Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sanctuary Cove Resort

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 247 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best in Gold Coast The level of service provided by every single staff in this hotel was exemplary! If you are looking for a relaxing time away from the noisy city spots in GC, this is definitely the place to be. LIKES: - Very professional, courteous & friendly staff. - Beautiful views of marina. - Close proximity to restaurants and bars (3min walk). DISLIKES: - Furniture and finishings in room could use an upgrade, however beds are still very comfortable. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Old Fashioned Service My husband and I have stayed in a few IHG hotels and have to say that this one has been the best thus far. We were welcomed warmly at the entrance, luggage removed from our car for us, offer of a buggy ride to our apartment and treated like absolute royalty at front desk. Nothing was too much! We even received a free bottle of quality wine! Staff are an absolute asset to this hotel, you can just tell that they have hand picked each one for their superb customer service skills. From front desk, to room service, the cleaners, and waiters. All were nice, kind and every single one said hello and were courteous. This is the one thing that sealed the deal for my husband and I, we knew then that we were staying in a great place. Sure the rooms and surrounds were a little outdated, but the furniture was quality and very impressive, so it did not matter one bit. The king sized bed was amazing, linen top quality and pillows were soft and feather down. The bathroom was like stepping back in time...large bathtub, huge shower with fantastic water pressure, old fashioned bathroom taps and the gift products they provided were the very best quality. Not just shampoo/conditioner and a few other items but toothbrushes (with paste), razor (with soap), scrubber, cotton buds, sewing kit, face soaps, body soaps, body bath wash and much, much more! The gardens and surrounds were well looked after; a lovely tropical feel. Wildlife in abundance (it was wonderful to see Wallabies and Roo's first thing in the morning on the golf course). The lagoon was being repaired but it didn't take away the feel of the place as everything else was lovely. We take our hat off to the chef; the food was sensational. We ordered room service and our meals were good restaurant quality. Steak was cooked correctly, the vegetables not over done nor underdone, the salad was crisp and fresh and the banana splits were delicious! We recommend the Parmesan chips, crispy and very moreish. Breakfast buffet is worth the money, if you are a big breakfast eater, I recommend it 100%. Will we go again? Without a doubt! We cannot wait! 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a place of sactuary Above from having great golf courses, the resort was a perfect relaxing getaway. It has that old world charm yet the place is clean and newly renovated. The rooms are nicely appointed and the balcony to the outdoors is really a wonderful plus. The hotel and resort can improve on the following. While the pillows are divine, the mattresses aren't. Secondly, a world class resort and hotel shouldn't be charging wifi anymore. It should come as a standard, especially in the lobby and other public areas. Other than those minor improvements needed to further boost the overall experience, I have nothing more to add. It really is a place of sanctuary. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing We wish we had known the resort pool was not functioning at the time of booking - understand the smaller pool was open, however the attraction was the large pool with the sandy beach. Our TV in our room did not work (no signal) - we called Reception and were told that someone would be up in 15 mins. We waited an hour, went to dinner, came back and still not fixed. Disappointing for the price. 20 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 New favourite!!! What an amazing weekend getaway. The resort was everything we wanted it to be. We spent so much time in the heated pool - midde of winter- and then in the gorgeous heated spa. The gardens were beautiful. The staff were kind and friendly. The room was spacious with a usable balcony. The in room tea and coffee caddy was stocked with so much more......hot chocolate and a variety of top quality herbal teas. Will we back - again and again!!! 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and wonderful facilities. We stayed at Sanctuary Cove for 4 days to celebrate my husband's birthday. We are seasoned travellers, and tend to be critical. Not this time! Over 4 days we came into contact with many staff members, and could not fault any one of them. A lovely young man took us to our room by buggy, and carried our suitcases up the stairs. Service in the restaurants was outstanding, everyone was SO friendly, meals were very nice indeed, and a special order I had requested for the birthday dinner had been accommodated in full. The concierge organised a tour for us with a minimum of fuss, and even arranged for a taxi service. Our suite was just beautiful, with lovely views and plush fittings. We were both in need of a relaxing break, and Sanctuary Cove certainly delivered this. 15 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 BAD BEDDING Wi-Fi charges in a so called 5 star property too high - should be included in room rate! $25 per day - in any one star hotel in Asia WiFi is free! Why not in an expensive property. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. Not only time for an upgade of the beds but a total refurbishmentg of the entire property. Vey poor image for Intercontinental Hotels! Arrived 8.30pm - np porter to show you to room which was very difficult to locted in the dark - what sort of service is this?? Breakfast good! Would never ever stay at this propert again. 