Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1674 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1674reviews

  • 5 Stars
    904
  • 4 Stars
    494
  • 3 Stars
    128
  • 2 Stars
    83
  • 1 Stars
    65

Used to be a great place….

By

25 November 2021

club

It just feels as if HI, especially here, have taken their foot off the gas.

We arrived on a Sunday night for the Exec and Fizz rate, promising so much and delivering so little. We had a standard room, not premium, despite the hotel being quiet, and no fizz. Even as a standard room (room 403) this felt of a lesser quality than standard rooms we’d had before here.

The Air Con didn’t work, even after reset. We knew to call reception for reset as this always happens here. We never actually got the air con to cool this time. The room remained uncomfortably hot despite it being cool outside.

The staff are always pleasant and do their best, but you get the feeling they’re fighting a losing battle. Last time we were here (August) there was a note from the manager apologising for being short staffed at their busiest time, and therefore not being able to provide all their services.

This time there was no breakfast buffet, probably as the hotel was so quiet. The bonus was that breakfast was freshly cooked to order. Food and drink is usually simple, but of a good standard here, and it was no different this time.

We’ve been regulars here, and it’s done us well, as it splits our journey between North and South , but we’re reconsidering now sadly as the decline is significant in our view.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

24 November 2021

Always enjoy Holiday Inn service and staff were excellent as usual

Read More
Read Less

Great Family Get Together

By

23 November 2021

platinumelite

I cannot rate the staff at this hotel highly enough. They were unfailingly friendly, polite and helpful throughout my stay. I had a complex booking with several rooms arriving on different days and staying different lengths of time, which must have been a nightmare for the reception staff but they coped admirably and with tremendous patience. I had asked for an area of the bar to be set aside for our family celebration on Saturday evening and was delighted to find that we had been given a function room set up with lovely dining facilities, including glitter! solely at the discretion of the staff, despite having two coachloads of tourists to accommodate and feed. This special attention made our evening even more enjoyable. They also allowed me to use a room for a whole day Zoom meeting after I had checked out, all at no extra cost and spent time assisting with an internet connection problem. . The hotel was clean and comfortable with a wide-ranging menu, including several vegetarian/vegan options. The only thing which could be improved was some of the evening meal not being hot enough. Otherwise a splendid experience with staff who deserve the highest recognition. Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Not bad

By

21 November 2021

Reception great, Bar service great, Car charging facility great…..
Bedroom poor (very tired), a double bed consists of 2 single beds pushed together but single duvets so basically a single bed.
My room was too hot, even with the radiator wound down as much as it would go it was like a sauna in there.
I will try and find somewhere else next time but its ok.

Read More
Read Less

Favourite IHG hotel in the area

By

18 November 2021

This Holiday Inn hotel replaces our regular "go-to" Crowne Plaza in the area as a favourite place to stay in Merseyside / South Lancashire. We plan to use the swimming pool on our next visit. Good use of our Reward Points too.
Stayed over a Sunday night, Monday breakfast when very few guests were staying, thus the staff appeared well trained and were really helpful, fetching anything we asked for.
Executive sized room with sofa especially recommended as my wife does like to spread out whilst watching evening TV

Read More
Read Less

Excellent staff

By

17 November 2021

club

Welcome very good and efficient, all staff we had contact with were excellent, our room was very clean and nice, the bed was comfortable and we slept well.overall this was an excellent experience.

Read More
Read Less

Average

By

16 November 2021

platinumelite

Room was tired looking. It was only an overnight stay breaking up a long drive. However, the heating was broken and the room was freezing.

Breakfast being included was a pleasant surprise as normally it isnt at HI hotels

Read More
Read Less

Please choose a different hotel, you will be pleased you did.

By

15 November 2021

Rewrite no 8 after eighth review declined (different reasons each time) –
Sadly, there was nothing to like about this stay...I have submitted this review 8 times now and keep getting asked to remove details that illustrate what happened whilst we were on a return visit so let’s just say things went from bad to worse. (I do wish the email asking me to change things in my review would list them all at once and not select different things each time…it’s almost like they don’t want guests to provide reviews based on their experiences!)
In our opinion and experience, this is the worst hotel we have ever visited. We are both disabled and did not feel we were treated in a way appropriate to our needs like we are treated in other hotels. The staff seemed overwhelmed and unable to understand simple things that are essential to a disabled person. One example of this was during check in, we were not asked about our needs in the case of an emergency evacuation. In all the other hotels I have stayed in this information is added to the forms during check in which is reassuring for the guest to know. I had to go to reception a few hours later and insist these forms were added to our room number as we would both need assistance in such a case. This does not make a disabled guest feel safe in a hotel. The General Manager seems to think she is above speaking with a customer despite repeated requests. A member of staff told us they were a manager then another actual manager said they were not and we were given maintenance keys when the room keys repeatedly failed and told not to tell anyone which is extremely concerning. I walked into a house keeping laundry trolley outside a lift, shortly after check in and reported it immediately. The accident form wasn’t then completed, nor was I asked if I needed medical assistance until an hour later when I received a copy after asking several times it was full of spelling and grammar errors. This is just one thing I wished to discuss with the General Manager and there are many more. Unfortunately Barbara refuses to contact me. Adam the recently appointed Guest Relations Manager asked us to give them one more chance once he has had time to make improvements. I believe he may be successful as seems competent and genuine, however, given the deep upset this hotel had caused myself and my partner I'm not sure I want to... he suggested in a years time but I doubt he will stay if the overall manager continues to be invisible to customer and staff and refuses to listen to constructive feedback to make the experience SAFE and happy for disabled customers. I think that the hotel needs to take immediate action to retrain staff who appear to have no idea how to fulfil their roles. The hotel needs to increase staff on site so they can manage the volume/demand on reception. Ultimately the apparently 'ephemeral' General Manager Barbara perhaps needs to work longer hours on site at the actual hotel because despite repeatedly asking to speak with her on several occasions across several days on both visits, she has not been available at any point in the day, evening ,weekday or weekends. She should be available, as expressed in her statement in the online leaflet about this hotel to speak with upset customers and learn how to listen to them so they feel heard. The staff in this hotel appear to us to be overwhelmed, have low morale and look unsupported by senior level management which is awful. We had multiple problems with the hotel and spent time discussing them with Adam including asking him to pass on our request to speak with Barbara which still has not happened.
I feel very concerned for the emotional health and wellbeing of the staff and can see why middle management don't seem to stay. We are both disabled and were treated appallingly by one member of staff in particular who basically made us stay away from the hotel from 8.30am to 7.30pm in the cold all day awaiting his promised email or phone call to say our room had been switched as the one given was not suitable for a disabled person. The reception staff that day failed to answer the phone nor respond to the gym staff person who took our call. We finally returned to the hotel after 11 hours to find out the room was ready but no one had bothered to let us know nor reply to the messages passed to the reception desk by the pool staff who do answer their phones. These are examples of some but not all of the issues and problems we encountered during this second visit. This hotel needs visible management who are able to make the guests feel safe. Seriously...look elsewhere if you want to be able to relax. Might be worth looking at independent reviews on other sites which are able to provide details unlike here.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

09 November 2021

club

Great location and clean rooms would highly recommend.

Read More
Read Less

Dreadful

By

07 November 2021

club

Holiday Inn used to be known for good quality albeit expensive hotels. They are still expensive but this hotel is 1 star at best. Truly dreadful in cleanliness, staff, restaurant, and overall experience.

Read More
Read Less

Clean hotel with good service.

By

03 November 2021

club

Good, clean hotel. Lovely breakfast but several dinner menu options were not available when ordering. Limited availabilty for free use of health club facilities and pool, which we were not advised of before arrival, so could not use when we wanted to. Approx. £6 for taxi to local stations for trains to Liverpool.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel For Three Sisters Circuit

By

03 November 2021

Usual high standards and good food,ideal for our visit to Three Sisters Circuit 5 mins away.

Read More
Read Less