Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona-Des Moines

165 Adventureland Dr Nw , Altoona, Iowa 50009

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 1040 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1040reviews

  • 5 Stars
    725
  • 4 Stars
    217
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    15

Relaxing and comfortable stay.

By

18 September 2021

club

Comfortable sleep, nice pool and clean property. Nice selection of breakfast foods.

Read More
Read Less

Go somewhere else

By

16 September 2021

club

We stayed the entire Labor Day weekend and the pool was closed the entire time due to someone throwing up in it I guess. They said that they wouldn’t get around to cleaning it until Tuesday. Go figure, that’s when the holiday weekend was over. We tried 3 different milk cartons at breakfast, all of which were sour. The date was not expired yet so I’m not sure why they were sour. The remote to the TV was so old we had to hold our arm up and press the buttons really hard to even get it to work. This was by far one of the worst IHG properties I’ve stayed at. I won’t stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Great Altona properties

By

15 September 2021

platinumelite

Everything was great, only concern was cost IHG rate stated one rate , but because of internet issues I contacted hotel fyor reservation, ended up paying $30 more. That was only comment. I enjoyed the property.

Read More
Read Less

Staff great, room mediocre

By

15 September 2021

club

The staff at this location were great. The hotel was full. We were thankful for at last minute room, however, it smelled strongly of a thick layer of cigarette smoke stuck to the drywall hidden under the paint from which it was remodeled. Breakfast was good.

Read More
Read Less

Lacks quality consistency of other IHG properties.

By

13 September 2021

During our recent trip out west we stayed at a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels because they offered a comfortable and generally quiet room as well as a good breakfast. The bed in this facility was comfortable and the room was quiet. However, the room itself smelled damp and musty. The tile on the bathroom floor was sticky and there was black mold or mildew in the shower. The breakfast was good with the usual Holiday Inn Express fare.

Read More
Read Less

Great night sleep

By

11 September 2021

Stayed for business and was able to get a good nights rest with a great breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed, convenient location

By

04 September 2021

platinumelite

Staff was alright could have had better attitudes. It was easy to find right off the highway. Clean room and comfortable bed. Breakfast was alright had enough choices.

Read More
Read Less

Comfort in Iowa

By

03 September 2021

platinumelite

A clean and comfortable room and bed is much appreciated after hundreds of miles on the road. And a pleasant and professional staff is also a plus here.

Read More
Read Less

Racist Front Desk Clerk...

By

03 September 2021

The overall stay was better than adequate. If the front desk issue is resolved this would be a perfectly fine hotel, but it's a huge issue:
The front desk woman refused to accommodate me even though there were plenty of rooms. She suggested that I travel further east to the town of Newton, about 30 minutes away. (The parking lot of this hotel was virtually empty.) After she told me to move on the woman promptly turned and disappeared into an office.
When I searched the IHG website to find another hotel this very one was one of my choices with several room options available. As I completed the reservation a gentleman appeared behind the counter' it was a shift change at 11pm, I believe. He offered a choice of room locations.
Between this, the website, and the empty hotel parking lot it was obvious that the had ample rooms. Apparantly, the woman who refused service to me didn't care for middle aged white men to frequent the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

10 out of 10

By

31 August 2021

One of the better holiday Inn’s I have had the chance to stay and we will be returning to this location. Thanks again for making our stay perfect for us.

Read More
Read Less

Good Stay

By

30 August 2021

platinumelite

The stay was enjoyable - the pool could use updating and better ventilation, but the room was excellent

Read More
Read Less

Solid Stay

By

29 August 2021

Not a bad hotel at all. The breakfast selection is weak and the TV systems are terrible. Otherwise, very clean and quiet.

Read More
Read Less