14 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed due to wedding only Service when we arrived was of a low standard as my boyfriend was asked to move our hire car, even though we were trying to drop off our bags due to a bus load of golfers leaving, while I waited out the front of the foyer the concierge did not even ask if I needed help or even say hello. Nice way to start a 4 day stay. First morning was a disgusting start as myself and boyfriend were woken up at 5:50am to loud banging and after 20 minutes of standing on the balcony we then noticed a excavator cleaning up a building that had been demolished. After not being able to sleep as the noise was so loud, my partner headed to reception to complain and we were then nicely moved to the other side of the hotel which was appreciated. But having to pack up and move at 7am on the morning of a wedding that started at midday was not appreciated at all. Once in the room and preparing to attend the wedding we found the toilet was leaking constantly and contacted the front counter and due to the mess up in the morning my partner requested for it to be repaired if possible as we did not want to move again. The toilet kept on leaking and we ended up placing towels around the base of the toilet as we felt that further complaints would not be useful. Due to heavy rain all morning and the wedding being held in the glass chapel and wearing wedding attire we went to the front of the hotel and requested politely to be driven down in a covered golf buggy and to then be ignored was not adding to a positive experience. The gentleman who was acting as the concierge at the time which I then approached after a few minutes for the second time to yet again request a drive to the chapel and to receive directions via hand signals from him on the direction to walk was just disgusting. Thankfully a lovely gentleman who was pulling up to the hotel in a buggy offered to drive us down to the chapel and points go to himself as that was the best customer service we received during our entire stay. Overall we would not recommend this hotel and the only good feature of the hotel is the beautiful surrounds but that will not maintain the reputation for the long term. We can give points to the wonderful buffet breakfast but the female maître de was lacking customer service skills. From my partners point of view who is a Chef and myself being a Hotel Manager for 12 years and experiencing many hotels from both sides, a lot must be done before we would consider visiting again. Disappointed and no excuse should be accepted for bad service. 10 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and staff Very good to see a room that is not the size of a shoe box (as stay in hotels a bit for work and 70% are that small) and has modern furnishings. I checked in late and was greeted by a happy and well presented reception staff member and as I was a bit famished from a full on day and a few red wines so I ordered room service which was brought to my room in under 25mins from check -in which was great (would be great if there was a few more items on late room service menu), but the club sandwich is great I will be recommending this hotel to my friends who wish for a night away 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Amazing staff with exceptional service I found myself on your doorstep after a beyond substandard experience with your neighbouring Gold Coast Holiday Appartments. On arrival your staff greeted us with a positive attitude and friendly smile that managed to turn our horrid day into a some what positive one. From there your staff went out of thier way to help us with knowledge of the general area, assist with bags, served us the most delicious of breakfasts each day and made no request too much to ask. Whilst attending a wedding being held in one of your many rooms a fellow friend I was travelling with cut her foot on a broken glass (that had just been dropped by a guest). Your duty manager was well educated in first aid and did everything correct to make sure my friend was as comfortable as possible and assisted in organising everything we needed for the hospital. I wanted to share my remarkable experience with you and your team, as if it was not for the wonderful staff we had the opportunity to meet our experience at Sanctury Cove would not of been a pleasant one. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food Food Food Stayed for a weekend anniversary, took the package that included the "exclusive" dining / canapes option. Great package, lots of food and the most friendly staff all weekend. Well done. 05 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not expecting guests We are Gold Elite Ambassadors, the staff seemed to have no concept if what that means. We didnt initially receive our room upgrade but this was fixed soon after we were moved into the wrong room. We did not recieve any if the membership entitlements namely the fruit basket, the gift, the bottled water etc. I had to ask for these items the next morning which is just embarrassing for all of us. They arrived 30 minutes before we checked out. Despite visiting the concierge desk to confirm our late checkout , housekeeping Interupted us wanting to service the room we hasn't finished with yet. We went for a morning stroll and decided to come back to our room and sit in the sun to relax only to find a ute parked in front of our unit and workmen 2 doors down swearing and sawing and using power tools. Why would you place guest next to active renovations during a period of low occupancy?? The newspaper we were entitled to never arrived. Despite our late checkout we left in exasperation after the housekeeping people came in wanting the room back. We felt like we were an inconvienience. I wrote this complaint in an email before we left and have had no reply two days later I got a reply and it was only to send the mini bar bill. 05 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great buffet breakfast Stayed at Intercontinental Hotel for 2 nights last week, was surprised to find that rooms are not in main building but scattered along paths, found it difficult finding my room at night in the dark, am sure in summer months much easier, next time I would prefer a room closer to main building. Also building work being undertaken with beach area, rooms comfortable and clean but in need of update but loved the main building, particularly good breakfast. 