Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Edinburgh The George

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Edinburgh The George
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 441 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

441reviews

  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    15

Basic needs not met and unbefitting of a 5 star Luxury Hotel and Price Point

By

30 September 2022

Basic Room Needs not met : Heater not working properly. put up to 30 degrees and in the night, it feels below 15 degrees. Flush button too hard. Not enough pressure and water to flush; needs multiple flushes. No attention to detail or go the extra mile. no refill of water on certain days. We upgraded our 4 day stay from a 4 star to a 5 star for our last leg in Edinburgh for 4 nights. This standard may be acceptable for a cheap 4 star hotel but unbefitting of a luxury 5 star hotel like The George Intercontinental and relative to the high price point. Except for exceptional staff like Antonios, the maitre d for breakfast, the waiter Sushant and a few friendly lobby and porter staff, We were sorely disappointed with the room and the service. We did feedback to the receptionis when we checked at reception. Also, would not go the extra mile for guests e.g. we accidentally left cheese in the mini-fridge - we called when we arrived home - reluctant to even check just in case it was picked up so that we could pass it to a friend.

Read More
Read Less

Great breakfast

By

29 September 2022

The breakfast set me up for the day, the range was great, and all cooked to perfection.
The staff were very helpful.
Be prepared to do a lot of walking.

Read More
Read Less

Fabulous

By

26 September 2022

platinumelite

We were warmly greeted, and treated like royalty! The rooms were large and comfortable; the outlets for our phones were by our beds. The location on George Street was outstanding! Many many great restaurants nearby. The breakfasts we enjoyed were amazing. Great staff. Everything was 100% extraordinary!

Read More
Read Less

Not a 5 star hotel

By

25 September 2022

club

There is no such thing as a 5 star hotel anymore nor service. This hotel falls way short of 5 stars and the management cannot even be bothered to offer a genuine response and instead send a pre-formatted reply which is beyond offensive.

Here is my experience:

A broken toilet which is a horrifying prospect in a hotel room, reported and they did not fix it and asked us to wait till the next day.

Dust every where, filthy telephone and kettle, check out the pictures

Shower drain covers which slip off and injure you, the management winced and said sorry.

Shower taps which scald you as they are designed by a sadist who took great delight in confusing guests as to which way to turn them.

The 'upgraded' room they offered us the next day had revolting stains on the wall paper right next to the toilet which I dare not imagine what they were. How can housekeeping miss these day in day out. They stare at you as sit on the toilet.

The shower drain was the same broken device that moved and slipped under your foot not the equally slippery floor.

The room was covered in dust, the curtains had dust bunnies.

The breakfast is a joke, it is an overpriced, boring, lifeless buffet, flies buzzing on the fruit and food. Expect to wait 30 minutes for some oily eggs, mushy sides. Oh and when you order a pancake you have to be very specific or else...see my pic. How insulting.

We spent 2 uncomfortable days and walked out with lack of sleep, sore, injured foot, puffy eyes and itchy skin.

The manager did not even bother to reply to my email and after a chaser I received a cut and paste reply. Ugh, don't stay here as they have no idea how to manage a hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

20 September 2022

Wonderful location, nice rooms and quality amenities within the rooms. However, the rooms are NOT at all soundproof, so we were kept awake at night and woken up in the morning every day by noise in the hallway and adjacent rooms (televisions, conversations, slamming doors). Our stay was still nice enough, but it would have been far more enjoyable had we been able to actually sleep in on a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary.

Read More
Read Less

Good central location

By

18 September 2022

Great location, friendly greeting lovely breakfast

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

18 September 2022

This is an interesting hotel. A mix of the new and old. Location is great. Had some staffing issues like most. Forgot our breakfast menu on our door which nearly made us late for a train but the folks were trying.

Read More
Read Less

Business trip in the capital

By

16 September 2022

Found the hotel to be clean with friendly and courteous staff. Very well placed for our meeting

Read More
Read Less

Great location and staff

By

15 September 2022

Great property, location and staff. Overall a well maintained property but is beginning to show the need for some refurb. Floorboards in hall very loud, rear stairwell looked like a dungeoun, etc. Overall a great IHG property in Edinburgh and would recommend to colleagues.

Read More
Read Less

recent stay

By

15 September 2022

excellent hotel, good position for attractions and tour buses
very friendly and helpful staff giving good service throughout
restaurant food good, breakfast excellent
could not fault stay, would recommend this hotel

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

10 September 2022

Excellent location, experienced and friendly staff , helpful Concerige team and nice atmosphere

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location and wonderful staff but needs updating

By

10 September 2022

You couldn't get a better location and the views from the room were absolutely amazing. The lobby was stunning and staff incredibly kind and helpful. However, the bed was too hard and a bit uncomfortable and the rooms are ready for a refresh.

Read More
Read Less