Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and convenient Our stay here was with family for a special occasion. Every courtesy including early check in, late check out and shuttle bus service was afforded us. Staff always kind and helpful. Walking distance to downtown Portland. May 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and facilities average Bed was very uncomfortable, mattress was so soft I thought I was going to get seasick!! Every time i moved it kept moving me around. Was it a water bed? Service in restaurant was rushed as closing time approached; never offered dessert. Called enroute for pickup 1/2 hour before arrival by train and was told to call back upon arrival; then waited over 1/2 hour after arrival for pickup. Think the inn is over-hyped in the AAA guidebook. I was disappointed. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Asked for the top floor, harbor side. No problem Great room Great view Great staff Great price What more is there to say May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel ,close to everythig Stayed two nights for my daughters graduation from St. Joe's in Standish Me. Hotel is in a great spot in Portland, with a beautiful view of the bay and city. You can walk to everythig, restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotels free shuttle is an awesome bonus for inclement weather, or if your planning on having some drinks with dinner. The staff is top rate, informitive, cheerful, and willing to help with any problems. We misplaced an expensive camera while at a resturant. We called the hotel to check if we left it in our room. The front desk had housekeeping check our room. The camera was located in our room, much to our relief. I would recommend the hotel to all. When we visit Portland again, we will stay at the Holiday Inn for sure. May 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs better customer service Unfortunately our most recent stay at Holiday Inn By the Bay was not a good one. The front desk staff was very unaccommodating and just rude. We were in town to celebrate our anniversary, we had two nights booked at a great rate and our third night was to be with priority club points. We ended up leaving after the second night; it wasn’t worth the "free" night to stay there any longer. We were unable to get into our room the first day till 4:30pm. I understand the guarantee is 4:00. I am a former Holiday Inn employee, I have worked in both housekeeping and at the front desk, I totally understand. But what I didn’t like is how unhelpful the desk was, they just didn’t seem to care, they didn’t offer to take our bags or make us feel like we mattered at all. I felt like I had to cheer them up and almost apologize for bothering them. Each time they would say, check in an hour. It turns out our room had been clean most of the day, but in the computer it was showing dirty. An honest mistake that would have been discovered if a member of the desk staff had bothered to call housekeeping one of the first 4 times we came back to check on our room status between 11 and 4. The housekeeping staff was friendly in the hallway, and the room was nice and clean when we checked in, but they failed to get to our room Saturday by 2pm or Sunday by 12:30 so that's when we decided to pack it up and go elsewhere. Once again the girl at the desk was very rude when I went to ask her about changing to a check out. The bartender was great, very friendly. The van service that they offer is excellent and the driver was very helpful. Unfortunately, those two employees don't work at the front desk. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay My husband and I selected the Holiday Inn because it was conveniently located to the location of where we were picking up a tour bus and it was reasonably priced. The room was clean, the food at the in-hotel restaurant was fabulous, and every staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. The bed was a little hard on me, but I slept better than I do at most hotels. We were very happy with our stay and will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again when we visit Portland. Oh, the only "downfall" was that there is no hot tub with the indoor pool. That would have been lovely, but the pool was fine. May 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a nights rest I came to Portland to celebrate a friend's birthday and it served its purpose for that one night. This hotel has a shuttle that will take you to and from the bars and it's complimentary. That was possibly the best feature about this place. The room was clean and everything was functioning. The bed was clean and comfortable to sleep in. The pool is extremely warm though, they hold the temperature at 82 degrees which is ridiculous in my opinion. The entire room is like a sauna. Overall, my experience wasn't bad just average. May 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Level I have stayed at this property on several occasions this time I was in a room on the second level near the roof side where the mechanical room must be. All night we heard large fans running all night sounded like a jet engine outside our room window. The room was clean and comfortable but the noise level was unbearable we did not sleep at all that night. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Staff, Sub Par Facilities Awesome location, walking distance to great bars and restaurants. Free parking for customers. Staff was polite and helped with everything. The hallway on the top floor had an odd odor. Smelled like a kennel. Room had no odor, old bed, average bathroom. Everything in the room was clean and dated. With a view of the bay and great staff, definitely recommend. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tattoo Trish It was a great experience until the 4th night when they asked if they could move my room because they would be drilling in the morning, so I agreed, and that night was terrible, with neighbors who kept slamming doors all night long. I would have sooner woke up to the drilling, at least I would have gotten sleep in the night sleep. But before that happened, my experience was 5 Star. The staff was all friendly, nice, the bell hops/shuttle drivers were excellent! The food was very, very good right there in the Hotel dining room. Should I be fortunate enough to make another trip to Maine, I would definitly stay there again. It's also a perfect location. Only thing it lacks is a place to sit outside when the weather is nice. It could even be on a roof top! Just a thought! Thanks for the great stay!! Trish May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Helpful Staff Award For an institutional hotel--Holiday Inn--this one is distinguished by its extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had many, many questions about where to eat, which way to walk, where to find the best coffee in Portland, etc., and the front desk staffers were very helpful and friendly, way beyond what you normally get in a hotel. The desk was always staffed with at least 2 people, and they were willing to engage in conversation as if they had all the time in the world, which was not the case since the lobby was bustling. The room was comfortable and clean, the price pretty good--I'd stay there again. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sparkling Clean Easy to find Hotel, but out of the way...Close to the Old Port and the Civic Center. Super clean hotel, modern and comfortable. Enjoyed my room with the view of the Bay at all different times of the day! Comfortable bed, pleasant hotel staff. 'Goody bag' from the Hotel for using my Priority Club Rewards card was a nice little treat! Thank you for making my stay for a two-day conference a memorable one! I look forward to staying there again! April 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Time for an overhaul! We have stayed here many times because it offers afordable acess to our nearby family. This will our our last stay unless significant improvements are made. It is dated, drab, smells of smoke and seems to attract some questinable types in its common areas and outside. We had to call twice for linens for the sofa bed for our grandchildren, there were soiled linens on the sofa bed when we opened it as well as crushed cookies etc. underneath it and the telephone line was so filled with static that we could barely hear our callers. The dining room staff and front desk staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Unfortunately, this did not make up for the depressing physical plant. Hopefully, help is on the way!! April 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hair In Bed Unfortunately, my recent stay at the HI Portland, ME was not good. First of all they only provide a wireless connection. I need an ethernet line for internet connection for business. Secondly, the sheets were less than fresh. Upon pulling the covers back on the bed when I initially arrived in the room, there were several strands of long blond hair in the bed (and I'm not blond, I'm actually bald), the duvet cover had pill-balls all over it, and the pillow cases were not fresh. I asked for an extra set to be brought up to the room and they brought me a queen set and the bed was a king. The shower rod in the bathroom was barely mounted and hanging precariously off kilter. Needless to say, I planned on staying in this hotel for my entire trip (4 nights) but I painfully only stayed one night and quickly switched to the Hampton Inn right down the street (it was awesome by comparison). April 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep A very disappointing Holiday Inn. I am a Priority Club member and have stayed at many Holiday Inn hotels. On the plus side, I did get a free drink in the bar, which was appreciated. However, I left a day earlier than expected because my room was cold, the bed had insufficient warmth (no extra blankets or pillows to be had in addition to the very light covering), and there was no customary newspaper outside my door in the morning. The hotel needs an overall renovation; it was tired and old. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! Great stay, great view, very nice restaurant and a very relaxing stay. Thank you TEAM BY THE BAY!! April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent two night stay. Great room and view. Service fantastic. Lounge area comfortable and relaxing. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Security guards The security guards were a bit to much. They walked around and circled us our entire stay because we were with a bunch of kids. Didn't really appreciate a 20 year old want to be cop harassing us and following our every move. At one point I went up to the room because I wanted privacy and he followed us up there and had the nerve to knock on our door to tell us to keep it down when we were playing with a ipad not evening talking. The keys to the room also kept deactivating which was a pain. had to get at least 5 new keys for a 2 night stay. Besides that the room was nice, clean and beds were comfortable. Had breakfast at the restaurant and it was good. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable Walking distance to the State Theater and the Civic Center April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home sweet home Super place to stay, location is perfect, price is great, service is the best, thank you. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Overall a good stay with a spacious room. Food and service in the lounge was good and front desk staff were very friendly. The only down side was the AC/heater in the room had a rattle that started late in the evening, but didn't want to call to get it fixed at that hour. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay We travel many places in a year and Keith in sales and the Lady supervisor in the dining room are the BEST. Great service great stay year after year. Thanks for all you do for us each March when we come to the AA convention March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by worst mattress - sat in desk chair most of the night I.m sorry to say I was dissappointed this stay. I would normally give it an excellent rating my other stays, but the mattress was hard as a rock & wasn't happy with the set up of the executive suite. I think the set up of other rooma are much more comfortable with a table and two comforable chairs. The only other chair was in a cornor off to the side & couldn't be used with couch. The service was great as usual. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable, quiet, and accommodating My room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and blessedly quiet. The staff were efficient, pleasant, and helpful. Food was delicious, service was prompt and attentive without intruding. Absolutely no complaints - would stay there again and highly recommend. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As usual I had a great stay at Holiday Inn by the bay. Clean room , great food Thank you March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by sheets I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for years and have always enjoyed my stay. Nancy and the crew are very profesional but at the same time warm and friendly! The only hickup with my last stay was that the bed sheet was clean but very "pilled". I did leave a note for house keeping suggesting that they retire the worn sheets... March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! My wife and 2 boys(9 & 11) have actually stayed here a few times. It is a great place, pool....real nice. The staff are all excellent. The rooms are clean and kept up nice. We will be back!! February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Hotel is well located to waterfront and Congress Street action. Portland is a very nice city if you like historic surroundings with today's amenities. View from my room was great and staff is very friendly. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to attend Cumberland Couty Civic Center We went to see Disney on Ice at the Civic Center. It's the best location you can get, it's just a few steps from it. Our 2-3 year old children were able to walk themselves to there ! So no need to find a parking ... & no need to pay for parking for the show ! The hotel's indoor parking is great especially during winter ! Room was a little pricy, but I guess the upside of the location was worth the difference. Rooms were great. Staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. Only thing that wasn't top notch has been service at the restaurant ... but hey, can't give the hotel a bad review just because of 1 bad server or 1 good server that was having a bad day ! By the way, buffet at the restaurant was great too ! Children had a blast at the pool ... wished they had a hot tob for the parents ! Priority Club Members that were travelling with us were spoiled ... wish I was one too !! February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for the ride This is our third visit in the last six months. Having been innkeepers in Camden, Maine for 14 years we know a lot about comfortable rooms and attentive staff. Where the Portland-By the Bay Holiday Inn excels is in guest services. During our visits I have been a patient at Maine Medical Center . On each visit the hotel has provided transportation so that she could visit me at least once a day. The inn is not far from the hospital, but at our age a ride is most welcome. Please pass my thanks to your great staff. Peter T February 13, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>