31 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Genuine smiling service Just had a wonderful relaxing and very peaceful stay at Sanctuary Cove. Staff were genuinely friendly and nice which makes you relax even more. Could not wish for better service especially when you are picked up in a buggy from local restaurants after a nice meal. Lovely outlook from our room which was spacious and well appointed. Nice balcony with comfortable outdoor furniture. 30 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay Lovely location, very comfy rooms and very helpful and friendly staff. Some areas, mainly external, are showing their age a bit, though. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service and great facilities one of the nicest weekend we have ever spent. the staff and serivice was 1st class. The Fireplace restaurant was brilliant!!!! Left feeling very refreshed. thank you so much 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service and very comfortable stay. Love the location. Many things to do during the day. The pool was beautiful food was great. I highly recommend 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Getting up to standard gradually This hotel is still in the process of rebranding, and creating an Intercontinental experience from what was a run-down "Other Major Brand" Hotel. We were fortunate to hit the weekend the new executive chef introduced his new menus. Wonderful choices and a major improvement in the casual dining area as well as room service menus. The public areas are lovely, with cosy sitting areas around fireplaces, and a pleasant bar. Staff are happy to serve you coffee or drinks where you sit. The decor is high colonial, and works well. Staff are delightful and very willing to help. The room was fine, nice view, comfortable, but cramped by modern standards and, while clean and pleasant, it still had a number of items on the "to-do" list. No dimmers on bedside lights is a pet peeve of mine, as I like to read when my husband sleeps. However, as noted, the rebranding is still in progress and they are sensibly taking it carefully. Wi-fi is now free for Priority Club members. Stayed July 2013, travelled on business 09 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Its not the Hyatt!! Having stayed at Sanctuary Cove yearly over the last 25 years I found that your current management does NOT offer the same experience! If you cant delivery a late night meal as per the room service menu in under an hour...don't offer it! The noise from the kitchen exhaust fan bellows over the entire property at night - It is clearly un-serviceable and noisy yet not replaced! No Towels available for pool or spa! NOT an enjoyable experience and will no longer recommend the Hotel 09 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend away My friend and I had the best girls weekend away. We ate to our hearts content at the dinner and breakfast buffets and enjoyed several fabulous cocktails in front of the fire. At the end of the day it was so lovely to sleep in such a comfy bed. Beautiful stay, thank you. 30 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Immaculate accommodation and surrounds. Recently we spent a weekend with friends at your hotel. We could not have been happier with the experience. From the welcome to the farewell it was such a memorable experience. The rooms were first class, the grounds and surrounds excellent and the staff were so knowledgable and accommodating and the meals would rival any 5 star hotel in the world. We can't wait to return. Thank you to all concerned. Joe, Dorothy, Perce & Julie. 28 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Sanctuary cove was just what we needed after forty hours travelling. So relaxing and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay here very much, would definitely return again, friendly staff and room was clean and comfortable.Loved the surrounds and pool. Only one fault Breakfast seems very expensive compared to similar hotels. 27 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly mean spirited The stay should have been a 5 star experience. The hotel is luxurious, as you would expect for the price. What is puzzling is why they spoil the experience by charging for wifi, internet and movies. Much cheaper places don't. do this. 23 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and service A great weekend break away. Staff couldn't do enough to help you. 15 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired old resort but excellent staff Having been to Sanctuary Cove as a child, I was really looking forward to our stay at the InterContinental. I was very disappointed however, with the tired old buildings and room. The whole place needs a HUGE re-vamp. Our bathroom was not properly clean with previous guests' hair around the base of the shower. The decor was dated and the shower was seriously old. I had called #from overseas# twice to make sure that the portacot would be in our room upon arrival. It was not. We were allowed to check in early though which was a great relief #with a baby and a wedding to attend at 2pm#. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The service was great and the selection of food was really wide. Check out was easy and the staff, at all times were helpful and polite. For convenience, it was a good spot to stay for us. However, if we did not have a function at Sanctuary Cove, I would have prefered elsewhere. 14 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great but Waiting at the front desk is never pleasant. On both check in and check out I was left waiting. Why not have another staff member on hand? Or someone to help when there's more than a couple waiting? How much money is lost because its not posted to the bill from the night before? I noticed that the charge for our dinner had not been included on the bill, it was almost $200AUD. I would have liked to not say anything but I have to sleep at night. How often does this happen? Funny thing is, again, I had to wait in line at the front desk to tell them about their mistake! They said SORRY, how about thank you? 11 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed but not far from anything Great stay for us as a couple. Close to everything and some lovely dining in the village next door as well. Nice to have a few drinks in the bar in the evening with some well made cocktails on offer if required. Staff always pleasant and helpfull, no problem in giving a big tick here. 10 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Won't hurry back.... I really wanted to write a good review, but alas the property is just not up to scratch I'm afraid. I was hoping that as IHG had taken over Sancuary Cove Resort the rooms/resort would be sporting a whiz bang makeover. Not the case. Firstly the check-in staff were cold and plastic and didn't exude much enthusiasm at all, I felt like I was being checked in for a colonoscopy! (Check out was a similar experience from the same staff member) Our room smelt musty, and fixtures and fittings were old and dated. My husband had to plug the TV in on arrival (after spending 5 mins trying to locate the cord) and an air vent at the back of the cupboard was falling off. The wall paint was chipped and scuffed and the rooms have parquetry flooring, which I suspect is lovely in the summertime, but as it was slightly chilly for our stay, a pair of those little disposable slippers would not have gone astray. But there were none in our room. So when our request for ice was delivered to our room, I enquired of that staff member if the slippers were available for our stay? to which they replied 'oh no you'll have to call house keeping for that' .. A response not befitting of a 4 1/2 star staff member... I did eventually call housekeeping and slippers were delivered free of charge. We decided to order in room dining for dinner. While the food was edible, it was luke warm and arrived on a tray with plastic cloche and not in a hot box. The waiter also failed to point out that the sauce for my fish dish was in a separate little jug, and I only discovered it halfway through my (very expensive) serving of fish. For a 4.5 star property, I love a few extra towels in the bathroom, as well as extra pillows, but none here. Mini bar was adequate, but all placed neatly in a musty smelling wooden drawer in the cupboard, which you couldn't completely open as there was a chair in the way. The compendium had nothing I could see about the guest amenities, like the day spa or gym info. We only knew about the existence of the spa from a notice board by the pool area. The 'sparkling lagoon' area, while picturesque and pleasant enough, is in dire need of resurfacing as it was discolored and looked 'dirty'. I did love the magazines in our room and the pool bar cocktails were yummy. But we found ourselves wanting more of an IHG property, as visits to other hotels in the group have set standards very high. So theres a long way to go here to bring this property up to similar standards... 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oasis of Serenity We had a great stay at this resort - the grounds were very serene with a rainforest setting, expansive pool area, and water views. One of the best aspects of the stay were the staff, who were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good too. One small area for improvement- the weather was a bit wet on the days we were there which made the grates on the paths to the pool area slippery. We saw one other guest fall and we almost slipped ourselves on the grates. It would be great if this could be remedied. Otherwise a faultless stay and we'd love to come back again! 19 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, a very pleasant stay Overall, a very pleasant stay. Facilities were lovely, great destination, great service and beautiful buffet breakfast. I did however experience a couple of minor inconveniences: 1) I did find it difficult getting the room temperature right - the switch doesn't allow for the setting of a specific temperature, which meant that it was difficult to set the temperature that was warm enough for me. 2) Also, the hot water seemed to take literally a couple of minutes to travel through the piping to reach the shower itself. Otherwise, a great stay and good location. 08 May 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Sanctuary Cove Resort
  • Manor Circle
  • Sanctuary Cove , 4212
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-7-55301234

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Japanese, Turkish

Pet Policy

Service animals and guide dogs are allowed. No other pets are allowed.
  • Local Time

    8:10 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 2 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking