Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Waterloo Square St James Boulevard , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 1931 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1931reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1328
  • 4 Stars
    461
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    25

Brilliant staff members

By

15 May 2022

club

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in the centre of Newcastle was exceptional value for money. The staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet to say we overlooked a busy road there was no traffic noise at all. So had a wonderful sleep.
Breakfast was all you could want and more.
Will definitely be staying there in the not to distant future.

Read More
Read Less

Fab as always

By

28 April 2022

Staff are super! Location ideal and as always a perfect stay here! Thank you

Read More
Read Less

comfortable rooms - close to the train station

By

27 March 2022

platinumelite

practical rooms providing the comforts a traveler needs
helpful and smiley staff at any time 24/7
convenient breakfast hrs
location is great, next to the train station and 15' walk from main street to go out at

Read More
Read Less

March stay

By

15 March 2022

I enjoyed the stay, staff as always friendly, helpful - enjoyed breakfast and was happy with the room I had been given.

Read More
Read Less

A flea tip

By

15 March 2022

platinumelite

IHG have a commitment to cleanliness. Unfortunately it has not made it to Newcastle. The first photo shows a great deal of dust and what appears to be mold growing by the side of the desk. Next photo you can see a dirty floor in the bathroom together with paint missing from the door frame and debris left on the floor. And the final photo shows debris left on the floor from the previous occupier. Why was this not cleaned up?

What makes all of this even worse is that even though the room was "supposedly cleaned" whilst I was out for the day, I came back to the room and found these items still on the bathroom floor and on the carpet.

Is this part of your commitment to clean? Well then you have a lot of work to do. This is an utter disgrace.

Read More
Read Less

excellent service

By

18 January 2022

club

second time using this hotel, staff were great (all staff from reception to cooking as well as domestic), room was fine, looked onto the Discovery Museum, breakfast was great during visit - no issues staff welcoming and finding room - glad to be using this hotel in Newcastle.

Read More
Read Less

My favourite place to stay in Newcastle

By

23 December 2021

club

Stayed here many times when attending concerts at Utilita Arena. It's a 5 minute walk from Train Station and same distance to Arena, so excellent location, which is important to me as . I travel solo.
Reception staff know me well and are always friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much bother for them and they're a cheerful bunch. Rooms are plenty big enough for my needs and beds are super comfy. Breakfast is a good selection of food and drinks etc. My only small complaint is that I prefer fried eggs not scrambled.
Lovey hotel

Read More
Read Less

Just about okay

By

19 December 2021

Convenient location close to city centre, public transport. Front desk staff rude and unhelpful. However something is wrong with management of the hotel. Long term shortages of breakfast items means choices are limited if do not want the hot items. No draught beer as no gas for pumps and no bottled beer either. Management seem to just accept the shortage rather than resolve.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay

By

18 December 2021

club

Would highly recommend this property, location and staff are excellent

Read More
Read Less

A Day at the Races

By

18 December 2021

We stayed 2 nights at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle, as we were going to the races. The hotel has excellent public transport links and is conveniently placed for all city centre amenities. It is spotlessly clean and well appointed with helpful, friendly staff, plus a well stocked bar and lounge area.

Read More
Read Less

Great

By

15 December 2021

club

Great clean and tidy hotel
Nice and warm
Not many milk free breakfast options (milk allergy)

Read More
Read Less

Spur of moment booking didn’t disappoint

By

13 December 2021

Made a late booking and had a brilliant stay, the staff were all so helpful and the hotel was ideally located for the things I needed to do in Newcastle city centre

Read More
Read Less