Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 232 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, just a small walk from all there is to do Really enjoyed the stay. The room was big and comfortable. Enjoyed the walk to both Gunwarf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. I also found the staff friendly and able to help. The workout area and pool felt both safe and comfortable. Seemed very family friendly. A warning to those not willing to do a little walking, this hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the mall and the HMS Victory. However, it is closer to the D-Day Memorial. Overall, I"d recommend. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great stay Lovely friendly staff all seem to go the extra mile to welcome , the girl serving the coffee in the morning took time to ask if i had slept well so nice that you have staff who go the extra mile and make people feel welcome , i am back down this Wednesday for my third stay in three weeks and getting very fond of the place , well done to all see you soon Grant July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good breakfast, quiet Overlooking the Southsea common and sea, this is a great location. The entrance, bar and restaurant are clean and modern. Staff are polite and friendly. The rooms are good with air conditioning and flat screen tv with HD. There's a safe in the room to keep your valuables safe (it's free too). Includes ironing board and iron. My room had a shower over a bath but it was nice and powerful. Only had breakfast, but the choice was good and service brill. Only the scrambled eggs had cause for concern! Parking is a bit limited, but we always found a space. The location is only 10mins walk from Southsea or Gunwharf Keys, so is ideal if you're choosing a hotel to see these sights. It's a long walk to Portsmouth centre though. Can't really fault the hotel and will no doubt stay again. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Very comfortable stay. Excellent, friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent service and good quality food in the restaurant. I fully recommend this hotel. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience The breakfast was excellent. The choice and the quality of food could not be faulted. It was unfortunate that there was only one member of staff at the bar on Saturday, 5th July at lunchtime, since the bar area was fairly busy and we did not get our drinks until the food arrived. The staff were friendly and helpful. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed Although had a comfy room my main complaints are the lack of parking spaces allocated to guests. After travelling for four hours or more I think there should be more spaces, but instead these are used by leisure members. 2nd complaint was the breakfast - food piping hot, served on cold plates, then having to eat your food under air conditioning units. Result equals horrible cold and greasy food. July 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location,great staff and food. We have stayed at this hotel many times and cannot fault the staff, food or rooms,however on this ocation the room was a little small, especially the bathroom July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ask for a decent sized bathroom For a Holiday Inn, this is average in most respects. I have stayed at hundreds of Holiday Inns and have stayed at this particular one half a dozen times. We were caught out by the size of the bathroom which was pitifully small. You fell over the toilet trying to close the bathroom door. 2 people simply cannot get into the bathroom together. We only realised how small the bathroom was after completely unpacking and after a long tiring journey, couldn't be bothered asking for a room change. The building is quite old but it is decent inside. If you get a reasonable sized bathroom it is fine but avoid our room - 624! July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrive early is you want safe parking - and don't expect too much... I used this hotel as a one-night stay before leaving early for Goodwood Festival of Speed. I arrived at about 8:00pm and since the hotel only has a small number of parking spaces, they were all taken and I had to leave my car parked on the road nearby - hardly secure. I wanted to leave early the next morning to avoid traffic, but was assured that breakfast would be available from 6:30am the next morning - marginal for my plans, but just OK. However, when I (and a coachload of Germans) arrived for breakfast at that time the next morning, nobody was to be seen. It was close to 7:00 before we could sit down - and no explanation or apology was given. Overall the hotel is a bit of a tired waterfront property that has had some internal refurbishment, but that doesn't totally mask the (not good) feeling of age. While nothing was horrendous (aside from the continual worry about whether my car's windows would still be OK the next morning), I would not stay here again by choice. I would prefer to drive an extra 50 miles and stay elsewhere. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Portsmouth Holiday Inn Stay here often for business. Super location and you get what you expect from the Holiday Inn group July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn portsmouth The problem we had was car parking as the car park was full there were cars parked in none spaces so as we pulled in to check in we found it difficult to manoeuvre and find room to turn round to leave the car park. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Good place to have value for money. The hotel location is very strategic and well located for both business and pleasure guests. The hotel gym though small is okay for the size of the hotel but the fitness machines are okay for their purposes. In all, if the hotel management listens more to guests suggestions, this is the hotel to beat in Portsmouth. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff but minor problems Excellent location and staff were great when you needed some help. Reception staff were very helpful when approached but during my stay I did not see them acknowledge guests passing the desk . The daily "treats " for guests in Reception is a great idea and much appreciated. Powered scrambled eggs for breakfast a real pity. The chef is great and the quality of his cooking first class but the ingredients leave a lot to be desired, especially at the price charged. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel very central to all locations we wanted. This is the second time we have stayed here.First time was very good ,the room was on the third floor ,Lifts were good and quick.Staff were very happy and cheerful.We had breakfast which was buffet so could pick what you fancied.There was no problems at all.So decided to go back there and to our surprise we had the same room as last time. So the holiday at the hotel was fine.Will go back again. June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a lick of paint This hotel is tired , but the location is excellent . The car park is very tight and too small for a full. Hotel so get there early June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what you expect for a holiday inn Came in late from Ferry and there was no parking available. Gym was closed at 11pm and did not reopen until 6.30am Was not told at reception that breakfast ended at 9.30am and arrived at 9.35am and told it was finished Staff need to understand what global customers need Stayed at other holiday inn 2 days ago and was 200 percent better Internet is real slow Will not stay here again June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay when visiting Portsmouth We visit Portsmouth on a regular bases for weekend breaks and this hotel is ideal. I have never had a reason to complain. The reception is very well run, the staff are helpful and friendly. You can start each day with a good breakfast which is very good value. We have rebooked for next month 10 out of 10 June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service A really good hotel ideally located for all that Portsmouth has to offer. Rooms were clean and fresh and the staff really friendly and helpful. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Very Poor in term of parking and too expensive for food for what choices you have!! June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location The Holiday Inn at Southsea is a good location for Portsmouth Business work. The staff are always helpful and respectful. Car parking facilities could be better i.e more of them would help. I will stay there again June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday standards declining This is no longer aquality hotel group as evidenced by this stay.It compares poorly with recent stays with Hilton,Novotel ,Van der valk and Premier Inn. Dreadful assembled mea,for the bit I got l,poor service at a high price. Room very tired ,no excuse for aknackered chair with threadbare arms. Reaction by reception was cleaners don't check this June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasant Air Quality. Portsmouth is a tourist destination. In many parts of the world smoking is discouraged and even banned in public places eg near the entrance to buildings. As the smoking zone at this hotel for both guests and staff is within several metres of the front door it was EXTREMELY unpleasant walking out of the door into a cloud of filthy cigarette smoke. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by review I have been staying at the Portsmouth / Southsea Holiday Inn at least 3- 4 days a month for the past few years now, I am completely happy with the ambience, the rooms are nice and comfortable. I only occaisionally eat at the restaurant in the evening and find the food very nice and a reasonble cost. Breakfast is very good with the option of a full english or just continental and fruits. The staff are all excellent and very helpfull. Now the minus points. Parking can be a little problematic if you arrive after 5 pm as the car park tends to fill up quite quickly, but you can park in the road, but be gone by 8 in the morning as the parking becomes payable and parking wardens are about. You can of course park in the disabled only bays at the hotel like several ignorant people sem to do. I have mentioned this to management but they seem to ignore it. Sometimes getting into and out of the front entrance you have to walk past the stinking smokers and cigarette butts on the floor, not nice. Finally in this age of modern TV aand freeview why does this particular hotel only have about 12 channels?? Others have full freeview. Also some of the rooms i have had suffer from picture break up. But all in all i would still prefer to stay at the hotel June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for the D-Day celebrations. Room was comfortable, clean and just big enough. Pillows were not the best. Wifi was NOT free. No fridge in the room. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room Quite a small room and even smaller bathroom. Door stop located in bathroom directly in front of sink ideally placed to stub a toe. Good area with plenty of night life. Not recognized as a Platinum member June 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Stay Ever On my first night when the restaurant was almost empty I was told that I would need to come back in 30 mins as they were to busy. Upon returning to the restaurant I was seated and asked if I would like bread and olives to which I said yes but these never arrived, I then had to wait around 1 hour 30 mins for my food to arrive. After this I never had an evening meal in the restaurant and opted for room service instead and on one occasion I was given the wrong main course because the person taking the order wasn’t paying attention. Every morning when I arrived at the restaurant for breakfast I was asked If I would like tea or coffee but only on 1 day did It actually receive any. Also when returning to my room in the evening the towels I had placed in the bath to be replaced were just hung back up and the Tea, Coffee June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms, but very poor service With great difficulty, had tried to reserve two rooms, one with a cot, for our family which included a baby. Impossible to confirm in writing there would be a cot, though assured there would be, but there wasn't one in either room, even though I requested one again on arrival and check-in. Only when my daughter with the baby arrived to check in at Reception did they then arrange for Housekeeping to put one in their room, which caused great stress. Very poor customer service at Reception and when we left in the morning and handed in our keys, we weren't even acknowledged by the staff behind the desk, let alone asked about our stay or wished a good journey. Similarly when we went down to the Bar for a drink in the evening, it took ages for us to be served, even though it was obvious we were waiting to order and there were staff around. This is a customer-led business with competition and they need to do more training in customer service!! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel position This hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great position. There was some lovely walks by the Solent on the way to Old Portsmouth where there was plenty to see with many places to shop. A visit to the top of the Spinnaker Tower is a must. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Once again excellent I had to stay late in Portsmouth because of a short notice meeting so this was a short notice booking for me , all done very efficiently over the phone, and at check in also very efficient. everything sorted in a flash. I stayed in 571 and was a nice room, everything was good. Stayed here many times before and have notice recently that this hotel is always improving, and standards are being maintained. well done to the team there. Once again excellent Thanks June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Enjoyable stay but a bit pricey for bed only overnight stay when clearly there are rooms available. June 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>