Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:47 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 793 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for Vacation The room was clean and in good condition. The internet worked without any trouble. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable. Buy a Clipper Card at the nearby Walgreens. Take a bus up Columbus to North Beach and get dinner (or just walk). Take the cable car from Taylor St. to Union Square or China Town. We even caught the bus on Bay St. and walked the bridge. Value is 2/5, but everything is expensive in SF. October 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise in room & internet Due to the location of your hotel there was a lot of noise from the street which traveled into our room. this woke us a few times a night and made our stay difficult at times due to the lack of sleep. the internet in the room was very weak and made it difficult to check e-mails and work on the internet. October 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Next to Warf Location is walking distant to 2 Trolley end locations, very convenient. No shortage of places to eat since Warf is a block away. Rooms were comfortable, clean. Desk staff friendly and helpful. October 12, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Best HI I have stayed in, plus the location is perfect for everything you could want in San Francisco. Staff is GREAT, what more can you say other than next to PERFECT!!!!! October 8, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience This is actually our second stay at this property, several years apart. We had a very good time, staff was accomodating, rooms and beds comfortable, easy check in and out, easy access by airport pick up and drop off, within walking distance of many attractions. Would prefer simple individual menu items available in dining room as opposed to the buffet, which was a little pricey. October 8, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location , service and rooms We had a great time , loved the room and the staff service. Great location and i will defently recomend this property to my friendes .when i will come again to san francisco this will be my hotel . I stayed in severel holidayes inn otels and im glade to say that you are the best . October 8, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property! This was our second stay at Holiday Inn-Fisherman's Wharf and it was as awesome as was the first time! Love that it's so close to restaurants and shopping-we park the car when we check in and then walk everywhere! So close to the water and a view of the Bridge! Just fabulous! October 7, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good accomodation at reasonable price The lobby and the room look amazing! The hotel is located in a very central place next to the Fisherman's Wharf. Don't make the mistake I made, and don't come with a car. The hotel charges over 40$ per night for parking, so I used the lot near by for 30$/night. No breakfast is included. But nearby restaurants serve breakfasts at noon if you're a late sleeper like me. I was able to use laundromat on site for several dollars. Free WiFi is good. There's a pool available, but it's way too cold to use it. October 5, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel, awful internet connection, poor customer service This hotel needs new management, investment and staff leadership. The only good thing is location. The internet connection is awful. October 4, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great position Close to Fisherman's Wharf area and 2 cable car lines. Good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay. Laundry was useful. October 4, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable and Convenient San Francisco is a magical place, the climate odd,some may say the people are odd, the views magnificent and the hills steep. The Holiday Inn is so convenient, close to the waterfront , just a few hundred yards away and not a hill to climb. The atmosphere was relaxed, the staff pleasant, efficient and helpful. You will do no better if you wish to enjoy all that Frisco has to offer October 4, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room needs updating Comfortable night sleep but for the money... There are no easily accessible electrical outlets.The one that WAS accessible was loose and sparked when plugging the computer/ iron in.It was so loose the cord kept falling out.The rest were behind the TV stand.Impossible to access. Breakfast too expensive. Fitness room..... very very basic. September 30, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Sept 2012 Great Hotel, except I booked a Business room with HiSpeed Internet. Did a speed check and it was the in the slowest 96% in all USA. Advised Staff who where aware of the problem, and could do nothing. Checked review pages and the problem has been known for months. No reduction in Rate. I required the connection for business purposes back in Australia. As such I needed to purchase Access elsewhere. Did lodge a formal complaint with Holiday Inn. They replied saying that my complaint had been sent back to the manager at the hotel, and they belived this was the end of the matter. Raises questions about why they have a Corporate Site, when they dont care about complaints. Holiday Inn Chain needs a review. Until then I am out and would not refer any one. September 29, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BE AWARE TWO Holiday Inn on the same street Dismal experience...I do not recommend this place. I made reservations for the Holiday Inn Express and to my disappointment , my reservation was made for the regular Holiday Inn. I am uncertain if the people in Utah who answer the 888 line knows that there are two Holiday Inn side by side on the same street. I found the place outdated, looked like Grand Central station with people and their luggage hanging around at all hours, the restaurant was dismal; outrageously expensive and food quality extremely poor, lacked quality and variety of food. I had to share the coffee cream with another table, for the price I paid for breakfast, I should have had my own cream. Customer services was not welcoming and rigid. September 29, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed in SanFrancisco The hotel is old, unkept and expensive. The concierge was nice but appeared to have moved to the area the day before. So outrageously expensive for what you get that we can't stop talking about it. September 26, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant stay, will return not the premier of the line but excellent for the occasion September 25, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Room was very good and the front desk staff was probably the friendliest I have ever met anywhere! September 25, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fog City Favorite Our 3rd consecutive year to S.F. and Holiday Inn Fiserman's Wharf. Wouldn't want to change either one. A pleasureable stay in a wonderful city. Great value in a great location. Only improvement suggestion would be - Please do something to speed up the internet connection ! At times it is so slow as to be unuseable----- and we WANT to use it !!! September 23, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay I hab a relaxed stay in a comfortable area. I hab no car, but calble car was two blocks away. Groceries and other stuff to buy in walking distance. The room was clean and not too noisy, since it was facing the main street. Bathroom was nice an clean. The staff at the front desk were always helpful. I will stay there again! September 20, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Large Hotel This is a good location for restaurants and ferries. The beds are great; breakfast buffet is too expensive. Service at reception is excellent. September 20, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly Helpful Staff. I arrived from UK on a nine hour flight, the receptionist was very welcoming & upgraded me to a larger room, it was the perfect introduction to San Fran... September 20, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service good bed Stayed here for a total of 4 nights, having a 2 night stay elsewhere in the middle of the 4 nights at the hotel. First 2 nights were not so good as we could hear street noise clearly and we were on the 4th floor but facing a main road. The other 2 nights we had an internal room on the 5th floor that was as good as anything we had stayed in during our 35 day tour of the states. Great king size bed, bar fridge, very quiet and roomy. The staff here were excellent. The only negative and it applies to all the rooms we had in America is that there is no kettle in the rooms so if you are a tea drinker, bring your own kettle. There was a coffee percolator but a lot of international visitors are not keen on this type of drink. This hotel has a great location. We are in our 60,s and do a lot of walking so the proximity to a variety of places to visit made this a very enjoyable stay. September 20, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in September for a couple of business days The staff is nice and professional. It is one of the few hotels in San Francisco which is not too noisy and well located. September 19, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, nice Hotel. Staff service inconsistant and not seamless , Hot and Cold The Holiday Inn at the Wharf District in San Francisco is just the very best place to be based. Down near the wharfs many tours, attractions and cable car and trolley cars start from this point so it’s the ideal place to be situated. The piers have an eclectic mix of restaurants to the famous Clam Chowder, Boudins sour dough loaf, and the Hard rock café, this is all to start with,there are allot of restaurants and  theres so much to do you’ll wonder where to go next. From the moment you enter the foyer you are given a warm IHG welcome, By the doorman, who were quick to grab our luggage from our driver. This is a special year for the Holiday Inn chain, celebrating their 60th anniversary, of which I have stayed many many times in their Hotels and enjoyed most of them, this Hotel added to my fond memories and I have added to those with my stay here.   The Staff are very nice and accommodating they will do everything they can to make your stay the perfect one. I had an issue with them not being able to find my booking so the streamlined fast and organized Platinum Priority club Elite check in was a major failure.  I want to mention a wonderful Manager by the name of Oliver, he was very good with dealing with this issue I had, and it was quickly and very satisfactorily handled. Whilst the check in was a poor start,  but I had a printout and it was all resolved, and a selection of room types offered. I made some suggestions based on my previous experiences what they can do for platinum guests. He told me that they are constantly looking at ways to improve and recognize their members. I suggested they revamp and ensure Priority check in, having their rooms pre allocated and checked in prior to their arrival should be one of their main focuses, along with their welcome card and their points balances. Which I didn't get.  I'm sure they do this, but they need to make sure they are  Looking ahead the day before to look at upgrades and prefered rooms for their regulars. They do have a Priority Club check in section which would fast track any members if there was a line at the check in. But it's not entirely clear or marked well, the plastic sign on the desk could be a priority advertisement for all it's worth. Maybe a little red carpet?   I recommended Priority club drinks as its a great way for the managers to meet and greet all our valued members. It's a greet PR excerzise, and givesthe managers great feedback and the chance to deal with any issues immediately and make changes rather than wait till its too late with reviews like these.   Highlighting the benefits to guests such as complimentary newspapers and the late checkout should be automatic for all members. This wasn't done at my checkin. Overall the best way to describe the service is that it's not consistent, streamlined, and seamless the guest should have a great experience from start to finish, I feel this Hotel runs Hot and Cold.  I had a great  chat with Nathan the concierge and he was extremely helpful and assisted me in planning my many trips and getting the San Francisco all inclusive travel pass, tours to the Yosemite National Park and a dinner cruise,and full day SF tour,  he is very experienced and dedicated to customer satisfaction.   We then went  to our room and it was a spacious good size on the priority club floor, OK the view is rubbish, basically all the rooms look at other rooms, or if they look out then you will possibly contend with street noise, keep in mind your in the vibrant hub of tourist action so noise needs to be factored in. The room was very clean with an excellent  Housekeeping that responded to a few requests I had and did everything seamlessly. It was spacious with everything you might need to stay in and relax, its has Wi-Fi which also runs Hot and Cold and a safe, an empty fridge so room for your own items and a laundry in the basement, if you should want to do a wash. In the evening  its in an easy walk to all the restaurants I spoke of.  The restaurant within this Hotel  is mediocre, the service here is definitely Hot and Cold   but has  reasonably priced mains, they have three course specials as well at very reasonable rates,  The full breakfast is $22 and continental about $16 but $22 I find this reasonable as there's one great waitress Usha, and pleasant cook by the name of Joey, making your omelette or eggs the way you like it, the buffet is comprehensive and has most everything for all tastes. I enjoyed the breakfasts here, and the service was great. Diner was a different thing but they had a large Cosmo tour in so there were delays. Service appalling,  But the shift manager Oliver,of the Hotel resolved this with me, so I feel it should be mentioned that it happened but I have been told its not the norm. Oliver was very keen to ensure a great service experience and showed a genuine  interest to make a change and my further experience at the hotel a better one. Oliver is a very good manager, I hope that his attitude is that of all the team. Many staff at the desk are great but some are simply basic, Hot and Cold.   At the end of the day I was so busy doing day tours I didn’t use my room for much else than sleeping and for that it was good. The beds are excellent, pillow tops with the wonderful Holiday Inn pillow menu and the housekeeping very good and efficient.  I would stay here again, but I will call to ensure the booking and room is ready as the booking system dosnt  seem to communicate well here. It is a fabulous location. September 18, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Slow Internet Access The internet connection was so slow, I coluld not even get into some very important emails and reply to them. Had to wait until I returned home from my trip to access email. Other internet locations I needed to gain access to was not possible. September 17, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Accomodating The Staff and location were perfect for hosting our Annual General Meeting for Clan Donald. Truly made it a success. September 17, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Fishermans Wharf This hotel was a great location. It was very clean and staff were very friendly. It is close to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and Hyde Pier and a short walk to the marina and beach. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in San Francisco. September 15, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and very close to everything We were there for the swim from Alcatraz. Our stay was just what I needed. Close to the pier, a short walk, comfortable bed and pillow, and very nice staff! September 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by JulieJN Hotel was clean. Location is excellent, able to walk to wharf and North Beach. September 10, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very confortable bed and good service the double queen bed room is very confortable also for 4 people. Very good position to visit san francisco September 9, 2012
    <<prev 24 25 26 27 28 next>>