Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 409 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! 13 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very ordinary experience from the staff Staff: I travel to Melbourne regularly for business. Despite being a frequent guest (for several months), the front desk receptionist had no recognition of me (even though she checked me in/out on several occasions). The front doorman in the morning is very friendly and remembered my name after asking me once. The evening doorman is less friendly. Room service: if you order this early (ie before 7pm) you will get your food delivered very quickly. If you order during peak service, your food will come up lukewarm which is bad news if fries are involved. The $6 room service charge is also excessive (esp if the food comes up lukewarm). Restaurant: Alluvial offers delicious food but once again, the few times I have visited, the food took an extremely long time to arrive, but at least it was still hot when it arrived at my table. Housekeeping: usually pretty good (probably 8/10). They offer a turn-down service, which i did not request, although they insisted I did. They left a note under my door because I had the "Do not disturb" light on but then they called my room to insist, almost in an accusatory way, that I had requested the service. When I insisted that I did not, the man who called me sounded like he thought I was lying. Not impressed! Priority club: I signed up on my first visit but never received my membership pack. I elected to earn FF points but when I asked the front desk staff to change this to earning hotel points, I was given a 1800 number to call to do this myself. When I called the number, it went to an Indian call centre. I was put through to 3 different people, each time having to explain that I simply wanted to change my preference. Finally the 3rd person told me to call the Priority Club directly. I told her I did. She gave me a different 1-800 number which was a US number (one digit longer than Australian 1800 numbers). When I insisted that it would not be a freecall from Australia, she insisted that it would work all over the world, again in a tone as if I was lying. Overall, the hotel room itself is comfortable and the location is suitable for business and leisure, but I expected more for the name and the price. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The service at this hotel was exceptional , its not often you can say that !!!! Great hotel and location for the business traveller , but even holidaying its still very convenient , My husband joined me half way through my stay and I felt very safe and well looked after as a female traveling alone . Thank you for making my stay in Melbourne very enjoyable. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST SLEEP IN EVER!! the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in great location wonderful hospitality 11 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental Hotel accommodation was very good and the central Melbourne location is excellent but recommend you try to avoid arriving at the hotel in morning or evening peak hour. Rooms were of a high standard and very well kept. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Valet service was a bit slow - not sure where they park the cars but seemed to take a long time to get your car delivered to front of hotel. I would stay there again. 11 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay From the moment we got there the staff were extremely friendly and willing to to help. Being an Ambassador we were on the dedicated Ambassador level. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. Very impressed with one of the porters who remembered my name 2 days later upon checking out which surprised me which is a rarity when it comes to service these days! The only area which could have been improved for us would have been the concierge . My partner and I were a little bit surprised by the experience, we asked for a restaurant recommendation and there was no willingness to help. Other then that perfect stay. Would highly recommend it and will definitely be back. 10 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service We stayed 3 night with 3 children and all enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was probably the best we have ever had, especially the juice bar! The concierge was always very helpful especially as my 1 child got sick and they helped contact the doctor and everyone seemed really concerned and asked after her. Thank you! We would definitely stay there again next time we go to Melbourne! 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by s MelBourne stay My only choice of hotel when staying in Melbourne is The Rialto and that of course means it provides what I am looking for, comfort and service, or I would go elsewhere. My room preference is away from lifts and as high as possible. This was overlooked last week and I was assigned a room next to the lift which caused me to seek a change in room. My complaint was dealt with and I enjoyed the room that I was given. It was just such a waste of time. We are booked in for September and December so look forward to our stay with you then. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome that sparkled throughout the stay Gorgeous room with all the service and warm welcome to match. The attention to detail will have me repeat booking, once is just not enough! 28 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, very comfortable hotel We stayed with our 2x daughters at short notice after a flight cancellation. Staff could not have been more welcoming.The late check-out was valuable. The beds were very comfortable and the products available at the minibar were above average. Our only negative comment would be that leaf tea for breakfast would be nice ! 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable visit We telephone ahead for a reservation, and upon check in were greeted by the duty manager. We had very specific room requirements, and he professionally, and quickly managed to provide a room that satisfied our criteria. He was caring and sincere, and worked very hard to try to provide to our specific requests. 10/10 for his customer care. The room was elegant and beautiful. Spotlessly clean, full of everything that you could need, and the bed was extremely comfortable. An absolute must..!! We had recently stayed at another motel, and the bed was terrible. We woke with back ache and a bad sleep. The king club was welcoming and the service was terrific. We had a delcious breakfast. We then had a swim in the pool and a soak in the spa. A fantastic way to wind down after a terrific stay. All in all, our stay was seamless, beautiful, elegant very comfortable and very friendly. We loved every minute of it, and highly recomend as a great place to stay. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing accommodation and fantastic staff we stayed for 6 nights and were treated to a wonderful experience in a beautifully restored hotel in central melbourne. Close to all amenities and a tram stop right outside, this place had it all. Club lounge is a fantastic service experience and made the stay even more memorable. All staff were friendly and helpful and would go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. A huge thank you to all the team for making our escape relaxing and very enjoyable. The hotel is wonderfully adorned with furnishings and decor, history and a modern comfort. 16 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best beds & fantastic location We always stay at the Intercontinental Melbourne on our yearly weekend getaway.. This year I phoned reservations as I always do & was quoted a price (they were matching an email I had received) however upon arrival in Melbourne I was told they could not honour the price I was given. I was cranky to say they least, but what they could do was offer us 10% off the current nightly rate. I'm very dissapointed this happend as you rely on information you are given to budget etc for your trip. Other than this our stay was as delightful as ever, beds are most comfortable, concierge extremely helpful & the Hotel overall is very impressive!! 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room not practical and good service The cabinet in Joiner suit was not practical in terms of very minimum to minimum drawers and cabinets for 2 guests. Also, the rest room design was not practical which the usage uncomfortable, e.g. washing basin was too small for the water tap as well as the bath water tab was not practical. Additionally, the house keeping services such as turndown service was made for 1 guest not for 2 guests because the reservation system showed 1 guest only, although the reservation was booked for 2 guests. I have also informed this to the reception while checking out. Regarding the services, in general it was good such us in room dining, room service and reception people were friendly and helpful. Lastly, during my checking in I was not recognised as an ambassador customer. 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Location The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location for walking to the museums and galleries and to Federation Square. The only complaint I have is our stay was too short! Excellent Experience! 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent exceptional experience Kishor and the guest experience team always make my stay a memorable experience. I always know what to expect when I go to the Rialto and I base my opinion of other hotels on the way I am treated here. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, quiet and dark and the Club Lounge is a cosy retreat after a long day. The Rialto is my "home away from home" and when travelling its great to be able to know what to expect at night. 26 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of Melbourne My experience with the Rialto last week both as a hotel and a venue for our conference was excellent, the staff were fantastic which ensured our conference was a success. Great feedback form our customers. Thank you to Stan and his staff for their support . 24 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tuz What a great experience we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The concierge and staff were willing and able to handle any and all enquiries with a genuine warmth. The old building and renovations are awesome. 18 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would recommend staying here. on arrival staff were very accommodating they recognized my priority privilege membership. I arrived very early and didn't expect to check in but only to drop off my suit case, but my room was ready. Staff also were aware of the other 2 couple in our group that were arriving later in the day & with out me asking they said we would all be on the same floor. the breakfast buffet is a must. would definitely return as I felt very welcome 15 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, excellent service. An amazing experience that was the highlight of our Melbourne visit An amazing hotel from the moment we were greeted by Concierge staff at the front door. The friendly, professional and attentive staff were the highlight of our recent four day Melbourne visit. We were so appreciative of the ambience throughout the bars and restaurants of the hotel that we actually stayed 'in' more than expected and enjoyed and indulged in the Market Lane Bar, The Alluvial and Merchant :-) James Morrison Jazz on Friday night was an awesome experience and one we treasured sharing and catching up with friends. To balance the scales of our indulgence, the Gym, Sauna and Pool area is second to none in terms of hotel amenities world wide. As for Melbourne being the coffee experience of Australia... the Wine Lounge Coffee was a treat throughout. Thanks for a wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing experience, we are already planning a return visit. Keep up the great work team. 11 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Hotel Love everything about the hotel including the lobby, express check in and check out, facilities and not to forget the great hospitality offered by your staff. Thank you for an amazing stay. Cheers, Henry 08 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast experience our first breakfast was the first time I have, in an InterContinental or Crowne hotel shared the breakfast room with two young girls of about 3 years and 5 years old clad only in their pyjamas and having the "run of the place" they were in the company of parents and grand parents who did nothing to modify their behaviour. there is a casual breakfast and their is a casual breakfast. I suggest this was not casual. really not what you would expect from your hotel. saying that we will be back. 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay. This was a nice stay and the room was very nice. The club lounge staff were helpful and efficient. I wonder though if staff are being trained to be "friendly" by using first names all the time. As a man in his mid fifties, a mid twenties staff member referring to me by my first name is far too familiar and frankly for me (not everyone's taste I know) disrespectful. 03 June 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointingly underwhelming. Having stayed over six times since it opened, service during my last visit was so poor that it has been over a year between visits. The hotel remains luxurious however service is certainly below par when compared to other hotels in the same class. More detail should you wish... Check-in: Whilst pleasant, it wasn't personal or informative - e.g. no acknowledgement as a member of their frequent traveller program, no information on breakfast times, being provided with the incorrect key, no information on the Club lounge. Suite: They are luxurious and well-maintained, and bathrooms have deep Jacuzzi baths and jet & rain showers. Unfortunately the Senior Suite was very noisy - the utility area adjacent omitting a generator-like noise at times, and significant water deluge noise from the bathrooms above. A move to a Courtyard Suite was arranged - which was spacious and private however the courtyard itself quite drab (without plants or soft furnishings). Air-conditioning in the suite was poor, and although reported was not fixed. Club Lounge: Staff were pleasant, but service was far from attentive (as per my previous stay, requests were forgotten on multiple occasions). Afternoon tea was average - the scones were possibly the worst I’ve tasted. Evening drinks - an average selection of food and drink with no canapé options for vegetarians (having asked the chef). Breakfast had a limited selection, with eggs made to order however. General: On the four occasions using the ‘Instant Service’, it took over a minute for the telephone to be answered. A final note – following my previous stay and subsequent TA review, outlining some service issues I’d experienced, the General Manager had kindly suggested contacting him prior to my next visit so he could personally take care of the stay. Having emailed directly, I didn't receive any response, nor any contact during this stay. Disappointing. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place. This is the second time in 6 months that i have stayed here ,its a nice place to stay and has a very relaxed feel about it.The room service was great and so was the meal . More than happy to return again . 01 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and central Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the Rialto is conveniently located to the CBD, restaurants and cultural attractions. Unique architecture, blending historical facade with modern comforts. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, very enjoyable stay! We had a fantastic stay at hotel, staff were very helpful. Had a High Coffee at bar,recommended by a staff member. First time, it was delicious, will be having another when staying again. Love the beds and pillows are so comfortable, especially after long day of shopping!!! We will hopefully say longer next visit as we really enjoy the experience!!!!!!!!! 19 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We had a very enjoyable stay. All staff were helpful and friendly and the room well appointed. A downside was that the view from the window was back down into the hotel lobby, not out to the street. The buffet breakfast was great, though lacked a little of the variety of the buffet in the Sydney hotel during a recent stay. The temperature in the room was hard to control and was too warm over all. 17 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central precinct and memorable service WOW, it was nice to stay in a leading hotel where 5 star is backed up with helpful, great customer service. My wife and 2 children also felt the warmth that the staff offer in this hotel. The intercontinental is a beautiful architectural building and if in Melbourne again, we would defiantly stay here again. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful mother & Daughter weekend in Melbourne My mother & I recently enjoyed a fabulous weekend in Melbourne staying at the Intercontinental Rialto. We are both Ambassador Club members and I used my free weekend night voucher for this stay. The staff knew we were enjoying a special mother/daughter weekend following my wedding a few months ago and everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a really special time. We were up-graded to a lovely suite and enjoyed the comfort and service of the hotel. Thanks to all there. We are planning a return weekend in September. 30 April 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 15 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    9:25 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking