Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 713 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful hotel From the moment we entered the lobby at the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome. For those arriving at Powell Street I can highly recommend buying a three / seven day travel card from the Walgreen Store as this will give you instant access onto the Cable Car that takes you to within one stop of the hotel. Trust me, the maps don't do the hills justice! The room and view were amazing. We stayed three nights and slept extremely well on all three. We switched the AC off and let the sounds of the city drift into the room. Hearing the bells of the cable cars at around 6am was fantastic. SF is a quiet city, with very few sirens and noise. Each morning we were greeted at breakfast like old friends. Wonderful service with food to match. Thank you all so much for being part of a memorable holiday! 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My 40th Stay at the Mark Hopkins I was extremely pleased with my one bedroom suite on a high floor with a spectacular view of the SF Bay, Bay Bridge, Berkeley (including Sather Tower and the Claremont Resort), Financial District, Chinatown, Union Square, the Fairmont's rooftop garden, the Westin St. Francis, and the Intercontinental SF. I enjoyed looking down from Nob Hill on skyscrapers like the Hunter-Dulin Building (111 Sutter Street), 580 California Street with its twelve statues of the Corporate Goddesses, and 505 Montgomery Street. My suite was immaculate, and everything was in perfect working order. There was a beautiful orchid in my room, as well as a dining room table with four chairs and a crystal chandelier (that was not missing any crystals, including the large spherical crystal at the bottom, which is my favorite crystal). The king bed was extremely comfortable; there was a Bose stereo next to the bed and French doors leading to the bedroom. The bedroom also had a flat-screen HDTV. I was a very happy camper, and I got a great night's sleep. The marble bath had a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate shower. The living area had a sofa and two sitting chairs along with a large flat-screen HDTV with a variety of HD channels available. It was a very clear day, and earlier in the day I had been able to see the Farallon Islands and Point Reyes from Sutro Heights Park before visiting the Legion of Honor fine art museum. At the Legion of Honor, I saw the special exhibit, Intimate Impressionism from the National Gallery of Art, as well as the Salon Dore, 17th- and 18th-Century Decorative Arts (French period rooms; masterpieces of French furniture, including a sofa formerly belonging to Marie Antoinette; mounted porcelain; European glass. One of the period rooms featured excellent natural wood and gilded boiseries. The stunning Italian rock crystal chandelier dates to 1730 and was a gift to the museum from Madame Jacques Balsan, nee Consuelo Vanderbilt), and Water Lilies by Claude Monet (Gallery 19). Ana in guest relations was excellent as always. Due to my Ambassador membership, there was a welcome amenity consisting of mineral water, fruit, and local organic chocolates already in my room upon check-in; I also received a complimentary newspaper of my choice in the morning. In the early evening, I could hear the J-pop Live at Union Square concert through an open window in my suite. In the morning, I had the elegant champagne Sunday brunch at the Top of the Mark. I had a great table with a view of Alcatraz, Grace Cathedral, the Palace of Fine Arts, and Russian Hill. My server was the always attentive Jose, the maitre d' was Patty, and the pianist was Mike, who played a couple of Duke Ellington tunes at my request. I enjoyed the oysters on the half shell, caviar station with blinis, stone fruit salad with mint, fig salad, Caesar salad, heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella ciliegine, smoked fish, fresh fruit, salamis, New York steak with mushrooms, ravioli with sun dried tomatoes, Beef Wellington, prime rib au jus, beef ribs, and asparagus. For dessert, I enjoyed the famous Mark Hopkins bread pudding, bear claw, strawberry ice cream served in a martini glass with rum, apricot/plum/jello served in a glass, French pastry cones with raspberries, flan, and creme brûlée. I did not have room for the dim sum, minestrone soup, French toast, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, seafood paella, omelette station, assorted gourmet cheeses, or breads. The Mark Hopkins provides outstanding accommodations, dining, and service. To quote the character M. Gustave from the film The Grant Budapest Hotel, "You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity." 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adelaide on Reception Hi, We were delighted with the service we received from Adelaide on checking in. The Booking Agent did not confirm our booking of a King Room and a Double room , to accommodate our 3 teenage children. Adelaide arranged for us to have another luxury room which was wonderfully comfortable. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made Our Anniversary Special! We stayed at the Mark Hopkins during our visit to San Francisco celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The staff was simply awesome, John, Marie Helene, Mary Jane (Top of the Mark) all provided excellent service. The King Executive room was perfect for the stay, awesome views and quiet. I highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the city. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will return First, I want to thank George, our concierge, who did a tremendous job of finding just the right restaurants for us to help make our trip even more memorable. He went above and beyond the call of duty. We loved the view from our room and the comfort of the bed. The only issues would be two. First, it would be nice if we could have ordered off of the menu for breakfast instead of the buffet, and second, I believe that guests of the hotel should be moved to priority seat at the Top of the Mark. These are minor issues, though, that will not stop us from another visit. 23 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, impossible to access amenities First, when I got into the hotel, I tried to call the laundry to have a shirt cleaned and pressed. The button for the laundry on the phone seemed to do nothing. I could not contact the concierge. I asked the front desk on my way out that afternoon to have the phone checked out to see if it was okay while I was away. On my first morning in the hotel, I tried to order room service. The phone constantly got a busy signal. I even tried calling the front desk form my cell phone, and I could not get through. Eventually, I went to the restaurant to put in an order to be delivered to my room. Even the host could not get through to room service and had to take my order down by hand. All of the standard amenities that one expects from even the most basic hotel seemed inaccessible during my stay. 22 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel that Enhanced Our Vacation The personnel at this hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. The check-in line had one person in front of me but since I was a Platinum Elite member they took me to another station so I would not have to wait. We checked in early so they moved our luggage to a beautiful room while we were sightseeing. They called us so we would know the room was ready whenever we wanted to return. The view from our room was spectacular. My wife and I got hungry after the restaurant had closed so the doorman directed us to a perfectly romantic Italian Bistro that was only two blocks away! It was a great stay and truly enhanced our vacation! 22 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extras I was surprised that the hotel charged $15 per 24 hour for Wi Fi usage. As this costs the hotel virtually nothing to supply, and considering the price of the rooms, it would not be too much to ask to have free wi fi and the guests would appreciate it and be inclined to spread the word that the Inter Continental had free wi fi. It was virtually impossible to get a reliable signal in the room I occupied (322) but the hotel refunded my payments. Just one more thing regarding room service, by the time all the extras had been added to the charge, they were almost as much as the food ordered. Not everyone has unlimited funds. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. 19 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by services comfortable bed and good services, particularly of the concierge. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location! Moved here from another hotel that did not meet my expectations. I had stayed here before and it was an excellent value and a memorable experience for my teenage companions on their first visit to SanFran. 18 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top of the World The Mark Hopkins Hotel sits on Nob Hill, is steeped in rich tradition and is a grand place to stay. The staff was very gracious and tended to all of our needs. The location and views are excellent! A must place to stay while in San Francisco. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing getaway Our stay here was very enjoyable. The room was excellent the service could not be better.. The staff very knolagable about the town and sights. They informed us upon arrivable that we coul buy a pass at the near by wallgreens for the cable cars and bus, as well as supplied a map with routes. Would stay here again. 17 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Neither restful, nor relaxing We stayed here for one night and we are sure to never return. Our room was very neat and tidy, but we were disappointed in our stay. The wind howled through our window so terribly, we did not get a bit of sleep. It sounded like and air raid siren or a gang of motorcycles driving by, we were not pleased. In the hopes to wake up a bit, we ordered room service which was dismal as well. It took almost an hour to receive 2 simple breakfasts but they managed to mess up the order any how and the coffee was undrinkable, a meal which cost over $70. I did mention to the front desk that the overnight accommodations while seemingly lovely, turned out to be unbearable and the room service was certainly lacking. They were kind enough to remove the charge for parking/valet which was appreciated but we have no desire to return as guests of the hotel. 16 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Fading Landmark On our recent trip to the Napa Valley we decided to stay overnight in San Francisco at the wonderful historic landmark of the Mark Hopkins hotel. We were greeted in our rental car, after a long uphill climb, with great aplomb by an enthusiastic 15 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special location in the heart of San Francisco After staying at the Mark Hopkins the first time for one night the prior summer, my family decided to make the hotel our base for a four-day weekend in SF in January. We loved it and the kids now think of the Mark Hopkins as "our place" in SF. The location at the top of Nob Hill can't be beat. If you're fit, you can walk to almost every tourist destination (which helps to balance all the great food), but you're away from the tourist swarms of Fisherman's Wharf and the noise and nighttime activity of Union Square. The cable car stops in front of the hotel and there are always taxis near the hotel entrance for longer trips or sore feet. My kids are 12 and 16, so we booked two rooms, one with a king and one with two queens. I am an Ambassador/Platinum member, which is nicely recognized by this hotel with high floor/view upgrade, water, fruit and chocolates in the room, 4 PM checkout and overall good service. My husband and had a corner room with a fantastic view of the Grace Cathedral and the top of the Golden Gate Bridge. The large windows on two sides and the spacious, quite room made it feel like a romantic getaway, even with the kids in the adjoining room! Our room had two closets, so we were each able to hang our clothes and store our bags away, which I love because it keeps the room from feeling cluttered. The kids' room was more typical (of this hotel), but still with a great view and large windows. The bathrooms in both were attractive and well-appointed. My thanks goes out to the concierge staff, who made reservations for us at two very in demand restaurants. At one restaurant we mentioned this to the host and he said that he always tries to accommodate the Mark Hopkins requests, even when he's fully booked, so hats off to your staff for building those relationships. My husband and I enjoyed cocktails and music at Top of the Mark one night and on another my youngest and I had appetizers during an early happy hour so she could enjoy the view. The view is unbeatable and it's so nice to just ride the elevator up for a classic San Francisco experience, but the furniture could use upgrading/updating - it really doesn't match the quality of rest of the hotel or the restaurant's prices. My only other suggestion would be for IHG to amend the current policy which says that the member welcome amenities only go to the room occupied by the member to also extend those amenities to the second room (same reservation) in those cases where the additional room is occupied by the member's immediate family. It would be a nice gesture. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff The Mark Hopkins was a perfect location to start all our adventures in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and gracious. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Fantastic Stay at Mark Hopkins This is my go-to hotel when staying in San Francisco. 5-star service and personalized treatment make it a pleasure to stay every time. You can't beat the views of the city, the comfort of the rooms or the wonderful staff. It has a great location, although the trek up Nob Hill can be daunting on foot. It is just a short distance from the stores of Union Square, and sits at the junction of two cable car lines (which are a good option when not flooded with tourists). 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay This is my first visit to San Francisco. Your hotel is one of my most pleasant memories on this city. As a RA who experienced 30+ IC all over the world, I'd say that I'm truely satisfied with your facilities and service. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grand Hotel I had a luxurious corner suite on a high floor with a spectacular view of the Transamerica Pyramid, Chinatown, Berkeley, Bay Bridge, Financial District, Nob Hill, and San Francisco Bay. The king bed was extremely comfortable, and a I god a great night's sleep. My suite was very clean, and everything was in perfect working order. In the bathroom, there was a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and separate shower, with glass French doors to the shower. There were French doors to the bedroom. There was a dining room area with dining room table, four chairs, and crystal chandelier. There was also a living room area with sofa, sitting chairs, and large flat-screen TV with a variety of high-definition channels. There was also a beautiful orchid in my room. I could hear the carillon recital performed on the bells of Grace Cathedral through an open window. The breakfast at the Nob Hill Club was very nice, where the always attentive Wayne was my server. The Nob Hill Club is on the lobby level and contains a full-service restaurant, bar, and Club Intercontinental Lounge; it recently underwent a remarkable remodel. Ana in guest relations was excellent as always. Because of my Intercontinental Ambassador status, Mr. Toy brought up to my suite a welcome amenity consisting of mineral water, local organic chocolates, and fresh fruit. The Mark Hopkins is a remarkable property; the accommodations, meals, and service are superior. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Location Beautiful Hotel in a great location in San Francisco. The staff is very professional and friendly the manager Patrik was very helpful following a small but quickly resolved problem we had. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable though the walls are a little thin, could hear people in other rooms as well as in hallway at night. Top of the Mark had great service and excellent martini selection. Our room had a gorgeous view of The Golden Gate Bridge. Great place to stay to be in walking or trolley car distance of the city. If your not familiar with driving in this city the valet parking is well worth the money it's a very steep hill you need to navigate for entrance and exit. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay The rooms were a little small but very comfortable. The continental breakfast was fantastic along with the service. The staff was cheerful, friendly and offered excellent service. The fitness center needs some upgrading with newer ,more modern equipment and perhaps more weight lifting equipment. Over all the stay was very pleasant and a great value. 