Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome that sparkled throughout the stay Gorgeous room with all the service and warm welcome to match. The attention to detail will have me repeat booking, once is just not enough! 28 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, very comfortable hotel We stayed with our 2x daughters at short notice after a flight cancellation. Staff could not have been more welcoming.The late check-out was valuable. The beds were very comfortable and the products available at the minibar were above average. Our only negative comment would be that leaf tea for breakfast would be nice ! 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable visit We telephone ahead for a reservation, and upon check in were greeted by the duty manager. We had very specific room requirements, and he professionally, and quickly managed to provide a room that satisfied our criteria. He was caring and sincere, and worked very hard to try to provide to our specific requests. 10/10 for his customer care. The room was elegant and beautiful. Spotlessly clean, full of everything that you could need, and the bed was extremely comfortable. An absolute must..!! We had recently stayed at another motel, and the bed was terrible. We woke with back ache and a bad sleep. The king club was welcoming and the service was terrific. We had a delcious breakfast. We then had a swim in the pool and a soak in the spa. A fantastic way to wind down after a terrific stay. All in all, our stay was seamless, beautiful, elegant very comfortable and very friendly. We loved every minute of it, and highly recomend as a great place to stay. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing accommodation and fantastic staff we stayed for 6 nights and were treated to a wonderful experience in a beautifully restored hotel in central melbourne. Close to all amenities and a tram stop right outside, this place had it all. Club lounge is a fantastic service experience and made the stay even more memorable. All staff were friendly and helpful and would go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. A huge thank you to all the team for making our escape relaxing and very enjoyable. The hotel is wonderfully adorned with furnishings and decor, history and a modern comfort. 16 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best beds & fantastic location We always stay at the Intercontinental Melbourne on our yearly weekend getaway.. This year I phoned reservations as I always do & was quoted a price (they were matching an email I had received) however upon arrival in Melbourne I was told they could not honour the price I was given. I was cranky to say they least, but what they could do was offer us 10% off the current nightly rate. I'm very dissapointed this happend as you rely on information you are given to budget etc for your trip. Other than this our stay was as delightful as ever, beds are most comfortable, concierge extremely helpful & the Hotel overall is very impressive!! 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room not practical and good service The cabinet in Joiner suit was not practical in terms of very minimum to minimum drawers and cabinets for 2 guests. Also, the rest room design was not practical which the usage uncomfortable, e.g. washing basin was too small for the water tap as well as the bath water tab was not practical. Additionally, the house keeping services such as turndown service was made for 1 guest not for 2 guests because the reservation system showed 1 guest only, although the reservation was booked for 2 guests. I have also informed this to the reception while checking out. Regarding the services, in general it was good such us in room dining, room service and reception people were friendly and helpful. Lastly, during my checking in I was not recognised as an ambassador customer. 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Location The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location for walking to the museums and galleries and to Federation Square. The only complaint I have is our stay was too short! Excellent Experience! 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent exceptional experience Kishor and the guest experience team always make my stay a memorable experience. I always know what to expect when I go to the Rialto and I base my opinion of other hotels on the way I am treated here. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, quiet and dark and the Club Lounge is a cosy retreat after a long day. The Rialto is my "home away from home" and when travelling its great to be able to know what to expect at night. 26 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of Melbourne My experience with the Rialto last week both as a hotel and a venue for our conference was excellent, the staff were fantastic which ensured our conference was a success. Great feedback form our customers. Thank you to Stan and his staff for their support . 24 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tuz What a great experience we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The concierge and staff were willing and able to handle any and all enquiries with a genuine warmth. The old building and renovations are awesome. 18 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would recommend staying here. on arrival staff were very accommodating they recognized my priority privilege membership. I arrived very early and didn't expect to check in but only to drop off my suit case, but my room was ready. Staff also were aware of the other 2 couple in our group that were arriving later in the day & with out me asking they said we would all be on the same floor. the breakfast buffet is a must. would definitely return as I felt very welcome 15 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, excellent service. An amazing experience that was the highlight of our Melbourne visit An amazing hotel from the moment we were greeted by Concierge staff at the front door. The friendly, professional and attentive staff were the highlight of our recent four day Melbourne visit. We were so appreciative of the ambience throughout the bars and restaurants of the hotel that we actually stayed 'in' more than expected and enjoyed and indulged in the Market Lane Bar, The Alluvial and Merchant :-) James Morrison Jazz on Friday night was an awesome experience and one we treasured sharing and catching up with friends. To balance the scales of our indulgence, the Gym, Sauna and Pool area is second to none in terms of hotel amenities world wide. As for Melbourne being the coffee experience of Australia... the Wine Lounge Coffee was a treat throughout. Thanks for a wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing experience, we are already planning a return visit. Keep up the great work team. 11 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Hotel Love everything about the hotel including the lobby, express check in and check out, facilities and not to forget the great hospitality offered by your staff. Thank you for an amazing stay. Cheers, Henry 08 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast experience our first breakfast was the first time I have, in an InterContinental or Crowne hotel shared the breakfast room with two young girls of about 3 years and 5 years old clad only in their pyjamas and having the "run of the place" they were in the company of parents and grand parents who did nothing to modify their behaviour. there is a casual breakfast and their is a casual breakfast. I suggest this was not casual. really not what you would expect from your hotel. saying that we will be back. 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay. This was a nice stay and the room was very nice. The club lounge staff were helpful and efficient. I wonder though if staff are being trained to be "friendly" by using first names all the time. As a man in his mid fifties, a mid twenties staff member referring to me by my first name is far too familiar and frankly for me (not everyone's taste I know) disrespectful. 03 June 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointingly underwhelming. Having stayed over six times since it opened, service during my last visit was so poor that it has been over a year between visits. The hotel remains luxurious however service is certainly below par when compared to other hotels in the same class. More detail should you wish... Check-in: Whilst pleasant, it wasn't personal or informative - e.g. no acknowledgement as a member of their frequent traveller program, no information on breakfast times, being provided with the incorrect key, no information on the Club lounge. Suite: They are luxurious and well-maintained, and bathrooms have deep Jacuzzi baths and jet & rain showers. Unfortunately the Senior Suite was very noisy - the utility area adjacent omitting a generator-like noise at times, and significant water deluge noise from the bathrooms above. A move to a Courtyard Suite was arranged - which was spacious and private however the courtyard itself quite drab (without plants or soft furnishings). Air-conditioning in the suite was poor, and although reported was not fixed. Club Lounge: Staff were pleasant, but service was far from attentive (as per my previous stay, requests were forgotten on multiple occasions). Afternoon tea was average - the scones were possibly the worst I’ve tasted. Evening drinks - an average selection of food and drink with no canapé options for vegetarians (having asked the chef). Breakfast had a limited selection, with eggs made to order however. General: On the four occasions using the ‘Instant Service’, it took over a minute for the telephone to be answered. A final note – following my previous stay and subsequent TA review, outlining some service issues I’d experienced, the General Manager had kindly suggested contacting him prior to my next visit so he could personally take care of the stay. Having emailed directly, I didn't receive any response, nor any contact during this stay. Disappointing. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place. This is the second time in 6 months that i have stayed here ,its a nice place to stay and has a very relaxed feel about it.The room service was great and so was the meal . More than happy to return again . 01 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and central Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the Rialto is conveniently located to the CBD, restaurants and cultural attractions. Unique architecture, blending historical facade with modern comforts. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, very enjoyable stay! We had a fantastic stay at hotel, staff were very helpful. Had a High Coffee at bar,recommended by a staff member. First time, it was delicious, will be having another when staying again. Love the beds and pillows are so comfortable, especially after long day of shopping!!! We will hopefully say longer next visit as we really enjoy the experience!!!!!!!!! 19 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We had a very enjoyable stay. All staff were helpful and friendly and the room well appointed. A downside was that the view from the window was back down into the hotel lobby, not out to the street. The buffet breakfast was great, though lacked a little of the variety of the buffet in the Sydney hotel during a recent stay. The temperature in the room was hard to control and was too warm over all. 17 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central precinct and memorable service WOW, it was nice to stay in a leading hotel where 5 star is backed up with helpful, great customer service. My wife and 2 children also felt the warmth that the staff offer in this hotel. The intercontinental is a beautiful architectural building and if in Melbourne again, we would defiantly stay here again. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful mother & Daughter weekend in Melbourne My mother & I recently enjoyed a fabulous weekend in Melbourne staying at the Intercontinental Rialto. We are both Ambassador Club members and I used my free weekend night voucher for this stay. The staff knew we were enjoying a special mother/daughter weekend following my wedding a few months ago and everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a really special time. We were up-graded to a lovely suite and enjoyed the comfort and service of the hotel. Thanks to all there. We are planning a return weekend in September. 30 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay Glad I decided to upgrade, with access to Club Carlson room, wifi and breakfast. Best value! Staff was courteous and professional, answering all questions. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continues to get better The Rialto is one of my favourite Melbourne hotels. It has always been very good, but since the recent renovations it is even better. The staff were extremely attentive and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The Hotel is excellent value for money and the amenities are first class. I will definitely be going back for another stay. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Once again, the Intercontinental provides a great exprience There have been a few changes to the Intercontinental since our last visit. Some changes to the Club Lounge with a larger range of drink options and the ability to have breakfast in the lounge or at Alluvial (restaurant), which were overall improvements. Overall a great experience with the staff (especially Kishor and Yiru) doing more than enough to look after us. 21 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks atmosphere I booked the Rialto Club Room for a surprise wedding anniversary adventure for my husband. The hotel looks lovely (albeit dark inside) and the room was nicely presented. It was handy access to the Club Lounge on the same floor. The place seems to lack atmosphere however. The staff (with the exception of the door man) lacked warmth. They did their job but with too much coldness in my opinion. We decided against eating in the hotel restaurant simply because there was no one else around so headed out for a great night over at Southbank - 5 minutes walk away. Nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch but the room was too hot overnight and I couldn't turn down the temperature. The bed was comfortable though. I made special mention of our occasion when booking and would have appreciated a little fuss...a simple acknowledgement by reception staff on our check-in would have sufficed. It was worth trying somewhere new for a quick luxury get-away and I'm not sorry we stayed at the Rialto - just for the change of scenery. 19 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Experience could have been better As a family who likes to stay in hotels (crown complex)during school holidays. We made a decision to stay for a night at a different hotel. I was very disappointed we were overcharged for both hotel stay and breakfast. 19 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, room and service. I've stayed in the Hotel twice in the past 10 days, and I have to say I'm blown away with level of recognition you get if your a Priority Club Member. I was offered an upgrade both times, with one of them being for free. I really appreciate the way Intercontinental takes care of their customers. The food is excellent as always. If I can recommend anything, it would be the scallops. Even though I was traveling for work, I feel like I can always switch off. 18 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Changes not for the better This was my fourth stay at this hotel, and although a great location and very nice rooms for the city I was dissapointed at some changes made as well as the staff response / support. As a gold Ambassador member I have become accustom to various benefits, one of which is a complimentary room upgrade. Upon check in I was told that I was 'upgraded' however the room I was given was the smallest by far of any of the previous three stays #all of which were booked the same#. The room was still nice but much smaller and compact especially the bathroom. I thought I would check at the desk and just see what exactly was meant by 'an upgrade' when such a considerably smaller room was given. The desk agent informed me that 'no sir in fact I had been upgraded, and the hotel had recently changed there classifications creating this class of room as the upgrade - because I got a robe and toiletries" I know this sounds petty, however I find it hard to imagine that a room smaller than any previously stayed in was actually an upgrade (a bit of manipulative marketing for sure) After all I pay for the Ambassador staus annually to ensure the best service possible. Furthermore when I mentoned that my room was also directly under the fitness center and quite noisy (so could I please be moved if something else were to open up) - I was told 'only if I want to pay for an additional upgrade". (Not what I consider customer service.) Bottom line is I like the hotel and the location, and up until this visit the service has been exceptional - My company prefers I stay at the crown, but because of past experiences have chosen the Intercontinental. I write this review in hopes that the staff and management will reconsider their marketing policies and learn from a poor CS experience 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break Just back from a fabulous mini break. The staff were excellent! Location for a leisure stay was ideal. 15 April 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
  • Local Time

    12:15 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking