Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

WELCOME TO

Washington

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Robert Watson
Chef Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Taxis

Taxis in DC are metered, so the price on the meter is normally what you pay.
HISTORIC WASHINGTON HOTEL ON RENOWNED PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE
Since 1850, the Willard has epitomised Washington luxury hotels and remains a destination for the world’s power brokers and visitors drawn to the nation’s capital. The hotel is charming and sophisticated, situated in a coveted location: just two blocks from the White House and National Mall. Revered by locals and guests, the Round Robin & Scotch Bar remains a lively meeting place since the days of Abraham Lincoln. After a busy day in D.C., enjoy a relaxing treatment at the full-service spa.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Café du Parc, overseen by one of Europe’s top Michelin-starred chefs, Antoine Westermann, is located adjacent to the Willard and features seasonal ...
  • Amenities & Services

    The Red Door Spa at the Willard offers an array of personal services including massages, body treatments, facials and salon services for ladies and...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental The Willard Washington D.C

  • 1401 Pennsylvania Ave NW
  • Washington , DC , 20004
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-202-6289100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, English, Spanish, French, Hungarian, Japanese, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet must weigh no more than 40lbs. 200 USD pet deposit is due at time of check in and is nonrefundable. Guide dogs are free of charge.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
Pet Fee $200.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:25 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 995 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and Helpful Staff We were a party of three women in Washington, D.C., there for sightseeing. One in our party suddenly became very ill with a high fever., and a house doctor was called in. She was diagnosed with an infectious virus, and my other friend and I were advised to move to a different room. We went to the front desk and asked for another room. The manager was very understanding, and assigned us to another room at a reduced rate right across the hall from our sick friend, making it convenient to periodically check on her. We found the entire staff very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that for breakfast, on a weekday, they only offered the full breakfast buffet--not the option to order less food off the menu. November 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to Capitol Hill Walk by this Holiday Inn everyday and have been to restaurant and bar/lounge before but never stayed over in a guest suite. So glad I tried it. Totally exceeded my expectations. November 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We would stay there again! We stayed for a week and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The accomodations were nice. Also, is a great location. We would stay there again! November 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in the City The staff was warm and friendly, efficient. Room was clean, relaxing, and comfortable. Located with excellent access to government offices, which made for walking distance commuting. Also a great place to stay for museum and site seeing in DC. Will choose this hotel again. November 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and conveniently located Front desk lady was was very friendly and courteous when I checked in and the bell boy was very helpful when I checked out and looked after my belongings until I came back later in the day to pick up. November 13, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location poor service The hotel is conveniently located with CVS pharmacy and Starbucks next door. It's tucked away near some government offices so there isn't much activity on the weekends and it's a short walk to the exhibits and the metro is nearby. Unfortunately, it's located near a commercial rail track so it's a little loud at night with freight trains. The front desk staff isn't that helpful. We attempted to dispute our rate and they were disinterested in helping us understand the discrepancy. Each year, we visit D.C. to participate in a marathon and we request late check out on Sunday. This was the only hotel to give us a hard time. They requested we call each day to be told to call the next day and so on. We called race day and we were told we called too early to call back later even though we explained we would be in the race. Also, other hotels have given race participants small gifts in the past an extremely nice gesture but this hotel did not. Not a big deal it just goes to the atmosphere. Other than poor service it's a pretty fair value for the location in D.C. November 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Coming here again! This was a very good hotel. Staff was great the rooms amazing. The location of hotel is just right. walking distance to everything. I wish i could have stayed longer. We are definitely coming here again! November 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed It was a good experience for the cost. However, we were surprised to get our breakfast bill for $42 for 3 people eating a very simple buffet. We definitely did not get our money's worth on that! And there were no other choices for breakfast... a simple bagel and coffee for $5 would have made more sense. Also, the food was okay - we ate dinner there twice. But too expensive for the quality of the food, which was only average. November 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location & helpful staff If you want to be centrally located near many, if not all of the historical sites in Washington, DC, then you should stay at the Holiday Inn Capital. It was incredibly easy to get to the White House, Washington , WW II and Martin Luther King Memorials in a days time. Not to mention, the hotel is down the block from the Air & Space Museum. My daughter and I were there for just an overnight & because of the proximity to all these sites from the hotel , we were able to see and do a lot. The staff was incredibly helpful, explaining how to get to each site & friendly. Would definitely go back and do recommend. PS, great price also November 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and above average facility. Upon arrival, check in was quick and easy. Our room was on the eighth floor with a great view of the terraced patio area. The best part of the Holiday Inn Washington Capitol was it's location. It's 3 blocks from the Air and Space Museum. Being so close to the National Mall allowed my wife and I to walk to many of the museums along the mall. One adventurous day we walked all the way to the White House. Tiring but worth every step. Bus tours can be booked in the gift shop. Starbucks can be accessed from the lobby. As for our room, clean and comfortable. The only room negatives were the coffee brand was terrible and there was no microwave to heat leftovers or food brought into the room. As for the bar and grill, the food could have been better as well as the service. Overall I would rate this Holiday Inn a 4+ star experience and recommend it to those who want to be close to the best of D.C. November 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is in a great location to visit many of the sites just by walking. Within blocks of the Capital, Smithsonian museums, and monuments. November 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, Noisy nights Everything was as I have come to expect of Holiday Inn. The constant rumbling and train horns did not