straight away) and we headed out of the hotel to find our car waiting for us. We drove away feeling refreshed, relaxed (if a little hung over), and so very thankful that our favourite Melbourne hotel had not lost its charm; a far more laid back, friendly and generous approach to 5 star accommodations that inspires us to keep returning time and again. We'll be back to enjoy that free upgrade soon. Thank you for great service, a friendly laid back air and (in my opinion) a unique five star experience. Keep up the great work! 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and spacious rooms, great service We have enjoyed our 5 nights stay at Intercontinental Melbourne. We arrived early, before 9am and the room was ready for us, so we could freshen up after our 9 hour flight. We have experienced so many other hotels which says "welcome but please come back at 2pm". As IHG member, we could check out late and this made a huge difference given our flight only leaves at 23:40. Service was excellent, we forgot to turn off our "do not disturb" sign and we got a phone message that night explaining why our room was not serviced. However, when we wanted to request shower gels and shampoo at 11pm, the housekeeping phone was not answered despite calling for 20 minutes. Other than this minor thing, everything was perfect. Valet parking overnight is cheap at AUD50. We will definitely stay here again in our next visit. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding stay in the heart of Melbourne I only stayed at The Rialto, Melbourne for one night on my last trip and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms are very comfortable and functional. The bedding and pillows are of a superior quality as well. The inclusion of a bath rub and amazing shower completed the room experience. Overall, it was exceptional. The staff were efficient and friendly and the door man knew where everything was and was very helpful in relaying instructions on how to get there. I loved my time at The Rialto and I look forward to visiting again soon. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My home in Melbourne I had the pleasure of staying at the Rialto September 16-19. I had been a previous guest several years ago and am absolutely thrilled to say that experience was as good as I could have hoped for. The attention detail, service, and customer care are world class. Although every member of the staff I came in contact with were top notch, I would especially like to bring attention to the concierge and the doorman. Both were efficient, friendly, caring, professional, and made me feel like a very valued guest. With staff such as these, it is no wonder that I now feel as if the Rialto is "my home in Melbourne." I simply cannot wait to visit you again. Room was wonderful, with a comfortable bed and nice attention to detail, like the central section of the bathroom mirror which did not fog up after a hot shower. Restaurant food and service were great. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel and room, excellent location on Collins St The Rialto was a wonderful experience for our long weekend retreat, the hotel is beautiful, the dining room special, our room fabulous and the location is perfect on Collins St, close to train station and centre of Melbourne. On top of that the staff were impeccable, helpful, friendly and respectful. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends if finances allow. Whilst we were there there was an art exhibition on which was very interesting and added to the charm of this delightfully old and modern style hotel. Thank you to all the at the Rialto 19 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just okay We had really high hopes for the Intercontinental in Melbourne. Unfortunately, we were somewhat let down by the quality of the room design and some of the staff. When you walk into the hotel, you can't help but be impressed by the lovely atrium design they have created in between the two halves of the hotel. Sadly, this is the end of the nice design. Our room was in the older section and had beautiful high ceilings and was quite large, but woefully under furnished. The furnishings also looked old and out of date. The whole thing gave the room a weird, unpleasant feeling. However, the bathroom had an awesome shower with forceful water pressure and lots of additional shower jets. Also, the room was very clean. I think they need to redesign the rooms though. The staff could have been more helpful. We asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation. His turned out to be a really lacklustre suggestion for a chain place that was totally not the special occasion dinner we were looking for since it was for our anniversary. I'd suggest that the concierge ask a few more questions before making suggestions next time because in our case he didn't ask us anything at all except what time we wanted a reservation. Very disappointing. 19 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Met Expectations We had a four day getaway at the Intercontinental Melbourne, The Rialto in early September 2013. The room was clean, comfortable if not a little smaller compared to other hotels in the CBD. The concierge and door staff are just excellent. Very helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. The hotel is located within a stunning Heritage listed location and is ambient and appealing. Full points. Also located/adjoins a Haigh's chocolate store - even more points. Breakfast bar has a great selection. The juicing station is a novel and welcome idea for fresh juice and raw food fans. The gym is very cramped and not as convenient to access if staying on the other side of the hotel. One elevator goes to the 10th floor. The sauna is broom closet sized and takes so long to heat it's better off to forget it. Note the Club Lounge was not automatically complimentary to Platinum Ambassadors. The charge is $29 per day per guest if not staying in the Club Floors so I was told. In other places Club Access is complimentary to PR Ambassadors such as Dubai, Johannesburg and Sydney too from memory. If there was a charge in these locations it was never applied by the hotels. As an Intercontinental Platinum Royal Ambassador I had (reluctantly) moved to another hotel on the final day. We had been given a suite during our stay but were asked to move to a standard room for the same price. I was not willing to pay the same price for a smaller room on principle. This took the gloss of what would have been a great stay all around. 12 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room had ventilation or heating probem This is a really nice hotel and we stayed here for the night for our 20 th wedding anniversary . Unfortunatly the room was so hot and it was hard to breath in the room even with the heater turned off it was like a hot house . It spoilt our wedding anniversary a little when we decided to stay in such a nice upmarket hotel. 12 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab stay, can't fault This is my second time staying this year, althought I had a few problems with the billing system last stay I gave it another go and could not fault the experience this time. The staff are fabulous and helpful and they certainly know who to make you feel welcome. Can't wait for my next stay in January. 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Hotel I really enjoyed my stay at the Melbourne The Rialto. The staff members at The InterContinental were helpful. What really made my day was the gentleman at the front of the hotel. Just his smile and the brief conversation we had really made my day a pleasant experience. Also, I did not even ask for room service, and my King bed was neat and tidy by the time I got back to my room. I certainly will be booking Melbourne The Rialto the next time I arrive in Melbourne. I have also told my family about this hotel experience. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience The combination of the Club and Ambassador membership results in a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the Club experience, while a relatively small space, it does conjure up images of the traditional Melbourne Gentleman's Club. The Club staff were really excellent. The Ambassador memberships adds a number of really nice benefits, which we thoroughly enjoyed, the King Junior Suite was fantastic. All of the staff we spoke with were friendly and helpful in a very professional manner. 04 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent accomodation excellant service and facilities top class comfortable friendly classy 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Too easy Terrific staff, great location and comfortable rooms (not to mention the beautiful architecture). I was only there for the night on the latest trip but will definitely be back. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location The service at the Intercontinental was outstanding on every occasion. The rooms were a little underwhelming for what we expected. They were still lovely with very comfy beds, nice shower etc, but were somewhat small and the windows face into the atrium/restaurants. They were also very soundproof. So nice, but not quite what we expected. Location was great and was walking distance to everything. Gym was well appointed and spa/pool was nice. Pool could have been a few degrees warmer for a Melbourne winter! Would be back however as it was a nice stay overall. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic place This is a fantastic hotel. All the things you expect from a 5 star venue. And everything worked! Well appointed 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Bliss ! Thank you for making our weekend away utter bliss ..! From the great package rate we received, to the excellent service by staff, to a lavish room ... we were most impressed esp not having stayed at any of The Intercontental Hotels before ... We were blown away by the electronic blinds in the rooms, the comfort of the bed and marble bathrooms .. Not to mention the feast we received for breakfast .. Thank you for making our time most enjoyable, it was surely a memorable experience for us both. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel I was very happy with the hotel on the first two night. On our third night i was awoken but a loud noise. I would descibe it as plumbing noises which were so loud i found it difficult to get back to sleep. Upon check out i paid and i was told the EFT machine was down so my card needed to be swipped again, Thinking nothing of it, i agreed. 5 days later checking my bank statement i had been double charged. I rung the hotel on the Sunday and explained what had happened and was told there was nothing on my card and they would get back to me as the finance team doesn't work weekends (Which i understand). I then heard nothing by 3pm the next day and called back. The lady on the desk apologised as my call had not been noted and advised someone would get back to me. I then had to ring for the third time and was told the refund was going to be put through. I then had a phone call on Thursday to say they were having trouble putting this money back into my debit card and i gave them a an alternate card which it was then refunded but was told it would take 7-10 days 28 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Mixed experience Positives: - good polite staff - great breakfast - room smelt great Poor: - No bath in room / just shower - TV channels / menu slow and cumbersome - Front desk / Concierge couldn't recommend a jogging track outside - Surcharge for using a credit card is mad in today's world 25 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent with expectation Have stayed here before and this time didn't disappoint either. Staff are friendly and room was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast and an afternoon snack in the wine lounge. Location wise it is not as convenient as some of the other five star hotels in the "Paris" end of Collins Street and arguably some of the nearby streets are not those I would chose to walk along alone at night. But taxis are nearby and not that expensive and there is a tram stop nearby. Looking forward to coming back for a "club room experience". This review will come through as a four star but it really should be 4 1/2. 22 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shoe box sized room Stayed two nights in a queen rialto room at Intercontinental Melbourne earlier this month. Felt claustrophobic during the night in the shoe box sized room and bed. Asked to change the room but not offered an upgrade or paying for a alternative due to the hotel being fully booked both nights. Would not recommend. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Customer Service I find the staff at the Rialto fantastic they always are attentive to guest needs and deliver great service consistently. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service My husband & I stayed for a long weekend and were really impressed with all the staff. Everyone was really friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough. Our room was lovely too. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely, relaxing weekend We had a lovely mother daughter weekend in a twin room. Room wasnt huge but very comfortable. Loved the pool area and the breakfast. Concierge so fantastic, knew whatever we needed or looked it up quickly. Very friendly and helpful. Only negative is no bath in the room. Never understand why good hotels dont have baths as standard in all rooms. Would stay again. 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Got a free upgrade for birthday. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. 15 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! 13 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very ordinary experience from the staff Staff: I travel to Melbourne regularly for business. Despite being a frequent guest (for several months), the front desk receptionist had no recognition of me (even though she checked me in/out on several occasions). The front doorman in the morning is very friendly and remembered my name after asking me once. The evening doorman is less friendly. Room service: if you order this early (ie before 7pm) you will get your food delivered very quickly. If you order during peak service, your food will come up lukewarm which is bad news if fries are involved. The $6 room service charge is also excessive (esp if the food comes up lukewarm). Restaurant: Alluvial offers delicious food but once again, the few times I have visited, the food took an extremely long time to arrive, but at least it was still hot when it arrived at my table. Housekeeping: usually pretty good (probably 8/10). They offer a turn-down service, which i did not request, although they insisted I did. They left a note under my door because I had the "Do not disturb" light on but then they called my room to insist, almost in an accusatory way, that I had requested the service. When I insisted that I did not, the man who called me sounded like he thought I was lying. Not impressed! Priority club: I signed up on my first visit but never received my membership pack. I elected to earn FF points but when I asked the front desk staff to change this to earning hotel points, I was given a 1800 number to call to do this myself. When I called the number, it went to an Indian call centre. I was put through to 3 different people, each time having to explain that I simply wanted to change my preference. Finally the 3rd person told me to call the Priority Club directly. I told her I did. She gave me a different 1-800 number which was a US number (one digit longer than Australian 1800 numbers). When I insisted that it would not be a freecall from Australia, she insisted that it would work all over the world, again in a tone as if I was lying. Overall, the hotel room itself is comfortable and the location is suitable for business and leisure, but I expected more for the name and the price. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The service at this hotel was exceptional , its not often you can say that !!!! Great hotel and location for the business traveller , but even holidaying its still very convenient , My husband joined me half way through my stay and I felt very safe and well looked after as a female traveling alone . Thank you for making my stay in Melbourne very enjoyable. 12 August 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 16 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    9:08 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking