Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Wakefield

Queen Street , Wakefield, WF1 1JU

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1008 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1008reviews

  • 5 Stars
    579
  • 4 Stars
    284
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    28

Fab location and hotel in general

By

27 June 2022

If you want a clean and comfy hotel right in the centre of Wakefield with free parking then this is it !

Read More
Read Less

Bed was knackered and stains on floor.

By

27 June 2022

For what we paid it was not worth it. Bed was knackered room was dirty. Told staff and they where not interested

Read More
Read Less

Mixed reviews

By

27 June 2022

Good location, good breakfast, comfortable bed.
Unwelcoming staff, insufficient parking, unusable shower with stagnant water sitting in it and price was ridiculous.

Read More
Read Less

Travelling for business

By

27 June 2022

The hotel is ok. But seems to have lots of issues under the surface. Slow service at the bar and reception with it often left unmanned for long periods of time. Dirty carpets and net curtains in the bedroom despite the room smelling of fresh paint. Food choice issues at breakfast with no eggs and minimal pastries available. Bacon like rubber.

Read More
Read Less

Stay at J40 HI instead

By

26 June 2022

club

The HI express is in the centre of town, hard to find and not very impressive from the outside. Car parking is awful, limited availability, had to drive around 15 mins before a space became available.
Rooms OK, fairly clean but place is looking tired.
Biggest let down, breakfast.... no eggs! Breakfast staff surly and not that helpful. I mentioned eggs at reception, and it was "laughed off" that "we'd forgotten to order them".
Overall, one visit to forget.

Read More
Read Less

Light nuisance

By

24 June 2022

Clean, convenient and breakfast adequate (except no eggs!!). Delighted there were high quality Yorkshire Tea bags at breakfast but these should be in the rooms too. These should be introduced as standard across your range of hotels. Others are tasteless and weak.
Big gaps around door meant bright corridor light interfered with sleep. I had to wedge towels in the gaps to improve this.

Having to park over a kerb damaged my car.

Read More
Read Less

Modern rooms

By

19 June 2022

The rooms in this hotel are spacious and modern. The shower was brilliant. Bar prices are on the high side.

Read More
Read Less

Great value

By

06 June 2022

Clean and great service
Staff very helpful professional and friendly
Room large and enough room for my 87ys mum to manoeuvre her frame
Would recommend. Central location

Read More
Read Less

Wakefield stay

By

16 May 2022

Staff were friendly. Central location, easy to find. Room was a bit pricey, bar could've been better stocked and breakfast needs a slight upgrade. All in all enjoyed my time in Wakefield as didn't experience or witness any trouble.

Read More
Read Less

A Few Things to Ponder

By

28 March 2022

Hello,
I've been staying at this hotel for a few years now, which is testament to the service I've become accustomed to. However, last weeks stay wasn't great.
Firstly, I booked to stay for 4 nights, choosing a double room. On arrival, I was given a room with twin beds, which are tiny! OK, I understand there was/is a supply & demand issue, but one would expect, being a Spire Elite member, that a double room could have been kept aside, maybe?
In addition, the very small car park, often being jammed full of mostly vans, has meant that the adjacent multi-storey car park needs to be used. Not a problem until recently when we're now being charged £7 per night. Add that to the bill and the accommodation's value is seriously diminished. On top of that and to cap it all off, the only breakfast I actually got to attend during the week had NO bacon available!

Read More
Read Less

accommodation close to job

By

09 December 2021

club

Reported faulty shower head on sunday, not fixed until tuesday. aircon is audible all night even though my rooms was switched off.
dont know how long breakfast food had been kept warm so it became tasteless and sweaty
staff were friendly enough but on thursday morning a male member of staff on reception had a shirt on that looked like he had slept in it

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

02 November 2021

Staff is amazing, friendly, attentive, always extremely welcoming and always make sure to provide the best service and provide all the details necessary for my stay including informing me about parking facility, breakfast time, and for simply just going up and beyond.

They always accommodate me with the type of room I like to stay at. Always provide the best.
And the rooms are always in immaculate conditions clean and fresh.

I have stayed at this hotel a few times because the staff make it so homely and welcoming and have the best service by miles compared to anywhere else I have stayed at in Yorkshire.

Many many thanks to Cheryl who is extremely thoughtful, considerate and for always consistently making sure I have had no issues during my stays and as a manager has dealt with any minor issues I had immediately.

Massive thank you to Jessica who informed me to sign up to IHG rewards. Absolutely amazing service from her.

A* service at all times.

Read More
Read Less