10 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Mark Hopkins Experience For the amount money we paid, the bed was too soft and bathroom was too small. Except for one member of the staff, staff members were not much friendly. For a club level room, the website said the service will be exceptional and view will be wonderful. There was no special service for the extra money. We were told that there was a beautiful bay view. There was a small peek of the bay between two tall buildings. So there is nothing much memorable of our stay in room 1018!. 09 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unlike an Intercontinental It is a fantastic property at one of the best US cities.However the staff I met with at the Club check-in was not experienced or knowledgeable. I asked for the duty manager , he was not at all receptive and he acted like a villain in a movie. I stayed in at least 25 odd Intercontinental hotel properties in Europe, N. America , and Asia , and never encountered an unfriendly approach by a Manager or supervisor like the one I met at San Francisco. I may not return to Mark Hopkins if I go again to visit. 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent service We visited San Francisco for the first time and the hotel's central location was an ideal base for us to explore what SF has to offer. After a full day of exploring it was great to get back to a welcoming team and comfortable facilities. The ample offerings at breakfast ensured that you get a great start to the day! 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Flawless Execution! thanks again to Daniela and her staff for making this a perfect stay, again! Looking forward to the stay in August. 08 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No brainer to return Great staff and a nice place to stay. The room service food was excellent (and speedy), the bathroom was nice and had everything I needed, room was spacious and the bed comfortable. 07 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hope to stay here again I've always wanted to stay at the Mark Hopkines - since at least the late 80s. In June I came to San Francisco on business. I had an extra night before heading home and decided to try the Mark. I'm so glad I did. I only wish I could have stayed at least one more night. The desk staff was courteous and helpful when I checked in. I thoroughly enjoyed my room on the 11th floor with a great view back toward the city. I was a bit disappointed in some of the scuffed up furniture, but that is not a serious criticism. The bed was great. I also appreciated the fact that the windows could open partially. I checked in about 5 p.m. on a Sunday. Was disappointed to see a glass sitting along the hallway wall as the maids had just been on the hallway. A small detail but details matter. Had to get up ridiculously early Monday morning - at 5 a.m. Again the two desk personnel were friendly, energetic and courteous. They promptly asked if I need a car, which I did, and suggested a limo car available for hire outside. Pleased to finally have stayed at the Mark. I hope to make it back. 06 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excelente hotel, buena ubicación Excelente hotel con una buena ubicación dentro del centro de San Francisco, cuenta con shuttle para una milla de distancia, así que te llevan a cualquier lugar interesante del centro y aparte en esa calle pasa el cable car. La habitación excelente y las áreas comunes también !! 06 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey but worth the experience Stayed in very roomy 18th floor suite. Very comfortable to spread out after a long flight and prepare to jump into SF! Suite includes 2 bdrms, 3 baths, living rm, and dining rm (easy conversion into a conference room. Incomparable view of the city especially of the men's club, the garden and Grace Cathedral. Central location - situated for a little bit of everything SF has to offer. Staff (while friendly) did not provide consistent info - never sure which info was accurate. One of the bellboys suggested I descend and get my own room keys - this after a generous tip! 06 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More Than A Bed I have a large family and had booked two rooms. Traveling with us were our 23 and 20 year old daughters, 17 and 11 year old sons. Our rooms didn't have the expected number of beds but the front desk staff ensured roll-away beds were immediately provided. And these were full mattress, comfortable roll-away beds - like Murphy Beds, not the typical folded kind. The staff was very helpful to all our needs. The location of the Mark Hopkins is fantastic. It is in the middle of just about everything you want to see. The downhill walking is not bad. It was a bit of a hike but we walked down through Chinatown on through Little Italy and on out to Pier 39. What is hard to capture with any review is the feel of a place. There is real history here at the Mark. There is a nice area on the right side of the entrance that captures some of the memorabilia and a few stories. On a beautiful Sunday early evening we went to the Top of the Mark for some light snacks. It is very easy to close your eyes and drift back imagining the generations that have enjoyed the incredible views up there. We found more than just a bed at the Mark Hopkins, we found history. 03 July 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:42 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs