Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
74%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 339 reviews
74%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

339reviews

  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    27

Comfortable bed, friendly staff

By

07 February 2017

club

Good hotel, nice clean room, helpful staff. Slightly expensive when I stayed.

Posted byHotelStaff
08 February 2017
Dear Epell, Thank you for your great 5 star review of our Hotel. We are delighted your room to be clean and you thought the staff were helpful. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Room a little dated but bathroom clean and modern.

By

06 February 2017

Reception staff gave my colleague the key to my room when he arrived later, which caused some embarrassment.

Posted byHotelStaff
08 February 2017
Dear IFA17, Thank you for your kind 4 star review of our hotel. I have investigated the issue you raised regarding the room key. This was a genuine mistake on the part of one our team and we have addressed this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

orwell jan 17

By

31 January 2017

On arrival the hotel from the out side looks tired,
the windows on the conservatory are made from wood and are rotten, I think by replacing or re decorating would transform the look of this hotel. as many people say, first impressions count.

Posted byHotelStaff
01 February 2017
Dear Dooge, Thank you very much for your outstanding 5 star review of our hotel. I will pass on your comments regarding the windows to our head office. Many thanks again. Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Sanjiv - Ipswich Orwell Stay

By

29 January 2017

It was overall good. Just that heating system stopped working and came up close to after 24 hours. I had to intimate close to 3-4 times before it was fixed.

Overall a good experience, I have had no issues in the past and I have stayed multiple time at the same property.

Thanks
Sanjiv

Posted byHotelStaff
31 January 2017
Dear s76datta, Thank you for your 4 star review of our hotel. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the heating issues we experienced and please be reassured that these issues have now been fixed. I am glad you had a good experience overall and had no issues in previous stays. Yours sincerely Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Orwell

By

28 January 2017

Conveniently place if a little jaded. Internet bandwidth not fantastic but usable. Encountered a few problems with TV channels and reception. Bar and restaurant staff extremely professional and courteous.

Posted byHotelStaff
30 January 2017
Dear Jdt62, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I pleased to see the staff were friendly and helpful with resolving the TV for you . The internet is a new system we hope to improve of the width soon. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when in the area. Kind regards Stuart Crisp Loyalty Champion
Read More
Read Less

let down

By

19 January 2017

Good hotel, large and clean rooms but, like most hotels too hot. The radiator continued to blast even when turned off.

The big disappointment was at breakfast, nobody to seat me for 5 minutes, uncleared tables, no clean glasses for fruit juice, no fruit salad until I asked for it and no pastries left. I might expect this at 10:30 but not at 8:45

Posted byHotelStaff
25 January 2017
Dear Munsterfan58, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel. I am pleased you like the rooms and find them to be clean. I am sorry that the radiator in your room was not working I have instructed my maintenance Manager to check all rooms so we do not have these issues going forward. I have spoken with my Food and Beverage Manager at length so we do not have any re-occurrence of these problems. Please accept my apologies and we hope this will not distract from you staying with us in future. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Room was ok had issues booking my room

By

18 January 2017

Poor breakfast experience and several issues regarding booking broken lock on bathroom door

Posted byCustomerCare
27 January 2017
Hello Katz411, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, UK and posting a review and rating your stay. I would like to apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory and that your expectations were not met, brought about by your difficulty during booking and poor breakfast. Despite this, we appreciate that your assigned room was to your liking and that you slept well. All your comments and ratings have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the property for review and necessary action. Here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, UK, it is always our goal to ensure that our guests enjoy the best hotel experience when they walk through our doors, and with your feedback, we definitely can achieve that.We hope that you can come visit us again in the future and continue to consider IHG properties for your lodging needs wherever your travels may bring you. Sincerely, Wazay P. Case Manager IHG Service
Read More
Read Less

Very low standards but helpful staff

By

15 January 2017

We stayed for 1 night on January 10 2017.

We had a lot of bags, so asked reception for a luggage trolley. After about 10 minutes they found a trolley big enough for 1 suitcase.

We were given Room 4. First problem - it was impossible to turn the radiator off. The staff came in about 3 times to try and fix it, but were unable to turn it off. They mentioned that the maintenance manager had installed new thermostats, and said this might have caused the issue. Second problem - toilet seat not clean - lots of sticky marks. Again the staff cleaned this up quickly.

We dined early in a relatively empty restaurant. It took over 30 minutes for the food to be prepared. One of us ordered the steak salad, asking for the steak to be well done and for the salad to be served with dressing on the side and the optional cheese garnish. On the menu it said that this would be sliced steak with bacon in a salad. When it arrived the salad had the dressing on it, there was no bacon and the steak was one big piece. Parts of it were charred and bitter. We were tired and hungry, so didn't send it back.

The extra cheese was supposed to be 50p, but appeared on the bill as 7.50 - the staff were apologetic and corrected it, and said that someone had entered it as cheese and biscuits.

After dinner we returned to Room 4, which was still too hot to sleep in. The staff were helpful, and moved us to Room 29. We had a comfortable night, although when preparing a cuppa in the morning we noticed that the kettle had seen better days - some small brown stains were visible.

At 11 am the next morning I asked for a espresso in the bar. There was a young member of staff who had never made one before, and had to check with other staff for directions on how to make it. Everyone was pleasant, but what should have taken 2 minutes took 10 minutes.

I mentioned our issues to the receptionist on departure. She was apologetic and pleasant, and added some extra points to my IHG account.

It struck me as a tired hotel with good staff, but no attention to detail from the management.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
Dear Wills957, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and I would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I have investigated the issues you have raised and have followed up with the relevant Heads of department. My maintenance Manager has now fixed the issues with the heating in room 4. I am pleased you found the staff to be good and that we offered you points as a goodwill gesture for the issues you faced. I would be grateful if you would contact me personally so I can discuss with you further the problems you encountered. Thank you again for your review and am only sorry we did not deliver a more positive experience. Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Average Stay

By

08 January 2017

platinumelite

Room was cold when I arrived and the food is always a bit bland.
But the staff are friendly are the location is great for Ipswich and the A14.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear Chris H83, Thank you for your 4 star review of our Hotel. I am sorry that the room was cold on your arrival I will speak to the housekeeping and maintenance teams regarding this. Please ask for me personally when you are next staying with us so we can discuss your dining requirements. On a more positive note, I am pleased you like the location and find the team friendly. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

good night

By

04 January 2017

club

over all a good night the only down side was the two rooms that we had first the heating was not working but we were quickly given other rooms

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear q8190735, Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am really pleased you had a good night here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell. I will obviously take up the heating issues you experienced with my Maintenance Manager. I would like to apologise for these issues but thank you for bringing them to my attention and I am pleased they did not distract from your enjoyment of your stay. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A Very Unusual Look for Holiday Inn

By

03 January 2017

club

We drove into Ipswich well after the winter sunset but well ahead of our dinner date with our daughter's future in-laws. We were very surprised, pleasantly, to find an unusual look of this Holiday Inn compared to the chain's signature look. From what we could see in the dark the hotel looked like a very quaint, homey, and a typical British home. The lobby, matching the exterior, was just the same. We spent only one night at this Holiday Inn and departed well before the sunrise to head to Heathrow airport. If we find ourselves back in Ipswich we would definitely spend more time at the hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear hussains4, Thank you for your kind 4 star review of our hotel. I am pleased you liked the feel of the hotel. I am really pleased you would choose to come back if you were in the area. Thank you again. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

03 January 2017

Best Holiday Inn I have stayed in, will return again in the future

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear VioletThomson, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are all incredibly proud to receive such high praise and a 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less