Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall

WELCOME TO

San Jose

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Fernando Prado
Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

"Pura Vida"

This is Costa Rica's most common greeting and you'll hear people saying it from the moment you arrive in the country. Literally 'pure life', it means everything is fine.
COSTA RICA HOTEL THAT DEFINES LUXURY IN THE HEART OF VIBRANT SAN JOSÉ
Ideally positioned for business or leisure, discover an urban retreat in the heart of Escazú. Adjacent to the city’s most prestigious shopping mall with 365 stores, bars and restaurants and to Escazú Corporate Center. This San José, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including 2 outdoor pools in landscaped gardens, the largest urban spa in Central America and 4 unique concept restaurants, The Market, Factory Steak & Lobster, NAU and Alfredo Trattoria.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    At Real InterContinental San Jose Costa Rica, we have 5 inviting and unique restaurants and lounges. The Market is our new concept and is open 24 h...
  • Amenities & Services

    The property offers the best option for relaxation with the SPA InterContinental, the largest urban spa in Central America with 12 treatment rooms,...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall
  • In Front Of Multiplaza
  • San Jose , 11856-1000
  • Costa Rica
  • Front Desk +506-2-2082100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish, French

Pet Policy

No pets allowed only Service animals allowed Kennels available within 3KM. Call the hotel for arrangements
  • Local Time

    8:54 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what we were looking for.... We were spending our last night in Costa Rica and wanted a hotel close to the airport that was comfortable and provided transportation. We found that with Holiday Inn Express and they provided a warm breakfast and friendly service. Also made great recommendation for dinner. January 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great management and staff Great stay with a super-helpful staff, they were able to lend me a knife to cut our watermelon, packing, tape, extra pillows and towels. Service was prompt and friendly. Shuttle left every 10 for airport , very convenient Room was clean and hotel nicely appointed January 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Orchids were blooming by the pool Holiday Inn Express offers free shuttles every 15 minutes. You are literally 10 minutes from the airport. There are two restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, a casino and several rental car companies are close by too. There is a concierge where you can pay your exit tax or book transportation. They offer a free breakfast that is above average. The rooms are modern, very clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk is very professional. The pool area is very nice and we were lucky enough to visit when several orchids were in bloom. This hotel would be a great choice for anyone looking to stay the night of arrival or departure. This is one of our favorite hotels in Costa Rica. January 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and as expected for Holiday Inn stayed here to catch an early morning flight as most people do. Location is great and pick up breakfast provided after 3am - nice touch! airport shuttle is frequent and pleasant. Hotel is very clean --good place for airport access January 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was our stop over and last night in Costa Rica after spending a week in Manuel Antonio. It was very relaxing before heading back to the cold of Michigan! December 30, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but not great We spent two nights at this hotel when we arrived in Costa Rica before we finalized our plans for the rest of it trip. I'd say it was an OK experience but not great. The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast bar was awesome and the hotel staff were very friendly. We didn't like the location because there is nothing to do in the area. Wireless Internet also didn't work. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless it is extremely critical to stay close to the airport. December 13, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good spot for getting in/out of CR Staff was excellent, room was clean, other guests were extremely loud at 1 am, pool was cold, Denny's room service was convenient but it was typical Denny's at room service $. Overall it was a good stay, very convenient to the airport. December 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice close to airport and pickups for excursions and visits December 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great service and a great staff. clean and comfortable, staff was great. everybody was so helpful. great location. December 1, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff on arrival very helpful as well as the concierge gal helping us with maps ECt... Do your homework before deciding to drive in Costa Rica A 10 % tipping is added to all your dining bills . It is mandatory in the country If wanting to buy souvenirs , wait till you get to the airport when leaving , much cheaper for most things like coffee and keys chains or fridge magnets November 27, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very close location to airport Hotel has a very good location to airport, which you don't feel once at the hotel (no airtraffic noise). Staff is very friendly and makes your stay as convenient as possible. Hotel room was in very good condition, very clean and well maintained. November 27, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and excellent experience My husband and I stayed here the night before an early morning flight from the San Jose airport because the location was so convenient but we soon discovered that we had made an excellent choice because the staff were outstanding. Our rental car return office was just down the street, a tasty Peruvian restaurant was three blocks away, and the hotel offers an airport shuttle whenever it is needed so our immediate needs were easily met. We left before the 6am breakfast start but a well thought out breakfast-to-go was ready in a brown paper bag that early morning. The shuttle transfer was smooth and the driver courteous and helpful. I had some trouble the night before trying to print out my boarding passes. Not only did a young woman very familiar with the printer try to help me, but I was invited into the back office to use their computers and printer when we remained unsuccessful. The woman at the front desk called a taxi to take us to the restaurant as they don't recommend walking at night and the restaurant covers the cost of the short taxi ride. The staff were truly interested and helpful. There was no noise from the airport. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious. My only complaint was that the beds were too firm so my sleep was not the best, but my husband was comfortable. November 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience. Clean, comfortable and good location. we had a very good time indeed. Manager and staff were very kind and helpfull. November 1, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location just isn't enough The hotel is conveniently located right near the airport and with the free shuttle, free breakfast, and free local and international calls, one would think that this place would be perfect. And it was until we checked in, unpacked, and started to get ready to go to sleep. It was then when my 10 year old son looked down at the side of the bed and found something shiny. He picked it up thinking it was something he dropped and when he didn't recognize what it was, brought it to my wife. Imagine her horror when she recognized it as an empty condom wrapper that must have been left by the prior occupants. Not only do we not have a properly cleaned room, but we now have to explain what a condom is to our 10 year old and why an empty wrapper would be left next to his bed. Management's response was to offer to move us, which at nearly midnight and after we had already started to get undressed for bed, was a non-starter given we needed to be up and out by 3:00am for our 6:00am flight. After that, we waited nearly 30 minutes for a promised return call, only to get an offer of some measley Rewards Points. To be fair, I'm not sure what kind of authority the assistant night manager has or what else he could have done, but the whole situation was unfortunate and completely unnecessary if their cleaning staff had done a proper job. October 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return to the USA This was an exceptionally stressful day and to top it off it was raining which makes getting around more challenging. I had several errands to run and by the time I finally was able to rest, I was thankful to be able to do so in a quiet, safe and clean environment. The hotel staff was Exceptional and very accommodating. The location and proximity to the airport is ideal. I recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you have an early flight out. This hotel is a great value with restaurants on the premises, especially, Rosti Pollo. October 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location near the airport Very convenient for business trips to Costa Rica Nice casino nearby and Dennys Restaurant Fitness center can be improved October 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We arrived in Costa Rica with 10 bags and boxes (we are moving here). Everyone went out of their way to help maneuver our luggage, store it for us until the next afternoon and load it into our car. Thanks for a great job done with a smile! October 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Great hotel to stay near airport. Have real nice secluded pool and well landscaped area. Casino across the hotel and inexpensive dining available right next door. Breakfast was your typical... Clean and good rooms. I will stay here again. September 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would highly recommend this hotel. Hotel close to airport. Free shuttle service. Modern and clean hotel. Great staff. Free international calling. Denny's is right next door and the food tastes just like in the good old USA. Nice pool area. Stayed the first night of vacation and last night of vacation. Very welcoming. Would not hesitate to stay there again. September 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and good service We were forced to make changes in our itinerary and found ourselves in San Jose Costa Rica for an overnight stay. At the airport we saw the Holiday Inn Express shuttle bus and asked for a ride to the hotel. Once there we told the front desk staff we did not have a reservation, however being a platinum member, they quickly acknowledged our status and immediately assigned us a room. The agent in training was most courteous and am sure he will be a great employee given an opportunity to continue his training. Once we checked in we asked about things to do since we were there for just an afternoon. The concierge called a tour bus service and within 15 minutes we were on our way to a private 3-hour tour of the city where we enjoyed a visit to the arts and crafts market, a local restaurant and a tour of some of the parks, churches and residential areas around the city. Thanks to all who made this short stop in San Jose memorable. A to-go breakfast bag was filled with goodies when we left the hotel at 0430am the following morning. September 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and convenient for the distance from the airport Excellent service and international calls free are amazing! September 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! - Only 1 issue:( This is a great place to stay, very close to the Airport and includes transportation. My only complaint is the staff that works outside the front door. When you take your luggage out of the van they just look at you with a straight face... no hello, no can I help you, are you checking in? or do you need a cart for all that luggage. The same was at check out. I'm really not sure what there role is at the front door, but if they are not there to help or assist in any information then they should change there uniform from Holiday Inn to a black security outfit. (And give them a class in how to be polite to the hotel guest) August 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and very clean! This is the best hotel for the money to stay at when traveling to and from Costa Rica! Close to the airport, with a free shuttle and a very helpful pleasant staff, you will certainly get a good night's rest here. The Grayline Travel has a desk in the lobby, that will help you with lots of recommendations and vacation options. They give great advice and certainly will make your trip more enjoyable. In addition, the hotel is next to a few decent restaurants....be sure to walk down the block & try the Peruvian Restaurant! August 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service Your staff did a great service. Only complaint was that your own taxi service was too costly. August 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay if you need to catch a plane Excellent place to stay if you need to catch a plane from San Jose's Santamaria airport early in the morning of the next day. Assortment in breakfast-to-go bag was a bit too much on the sweet side for our taste. August 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent All Around This was a great experience. The staff was curtious and extremely helpful. The rooms were just what we needed, the coffee excellent and the pool was great--the boys had a wonderful time before our flight back to the States. Thank you August 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service and close to airport. The front desk ladies are very nice. The free international call is a plus though I didn't have time to use it. I didn't eat breakfast so can't comment. The only issue is the location is too close to a busy high way. August 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great value The price of a room is very attractive, especially when you take into account the free shuttle service to/from the airport. Rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished, with free wifi and calls to the US. Breakfast offers a wide choice of dishes, including Costa Rican dishes which change daily. Staff will recommend good restaurants within short taxi range. I would skip the Denny's and Rosty Pollo (fast food chicken) next door. August 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SJO Airport Staff was Amazing Ok, this is a pretty good airport hotel and the staff was good but let me tell you how good. My daughter left her iPhone in the hotel room. We checked out and went to the airport and didn't realize that the phone was left until we were at the gate. I called the hotel and not only was the phone there and NOT stolen by housekeeping, the manger Mauricio brought the phone to the airport and met me at customs to deliver it. Top notch, world class service. Would not receive this kind of service at most places in the USA. Thank You Holiday inn Express SJO! August 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience What a great place to stay, warm, welcoming and inviting, just the stay needed before a long flight home! Thank you. August 3, 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>