Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 616 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied guests for 18 years We started staying at the Mark on our honeymoon and have returned every few years on our anniversary. On another occasion we brought our son who is a quadriplegic. On every occasion we have had excellent, personalized service. A bottle of champagne has always been sent up for our anniversary stays and some of the staff now remember us. Dancing at the Top of the Mark on Saturday night and brunch on Sunday morning are San Francisco institutions that never get old, and all you have to do is step into the elevator to enjoy them. We have stayed in Terrace Suites a couple of times, which are especially nice. There is no better place to drink in the San Francisco experience atop Nob Hill with the fabulous view of the City and the Bay than the Mark Hopkins. 12 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent view. I spent three days and I really have no complains. Great location, clean room and friendly staff. 11 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and see SF Great hotel...staff in the club were extremely professional, helpful and courteous...great experience 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy room we had a very nice stay at the Mark Hopkins. Good restaurant and very nice breakfast. Top of the Mark is a must and does not disappoint. Nice cocktails and snacks. The major disappointment was the noisiness of the room. We were on the 3rd floor on the front side and with no soundproofing from the outside. We could hear the people getting in and out of the cars talking. As California street is a busy street and the cable car passes by, the room is extremely noisy, really not up to the standard of a hotel like the Mark Hopkins. really disappointed, nonetheless the rest was very good. 09 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The room and the service were wonderful as always, but we were VERY VERY upset and unhappy that it's not anymore possible to have breakfast at the Top of the Mark!!! This was the reason, why we had decided to stay at the Mark Hopkins > in the future, if nothing is going to change, we'll seriously think to come back or not 09 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a pleasent experience we felt like real tourists coming to the city from the south bay for two nights stay including breakfast. it was my birthday weekend, we got an upgrade to upper floor, free wifi and a lot of smiles! the breakfast was delicious! will come again next birthday!!! 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious Suite Excellent Service and Beuatiful Ambeience and Luxary! Impecable Four Diamond Property! 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience and attentive staff The Mark Hopkins is our favorite hotel in San Francisco. I didn't think it could get better since my last visit but somehow they always find a way to make me feel more at home. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are well appointed and always clean and comfortable. My only wish is that the bed was a bit firmer. Overall a great time. 07 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 You have ruined the best part about this hotel The best breakfast in San Fran was at the Top of the Mark on a sunny day. Sweeping views of the bay. Just spectacular. Now a view of the Fairmont and Calif st is all you get. Even worse, the best view at Happy Hour is ruined when you ask for a bar snack and they want to charge you $7 for a bowl of nuts that were free in October. Im not alone on this. The best reason for stayin at your hotel has been taken away and you allowed some new food and bev manager to put profit ahead of experience. Does he work on commission? I dare you to post my review! 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond! I checked out and later realized that I left my iPad in the room. I was sure it was gone for good! Nope, the housekeeping staff jumped into action. They found my device and shipped it immediately to my home. What a relief. It was a pleasure to deal with an honest and responsive staff. I will be back! 07 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Historic place, but historical rooms aswell. Feels a bit dated. And the review is requiring more text. And the review is requiring more text. And the review is requiring more text. And the review is requiring more text. 07 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room nice location but lots of exercise I've stayed here before so knew what I was expecting. The room as usual had all the facilities expected from an Intercontinental hotel. Great bed for a good night sleep. The location was a little tricky to walk to but this was expected. Takes a breath away with the steep incline. Top of the Mark with great view and a good selection of drinks. Same on weekends we were unable to get in for a drink due to events…. included waiting lists and cover charge….. No spa facilities available…. Wifi was included as a Priority Member… otherwise this was chargeable Overall a great hotel….. I would stay here again at the right rate….. 26 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom is way too small The room itself was nice and spacious, but the bathroom was impossibly small. No place to put toiletries, no counter space, just a tiny shelf over the sink that my makeup items kept falling off of. Also, the bathroom lighting was poor -- hard for a woman to get ready for a night on the town. A lighted makeup mirror would help -- especially one that could be used at the desk in the main room for more space. 26 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and nicely appointed rooms but I enjoyed the stay because it is close to where my son lives and when I come to San Fran to visit it will make it easier for me to meet up. I appreciated that the manager made a switch when I asked about the horrendous noise on floor 3. I thought it was a jet plane but probably was the cable car. The room on the higher floor was great. I loved it and it was quiet BUT the walls are paper thin and when the children next door woke up at 6:15 and they were talking (not loudly but normally) it woke me up. I don't know what you can do about the accoustics but it is an issue. The other thing that I was surprised was that no one at the hotel mentioned any of the amenities. Only reading the book in the room did I know you had a shuttle service and free access to gym. When I asked when booking they said you had to pay for the gym. It was okay because I probably wouldn't have used it any way. Just mentioning it. 26 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay Bad experience across the board. Left a day early and changed hotels. Maybe in its hayday was good but would not return 25 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience and great value After considering other -more costly- alternatives, we chose this hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were very happy with the decision; excellent location, great views, friendly staff. Will be coming back in the future. 25 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel with Great View!!! This is my third time here at Mark Hopkins. I have also stay in the Intercontinental Hotel In San Franciso in the past and find that Mark Hopkins is my preferred hotel. It has beautiful view and elegant interior. Very peaceful and quiet. Comfortable bed/ bedding and luxurious bathroom ( even more so in the suite!!). Great staff service, everyone are very polite and extremely helpful. My only slight disappointment was that I did not receive an upgrade to a suite this time ( since I did last two times). The hotel's junior and one-bedroom suite are to die for !! Hopefully I will be able to enjoy them next time when I am in San Franciso again. 24 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This was our third time staying at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room this trip was somewhat smaller and not as well located as prior rooms but it was spacious enough and we had a peek-a-boo view. The bedding was wonderful and the only intrusion on our sleep were the sounds of the cable car line and occasional siren from the street below. My only criticism of the room is that the bathroom needs updating....no counter space whatsoever and a shower that was very low-flow! Otherwise it was a great stay and value. 23 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Services I was disappointed at the Top of the Mark access. I have no idea why there is not a waiting list. No one wants to wait in a confined area for one half hour with no seating with someone wearing a mask due to illness . Frankly the person with the mask should have been asked to leave. My husband is now ill. 20 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Room; Delicious Food After lengthy conference days, the room provided the perfect respite - quiet, clean, warm and spacious. Great chef and tasty food put the exclamation point on the experience. 14 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and very good service I would have liked to have a better upgrade. In fact I am AMBASSADOR MEMBER since many years ago and in the mos part of your Hotels I get at least a Junior Suite or a Club level 13 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continuing legacy of world class luxury Outstanding in every way, from beginning to end. Rich and unique charm. Clearly a historic hotel, but fully modernized, the best of both world's. Unbeatable location. 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend get away venue New restaurant had an excellent breakfast. The atmosphere at the Top of the Mark was awesome and provided the intimate feel I wanted. Band was great for a night of dancing. Very close to shopping at Union square, restaurants and site seeing. The cable car pass was a nice touch. Highly recommended hotel with great staff. Views from my room was spectacular. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & friendly staff This hotel is located perfectly to give you great views & easy access to the entire city. Loved my stay! 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in a very unique city ! Except for the night when the alarm went off at 2 a.m. (!!!!) we had a lovely stay ! And yes, we would choose The Mark Hopkins Hotel again if we're ever back in beautiful San Francisco ! 05 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, but major problem with our visit We like this hotel for its history and location, and have stayed here before. However, on our recent visit, after a lovely night on the town, we were awakened at 1:30am by a whooping emergency siren that went on for 15 minutes. It was terrifying and incredibly loud, but did not instruct us to evacuate. Finally, the message changed, saying there was no emergency, but the siren went on for another 15 minutes. It was clear that the staff could not figure out how to turn it off. Besides the obvious questions this raises if this had been a real emergency, it also ruined our night's sleep. Since this was one of two nights a year we get away from our preschooler, it was a major inconvenience to us. The next morning the indifferent clerk was unwilling to comp our room or offer us anything approaching a sincere apology, which was a big disappointment. The point of a hotel is a peaceful night's sleep. 04 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I stayed at the hotel for an event that lasted 4 days. Everyday we were greeted with a smile and everyone in the staff, from front desk to the restaurant and the room crew were excellent. everyone was knowledgable and willing to offer information and help when requested. Thanks to MH hotel for making this event the best i have ever attended. 03 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check-In Nightmare Check-in -- the worst experience I've ever had. It took 30 minutes for the front desk to sort out a double booking which still required me to contact the accounting department the following Monday to finally get it resolved. I had cancelled a previous booking however reservations still showed the reservation on their system which led to an extremely disappointing delay. No form of compensation or customer perk was offered up by the hotel staff. 29 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay! We have stayed here a number of times over the last 7 years and have enjoyed every one without complaint. We will continue to go back for our once, sometimes twice, a year trips to SF, and have always had great service here. One thing to look at is your credit card statement. Mini bar charges were charged directly to my credit card and were not added onto the room charges, as they have been in the past, so you cannot review it for accuracy prior to checkout. Two mysterious additional charges showed up on my card and when I called the hotel, I was told they were mini bar beverages. We didn't drink any mini bar beverages or eat anything else from it, but my wife did some rearranging so that she could fit something in the refrigerator. The money was refunded and all is well, but that could be easily overlooked. 28 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was terrific! One of our best trips ever. Staff was great; from the housekeeper, bell staff, concierges all were very nice and helpful. Beautiful room with views of the city and bay. Convenient to public transit. 24 January 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    3:08 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs