Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 685 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greate service overall My stay was very pleasant; access to immediate public transportation was a plus. The scenery was exquisite; I couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay. Thank you for making my stay comfortable Holliday Inn. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room. AMAZING VIEW!! We had an outstanding experience. Our son's wedding reception was here. From curb side to check out...........PERFECT! We were treated so wonderfully by all of the staff. Our room was clean and that view~ WOW! Top of the list if I need to stay in Chicago! August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view When we checked in we were thanked for being a "loyal" customer. Because we were "loyal" customers we could choose from some candy bars. My wife asked for M&M, I asked for the same. The desk clerk then said, " we only give out one gift per room." I looked at my wife, who was trying to hold in her laughter. My wife then said to me, I am so impressed with you being a loyal customer. You are so loyal they can only afford to give you 1 $.75 M&M and 1 $.25 bottle of water. The beds were double beds. I travel all over the Midwest and the Plains. This is the first time I have had a double bed. I usually stay in hotels 1/2 this price, with refrigerators, and microwaves and queen to king size beds. This was our first time in Chicago. It was quite a feat just to get to the 15th floor where the hotel started. August 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not good the reception did not have the prepaid info on site gave me a huge song and dance even though i had the card number exp dates sec code etc i gave them my personnal credit card on the understanding they would not charge it and i would get the actual card xeroxed and sent before i check out the next day [it was 9 pm at this point] when i woke up ther bill was under my door charged to my debit card!!! much confusuion blamed the manager from the night before even though i really explaioned to the manager useless stasff managers cannot make decisions never stay there again and ive been staying there for 15 years!!!!!!!!! August 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pay for the View Was disappointed in room. Only had standard size beds, when we thought we were getting queens. The bed mattresses and pillows were hard. The shower head was a combined permanent and hand held shower attachment, however the hand held attachment didn't work and I thought the shower head was going to come off because it was so loose. They only gave us 3 towels, when we had registered for 4 people to stay in room. We stayed 2 nights and had to ask for extra towel both nights. Price for room was expensive and room did not have a microwave or refrigerator. Definitely paying for the view, which was beautiful, and the central downtown location. The biggest pro was that all the shops were within walking distance and it was easy to catch the train to all other locations too far to walk to like Wrigley Stadium. Also another pro was that it had a huge swimming pool and fitness center. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Really great location with a taxi cue just out front. Friendly staff and outgoing concierge service. Large, spacious, remodeled rooms. Couldn't hear any other guests. We had connecting, which was great for our needs. Nice pool, but no jacuzzi. Open until 11pm. Good food at the restaurant for reasonable prices, but expensive drinks. (Beer=$8) Parking actually would've been cheaper if we had just paid in the lot instead of with the hotel. Interesting views. We were on the 23rd floor facing the river. Elevators weren't always all functioning and had to wait a bit. August 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too expensive with nothing to add to compensate price You arrive to this hotel with no where to park your vehicle or instructions. The reception desk is on the 15th floor. There was only 1 of 3 elevators operating. You have to go back down to the 1st floor to park your car, which is 3 floors down (but to the exterior). Now you have to carry your luggage up 3 floors of stairs, to get to the elevator that will get you to the 15th floor to get your parking slip validated. When questioned about having to carry my luggage up from the parking lot, they state that somebody should have been there to hold your luggage (all three somebodies were talking together on the 15th floor). Besides I would be expected to tip these individuals as well. Had an A/C unit that sounded like it was about to explode. Had to climb under the desk to plug in two lamps for the desk (probably knocked out by vacuum). TV did not work. Had maintenance check on it but said somebody else would have to look at it the next morning. Nobody did. My complaints were met with a shrug by the counter employee. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greatest Room EVER! Yeah, I know what you are thinking ... Holiday Inn? It's true. Room 1616 is the Greatest Room EVER! I checked in really late, Midnight, and my reservation was for a King Bed. I work in the building and was coming in to sleep, wake up and go to work. The staff had me switched into Room 1616 which was a suite the size of 3 rooms with a conference table with a fridge, a sitting area with a big screen, and a separate bedroom. The view is great, facing west with a view of 3 branches of the Chicago River. Wow. Great Job Holiday Inn Merch Mart!! August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice decoration in the new remodeled rooms It was too complicated for parking, and too expensive too $45.00 per night only to park not even valet, the price is too expensive to go through all the trouble of going in a building which is not even a hotel and then go find it in the top floors - too many elevators to take to get to the looby. service at front desk wasnt great, they dont treat you like a person but one money dollar sign. they offered us city view room and when we got there they said " oh, it is not guarantee that you get it, so we did not, we were looking to the inside of a building, not fun, and too much money to get that room. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and window views Less than two blocks to the L - all of it traversable indoors. Hotel is next to the Merchandise Mart where the Brown line stops. Hotel is also where the Chicago River splits. The main part of the river comes in from Lake Michigan, and then spits north or south - and at this split is where the hotel is located. The views from the rooms, which begin on the 16th floor, are wonderful. And our room was very large. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Once you find it Walking from the subway, I had a hard time finding signage to the hotel and spent a long time wandering around the Merchandise Mart wondering where the hotel could be. Once I found it perched above the Sun Times building it was fine, but the lack of reasonably priced eating spots nearby in the evenings was a disappointment. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved chicago This was our first visit to Chicago, we stayed 3 days. When I made my reservations the women on the phone was very helpful and polite. we wanted a skyline view, so we stayed on the 23rd floor, they have a nice pool. We booked connecting rooms for the kids. We arrived at the Hotel early, so they held our bags so we could go on and enjoy our day. The beds were so comfortable, and clean. they have an on sight restaurant, or a deli down stairs. Everyone who worked there was so nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in downtown Chicago. It is in walking distance to all the shopping on the magnificent mile and many attraction, or it is just a short cab ride to every thing. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but ridiculously expensive This hotel is well situated in Chicago, it offers a nice view and offers all the services that a hotel should offer. The problem is the price. I was especially disappointed by the fact that this hotel does not offer the breakfast to his guests. A good hotel should offer it, it is a matter of politeness. I was also disappointed by the so called "business center" that charges for any copy you print. This is not business friendly. My stay here was fair enough although I have been ask too many time for my credit card to feel home. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great River View If you like Chicago and you want a good value for your money, then this is the hotel for you. It has a great location and plenty of parking. Our room overlooked the Chicago river and the view was fantastic! I will stay here again next year when I come back to visit my home town. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by liked it I was there for a conference, and I like the room and the food. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome place to stay Upon entering the building of the mart, I didn't know what to expect, especially since my teenage son complained about having to go to the 15th floor in order to check in to the hotel. Once we arrived to check in , Jay, who was exceptional, checked us in . The room we had was nice, modern , and clean. The housekeeper Latosha was great. I enjoyed the fact that I could just go to elevators and walk across an indoor crosswalk to get to another building to get my favorite popcorn place. We also did not have to walk far to get to attractions. That was my first time staying in this hotel but I will definitely stay again and again. They say first impressions are the remaining ones so I would like to thank Jay for being such a great guy by totaling making me feel comfortable after getting to the 15th floor. Thank you, Jay and also you Latosha for cleaning my room so great. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT VIEW. Great view but bedroom and bathroom were very dated. The service was very rude by both restaurant servers and concierges. The fan on the air conditioner ran nonstop even after turning it to auto. If not for the view I would have been extremely disappointed. July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service It was very frustrating staying here because every day I had a different hold/charge on my debit card... Even after we supposedly paid ahead for our rooms. When we checked in they forgot to give us our breakfast vouchers, which we finally got them 2 days later due to one front desk personnel who actually did her best help fix the situation, but the accounting service would change the bill back because they said that she did it wrong and they did not notify me of the charge they applied to my debit card. After all that, they did realize that was a mistake then they credited it back my account, but it all resulted in about $1100-1200 in holds on my bank account for 5-7 days due to the multiple authorizations they sent to my bank and my final charge was only $420! I stay at IHG hotels quite frequently and this has been one of the worst stays I've had. I would not recommend this place to anyone coming to Chicago and if I come back there are plenty of other IHG hotels in the immediate area that I could choose. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable rooms and friendly staff Great stay clse to Michigan Avenue and the Navy Pier and the L July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed I have stayed at this Holiday Inn twice a year for the past 12 years. I choose it for the very comfortable beds and the service is wonderful. The check-in is fast and the staff is very courtous. The room is always very clean, also. I would certainly recommend staying here. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent views and a skyway to Merchandise Mart Stayed here in July. Our room was wall to wall windows with great views. The air conditioning kept the room plenty cool. The restaurant downstairs was very good. The skyway to Merchandise Mart was a nice bonus. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We had a great time at the hotel and conference facility. Great service. Two Queen beds is 2/3 of the way to being accurate. Maybe "two 'almost double' beds" would be more accurate. If your wife sleeps with you, spend the extra $30 for the #1# king bed. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Conference Stay I stayed at the Chicago Mart Plaza for four nights (and five days) for a business conference. My room was very well kept, looked new, and had a beautiful view of the Chicago River at the Orleans Street Bridge. The food was very tasty, from our daily breakfast buffet to our lunches provided as part of our conference. The nightlife spent in the bar on the 15th floor was just as nice - good drinks, good wait staff, and an excellent view of the city. The staff was also very friendly with any questions i had personally, or through support of our conference coordinator. The Gym allows for a nice workout, there are dumbells, and a universal (which could use a tune-up or upgrade), and treadmills + elipicals. The Gym is spacious with a nice stretching area / area for situps. Towels are provided and so is water. The view on the treadmills is overlooking the pool, which was well kept (although I did not go in). All in all, the hotel is nicely located to many, many Chicago eating establishments and located close to the CTA (which I took from O'Hare). July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, loud air conditioners The staff overall was good, the room was nice, comfortable, and clean. We did call maintenance for our air conditioner which was loud when it was on and even louder when it cycled on/off (loud clunking). Maintenance came up and said there wasn't anything they could do about it since the unit was old. Hey, I'm paying full price, it's not my fault the unit is old! Why am I paying this much for a room with outdated equipment then? Maintenance suggested we turn off the a/c part and just leave the blower on. Really? In 90 degree weather? Again, I'm paying a lot of money to stay here and that's your answer? We complained again to the front desk upon check out and the desk clerk basically said "oh well". I like the location and the rooms were nice. The cleaning staff does a fantastic job since the hotel is well-kept. However, I'm really disappointed in the hotel's response to our complaint. Not sure I'd stay here again because of it. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago Conference Breakfast buffet nice but pricey. Not enough options at the hotel for dinner, I would stay there again!!!! July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will definitely be coming back here next time we are in the city. We stayed for two-days (a wedding-weekend) in July 2013. Decent size, clean, comfortable rooms (nothing fancy, but we don’t spend much time in our rooms, so we don’t need those frivolous frills). Staff very accommodating. Indoor pool fantastic – has walk-in entrance, so convenient, not too cold, not too hot – water was perfect! Love the pool hours, so many hotels close their pool too early and open it too late. Friendly staff at front door to hail cabs and answer questions, wonderful folks. Location is perfect, right in the middle of everything, steps away from theater district, Christkindlmarket, 7-min cab ride to Union Station, on the river. And speaking of river, the view from every window was breathtaking. Wait-staff in restaurant could smile a little and at least pretend to be friendly. Bar lounge very nice. We have stayed at several other hotels in that downtown area, but this was by-far our favorite. July 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Way to take care of your "valued" guests What started out to be an enjoyable stay turned in to disappointment pretty quickly and never got resolved to anyone's satisfaction. I was left with the experience of "It's your problem and there's nothing we can/will/or want to do about it to leave you as completely satisfied and appreciated as a guest." The manager on duty Saturday night, basically said he was too busy and tired to look in to it and told us to come see him in the morning. In the morning, when the person who was to be sharing a room with me found the manager, he was told there was nothing to be done. Overall, if I had my preference, I'd recommend to the company that blocks off rooms at the Holiday Inn to simply stop using them and funneling business to them. There are plenty more convenient options in Chicago (both in proximity to where I normally need to be and the convenience of staying somewhere with absolute certainty that I am appreciated and well taken care of). In this instance, this was a complete failure. Additionally. When I order scrambled eggs off the menu, I expect them to be freshly scrambled and not simply slopped out of the same bulk pans of scrambled eggs used for supplying the over-priced buffet line. Both times I order off the menu, my scrambled eggs were runny and watery. Not very appetizing. And is evidence of the "cut the corner" type mentality that I've now come to expect from this once fantastic establishment. I had to specifically request a working iron. The switch on the one that was originally supplied in the room was broken. Pro on this: when I called the front desk and requested a working iron, they brought what looked to be a brand new one right up, that worked great. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could of had a better stay.. Hi. my name is Christian and I stayed at your hotel last weekend. My family was looking forwards to a nice break and some relaxation at your hotel. Checking in was very pleasant staff made me fell like home. When I got to the room everything seemed fine, until I realized that there was no fridge. I specifically called and asked for it after booking room online. Do to having a one year old the fridge was a necessity, also the lady at the front desk was not going to give our room a fridge until about 3 minute into the conversation. Where I finally said something about having a baby and she said " well that the magic word". Next I proceed back to the room to my pregnant wife, and she find that the floor in front of the door that connects conjoining rooms. In this case I had to proceed three floor back to the front desk and they sent a man that didn't speak any English. Remind you at this point it was 8:30 pm after driving 4hrs down. Next they checked room over and there was nothing leaking, so the man comes back to our room and says its nothing do u want a fan. I said no and he said Ill let management know... Nothing happened until I asked the front desk again what it should be and he said probably previous guest. That's when I gave up and just tried to enjoyed my short three day vacation. July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great view but bad service and kind of loud Awesome view and a great location. Just was not impressed with their staff at all. They are rude and act liking you are wasting their time. Never experience it at hotel like that as usually in hospitality industry employees are warm and friendly. Had an awesome view outside of bedroom windows though. Also a negative was are bathroom was dirty when we checked in. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience. We stayed two nights. Enjoyed it. It was very nice. July 18, 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 24 next>>