Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 608 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Issues My wife handled the check-in while I returned the rental car. Although the last names were the same, the home address was the same, the credit card was the same and she personally made the reservation, she was not allowed to proceed with the check in formalities. She was curtly told that "You can just wait in the lobby until your husband arrives." Very poor customer service The front desk clerk then accused her of taking her photo - which she demonstrably did not do. Then a very confrontational front desk manager followed up on this acusation. And provided no appology when the IPhone's latest picture proved that no photo was talen. Strike two. Once I arrived and requested a quet room we were placed on the second floor directly above the hotel entrance in retaliation. Hard to imagine a worse room. Strike 3. Had the room not been prepaid we would have departed immediatly. Similar treatment on check out. We expected far mor from a landmark property like the Mark. Will think long and hard before staying at an Intercontinental property again. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Tage San Francisco Schönes altehrwürdiges Hotel auf dem Nob Hill in sehr guter Lage. Bei der Ankunft wurde uns eine schöne Suite als Upgrade zugewiesen. Das Frühstück in der Lounge ist qualitativ hochwertig. Sehr aufmerksame Betreuung insbesondere durch Frau Koch. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and room, except for road and streetcar noise The hotel is located in the Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco, which is close to the Cable Car Museum and Chinatown. You have a cable car line outside the hotel on California Street and another line one block away on Powell Street. You can either walk down the hill or take a cable car to Union Square. The hotel is clean and well-managed. The rooms have modern furnishings. The bathroom has dim lighting around the sink but shaving can be performed safely. Internet service is smooth. The bar on the top floor of the hotel offers marvelous views of the city. My only real complaint about my room (Room 408) was that the latches on both sets of the wood-framed windows did not come close enough to the partner latches to allow the closing mechanism to function. This resulted in fresh air coming through the windows continuously, which created a draft that was noticeable at night. The main problem with the opening from the room to the outside was that it allowed road noise from California Avenue to come into the room. This resulted in the room being noisy, particularly at night. I otherwise liked my room so I did not mention this problem to the hotel staff until check-out. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay for a couple of days You can look at the sunrise from the Bay Bridge area and the sunset color if you look to the landed direction. Staffs are nice. BUT the internet connection is NOT very steady. The gym room is very small. And there is no massage service or spa service. 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great except car pick up It was utter chaos trying to retrieve my valet parked car. R hand not talking to the L hand. I gave my number several times to various attendants/head attendants and after about an hour, someone jumped out of a retrieved from valet parking car TOOK my ticket and got my car. Overall experience was wonderful but for the chaotic valet parking pick up. Chris Mizera 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outperformed expectations We enjoyed our stay at this graceful Nob Hill hotel. The reception was welcoming and the check out efficient. Valet service and bag delivery to room was friendly and when asked employees offered city sightseeing and eating tips that proved to be spot on! The Top of the Town was an enjoyable evening of dance music and drinks and views - a suggestion that while band on breaks offer piano or cello or classical guitar music to fill the long gap. Our 14th floor room windows opened to a glorious San Fran Golden Gate and Alcatraz view - fresh air and sights and sounds of a beautiful cityscape. The Breakfast buffet with its wide and varied assortment and newspapers - a touch of home. Thank you for a wonderful visit and we will return. Quality first and first class always will keep the Mark Hopkins age and room sizes a gift rather than a detriment. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Greeted with charm by Jewle at check-in. She was just so enthusiastic about the hotel and it was infectious. David was delightful on check-out (allowed for a late check-out too). Top of the Mark was a great experience. Room was spectacular. I've been recommending the hotel to everyone since I arrived there. Will definitely be back. 06 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One criticism Very, very, very poor Wi-fi service. (At least in Room 237 and down the entire hallway from there.) And as business traveler, that, alone, would prevent me from re-booking Mark Hopkins, sadly, - 05 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always perfect We visit San Francisco on a regular basis and we stay here as often as possible. The beauty of the building and the wonderful staff make a great stay. 05 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Get Away Weekend Enjoyed our weekend getaway stay at the Mark. It was our second stay at the Mark and this occasion was my fiancé's birthday. Our room was terrific, view was excellent, the service was great, room service was very nice, warm and friendly. Enjoyed our stay and will plan to return in the future. 03 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply wonderful We had a great stay the staff was so friendly and happy to help. Our room was beautiful and very confortable. The only complaint was the breakfast buffett on Saturday morning, we felt for the selection of the meal the price was way too high and since there was just 2 of us that the gratuity should not have been added. We always leave a generous gratuity on our own. The food was cold and not much selection for a breakfast that ended up costing us $70.00. We know hotel food is more expensive but this sent us out of th hotel Sunday morning. We went to the Top Of the Mark on Friday & Saturday the bands were great and the cocktails great.We would love to return. 29 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by anniversary night out. It was a great 20th anniversary night out, thank you for Dan at concierge made my request happen. The flower was beautifull and my wife love it, To Mary Jane at the top of the mark it was almost perfect night. The band can't play our song but the lounge was nice. This hotel made our anniversary little more romantic. 28 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Night in San Francisco Found free street parking right at the entrance of hotel. Was told we did not have to move because no street cleaning would be taking place that evening. What a deal. Check in was excellent. Multiple staff to greet us and store our baggage until an upgraded room was ready (We arrived early and were willing to wait for a room at the top) Gave front desk my cell # to be called when room was ready.Wasn't gone an hour when we got the call. After shopping we arrived back at hotel to a lovely well appointed room with a bay view. Cannot express how clean and posh the room was. Very nice Sauna, Spa and Hot tub 1 block away for $25/pp. Top of the Mark worth every penny. View was wonderful and we slow danced to Ella. Will definitely be back for another stay soon. 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Getaway Stayed over when we attended the SF Flower Show and Bouquets des Art at the DeYoung. We stayed on the Concierge Floor which included full buffet breakfast, healthy mid-day snacks, tasty upscale hors d'oeurves and call drinks, plus other amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel in general, of couse, is very lovely. The room was small but very well appointed, including a small but updated and upscale bathroom. The only "unperfect" thing was that the extra rollaway bed we used was less than comfortable. But this is a small price to pay for the rest of the luxury. Will definitely stay again. 27 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel, nothing special The Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco was nice, but not what I expected. The room wouldn't get as cold as we wanted, and our beds were fine, but not super comfortable. The pillows were NOT comfortable. The staff was excellent and the location was great. We had room service for dinner (because we were disappointed by the menu at Top of the Mark) which was delicious, if expensive. Next time I would stay elsewhere. 26 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and informative support staff, but we were disappointed with the concierge's recommendations We loved our stay at the Mark Hopkins. The room was above the courtyard, and it was surprisingly quiet. The location was great for what we wanted to do in our 2.5 days there. We used a national website to book our room, so we got it at an incredible discount. The support staff (the main who parked our car and the bell hop) were very friendly and knowledgable. We were disappointed, however, in three things: (1) the activities and restaurant recommendations from the concierge were so-so (2) the parking was ridiculously expensive @ $52 per day and (3) the to-go food was over-priced; we got charged over $24 for 2 small cups of coffee, 1 cup of fruit, and 1 fruit and yogurt parfait. 24 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Like being at a diner, just much more expensive This is no longer a business hotel or elegant hotel. Instead of access to the rooftop restaurant, you are stuck in a diner having to share a high table with random people. If very unlucky they will seat you in front of the big screen tv and you will spend all morning wondering why you are being stared at! The maître d almost acted like he was offended at being asked why they did this. I stay at IHG hotels weekly and often at this one. The reason to stay here was the restaurant, as such, there is no reason to stay here. Many better rooms at the same price in SAn Francisco. 23 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by getaway We went for a one night getaway. The beds were very comfortable at this hotel! 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best staff ever! There is nothing not to love about this hotel! The entire staff lis incredibly friendly and accomodating. 17 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expérience Mémorable Hotel very well situated, close to the center. Further to a technical problem, we will remember ourselves for a long time of our stay blocked in the elevator during more than one hour. We appreciated the kindness of the staff which made every effort so that this wrong moment is the most pleasant possible. Further to this incident he offered us a hotel room night. 16 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great first stay in SF We were only there for a quick 2 day trip, but door staff were very friendly as well as our bellman older gentleman who has been there for 14yrs forget his name but was very nice great ambassador of the hotel. Hopefully we will be able to come back again sometime. On a side note the staff at the FD could of been a bit more aware did not get acknowledged once when walking through lobby, and when we checked in the only thing that was explained to us was the restaurant on the top floor. Just minor details, but overall great stay and would stay again. 15 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The Mark Hopkins If you stay anywhere else you are really missing out!!! Best 4 star in the city!!!!! 13 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied guests for 18 years We started staying at the Mark on our honeymoon and have returned every few years on our anniversary. On another occasion we brought our son who is a quadriplegic. On every occasion we have had excellent, personalized service. A bottle of champagne has always been sent up for our anniversary stays and some of the staff now remember us. Dancing at the Top of the Mark on Saturday night and brunch on Sunday morning are San Francisco institutions that never get old, and all you have to do is step into the elevator to enjoy them. We have stayed in Terrace Suites a couple of times, which are especially nice. There is no better place to drink in the San Francisco experience atop Nob Hill with the fabulous view of the City and the Bay than the Mark Hopkins. 12 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent view. I spent three days and I really have no complains. Great location, clean room and friendly staff. 11 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and see SF Great hotel...staff in the club were extremely professional, helpful and courteous...great experience 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy room we had a very nice stay at the Mark Hopkins. Good restaurant and very nice breakfast. Top of the Mark is a must and does not disappoint. Nice cocktails and snacks. The major disappointment was the noisiness of the room. We were on the 3rd floor on the front side and with no soundproofing from the outside. We could hear the people getting in and out of the cars talking. As California street is a busy street and the cable car passes by, the room is extremely noisy, really not up to the standard of a hotel like the Mark Hopkins. really disappointed, nonetheless the rest was very good. 09 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The room and the service were wonderful as always, but we were VERY VERY upset and unhappy that it's not anymore possible to have breakfast at the Top of the Mark!!! This was the reason, why we had decided to stay at the Mark Hopkins > in the future, if nothing is going to change, we'll seriously think to come back or not 09 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a pleasent experience we felt like real tourists coming to the city from the south bay for two nights stay including breakfast. it was my birthday weekend, we got an upgrade to upper floor, free wifi and a lot of smiles! the breakfast was delicious! will come again next birthday!!! 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious Suite Excellent Service and Beuatiful Ambeience and Luxary! Impecable Four Diamond Property! 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience and attentive staff The Mark Hopkins is our favorite hotel in San Francisco. I didn't think it could get better since my last visit but somehow they always find a way to make me feel more at home. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are well appointed and always clean and comfortable. My only wish is that the bed was a bit firmer. Overall a great time. 07 March 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:23 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs