Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 688 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, large room and attentive service We had a very comfortable stay at this great hotel. The upgraded room was large and had amazing panoramic views of the city. service was excellent. Location in Nob Hill is ideal for ease of travel around the city. 19 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Old Hotel on Nob Hill This is a lovely, old property but has all of the conveniences of a modern facility. The hotel is comfortable and the staff is top notch. I loved the location and had a room at the front of the hotel over looking the square on Nob Hill. I could definitely hear the cable cars but loved looking out too see the sights and, when it wasn't foggy, the bay! Cable cars stop in front of the hotel and it's an easy walk downhill to Union Square for fine dinning and shopping. But having morning tea or a late snack at the Top of Mark is a must due to the glorious views out over the city. I would stay here again! 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Great place to stay Have stayed before and remember this place as great location 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff, Great Value, Fabulous Location Every member of the staff from John C. at the Front Desk, the Bell Man, Restaurant Staff were wonderful. The number of amenities that came with the room made for a great value. The Mark Hopkins has a fabulous location. Our room had a great view. The location on Nob Hill could not have been better...cable car at the door. Wow! We had a great time in San Francisco, the Mark Hopkins contributed to making the vacation special. 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed Our bed did not have a mattress protector! It had a slippery duvet under the sheet. Therefore every time you turned in bed it slipped and slid and I don't think hygienic. All hotels should have mattress protectors that are washed regularly. How often was that duvet washed???? 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nob Hill Intercontinental Made its Mark One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in a long time. The staff was excellent; helpful and friendly. The doormen were extremely welcoming, the maid staff -on top of their game. The concierge and bartender services were superb. Only challenge was cooling our 9th floor room. Even in November with the air conditioning set at 62 the temp during the night was a lot warmer than that. Bedding and room ambiance was fantastic. We'd highly recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a very memorable stay in San Francisco. 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental Ambassador benefits honored - 5 Stars! Just a couple days before, my husband and I decided to come up to San Francisco for the weekend. We had joined the Intercontinental Ambassador program earlier in the year, which gives a free 2nd night stay over any weekend within a year of joining, so we thought this a perfect time to use the certificate. Not only did they allow us to check in early (around 10:30am) but we were upgraded to a corner suite, had complimentary fruit and mineral water delivered, free internet, and were given the 4pm check out as our flight didn't leave until 7pm. From the member check in, to the cheerful and helpful door men/valets who promptly got us a taxi whenever we needed and welcomed us with a smile each time we returned, we felt like guests that they truly valued. The location is great, and we easily walked to Union Square, Chinatown, with cable car lines both off of Powell and California. Our room was gorgeous, with a breathtaking view of the bay, bridge, the landmark Transamerica tower...We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit the city! 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay We have been coming here at least once a year now, occasionally twice, for the last 6 years. We have never had a complaint, and it is always nice when staff remembers you! It is a terrific old, historic hotel with always great service. I would recommend the Enjoy SF package. 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a joy The Mark Hopkins continues to be one of the best run properties anywhere. There may be better and newer facilities, but no one can make it to the top of the list with service and experience quality. 10 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad check-in at front desk I have stayed at Mark Hopkins many times in the past. But this time I did not feel like I was welcome at all as a platinum member. The gentleman at the front desk did not mention IHG rewards or acknowledge that I am a loyal member to the IHG brand. He just asked to initial here and sign here and sent me on my way. I stayed at Holiday and Holiday Inn Express and Crowne Plaza within the last few weeks. This was the only hotel that did not recognize the IHG rewards brand. All the other IHG brands offered bottles of water or something to welcome their loyal customers. I forgot to ask about Wi-Fi and when I called downstairs, they connected me to another extension and it went into voicemail. I felt truly disappointed with my stay this time. 09 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time Our stay here was wonderful. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the front door we enjoyed every minute. Wonderful location with easy access to all areas of San Francisco. Definitely coming back here next time we are in town. 07 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peaceful, Magnificent Suite in Elegant, Grand Hotel I had a beautiful one-bedroom suite on the 14th floor with a view of the Bay Bridge, TransAmerica Building, Berkeley, and Union Square. There were French doors to the bedroom, which had a Bose radio playing classical music. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was very clean. Everything in the suite was in proper working order. The dining room area had a large round table with four chairs and a crystal chandelier. The living room area had a comfortable couch with a large flat screen TV with high-definition channels. The marble bathroom had a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate shower. Scented bath crystals were provided, as well as a generous amenity kit. Room service brought up an amenity of mineral water, fruit, and local organic chocolate bar (award-winning Mokaccino bar from TCHO). Housekeeping brought additional chocolates later in the evening. I had a superior night of sleep. I purchased access to the Club Intercontinental Lounge on the lobby level, and I enjoyed the afternoon high tea, evening hors d'oeuvres and beverages, and breakfast, as well as the newspapers and magazines. Ana and David in Guest Relations were excellent as always. I also enjoyed a superior Sunday champagne brunch at Top of the Mark, where the maitre d' was Pattty, my server was the attentive Jose, and the pianist was Mike. I had an excellent table with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge, Palace of Fine Arts, Alcatraz, Russian Hill, and Grace Cathedral. There were many excellent dishes, including lobster, caviar, oysters, crab, smoked fish, skirt steak, roast goose, prime rib, ravioli, poached salmon, heirloom tomato salad, dim sum, and French pastry cones. In summary, this hotel has great accommodations, meals, and service, and you can relax while you look down on the skyscrapers below you from the top of Nob Hill in San Francisco. For the next six weeks, the Club Intercontinental Lounge on the lobby level will be renovated to become a restaurant; I look forward to dining there in the future. During the renovation, the Club Intercontinental Lough will temporarily relocate to a magnificent suite on the 18th floor. I look forward to lounging on the 18th floor during the renovation. 07 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quintessential San Francisco Lovely stay at the historic Mark Hopkins hotel. We are native San Franciscans and this is THE place to stay in our opinion when in SF. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing room with private terrace Thankfully I am an Ambassador member and I was given a room upgrade to a suite. This is the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The food was amazing. Service impeccable. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The west, rediscovered. We came to Nob Hill with a very big recommendation and came to see why others think so highly of the hotel. We were given an excellent room which was high enough to give an outstanding view of the city and the bay. From the first moment of arrival the staff did all the could to welcome us. The front desk check in with David was as good as it gets and the club bought refreshment and the opportunity to meet interesting people. My wife and I would recommend this hotel to all we meet. The only down side was that before leaving New York I has given to nights at the CP Times Square when he changed his plan to visit Washington because of the shutdown. The result for us was that we only received on qualifying night out of two at the hotel. Such is life. Nob Hill, a highlight in a great trip. 02 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced hotel We recently stayed at the Mark Hopkins whilst attending a family wedding in San Francisco. I had read reviews about this hotel but trusted that the Intercontinental Brand would deliver value for money. Sadly this was not the case. The whole hotel was tired looking and in desperate need of renovation or just a basic lick of paint would have helped. The location of the Hotel is superb from the views of the city point of view but this is used to get away with other shortcomings. The concierge and all the staff were superb and very helpful which made our experience more enjoyable. Overall if you expect a luxury experience and think what you pay should reflect what is delivered this is not the Hotel for you. 02 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girlfriend Birthday Celebration My recent Girlfriend Birthday Celebration was 4 nights at the Mark Hopkins. We selected this hotel because of location and reviews. The staff was wonderful and the beds very comfortable. The rooms are lacking places to plug in multiple electronic devices and the bathroom has no room to place any cosmetics or cosmetic bag. We were 2 girls that were only able to keep our tooth brushes in the bathroom. The sunset view from the Top of The Mark is spectacular. 01 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Yes, would recommend you train service staff doing banquets The Caucasian waiter showed his resentment by throwing the rolls into our individual plates, while having a gala on October 26, 2013, attended by 300 folks. I told the front desk about it. But, the front desk folks were welcoming and warm and accomodating. So I know to make the distinction and also the reservations desk was awesome! 30 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! I was instantly pleased at check-in because we arrived early and the gal at the front desk gave us our room early. The room was comfortable and the view was more than we expected. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb We spent 4 nights at the hotel and it couldn't have been better. The staff was wonderful, the rooms immaculate. We had a great view of the bay. We spent a few extra dollars for the Club package (breakfast,etc) which was excellent value and worth every penny--especially the wines and appetizers from 5-7 in the "club". Beautiful hotel, would definitely stay here again. 24 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall experience we definitely enjoyed our first stay an Ambassador member (we have stayed at the Mark before, but not as Ambassador members). I certainly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in San Francisco who wants an authentic San Francisco experience. Location is wonderful, service was overall great. The promised newspaper didn't arrive until the last day, but we were treated as promised. 24 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top Of The Mark Overall it was a good expierience nice and friendly staff. This weekend had allot going on and the hotel was pretty fair on service. Carolyn for in room dining rocked with her southern hospitality! Street noise and the attitude at "The Top Of The Mark" was the only challenge. When you look better than the hostess in shorts and a cap after running 26.2 miIes, than you might want follow your own pretentious attitude and "policy's" before calling your guest out. I would definitely stay again and reccomend checking out the bar...dress approreaite!! I will get my drink on somewhere else. Thank you! 24 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not good location for walking Hotel was expensive, but I guess that's San Francisco. My largest disappointment was not so much with the hotel, but with the location. In looking at the map of San Fran I figured we could easily walk to Union Square as it is only 5 blocks away. BUT, hotel is on the top of Nob Hill, and if you haven't been to San Fran it is a very steep hill, so it is not an easy walk to Union Square. Just an FYI. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay My wife and I made our first stay at the Mark Hopkins this last weekend, and it was wonderful. The hotel is perfectly located; the staff was very accommodating and friendly; the room was spotless and spacious; we had a great view of the city and bay; the Club room was a very good value and the food and drink was excellent; the Top of the Mark is a fabulous venue; and the overall ambience of the hotel was great. It could not have been nicer. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All ways fantastic service. One of my top 3 hotels i prefer to stay when i am SF. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST of THE BEST Keep up the excellent work. I was truly made to feel very welcome. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Truckherr I'm from this area and The Mark has always been a well known hotel with an excellent reputation. The staff is exceptional, the location stellar, we will definitely be back!! 22 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by understated and comfortable The hotel is quiet and, while large enough, most frequently used areas (lobby to elevators, rooms to elevators, etc...) are close and at a comfortable distance...all service personnel very polite and helpful... The one drawback is the scant food offerings at the Top of the Mark...no dinner and done by 10PM... 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view wonderful service Just came back from a 3 night stay and had a great experience, everyone was helpful and friendly. I reserved the club level room and was given a room with a great view and you have access to the club lounge where you can have breakfast, tea in the afternoon, cocktails in the evening and sweets before bed time. I highly recommend to upgrade to the club rooms. My daughter got married in the park across the street and I reserved a room for her and her husband and when you reserve you can make a comment or request and I said it was for a wedding night and they had a tray with strawberries and dipping sauces and a card waiting for them. I want to thank the staff for a wonderful stay! 21 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great room, all great except the wireless and the smell I stayed four days. The front desk, concierge, and bell staff were great. In fact everything was terrific except for two issues: First, I was in two different rooms, and both had a distinct smell of, ahem, urine. The second room (920) was far more profound. I know I should have complained then rather than now, but the desk staff were so nice and I had already requested (and graciously received) one move up from the 6th floor. The second problem--which all hundred people at our meeting complained about bitterly--was the wireless internet in the guest rooms and in the meeting rooms. It was frustratingly, ploddingly, achingly slow. I simply couldn't use Google Maps, for example, to plan my off-afternoon: if I so much as moved the map a little to the right to see the Ferry Building, for example, I was punished with another eon waiting for the internet to catch up. If we're going to host meetings in San Francisco, of all places, on the topic of innovation, of all things, the internet simply must be adequate. The Mark Hopkins internet is not. Again, everything else about the stay was terrific. 21 October 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:26 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs