Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 652 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay, without a hitch! From check-in to departure the staff was responsive, polite, accommodating, and cheerful. The room was ample, the bedding very comfortable, and the building subtly elegant. The location on top of Nob Hill was excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here at any time. 07 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Experience There is NO place that can out-perform this specific location! This facility is truly World-Class in professionalism and elegance. 07 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Not so good experience Had to wait half hour for elevators. Noise in the rooms during nights. Not a pleasant hotel to stay. 04 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great building Concierge was very helpful in restaurant recommendations. Bellman were attentive. Location central to all we visited and the Top of the Mark Wes the best. Went there there three times. 03 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by None; just initials please A very enjoyable stay on the 15th floor with a wonderful view of the city skyline, water and bridge. This was a special occasion of my son's wedding and the staff was very attentive to our needs. Also the location was excellent with many attractions within easy walking distance. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. V.J. R. 02 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Surprise We went to the Mark Hopkins to celebrate my daughter's 21st Birthday. We were upgraded to a corner suite with a spectacular view of the bay and downtown San Francisco. After a night out at the ballet we all returned to the suite and discovered a bottle of champange and a surprise with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. It was a beautiful stay. Such friendly staff and memorable experience. We are certainly going back again very soon. 01 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay Everything was perfect at the Mark Hopkins. We have stayed at many InterContinental's globally and this was one of the best experiences that we have had. 01 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maintenance A little maintenance is needed in the hotel. In our room we had lights that did not work, loose light switches, torn curtains. In the bathrooms you need to have more space to put cosmetics, etc. 27 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic exterior and interior. Fabulous hotel, room and great location. The reception staff did not have information about how to reach SF airport the easiest way and we were double charged in the bar (on our room and credit card). 27 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel horrible bed Beautiful property, always wanted stay there. Room was small but nice. Bed was broken down which made for a terrible night sleep. Very disappointing. No place to eat in hotel. 26 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and service Being a ambassador member, we have been offered room upgrade, free wifi internet , drinking water and late check-out at 4PM. My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Hotel location is great, only few blocks away from Union square shopping area and China Town. The front desk agent is very helpful to deliver an copy of email in just 5 minute after my call . We will definitely select Mark Hopkins Inter-Continental hotel again in our next trip to San Francisco. 25 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly What You'd Expect from InterContinental Good location, knowledgeable and pleasant staff at every interaction, clean room, and a well-maintained hotel. It would be hard to be disappointed with a stay here. The hotel is right on the cable car line, and steps away from Grace Cathedral. Looking forward to my next stay here. 25 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Enjoyment We enjoyed every aspect of our recent stay from our drinks at the Top of the Mark to the wonderful service given to us by the front desk, room service and housekeeping. We have stayed here before and will continue to stay at the Mark Hopkins each time we return to San Francisco. 23 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pampered sleep in Frisco's Nob Hill centre This hotel surpassed the others we stayed in whilst in USA with fantastic bedrooms and beds and really helpful staff at the front. We felt pampered and cared for and the location was really central and perfect for the cable cars. 22 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Issues My wife handled the check-in while I returned the rental car. Although the last names were the same, the home address was the same, the credit card was the same and she personally made the reservation, she was not allowed to proceed with the check in formalities. She was curtly told that "You can just wait in the lobby until your husband arrives." Very poor customer service The front desk clerk then accused her of taking her photo - which she demonstrably did not do. Then a very confrontational front desk manager followed up on this acusation. And provided no appology when the IPhone's latest picture proved that no photo was talen. Strike two. Once I arrived and requested a quet room we were placed on the second floor directly above the hotel entrance in retaliation. Hard to imagine a worse room. Strike 3. Had the room not been prepaid we would have departed immediatly. Similar treatment on check out. We expected far mor from a landmark property like the Mark. Will think long and hard before staying at an Intercontinental property again. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Tage San Francisco Schönes altehrwürdiges Hotel auf dem Nob Hill in sehr guter Lage. Bei der Ankunft wurde uns eine schöne Suite als Upgrade zugewiesen. Das Frühstück in der Lounge ist qualitativ hochwertig. Sehr aufmerksame Betreuung insbesondere durch Frau Koch. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and room, except for road and streetcar noise The hotel is located in the Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco, which is close to the Cable Car Museum and Chinatown. You have a cable car line outside the hotel on California Street and another line one block away on Powell Street. You can either walk down the hill or take a cable car to Union Square. The hotel is clean and well-managed. The rooms have modern furnishings. The bathroom has dim lighting around the sink but shaving can be performed safely. Internet service is smooth. The bar on the top floor of the hotel offers marvelous views of the city. My only real complaint about my room (Room 408) was that the latches on both sets of the wood-framed windows did not come close enough to the partner latches to allow the closing mechanism to function. This resulted in fresh air coming through the windows continuously, which created a draft that was noticeable at night. The main problem with the opening from the room to the outside was that it allowed road noise from California Avenue to come into the room. This resulted in the room being noisy, particularly at night. I otherwise liked my room so I did not mention this problem to the hotel staff until check-out. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay for a couple of days You can look at the sunrise from the Bay Bridge area and the sunset color if you look to the landed direction. Staffs are nice. BUT the internet connection is NOT very steady. The gym room is very small. And there is no massage service or spa service. 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great except car pick up It was utter chaos trying to retrieve my valet parked car. R hand not talking to the L hand. I gave my number several times to various attendants/head attendants and after about an hour, someone jumped out of a retrieved from valet parking car TOOK my ticket and got my car. Overall experience was wonderful but for the chaotic valet parking pick up. Chris Mizera 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outperformed expectations We enjoyed our stay at this graceful Nob Hill hotel. The reception was welcoming and the check out efficient. Valet service and bag delivery to room was friendly and when asked employees offered city sightseeing and eating tips that proved to be spot on! The Top of the Town was an enjoyable evening of dance music and drinks and views - a suggestion that while band on breaks offer piano or cello or classical guitar music to fill the long gap. Our 14th floor room windows opened to a glorious San Fran Golden Gate and Alcatraz view - fresh air and sights and sounds of a beautiful cityscape. The Breakfast buffet with its wide and varied assortment and newspapers - a touch of home. Thank you for a wonderful visit and we will return. Quality first and first class always will keep the Mark Hopkins age and room sizes a gift rather than a detriment. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Greeted with charm by Jewle at check-in. She was just so enthusiastic about the hotel and it was infectious. David was delightful on check-out (allowed for a late check-out too). Top of the Mark was a great experience. Room was spectacular. I've been recommending the hotel to everyone since I arrived there. Will definitely be back. 06 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One criticism Very, very, very poor Wi-fi service. (At least in Room 237 and down the entire hallway from there.) And as business traveler, that, alone, would prevent me from re-booking Mark Hopkins, sadly, - 05 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always perfect We visit San Francisco on a regular basis and we stay here as often as possible. The beauty of the building and the wonderful staff make a great stay. 05 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Get Away Weekend Enjoyed our weekend getaway stay at the Mark. It was our second stay at the Mark and this occasion was my fiancé's birthday. Our room was terrific, view was excellent, the service was great, room service was very nice, warm and friendly. Enjoyed our stay and will plan to return in the future. 03 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply wonderful We had a great stay the staff was so friendly and happy to help. Our room was beautiful and very confortable. The only complaint was the breakfast buffett on Saturday morning, we felt for the selection of the meal the price was way too high and since there was just 2 of us that the gratuity should not have been added. We always leave a generous gratuity on our own. The food was cold and not much selection for a breakfast that ended up costing us $70.00. We know hotel food is more expensive but this sent us out of th hotel Sunday morning. We went to the Top Of the Mark on Friday & Saturday the bands were great and the cocktails great.We would love to return. 29 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by anniversary night out. It was a great 20th anniversary night out, thank you for Dan at concierge made my request happen. The flower was beautifull and my wife love it, To Mary Jane at the top of the mark it was almost perfect night. The band can't play our song but the lounge was nice. This hotel made our anniversary little more romantic. 28 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Night in San Francisco Found free street parking right at the entrance of hotel. Was told we did not have to move because no street cleaning would be taking place that evening. What a deal. Check in was excellent. Multiple staff to greet us and store our baggage until an upgraded room was ready (We arrived early and were willing to wait for a room at the top) Gave front desk my cell # to be called when room was ready.Wasn't gone an hour when we got the call. After shopping we arrived back at hotel to a lovely well appointed room with a bay view. Cannot express how clean and posh the room was. Very nice Sauna, Spa and Hot tub 1 block away for $25/pp. Top of the Mark worth every penny. View was wonderful and we slow danced to Ella. Will definitely be back for another stay soon. 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Getaway Stayed over when we attended the SF Flower Show and Bouquets des Art at the DeYoung. We stayed on the Concierge Floor which included full buffet breakfast, healthy mid-day snacks, tasty upscale hors d'oeurves and call drinks, plus other amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel in general, of couse, is very lovely. The room was small but very well appointed, including a small but updated and upscale bathroom. The only "unperfect" thing was that the extra rollaway bed we used was less than comfortable. But this is a small price to pay for the rest of the luxury. Will definitely stay again. 27 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel, nothing special The Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco was nice, but not what I expected. The room wouldn't get as cold as we wanted, and our beds were fine, but not super comfortable. The pillows were NOT comfortable. The staff was excellent and the location was great. We had room service for dinner (because we were disappointed by the menu at Top of the Mark) which was delicious, if expensive. Next time I would stay elsewhere. 26 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and informative support staff, but we were disappointed with the concierge's recommendations We loved our stay at the Mark Hopkins. The room was above the courtyard, and it was surprisingly quiet. The location was great for what we wanted to do in our 2.5 days there. We used a national website to book our room, so we got it at an incredible discount. The support staff (the main who parked our car and the bell hop) were very friendly and knowledgable. We were disappointed, however, in three things: (1) the activities and restaurant recommendations from the concierge were so-so (2) the parking was ridiculously expensive @ $52 per day and (3) the to-go food was over-priced; we got charged over $24 for 2 small cups of coffee, 1 cup of fruit, and 1 fruit and yogurt parfait. 24 March 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 23 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    2:59 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs