Crowne Plaza Vientiane is situated in the charming capital city of Vientiane and is only 15 minutes from the international airport or 5 minutes from the central business district.
Wat That Luang (That Luang Stupa): The original stupa, which is covered in 500kg of gold leaf, was built in 1566 by King Saysethathirath. It was built to resemble a lotus bud of about 9 meters high and 10 meters wide, surrounding a small, elongated stupa. The stupa has undergone several reconstructions, the last as recently as the 1930s, due to foreign invasions of the area.
Introducing complimentary shuttle services to Vientiane's downtown area, the Namphou quarter, available exclusively for Crowne Plaza Vientiane's hotel guest only from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM every day.
Getting around the city of Vientiane is easy and fun in a tuk tuk. Make sure to always agree on a price prior to boarding. You can also rent bicycles for just a few dollars a day. Bike around the town and enjoy discovering the nooks and crannies during the day, then make your way back to the Mekong River in the evening, where there are many shops and restaurants and you can relax along the river.
A visit to Laos is never complete without sampling one of the authentic culinary dishes that this country has to offer. Some of the unique local dishes were suggest you try as part of your authentic experience of Lao life and culture are: papaya Ssalad (tam maak hoong); grilled chicken (ping kai); laab (vegetables and minced meat or fish flavoured with fermented fish paste); and sticky rice.
A visit to Vientiane is never complete without a stroll along the famous Night Market. Located along the banks of the Mekong River, hundreds of brightly lit stalls offer visitors the opportunity to discover a wide range of contemporary and traditional products including handmade silks and handcraft, handcrafted hill-tribe souvenirs and hand-carved silver jewelery, as well as fashion and food.
That Luang Village, Xaysettha District, Vientiane, 01000
Considered a symbol of Laos and its most important national monument, Pha That Luang was built in 1556. The 45-metre main stupa was originally covered in gold leaf and is believed to contain a relic of the Lord Buddha, and is surrounded by 30 smaller stupas said to contain the ashes of former kings and other royal family members. The temple has been through several restorations as a result of invasions. Today, still covered in gold, it is a significant spiritual centre for Buddhism in Laos.
Rue Setthathirath, Xiengyuen Village,, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane, 01000
Wat Sisaket was built in 1818 by King Anouvong. Located close to the old Royal Palace in the centre of the old city, Wat Sisaket was one of the few temples that survived destruction caused during the Siamese invasion of 1828. It is by far one of the most interesting temples in the city and houses more than 10,000 images of Buddha, the oldest dating as far back as the 16th century. Within the compound is a Ho Trai or library where the anicient Buddhist manuscripts known as the Tripitaka are kept
Ban Simuang, Rue Setthathirath,, Vientiane, 01000
Wat Simuang was built in 1563 by King Saysetthathirath. The altar was destroyed by the Siamese in 1828 and restoration began in 1915. According to legend, the temple is guarded by the spirit of a girl named Nang Si, who sacrificed her life by leaping to her death, and a wooden pillar was lowered to cover the hole. Due to its sacredness, the temple is frequented by local Laotians to pray and make merit for the next life.
Chanthabouly, Vientiane, 01000
Appearing like a miniature Arc de Triomphe on one of Vientiane's main evenues, Patuxay – or "Victory Arch" - was built between 1957 and 1968 to honour those who gave their lives during the struggle for independence from France. Patuxay has four arched gateways and the ceilings are decorated with Buddhist mythological creatures and Hindu gods, and the three-headed elephant Erawan. Visitors are encouraged to climb to the top of the monument for breathtaking panoramic views of the city.
Rue Setthathirath,, Xiengyuen Village, Chanthabouly DIstrict, VIentiane, 01000
Hor Pha Keo temple was originally built between 1565 and 1566 by King Setthathirath to house the Emerald Buddha and as his personal place of worship. The temple was destroyed by the Siamese in 1779 and 1828, and the Emerald Buddha was taken to Siam, and is now housed in Bangkok. Hor Pha Keo was restored between 1936 to 1942 and converted into a museum in the 1970s, and now houses some of the best examples of Lao religious art, including priceless Buddhist scriptures inscribed on palm leaves.
Rue Samsenthai, VIentiane, 01000
Built in the 16th Century, That Dam or the Black Stupa is one of the few ancient stupas that remains intact in Vientiane after the Siamese invasion of 1828. Located in the heart of town, That Dam is a popular Vientiane landmark in spite of the crumbling facade that is now overgrown with vegetation – a feature that has added to its anchient charm. According to legend, That Dam is home to the seven-headed Naga that protected Vientiane from the Siamese invasion of 1828.
Ban Wat Chan, Rue Setthatirath &, Chao Anou Road, Vientiane, 01000
Wat Ong Teu, currently the national centre of Buddhism in Laos, was built in the early 16th century by King Saysetthathirath, was later destroyed during the Siamese war and restored in 19th and 20th centuries by the French. This temple consists of various Buddha images, with the central figure the large Buddha statue Phra Ongteu, one of the largest to have survived the war, and the origin of the temple's name.