Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 692 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite place to stay in San Francisco Honestly, I really do love the Hopkins. When in San Francisco, it's my favorite place to stay. The rooms are nice, the bed is clean and comfy, and…let's face it…nothing beats the Top of the Mark. The Hopkins is conveniently located near Chinatown, a short ride on the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf (not really my cup of tea though) or North Beach and tons of Italian restaurants. But the Hopkins is also really close to Union Square and not (unreasonably) far from Moscone. Even a room on a lower floor will have really good views of the city (I always ask for, and get, a corner room). In terms of cost…well, you get what you pay for…and San Francisco isn't a cheap town. Compared to what other hotels charge, though, the value is actually quite good…in my humble opinion. 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this grand hotel! I would recommend this hotel as it's perfectly located in the middle of San Francisco; it's a stunning hotel with big guest rooms and the most fabulous bar on the top floor! 12 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room not as promised I booked the room on-line as ungraded unit with a king bed. When we arrived in the room, it was small with what I guess was a queen bed, might have been a double. A little disappointing. 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Concierge very helpful Researched questions and called back with information. 11 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable stay Enjoyed the stay, the staff were very friendly and professional loved the Top of the Mark and the breakfast was excellent 11 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Prime Location Good old hotel located in prime location close to Union Square. Hotel might have maintained electrical sockets well. Room maintenance is good. No free wifi is biggest disappointment 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent experience overall experience was excellent. staff and service was perfect. 09 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our 1 night stay We stayed at the Mark Hopkins Hotel for one night recently. It was lovely, the hotel and room was so nice and the check in staffer David was really friendly. Only thing to complain about is one lady at the concierge desk was rude when I asked if I could make a call. (I don't have a mobile as I'm an international traveller) I was tired and she just made me sad with her rudeness. Also the hotel buffet was delicious but extremely expensive, don't go unless you are very hungry or have loads of time to eat. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel This is a very elegant hotel with a magnificent view from the Top of the Mark bar restaurant. The accommodations and amenities are first class as is the service. The property is very conveniently located to Union Square and Powell St station and cable car. The only area of improvement is the hotel website. It's beautifully designed but needs to be more search capable/interactive. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charming Hotel and great service This hotel was the perfect location to celebrate our first trip to San Francisco. Loved the charm of this old hotel. Everyone was very courteous and delightful. It made our stay all the better. The only complaint I would have would be with the A/C in our room. Thank goodness it was not all that warm during our visit. Living in the South, we are used to dropping the A/C way down and we did not have the ability to do that. However, the engineer that helped us out with a new filter and details about the system made us feel that they really wanted to make our stay comfortable. He was wonderful! Then, I received a bottle of Proseco hours later and a letter of apology from management for the inconvenience! Nice touch! We would definitely stay here again. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room I had booked an executive suite - a large and beautiful room. However, its proximity to the elevator made it too noisy to sleep. I requested another room and was upgraded to a truly phenomenal suite, so quiet one could hear a pin drop. It was really amazing. The staff was very considerate of me. The bed was superlative. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience Visiting San Francisco for the first time and there to celebrate 30th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a beautiful room with a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge, the bay and Alcatraz.. Champagne and strawberries were delivered to our room by the hotel. Every single employee we encountered from front desk to doormen to concierge, etc. were friendly and did everything they could for us. Top of the Mark was fun and had the view everyone talked about. The restaurant food was good. If we have the good fortune of returning to San Francisco, we would not stay anywhere else. 06 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay The hotel staff was excellent - very helpful - and the bathroom was fantastic. I also really liked the location; it was easy to walk anywhere I needed to be, and to take the cable car back up the hill. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by When in S.F.- stay here! Most comfortable bed I ever slept in. The concierge staff couldn't have been more helpful. We loved the location and the Top of the Mark. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best centrally located hotel in town The hotel is close to everything north of Market Street. Though old, the hotel has been updated and is very quiet and comfortable. The Top of the Mark is an added bonus for views, drinks, and entertainment. I have frequently stayed at the Mark Hopkins when I travel to the city and the level of service and quality has remained consistent over the years. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great way to experience elegant Nob Hill From check in experience to a casual cocktail at Top of the Mark, this was a tremendous experience. The concierge, Helen, arranged wonderful trips for us to Muir Woods and Wine Country through Great Pacific. Tremendous dining at the Mark and nearby. We would recommend Rue Lepic (just around the corner at Mason and Pine) and the Tadich Grill (just a short cable car ride down Calicornia Street). You can't go wrong staying a at the Mark Hopkins! 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Keep Coming Back The Mark Hopkins is my favourite hotel in San Francisco. The staff are invariably professional, courteous and efficient, the hotel itself is quite charming and convenient to everything one wants in San Francisco. The only downside to this stay was the bed. I think the mattress was coming to the end of its lifespan and wasn't as comfortable as I have enjoyed before. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great accomodations, everyone was very courteous and professional Great Hotel. Everyone from house service to security personnel were courteous and professional. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by View from the hill We have stayed here many times, and it is always a feeling of comfort and home. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The room is always clean and comfortable. It is a safe and convenient neighborhood, with local eateries and bars, nightclubs and entertainment. It is easy to travel anywhere in the city, as almost all, forms of transportation is available right at the hotels front doorstep. I love the view from our room, and usually stay in the same room each time as, I love the" view from the hill", at night, and the peaceful view of the cathedral across the way. I love this hotel and this city, we have stayed at others but always return to this hotel... 01 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel but Poor Service The hotel and location are fine. It is an old hotel, but reasonably well maintained. Our window view was good, but perhaps due to old windows, road noise was apparent. What dominated my stay's feeling however, was my entry and exit. On arriving, I was not treated as anyone special being an Ambassador. More importantly, reception said "Does she want a key" referring to my wife standing beside me. She also asked if we wanted 1 or 2 beds. I thought this to be extremely rude. On Exit, I called for my car, went downstairs, and waited 20 minutes. No Car. It was obvious I was waiting for my car because I went outside a few times, but no action by anyone. Finally, I went to the concierge and asked for my car, and it was obvious they had forgotten it. No apology, nothing. They just went and got it and waited for a tip. Based on service, I would not return here. 30 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by club As Ambassadors we thought the re-vamping of the Club facility made this visit less satisfactory. It is true the breakfast buffet was good but the advantage of the Club used to be the relaxed atmosphere; we found that now lost. We had to reserve a table but that,on occasion, was not done. The 5-7 'cocktail' slot also marked a downturn. The fact that half of the space was already set for meals meant having to sit in uncomfortable seats, in consequence we rarely availed ourselves of what used to be one of the hotel's strong-points. We much preferred the temporary re-location to floor 17 #as we reported at the time# and indeed the original Club facility on the ground floor. 30 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodations We found the Mark Hopkins very nice. It was conveniently located to many attractions. We loved the view from Top of the Mark and enjoyed our Martini and the atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey and could have been better explained as to costs and alternatives.It was non-the-less a beautiful buffet with many delicious choices. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would love to return one day. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing view!! We spent Memorial Day weekend here, the view from our room was amazing! The staff was friendly and the location is great!! The hotel is in need of a major renovation. The rooms were clean and comfortable but there was only one convenience outlet in the room. The bathroom water pressure was minimal and the sink was broken. Overall it was worth the stay in a beautiful historic hotel and after the renovation is complete it will be amazing! 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend This Hotel !!! This hotel is beautiful. It is very clean, well maintained, and the staff is great. They are friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located in a very convenient area of San Francisco with access to trolley cars right in front. My room was relatively small, like most San Francisco hotels, but very clean and well maintained. The bathroom and shower were very clean. Because I was on the street side, there was a lot of noise that comes through the windows, but to me, this was not overwhelming. I enjoyed hearing the trolley pass by and some of the activity going on in front of the hotel. These pluses make the stay here worth it, although the overall cost was relatively high. All in all, I highly recommend it, and would stay here again. The valet team should also be commended. They fetched my car quickly, did not expect a tip every time I turned around, and gave me directions. Thank you!!! 29 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay except for Lost and Found The hotel was lovely, clean, and comfortable, and I would recommend it to others. My only complaint has to do with the Lost and Found department. When I checked out, I let them know I was missing an item and left my phone number so that they could call me if it was found. I didn't hear from them while I was still in the San Francisco area (4 more days). When I got back to my hometown, I called them, and yes, they had my sweater. If I had known while I was still in SF, I could've picked it up myself. Now I must incur a charge of $15-$20 to have it returned. I'm disappointed that they did not call me when it was first found, as I thought this hotel otherwise offered excellent service. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Service From all I was very impressed with the politeness and helpfulness the staff showed me while here. They were very accommodating to all of my questions from asking directions to getting recommendations in San Francisco. It was a Pleasant Experience and I would Highly Recommend this hotel for quality service, 5 Stars. 28 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facility/Not So Great Service Unfortunately the stay started out poorly. I was not allowed to use the rewards member check in line, as I was told that I needed to be in the normal check in line. Then I was booked into the wrong rooms with rates that were completely inaccurate. Would have been nice to actually be acknowledged for my status with the IHG group. The hotel has a great historic feel. Rooms were nice, view was nice. Bed was very much broken down and not much to sleep on. Great restaurant in the lobby however the feel of the Top Of The Mark restaurant was something to be desired. I left after arriving at the top, i was made to feel not welcome, as the staff was completely rude. I am not sure I would stay again. I love the location and the feel of the facility however the staff was unbelievably bad. 28 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I felt like I was in the Elevator Shaft Overall, my experience was pleasant. This was my second visit to the Mark Hopkins, San Francisco. However, I had a hard time sleeping as my bed was next to the Elevator Shafts, All I heard were the Elevators going up and down through the night.. The hvac was also a disappointment. My room was too warm even though the stat was set at 66. Yes, I should have said something. I will have to think twice before returning 28 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of Sight!!!! My girl friend and I have stayed at some of the nicest properties in the United States and this ranks as one of the absolute nicest. The location is superb for anyone wanting to experience Union Square and/or the Wharf. The building is magnificently pristine, the rooms are opulent and the beds very comfortable. If there was one thing that was small it was the elevators. So, I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to see what traditional San Francisco Resorts are like. We will be back in the next few months. 27 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great few days This was a great few days - the staff was really exceptional (especially the concierge), and the hotel was located well in terms of being close to everything. The bathroom was spectacular and large - clearly recently redone - though the room itself was a little tired and the decor of the room and the bathroom didm;t match. That said, the bed was comfortable, the lighting was good and there was an in-room coffee maker. I also loved the bathroom products and the robe and slippers. Overall, i would go back to this hotel very happily. 26 May 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:05 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs