Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:51 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 555 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We liked the fact that we could walk to local restaurants and amenities from the hotel, and the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were good and very welcoming. On the negative side, we thought that the hotel was a bit expensive (especially car parking at $45 per day!), and we found the room suffered from excess noise from outside in the early morning. Overall, a very good hotel. September 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by House Cleaning Staff is Friendly + Safe Deposit in Room You can sleep in late and not be bothered by the house cleaning staff AND still have your room made up each day. Safe deposit with key in room can fit iPads and other valuables. September 10, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Well, this is the first IHG hotel that did not give me an upgrade as a platinum member. In fact, I had to ask the receptionist to put my card number in. He did not even notice that it was a platinum card when I handed it to him. He obviously was new to the job but there were experienced guys right next to him. My room was far away from the elevator. On the positive side, the location of the hotel was quite good. September 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Recovery I was initially provided a room on the ground floor on the street which I found very noisy and basic. It was clear the room was in need of additional maintenance. The following morning I was able to speak with the Front Desk before leaving for the day expressing my dissatisfaction. Upon my return, I was pleased to see that the I had been provided a better room on the 5th floor at no additional cost. So the front desk team recovered a potential lost customer in a professional manner. Nice job! The service restaurant was fairly slow, which was surprising given there were few other guests. The food was also mediocre - not really inspiring. The F&B team appears to need a little help. What would have made this stay excellent? - Improved F&B service and quality - Rooms in need of a refresh - Better Gym facilities - really small and limited selection September 9, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very loud street Take my advice, do not bring a car. Parking is a crazy $45 a night! Plus, they oversell their lot. Which means, you will pay $45 to then have to park your car in a crammed lot up against an arbitrary wall instead of an actualy spot. For $45 it should be valet and wash the car...I have never paid so much for parking. (Don't really care what the going rate is for the rest of San Fran...when I stay at a hotel, which is expensive anyway, and have to pay through the nose for parking it just makes me feel like I am being taken advantage of.# Plus they tried to charge me an extra night for parking...it was an easy fix and they took it off but it's those small attentions to detail that make for a good vs great hotel. Ask them to not put you on the North facing side. There is so much noise on the street from 2:00-4:00 AM you will not get any sleep. The windows are paper thin I actually thought they were open one night. Overall, it's not a bad hotel. The location is good. The concerierge was ok but the Big bus coupons they have us # for $5 off) did not scan. September 9, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location was fantastic...close to Fisherman's Wharf, public transportation, and Ghirardelli Square. The room had a musty odor which we were able to air out by opening the window. The beds were somewhat uncomfortable but then I prefer a firm mattress. I've definitely stayed in nicer but have also stayed in worse IHG hotels. Overall I'd say it just...average. September 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and excellent facility We were cheerfully greeted by the Front Desk upon arriving from Austin, Tx. The facility was clean, the rooms were in order and very clean. I don't remember being in a hotel as quiet during the night as this hotel. The only noise that could be heard was from an occasional passing truck or bus. Breakfast buffet was great although a little pricey. Room service was also great. Facility is very large and short walk to all of the Fisherman's Wharf activities. We would highly recommend this Holiday Inn location for anyone considering a visit to Fisherman's Wharf. September 8, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money The hotel is located close to the Wharf and the trolley line, but that's where the accolades end. The hotel room was just an average room. The air conditioner sounded like a freight train. The bed was hard as a rock and the staff was outwardly friendly, but didn't really help with much. I realize this is San Francisco and prices are high, but I've stayed at resorts for the same price and been pampered like a queen. The room was not worth the price, nor was the experience. September 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location This hotel is very close to Fisherman's Warf and very good location to walk around. Fisherman's Warf, Pier 39, the station for F-line train which runs along the bay, 2 cable car stations are all very close and so easy to travel around. Room is OK. It is quite a old hotel but well maintained and clean. Room amenity such as soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion are all prepared. There is coffee machine and refrigerator so it is convenient to keep drinks. To access to the elevator, they require room key so it is secured. I would like to stay again when we visit San Francisco next time. September 5, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location - bad staff Reading the reviews on here I can relate to a large number of statements - especially referring to the reception staff (rude, not customer focussed and not a good first impression of the hotel at all!) We booked Holiday Inn again having spent 10 nights prior to this trip in Florida - what a shame that this hotel did not live up to the higher price with poorer rooms, bad staff and over-priced food. So the staff - on arrival my reservation was wrong - despite it being confirmed with central reservations prior to my arrival. No recognition of elite status. On departure the charges were applied to my card without checking with me first and the same disinterested attitude prevailed. Some customer service training needs to take place very quickly. One of the Bar staff was equally as rude - providing unhelpful responses to legitimate questions and making me feel like an idiot for being there in the first place! Pool was small but adequate - towels hidden in a locker but we eventually found them - better signage recommended. Rooms was OK but in need of an update. Size was much smaller than the HI in Florida and we were very disappointed. Bathroom too small and nowhere near enough drawer space. In-room coffee was weak and disappointing - management need to try it and replace it with something worth drinking. Aside from location I was disappointed with our stay in this hotel and it for me is not reflective of the Holiday Inn brand. September 5, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Muldav My over all stay was good the room was clean and quite at night. I thought the price was a little steep but every thing else was fine. September 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Wharf in San Fran The Holiday Inn on Columbus street is a great hotel to stay at if you really want to experience the Wharf. Hotel is excellent, very quiet, clean and modern. Staff is very friendly. The location is super, you are one block from all the excitment of the Whart, plus you can walk (a little more than a mile) to China Town (you pass through little Italy also) and it is a safe walk. Enjoy this place. September 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful! Our overall experience was awesome. This is the second time I have stayed here this year, traveling from Pennsylvania. Both times the staff have been friendly, knowledgable, and willing to do whatever it takes for customer satisfaction. This time, they were able to accomadate my sister because she was moving to an apartment in Oakland, and traffic was bumper to bumper from the Bay Bridge closure. She kept things in the hotel (moving from Reno) and the staff not only allowed her late check out at 2pm, they also told her that it was not a problem that she was running past that deadline due to being stuck in traffic. This hotel in particular has our business for any future visits to San Francisco. A+ to the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf staff! (Not to mention the room was absolutely spotless--bonus!) September 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AT FISHERMANS WHARFE My wife and I, stayed for four nights, the location is superb, stayed on the top floor, no outside noise from the street. No problems at all with the staff, or service. Wellgreens supermarket just around the corner for any grocerys, and with just Pier 39 / Fishermans Wharfe so close, eating / drinking a joy. i always stay with Holiday Inn and this is another reason why September 2, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Camp threadbare This hotel, while in a great location, needs a complete renovation. It was relatively clean but looks as if it hasn't been updated in 25 years. Dated dated dated and noisy September 1, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor customer service We traveled to SF on vacation and used Priority Club points for our 2 night stay. We were thrilled to find a Holiday Inn in a great location. Everything was great about the hotel except the front desk attendants. Despite waiting in the designated Priority Club line, I was ignored for other "regular" guests by 2 front desk attendants. I could have easily overlooked that except once it was finally my turn (despite the fact that I was in line first and the original desk attendant was apparently just too busy to do his job) the attendant made me hop over the Priority Club ropes to move over to her. Kind of awkward with bags in your hands. To make it worse, once I was done moving for her she was very, very rude. It was like pulling teeth to get her to provide us instructions to our room. She was unwilling to offer directions to the tourist attractions and gave me a serious stink eye when I asked to be sure our room was pet friendly. They charge an fairly large amount (normal for a city) for parking $41 a day but would only provide one drink coupon for the bar even though we had 2 adults staying for 2 nights. Way to make us feel completely nickel & dimed! The hotel lobby was insanely busy with a school group checking in & other people lounging around with their bags so the whole scene was quite chaotic. This attendant was very kind to the two non-Priority Club members who were taken in line ahead of me while I was standing there so I'm not sure if she just hates Priority Club members or was having a bad day but it was definitely not the start to a relaxing vacation I had hoped for. I wasn't looking for freebies or to be waited on hand and foot but when someone checks in who is obviously a Priority Club Member (we're Platinum Elite), you would hope the staff would at least be pleasant. There's a ton of Holiday Inn's in SF...my advice if you're looking for a relaxing start is to look elsewhere. August 31, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unsanitary bathrooms Hard beds. Staff is accommodating, but bathrooms are not kept sparkling. Need updated and mildew issues addressed. In room coffee terrible. No free amenities for the ridiculous high prices. Breakfast prices outrageous. No complimentary anything other than coffee in the room. August 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel central to Fisherman's Wharf Stayed here for four nights. Very convenient for the central activities in Fisherman's Wharf, all within easy strolling distance - Pier 39, many restaurants, cycle hire shops. Fisherman's Wharf is a relatively expensive place to hang out, but there is no need for a car - better not to have one here, so that is quite a compensation. When you do need a car there are major rental car companies in the adjacent car park - again, very very convenient, which just about sums this place up. Room was clean and tidy, all fine August 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Location We have stayed here multiple times and always enjoyed it well. We like the Warf area and some of the nearby places within walking distance. The rooms are always well cleaned and serviced. I believe $40 is steep for parking, but that's San Francisco. August 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Location This Holiday Inn Express is in the best loction. It is walking distance to everywhere you want to be. We have stayed at other upscale hotels in San Francisco, but this by far is the most convient. You are can walk to food, bars & shopping. So you don't have to hassle with the car traffic in the city. You can just walk . August 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, good staff Good location, close to the wharf, walking distance to cable cars. Tour buses pick you up from the hotel. Restaurant on site has extended hours, which helps cut down travel time to eat breakfast or dinner. Breakfast buffet is way over-priced for what you get, and we wished that the dinner selection were wider. The property is a bit dated, We did not feel safe outside after dark, as there are homeless people nearby, but not next to hotel. Hotel security is present, which is nice. The various concierges were very helpful in planning our days, and the hotel staff is polite. In general, a good experience. August 29, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location but a tad bit pricy The location was nice. Close to the wharf. Good services in terms of Bus and the cable car trolly within few minutes. Tram in a minutes walk. Good food facilities. The property looks slightly dated. August 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Safe feeling. Great location for Fisherman's Wharf activities. Parking is $40/night if you have a car. Hotel is in need of a facelift. A bit dated and rooms need some tlc. Breakfast buffet was marginal. I would not recommend paying full price for it. Ours was included in our room for only a small charge extra. For $300 plus a night you would expect it to be just a bit nicer. I would compare it to an off strip hotel in Vegas. August 27, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Look for a different hotel I stay at a lot of holiday inn hotels. I thought this was the dirtiest. Holes in the wallpaper. Bathtub was rather nasty. Definitely no worth the price! August 27, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a pleasant experience I booked my hotel on July 11th - received my email confirmation again 2 days prior to my arrival. When I checked in, I was told by Evelyn that my reservation was not in the system. She asked for our credit card and she said that it didn't go through. We called the bank with speaker phone and the bank has no record that the card is being swiped. My first day in this hotel was very pleasant. The Manager offered to reduce my rate to exclude the parking, but when I checked out, my bill was still the same. I tried to call him, no answer. My last resort, I called the Guest Relation to resolve this issue. My business conference is at Sheraton Hotel, 2 blocks from Holiday Inn, but I chose to stay in this hotel as a loyal customer. I have stayed with different Holiday Inn every year and have no problem. This hotel, I couldn't even describe how disappointed I am. Please check other hotels before considering this one. August 27, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location/ Tired Rooms I recently stayed at this hotel on business travel. The hotel is in a good location if you are interested in the tourist zone of the Fisherman's Wharf and nearby Piers. My room was average and was in need of renovation. When I checked into my room there was no office chair either. This is not a bad hotel, but it certainly will not impress either. If you are looking for a place to sleep, shower, and get on with your day, this hotel is fine. August 26, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Well located but tired looking ... Convenient location, though the area has become tacky and the property was looking jaded. August 26, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent Service Staff went overboard to be helpful. Very good service. Good location close to many sites of interest August 26, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worthy, worst Holiday Inn ever This is without a doubt the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed, maybe even the worst hotel ever - and with thirty years of travel all across the USA, I have stayed in many hotels. It's too expensive, even for the location, my room was dull and in need of new carpet, noisy - probably because it was a street level room and the towels - OMG!, at home towels in such a shape we use them to mop the floor not on our bodies. Worst internet connection ever, this is not a business friendly hotel. Absolutely and positively would not recommend this hotel and I will never stay there again. I rather drive the distance and stay by the airport (SFO). August 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and great location We stayed in the newer building. The F-street car stop is right across the street. Wi-fi was included with the room and connection was great. Rooms were very clean. Had a view of the water and Alcatraz from our window. Good overall experience. August 24, 2013
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 next>>