allow this country boy to sleep for two nights. Not the fault of the hotel but a difficulty none the less. November 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay Excellent stay. Everything was great. We will be back in spring 2015. November 10, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Brief Washington DC Business Trip The hotel overall is a nice property and was extremely convenient for me and the business plans I had during my stay. I was displeased to find out upon arrival that the hotel was undergoing renovations and that the hotel deli, and fine dining restaurant was shut down leaving only the hotel bar and attached Starbucks as the only food options. Because of the other facility renovations the available options were extremely overcrowded with hotel guests and employees and visitors to the surrounding government agencies near the hotel. I was given an upgraded room that was bigger than the accessible room I had initially selected which was nice, except for the fact that the room was on the side of the building with train tracks that had trains going all night long. I did appreciate the additional room and accessibility features which I had requested in my initial reservation. The hotel staff was very friendly and tried to accommodate my needs as best as they could. November 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 Blocks Away from Air and Space Museum! We loved the location right next to a metro stop and only a few short blocks from the Air and Space Museum. With kids (5 and 9) and a grandmother, it's a far walk from Washington Monument and really far from Lincoln Memorial. But using a taxi or uber makes it economical. The room was clean and stylish and the lobby area comfortable. Very happy with our stay there. November 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Ambiance Loved the ambiance of this hotel. The location was perfect, right across the street from the Metro. Easily accessible to restaurants and shops. November 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great food, but trains galore Overall, i had a very good stay. I requested a mobility accessible room and received an amazingly spacious room with a roll in shower. The room was clean and I had the absolute best room service meal, ever! The ribeye was delicious! The only negative was the fact that my room faced the train tracks and there were trains day and night. There's nothing the hotel can do to address that, so i don't call that a deal breaker, is just something a light sleeper would need to know and request a room on the opposite side the hotel. I'll definitely consider this a very viable option for my future travels to DC. November 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made our trip to DC wonderful ! Loved all the improvements to the hotel. We had a standard room and it was fine. Had everything we needed and it had a great location. Everyone from the doorman to the front desk and the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful with our questions. If I had one suggestion, it would be to offer valet parking - trying to find a parking space in the garage to accommodate our large SUV was a challenge. My suggestion to guests would be to drive a small car! Other than that, I recommend the Holiday Inn Washington Capital to everyone ... and have to several people already! November 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service Great location for sight seeing and using the Metro. Dining options were limited due to construction inside the hotel. Quality of the food was great though. The mattress was comfortable and the room was quiet and dark. November 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great sevice Comfortable bed and great service. Clean room, good breakfast. November 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Three days Great three days at this Holiday Inn. We were tired but visit was so rewarding. From the moment we checked in to the day we left the staff were great and very attentive, nothing was too much effort. Well done guys , we will be back. Thanks. November 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Myself and three friends visited this hotel last weekend. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly. The first thing I loved when I got there was the fact that you had to have a key card to get onto guest room floors which made me feel safe. The location of the hotel was wonderful and you can't beat the price! I have been home for one day and have already recommended this hotel to family and friends. November 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accomodating and relaxing I have stayed at this hotel and many occasions and there's a reason for that; I have consistently found that it provides a relaxing atmosphere but also accommodates my abilities to get work done. The room layout provides great work areas and I enjoy the variety of lighting in the room as well. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. On this stay I had a key card issue and the staff member personally walked over with me to help me resolve the issue. November 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff The reason we chose this hotel was the location, it is close to the National mall, the metro system and close to the bus station where you can take the bus to Dulles airport (5A). The staff was friendly and helped us with our inquiries. The room was large and the beds were good, the only thing that bothered us was the fact that our room was on the same side as the railway tracks so we would wake up (startled) really early some mornings when the trains went by but we didn't ask if we could get another room. We would stay at this hotel if we were ever again in Washington DC, but we would ask for a room that is not on the same side as the railway tracks. November 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel for sight seeing in DC The location of the hotel is idea for visiting sites on the Mall, and as an AAA member we received a very good rate. The accommodations were very comfortable and the staff for making reservations and at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We had specifically requested (and were given) a room on the C Street side of the hotel because we had read that the train noise could be disruptive to sleeping. November 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful and comfortable room Loved my stay, everything was so convenient. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again. This was my first time in DC and staying at this hotel was perfect. November 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facilities: clean and well located Very good experience with the staff. Room was clean and room service diligent with any request. November 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Syat I really enjoyed this hotel and friendly staff. Great location also. The only issue I had was the noise in the evening. The walls were thin so it was easy to hear TV's from other rooms and people in the hallway. Other than that, this was a great place and enjoyed the hotel. I would stay there again. November 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location This hotel is just one block off the National Mall, and one block from the L'Enfant Subway station which makes it extremely convenient if your stay involves DC sight-seeing. The staff was extremely courteous and quick to respond to special requests. The restaurant was pricey but good. We would definitly stay here again. November 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff, Nice location This hotel was so convenient to the Mall and Museums. The staff could not have been nicer. I really liked the choice of pillows and the comfort of the bed. October 31, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>