Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
74%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 334 reviews
74%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

334reviews

  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    111
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    27

let down

By

19 January 2017

Good hotel, large and clean rooms but, like most hotels too hot. The radiator continued to blast even when turned off.

The big disappointment was at breakfast, nobody to seat me for 5 minutes, uncleared tables, no clean glasses for fruit juice, no fruit salad until I asked for it and no pastries left. I might expect this at 10:30 but not at 8:45

Read More
Read Less

Room was ok had issues booking my room

By

18 January 2017

Poor breakfast experience and several issues regarding booking broken lock on bathroom door

Read More
Read Less

Very low standards but helpful staff

By

15 January 2017

We stayed for 1 night on January 10 2017.

We had a lot of bags, so asked reception for a luggage trolley. After about 10 minutes they found a trolley big enough for 1 suitcase.

We were given Room 4. First problem - it was impossible to turn the radiator off. The staff came in about 3 times to try and fix it, but were unable to turn it off. They mentioned that the maintenance manager had installed new thermostats, and said this might have caused the issue. Second problem - toilet seat not clean - lots of sticky marks. Again the staff cleaned this up quickly.

We dined early in a relatively empty restaurant. It took over 30 minutes for the food to be prepared. One of us ordered the steak salad, asking for the steak to be well done and for the salad to be served with dressing on the side and the optional cheese garnish. On the menu it said that this would be sliced steak with bacon in a salad. When it arrived the salad had the dressing on it, there was no bacon and the steak was one big piece. Parts of it were charred and bitter. We were tired and hungry, so didn't send it back.

The extra cheese was supposed to be 50p, but appeared on the bill as 7.50 - the staff were apologetic and corrected it, and said that someone had entered it as cheese and biscuits.

After dinner we returned to Room 4, which was still too hot to sleep in. The staff were helpful, and moved us to Room 29. We had a comfortable night, although when preparing a cuppa in the morning we noticed that the kettle had seen better days - some small brown stains were visible.

At 11 am the next morning I asked for a espresso in the bar. There was a young member of staff who had never made one before, and had to check with other staff for directions on how to make it. Everyone was pleasant, but what should have taken 2 minutes took 10 minutes.

I mentioned our issues to the receptionist on departure. She was apologetic and pleasant, and added some extra points to my IHG account.

It struck me as a tired hotel with good staff, but no attention to detail from the management.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
Dear Wills957, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and I would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I have investigated the issues you have raised and have followed up with the relevant Heads of department. My maintenance Manager has now fixed the issues with the heating in room 4. I am pleased you found the staff to be good and that we offered you points as a goodwill gesture for the issues you faced. I would be grateful if you would contact me personally so I can discuss with you further the problems you encountered. Thank you again for your review and am only sorry we did not deliver a more positive experience. Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Average Stay

By

08 January 2017

platinumelite

Room was cold when I arrived and the food is always a bit bland.
But the staff are friendly are the location is great for Ipswich and the A14.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear Chris H83, Thank you for your 4 star review of our Hotel. I am sorry that the room was cold on your arrival I will speak to the housekeeping and maintenance teams regarding this. Please ask for me personally when you are next staying with us so we can discuss your dining requirements. On a more positive note, I am pleased you like the location and find the team friendly. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

good night

By

04 January 2017

club

over all a good night the only down side was the two rooms that we had first the heating was not working but we were quickly given other rooms

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear q8190735, Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am really pleased you had a good night here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell. I will obviously take up the heating issues you experienced with my Maintenance Manager. I would like to apologise for these issues but thank you for bringing them to my attention and I am pleased they did not distract from your enjoyment of your stay. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A Very Unusual Look for Holiday Inn

By

03 January 2017

club

We drove into Ipswich well after the winter sunset but well ahead of our dinner date with our daughter's future in-laws. We were very surprised, pleasantly, to find an unusual look of this Holiday Inn compared to the chain's signature look. From what we could see in the dark the hotel looked like a very quaint, homey, and a typical British home. The lobby, matching the exterior, was just the same. We spent only one night at this Holiday Inn and departed well before the sunrise to head to Heathrow airport. If we find ourselves back in Ipswich we would definitely spend more time at the hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear hussains4, Thank you for your kind 4 star review of our hotel. I am pleased you liked the feel of the hotel. I am really pleased you would choose to come back if you were in the area. Thank you again. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

03 January 2017

Best Holiday Inn I have stayed in, will return again in the future

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Dear VioletThomson, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are all incredibly proud to receive such high praise and a 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

great service

By

28 December 2016

club

good service, cleanliness of the room and bathroom.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear ray 288, Thank you for your great 5 star review of our property. Really pleased you liked thew service and the cleanliness of the room. We hope to welcome you back soon. Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

早餐和地点不错,服务还需要提高

By

27 December 2016

club

早餐和地点不错,服务还需要提高;入住和退房效率都不够,而且希望可以在第三方合作和服务方面更多改进,不要把合作双方的问题留给住客自己解决。

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear KeenS Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and liked your breakfast. I would like to apologise for the poor experience you had on check out. I will investigate the issues you raised with my front of house teams. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards Jason Stringer
Read More
Read Less

Always good to stay here.

By

21 December 2016

club

Great welcome from Jason Looked after well by Brian and Chloe in the bar. Lovely meals provided by Kevin and Slaney. Always a pleasure to have Stuart's friendly and efficient service. All new members of staff doing a great job. Well done!!!

Read More
Read Less

comfortable beds

By

21 December 2016

club

Pleased to have used the hotel, will recommend the hotel to colleagues

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear Ben710, Thank you for your excellent 5 star review of our hotel. I am pleased you found the beds comfortable and am certainly delighted you will recommend our hotel. Kind regards Jason Stringer General manager
Read More
Read Less

Not for the Business Traveller

By

17 December 2016

The overall rating of the Hotel is good. However it is let down by something that is easy to fix! I have been staying at this Hotel for years now and on the basis of my last visit i dont expect to stay again. The reason for this, is the COMPLETE lack of Internet connectivity. You can connect to the Wifi fine, but unable to get to the Internet. I was not the only one to experience this and when speaking to Staff their where aware and had notified management, who havent done anything.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 December 2016
Dear Newrylands, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel. I am sorry that you experienced issues with the wi-fi during your last visit. We have switched internet providers on Monday due to the problems you mention and are going through an upgrade of the whole system currently and hope to be live with greater speeds and access for all by the end of the week. Please contact me privately on my email address in order that I can see what I can do in order to restore your faith in our hotel and perhaps enable you to consider us for future stays. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less