Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

The Willard Washington D.C

WELCOME TO

Washington

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Robert Watson
Chef Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Taxis

Taxis in DC are metered, so the price on the meter is normally what you pay.
HISTORIC WASHINGTON HOTEL ON RENOWNED PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE
Since 1850, the Willard has epitomised Washington luxury hotels and remains a destination for the world’s power brokers and visitors drawn to the nation’s capital. The hotel is charming and sophisticated, situated in a coveted location: just two blocks from the White House and National Mall. Revered by locals and guests, the Round Robin & Scotch Bar remains a lively meeting place since the days of Abraham Lincoln. After a busy day in D.C., enjoy a relaxing treatment at the full-service spa.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Café du Parc, overseen by one of Europe’s top Michelin-starred chefs, Antoine Westermann, is located adjacent to the Willard and features seasonal ...
  • Amenities & Services

    The Red Door Spa at the Willard offers an array of personal services including massages, body treatments, facials and salon services for ladies and...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
The Willard Washington D.C
  • 1401 Pennsylvania Ave NW
  • Washington , DC , 20004
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-202-6289100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, English, Spanish, French, Hungarian, Japanese, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet must weigh no more than 40lbs. 200 USD pet deposit is due at time of check in and is nonrefundable. Guide dogs are free of charge.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    4:38 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 720 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service My stay at the Holiday Inn in Washington, DC was great! I rested well after a long day. Didn't hear a lot of noise in the hall. We had a Family Reunion there and the hotel was well managed. Hats off to the management staff and their works. July 23, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quite a few inconveniences While the location is great for seeing the DC sights, I'm not inclined to stay again. There is an onsite Starbucks, and that was convenient. Checked in late Saturday evening, and it was apparant that the sheets had not been changed - called the front desk, and housekeeping arrived within 20 minutes and stripped the bed. Sunday evening, 8pm - no hot water. Notified front desk, maintenance tried to fix the issue - and three hours later at 11pm, front desk notified me that they would move me to another room, and provided two breakfast coupons for the inconvenience. Wednesday, returned to room at the lunch hour and could not get into room - down to front desk and had the room key re-keyed; back up to room, door would not open - back to front desk and had the room re-keyed, door would not open - back to front desk for a third time, re-keyed and was accompanied by a staff member. Door would not open, staff member's key would not work, housekeeping's key would not work. Waited for 20 minutes for maintenance, and they were able to get in the room. Had lunch in the hallway while waiting for the fix. All throughout the stay -you could hear the train roll through. From the first room on the 5th floor, one could see the tracks and the train - the train is very loud and ear plugs did not help. Food in the onsite restaurant is not very good - similar opinion from three others whom dined there on different occasions. Upon checking out, was asked how the stay was - recounted the dirty sheets, water issue, and being locked out of the room - could not comp the room because I paid in full for the full six-night stay, but assured me a manager would contact me. Gave me Holiday Inn points, which I won't use - and I'm still waiting for a manager to contact me - has been five days now. Too many issues for having paid in full in advance. Not sure at this point what a manager could do to remedy the situation at this late point anyway. July 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and relaxing There was a wonderful young man Chris at the front desk that was so knowledgeable and made you feel right at home. Everyone we dealt with went out of their way to help us anyway needed from getting our bags in to opening the doors for us. My son is in a wheelchair and there was always someone rushing to the doors to make sure we had help!! The only negative is the pool - it is not handicap accessible but my son is able to manipulate himself to get up stairs. Once we got to the pool there were only ladders to get in and out of the pool no steps so he wasn't able to use it even after getting up there. July 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Capitol Washington El hotel tiene una ubicación privilegiada está cerca de las áreas del mall park todo funciona bien pero salvo que las habitaciones de la parte posterior son un poco ruidosas por la construcción de un edificio y el paso del tren por lo demás es muy recomendable July 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very good customer service The customer service was very good. The bedroom bedding was very nice and comfortable, yet the mattresses were very hard and did not provide a lot of comfort for sleeping. July 22, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Long uncomfortable nights To start, overall the property was nice, the rooms were well maintained and the staff and service were good. However, the heating and cooling systems in the rooms were frustrating to say the least. With temperatures reaching the 90s during my stay AC was a must. The AC worked, but the thermostat as motion activated. So while sleeping the room would heat up, and I would have to get up and walk toward the thermostat for the air to come back on. Waking up every hour or so through the night got old very quickly. There is a train station about 50 yards from the room I was in as well, enough said. Parking was a hassle. Frankly it was already overpriced, and hotel guests paid the same rate as the general public. I could accept that, however the hotel should ensure that the parking structure they use is adequately staffed. I got stuck in the parking lot twice because the parking ticket reader didn't function and the exit wasn't staffed. It's quite frustrating when you try to leave and get somewhere when on a schedule and you can't get out of the parking lot. In the end, when I return to the DC area, I will be seeking out another IHG property for my stay. July 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location close to the mall and the metro This hotel was in a great location close to the mall & the metro. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was pleasant and helpful. It didn't offer some of the amenities of the previous two Holiday Inns we had stayed at along our journey such as free breakfast, hot coffee and cocoa in the lobby and an indoor pool. Our one big complaint would be the $37 per night parking fee. Overall, I would recommend it for it's comparably reasonable rates, comfortable, clean rooms and convenience to the metro and DC attractions. July 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good fit for my family The 2 queen bed room was a good size for us. Not big, but enough room for 2 adults, one teen, and one tween! Very clean. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Nice roomy bathroom with good counter space for stuff. Very quiet on the weekend. 6 o'clock wake up whistles from the train station next door on weekday mornings! Funny to us, but we get up early! - other families may not be as amused. We never heard any noise from our neighbors or the hallway. The rooftop pool is a little small but it was enough to make my guys happy. On site food options were expensive and just ok quality. Easy walk to the main muesums. We walked to the restaurants in the Penn Quater but it could be a bit of a hike if you have younger kids.(or if you aren't big on walking!) Close to L'Enfant Plaza metro station - we were helped by a very friendly metro worker and managed to navigate to the zoo and back. We would be happy to stay here again. July 21, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort The room view was horrible. The view consisted of a dumpster, trash and a storage for construction equipment. The noise from the train outside my window kept me awake every night and woke me up first thing in the mornings. July 21, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location, but rooms facing train tracks not good for sleeping. WIFI service unreliable/poor. July 21, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, but many issues I asked to be signed up for the rewards program at check-in, but they actually didn't sign me up and I had to go back down to get that done. On the third day all of our room keys failed to work and needed to be reset. Water was leaking from the bathroom above and dripped into our bathtub. We did not have a car but they tried to charge us for parking fees. Staff at the bar was not friendly. July 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good hotel, excellent staff Wonderful staff in a very good hotel. Good central location too. July 21, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location shame about the noise The location of this property is perfect for exploring the National Mall and the museums unfortunately it is the noisiest place I have ever stayed. Our room was located at the rear of the property which backs onto a train line - I kid you not those trains run all night! To make matters worse the air conditioning units were just as noisy as the trains and because of the humidity we couldn't stand it without them. The size of the room and the newly refreshed décor were lovely but hardly made up for the noise factor. BTW the rooftop pool really needs to be cleaned up - not as nice as you would hope! July 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food & Beverage The restaurant needs improvement. Very poor service and unfriendly servers. The morning shift were horrible, it was almost an inconvenience for them to give you a cup of coffee . Hotel was great but fine some place to eat. July 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and comfortable Convenient to Metro and so many sites. Very nice, clean room. The real trains (freight, Amtrak, and tankers) run next to the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper, you might ask for a room on the other side. Great food in the Bistro. Starbucks on the same corner. Would stay again. July 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location My family and I were able to park the car and walk or take the metro everywhere we wanted to go. This property was a little pricey but was great for that first family experience in D.C. This location was very close to a fire station so a little noisy at times. The staff was great and went above and beyond expectations . Any questions we had about the area were answered thoroughly and quickly. We felt very safe and well taken care of. July 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by washington visit july 11-14 Overall very well located hotel, hotel clean, helpful staff. one item i disagree with is at breakfast, you can have either coffee or orange juice, not both. i ordered coffee, and then also asked for orange juice, for which i was charged $3. in any other establishment it is normally free! other than that highly recommended. July 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great location .. Comfortable and made my wife happy.. What else matters... July 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved our stay here! What a great time we had in the Holiday Inn Capitol. Room 753 was awesome - seating area, work area, fridge, two big TVS, all the electronics we wanted, nice bath. The location is superb to see the Washington attractions - we could walk to many of them. Staff was great, food in the restaurants excellent (at good prices). We used the fitness room and the business center too. Everything worked perfectly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. July 17, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location great Close to all museums Able to park for extended hours Great room Staff very nice Would stay again July 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by vacation This was my first trip to Washington, DC. I found the accommodations very comfortable. The staff was very helpful regarding all my questions. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our room price. The location of the hotel made it easy to travel throughout the city on our visit there. July 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service From the moment I arrived at this hotel I was given exceptional service. I was greeted and assisted from my taxi by Hypolite, who helped get my electric wheelchair out of the boot His big genuine smile each day was uplifting and I would quite often use the front entrance just so that I could say hello. I was checked in by Cheryl, who was also fantastic. She gave me a lot of helpful information on Washington DC and the Metro system. The room itself was extremely comfortable and a good size, the guest laundry was very useful. During my stay I suffered a punctured tyre on my wheelchair and asked if it was possible for the maintenance staff to repair it for me, this was done overnight, by Chris, who was fantastic. I had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Fantastic Hotel. July 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some flaws but overall quite good The bad: we asked for a room away from the train track side of the building. We got a room ON the train track side of the building. Fortunately my family sleeps more deeply than I, but I was stirred to wakefulness every weekday at approximately 6:30 by a loud train horn blast. The food downstairs is overpriced, except for the little a la carte spot, which is not open on weekends. My husband repeatedly asked for an extra blanket and was repeatedly promised one would be coming from housekeeping. It NEVER came. The good: you CANNOT beat the location if you're in town to see Smithsonian museums and other things on the mall: it's literally a block and a half from Air & Space! The rooftop pool is really great and a good relief from summer's heat and tired feet from walking all day. The Old Town Trolley tour has a pickup at the hotel. The Metro is a block and a half from the hotel so you can easily go car-free, especially if you fly into Reagan. Cabs are readily available and you're close enough to Reagan that the cost of the metro for 4 and a cab are competitive. Room service was prompt and the pizza was not too bad. Beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and there were ample pillows for everyone. The televisions are modern with HDMI ports, which meant I could hook up my laptop and run a movie through the TV when the kids needed to zone out. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and yet efficient (except for getting an extra blanket, see above). When we next come to DC we will definitely stay here again. July 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely return Room clean and large and nice. Bed great, good sleep. Bathroom clean and large. Only negative is a hole in the air vent in the shower box that looks like a camera hole which I am sure it is not, photo attached, Definitely needs fixing. Restaurant buffet breakfast was great. Located in the center of the tourist attractions, can walk to everything. July 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel Everything is perfect there, the hotel, the rooms, the stuff, etc. and very close to many museum! Planning to return in 2015!! July 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and an overall nice facility Great stay. The parking should have been no more than $20.00 for guest. Was not at all happy about my room being left open. Even more disappointed that management never contacted me. I don't feel the housekeeper should be the scapegoat because mistakes happen. However being in business for myself I know you (management) always need to be accountable for you employees. July 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for location This was a great jumping off point for my family. We chose this location because it is only a block from the Air and Space Museum. I purchased our trolley tickets in the gift shop down stairs which saved me lots of time. There were three options for food, one was for breakfast where you could get the basics-nothing fancy. It was quick and easy.There is also a Starbuck's coffee shop inside the hotel but is also accessible from the street. Then there was the Bistro, it was next to the breakfast area. I wasn't too impressed with the menu, the restaurant was dingy and my fork had food left on it that hadn't been cleaned in the dish washer. We just got up and left. The staff was pleasant. Hamburger cost $15! The other restaurant was packed so I went and asked the front desk clerk if they had a pizza restaurant in the area that delivers. He was very helpful and I ordered in Pizza from the New York Pizza Co. They delivered to the hotel in 40 minutes in a down pour! Oh, there is a postage size pool on the roof, and you can see the capitol from it. It was clean and crowded. Just stagger the time you go. Lots of kids having fun splashing about, I waited and went later and there weren't too many. Most small kiddos are in bed by 7! Our room had two Queen sized beds, a refrigerator, Kurig coffee maker and a T.V. For the price, the room was comfortable, clean and cozy. The staff was nice and willing to help if you needed anything. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, but skip the restaurant. You can't have everything perfect but this hotel was a winner in my book. Will be back again in the future. July 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome We stayed in Knoxville heading to DC and this was was just as nice I would recommend to anyone. Nice room clean and nice front Desk attendants as well. July 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel I really liked the Hotel, Staff and Location... I was not Happy that I had to pay for Parking... $35.00 a night for parking was a little inconvenient... July 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Only problem I had was the ice machine was broke on our floor, also was not made aware that parking deck had three floors so had to wander around looking for car, also parking price is expensive July 13, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>