• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish
  3. Russian

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Drayton Manor Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • Our hotel has a two-level car park. There is a parking charge of £5.00 for non-IHG Rewards Club members and £3.00 for IHG Rewards Club members. Please note that there is a maximum vehicle hight restriction of 1.8 metres.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham.


It offers on-site parking, as well as many other conveniences, such as a bar, restaurant and state-of-the-art meeting rooms, with all of the computer facilities/office equipment that you need. Breakfast is also included and gets your day off to a
View More

Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham.


It offers on-site parking, as well as many other conveniences, such as a bar, restaurant and state-of-the-art meeting rooms, with all of the computer facilities/office equipment that you need. Breakfast is also included and gets your day off to a good start with a continental choice and three hot items.


Expect a warm welcome from our friendly team at this Birmingham Hotel. The staff go out of their way to make sure visitors enjoy their stay in Birmingham with maximum comfort, making it stand out from other hotels in Birmingham.


We offer high quality bedrooms, meeting rooms and a fantastic restaurant. Take a look around the hotel yourself via our virtual tour.


The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham–South A45, is situated on the Coventry Road, conveniently just off the M6, making it easily accessible for conferences, events, parties or a quick stop-over if you’re making a quick visit to the city.


This Birmingham Hotel is also near to the Birmingham International Airport (BHX ) and Birmingham’s city centre, both situated only five miles away.

View Less
Features
Our Birmingham hotel is on one of Birmingham's major arterial roads. It therefore has great connections to Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham International Airport, the National Exhibition Centre, NIA and LG Arena. We also have 83 rooms at the hotel, if you are looking to stay in Birmingham, and all guest rooms have Internet access. You can also take advantage of our business services.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 341 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General Experience Registration at reception was Ok, but I would suggest that customers should be able to log their details on line prior to arriving at the hotel to save time, queuing, looking for glasses, and trying to remember car registration plate numbers. There were lifts to the room but I would also like the option to use the stairs but I couldn't find them? The room was very nice, standard for this type of hotel. However the room was unbearably hot when I arrived. Buffet breakfast was ok but I couldn't initially find where all the different types of food were located, signs on or above the counter would help. Food was good. Generally I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for standard 4* accommodation. January 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice modern rooms but poor service I suppose it lives up to the name of crown plaza when the room comfort and general decor is concerned. Generally clean but a close inspection prevents an excellent rating, still good. Location is not best as there is nothing around, unless it's for NEC centre. So not for a leisure type stay. Reception and checkout was trouble free and is not a reflection of poor service. It's the breakfast which killed it. The choice of continental stuff was poorer than a holiday inn Express and the idea of hot food on order failed it miserably. The waiting time for a humble egg, beans with hash brown was an hour. It wasn't crowded at all... Empty chairs all around still we got our chairs after 15 minutes wait. I think there was a lack of staff and poor state of service. I am glad we didn't opt for dinner the previous night. We were able to order hot food 30 minutes wait and calling for the staff on duty a few times. It only arrived after another 40 minutes wait. So all in all the biggest disappointment of our stay. I suppose for the price of room it was extremely cheap for a crown plaza.... So if you can opt for breakfast elsewhere it may be better. However as I said nothing in vicinity so be prepared to drive away or stay at the one in the city. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and average service. Location of hotel good to venue. Very comfortable and clean room. Some bar and restaurant staff below average - stood around talking amongst themselves, not particularly friendly or interactive, limited menu choices due to unavailability of certain items (" none left - no apology"). Breakfast average, poor continental choice compared to crowne plaza in city centre, had to ask for tea and coffee because we were not offered after we were shown to the table for some time. Reception staff good although after asking for our feedback, listened and apologised but action not followed up with the promise of a call from customer service. Feedback is only valuable if the information is used to attempt improvements, not just filed away. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff always exceptional at this Crowne Plaza We've stayed here several times now and the staff have always all been so friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is well organised for those days when there is an event on at NEC or LG Arena. The rooms are comfortable and quiet with blissfully comfortable beds and bedding. I recommend this hotel highly. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ticks the Boxes Stayed overnight for a vist to LG Arena, perfect location. No problems with our stay, would stay again if in the Area. Usual Hotel let down with poor quality Sausages for breakfast, but hey minor fault, would still recommend to others. December 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre (at best) Bathroom had 3 pieces of broken glass, living room had one. Other than that, rooms generally very clean. Had dinner at hotel too, summary is overpriced and poor quality. Breakfast was poor (and overpriced too) Evening restaurant staff were generally a bit on the grumpy side but this was more than compensated by the breakfast and reception staff who were all extremely pleasant. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! We booked the concert package, amazing value for money! Hotel was everything we could've asked for! Definitely stay there again! December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous breakfast, friendly staff Situated within easy walking distance of the NEC arena, close to Birmingham International Airport and with good travel links to the city centre, this hotel is in an ideal location. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and a decent sized bathroom. There are the usual tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer etc. The bar area was clean with a good choice of beverages including Starbucks coffee. The buffet breakfast was really good. There was plenty of choice and the food was hot and tasted fresh. The breakfast staff were really friendly and welcoming. If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel, in a good location, this is a great choice. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay My friend and I stayed 1 night at this hotel after a concert at the LG arena, our stay was very very pleasant, the room was very well equipped and spacious and the in room dinner service was excellent as we could eat before we went over to the arena. The food was very nice. The only down side we had was being woken up at 3am due to noisy staff in the smoking area. We told the staff this upon check out- they didn't charge for our parking! :) we will be back!!! December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fab Fantastic stay lovely and clean value for money the only thing is wifi should be included also I booked a concert package that included dinner they sent us to the restaurant it wasn't open as it it was early but I booked a concert and needed to be at the lg for six thirty but a lovely man took us upstairs were we had a wonderful meal they got soya milk for me at Starbucks which was great they did try to charge me for car parking on check which was included in the concert package other than a few things we were made to feel special thankyou December 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unwanted early morning call Even though I live local I decided to stay as I was at the NEC for an xmas party and didn't want to woken at 6am by young son. When booking I ticked for an optional upgrade and was given this on check-in. I was offered a wake up call and said that would not be required. The room was as expected with a very comfortable bed, blackout curtains and even a sleeping kit! I decided to watch a movie on the on demand system but was very disappointed that for the price of a cinema ticket all I got was a glitch ridden, just watchable experience. After a late night I was looking forward to a late start but was woken at around 8 am by some loud internal banging that lasted for a few minutes stopping and starting. I was now awake! On check out I was asked how my stay was and explained as above. I was told it may have been some workman they had on site and I received an apology and free parking - I would have much preferred an uninterrupted nights sleep! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer experience Myself and a friend enjoyed an excellent stay at this hotel. On arrival our room was not ready, however thanks to the accommodating staff we were offered a complimentary drink and to relax in the spacious bar. The room was great, with a great view of the NEC Lake. We both got a double bed each and could not recommend the quality of the sleep enough. To top it off, we received sleeping kits with aromatherapy remedies. Great touch. All the staff were great; very helpful & knowledgeable. Room service was quick and great quality. Big thank you to the member of reception who informed us about the shuttle bus service. We really appreciated this and was a great end to our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Overall, the hotel had a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, perfect for our first visit to Birmingham and the NEC complex. Recommend it to anyone attending the LG arena or NEC. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great food and excellent service We booked the concert package which included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and car parking. All the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. The LG Arena was just a 5 minute walk along the side of the lake and when the new complex next door is opened there will be even more facilities available. Would definitely stay again and not just for the concerts. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Will definately return. Me and My mum stayed here the night before visiting the clothes show and were very impressed with the hotel and the staff. Hotel was incredibly clean and very modern. In the evening we didnt particuarly fancy what was on the restaurant or lounge bar menu so we asked at reception where we could go nearby. The girl on reception advised us that there werent many nearby restaurants but we would be able to go to a number of Balti houses for a small taxi fare. We decided to go to "The Titash" which provided an excellent meal for a good price. The only slight dissapointment with my stay was the lack of free wifi. We stayed at the crowne because we were visiting the Clothes Show the next day and it was only a 5 minite walk (at most) to the NEC so it was ideal! We didnt have breakfast included with our room so grabbed something at the NEC Wetherspoon for a fair price. Also - I have trouble sleeping in hotel rooms and unfamiliar beds but I had an excellent night sleep in a very comfortable bed! December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Soft bed, hot room and woken up by builders Bed too soft. Room too hot and couldn't cool it down unless window open. Woken up by neighbouring building site/builders working from before 8am on a Sunday morning. Ruined our expensive weekend away. Was birthday present for my husband. Never again!! December 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel I've stayed in to date If you want constant banging from the building work then come to this hotel. I didn't state anywhere on there website about this building work which would disrupt my stay. Not only that our ticket said check out at 12. So the receptionist rudely said "well il change it just this one" not only to get a knock at 11am saying we have to check out. No no no! Poor block got put right in his place. Also I liked the fact u had to pay for wifi and I love the small print on the room service menu. Put your glasses on to read the 3.50 room service charge. I would of got the food myself if I had known that. Stay again........ Yeah right! December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great/Excellant food Really nice stay and the food in the resturant was eceptionally good. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay I had lost my voice and when we went to breakfast, the manager (sorry, I didnt get his name!!) offered me hot water with lemon and honey! Really nice touch. The whole of our stay was excellent December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff, good room and great food This is one of the many times I have chosen the NEC Crowne Plaza whilst attending various events at the NEC and the staff were very friendly and helpful as usual. We did notice that the carpet in the room was wet in some places obviously as a result of being cleaned but avoiding that small area was no big deal. The heating in the room was barely able to warm the room up but we like our room to be warm, it didn't reach the 24 degrees it was set to but the air conditioning units in this hotel are quite old. We ordered in room dining and the food was excellent, both the quality and the portions were very good indeed. Once the room next door had quietened down we had a very good nights sleep. The breakfast included was a very good quality (apart from the defrosted melon balls) and there was certainly plenty of choice to fill yourself up for the day ahead. As always the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is, however, the first time that I have been charged £10 to park in the car park whilst staying at the hotel and would make me think twice about staying here when the main car park next door is only charging £8! The hotel is a very short walk from the NEC itself and indeed closer than normal car parked which is potentially the only benefit to staying at the hotel car park, if you have stayed the night and paid for the room though, this should be included and always has been so policy must have changed. In all its an ok hotel to stay in, made great by the staff that work here. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not quiet right Booked for 3, checked in as 3, clarified by staff. Room set for 2. Requested linen, gown, towels and mug for third person, waited over an hour and got linen and towel. Due to Xmas party, couldn't get to bar, gave up. Room comfort difficult to obtain, either have noise of fan and cooler room or turn it off and have over warm room. This is alongside pillows which were as hard as rocks. So to a sleepless night. Trainee advised that breakfast was included in package........ Oh no it wasn't. At least we didnt get a view of a crane & building works. Claire did offer 25% of total bill.... Small consolation. Disappointing as previous stay was satisfactory. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom and Service Strong smell of damp in bathroom. Housekeeper should check behind bathroom door for cleanliness. One restaurant waitress clearly not enjoying job, wasn't rude just disinterested. Overall a pleasant stay. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 ideal for nec Perfect location , easy access from motorway, short walk from nec , November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bar Menu in Restaurant Booked to include Dinner and Breakfast, found that in the restaurant the only menu available because of it being prepaid was the bar menu, disappointing as i was looking forward to trying a steak as advertised in the foyer. The bar also did not stock a decent whisky and when asked for a Canada Dry the barman went to the wine fridge? On the plus side a excellent nights sleep and a good choice for breakfast. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by For a convention hotel, just great This is my second stay and it gets better each year. Friendly staff with a warm vibrant feel to the hotel. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NEC Bike show stop over Booked the Crowne Plaza as a treat for Us prior to the evening of the NEC Bike Show. Was told by central reservations that our room was a queen sized double, overlooking the lake to the rear of the hotel. True enough but they forgot to mention the half but leisure complex and four large cranes that greeted us when when looked out of the window, and no amount of Canada Geese could disguise that eye sore. Room itself was comfortable and clean, and we really enjoyed our stay in it. Towels , bathrobes, soaps etc were all present and correct, which was good. And the bed was very comfortable, with plenty of room for two too sprawl around in. Sadly the sink had a (very) large crack in it, tried to call this in to reception but they just don't seem to wanna answer their phone anytime soon, and when I went to report it in person, no queue of people, just stood there chatting..hmmm!! As with several places in the hotel the wood work in the room, notably the second level drawer, was a bit tatty, and the drawer didn't open !! Wining and dining.. good food , good service, nice dining area, but must agree with several other reviews to warn of the prices. £15.00 for a chicken burger, and £18.00 for two after dinner Baileys is just not cricket, even allowing for hotel prices... not funny !! Brekkie was really good (tatty woodwork in dining room again Chaps), and the food and selection was excellent, and not bad value for a large hotel either, which literally left a good taste in mouths. Overall, despite the above whinging, we did actually enjoy our stay, and with a bit more attention to detail, and customers, combined with a little less American - esk attitude toward pricing, and The Crowne Plaza would be a stonkingly good hotel. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 very enjoyable stay We very much enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza as we always do. The staff are always very helpful and polite, nothing is to much trouble. We will be back again. November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An Excellent Family Stay We stayed here for one night whilst we were attending the car show at the NEC. Location is ideal and it was only short walk to the NEC. We stayed here with our 2 year old son. We must say that the Reception Staff were extremely helpful when we arrived. The room was very comfortable and clean with everything that you would expect. We dined in the bar in the early evening, the food was ok although we would have preferred other menu options. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and we must say that the staff here were the most pleasant and 'happy', and made our stay even better. They made a special effort with our son which was lovely. He entertained himself checking out the xmas presents underneath the beautiful xmas tree. We would highly recommend and we would definitely return. November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Check-in inneficiency I am not sure why this happens only at this hotel, I am an platinum ambassador member and every time I show up to this hotel, my reservation never has my member number nor do they recognize me as one and this really needs to be resolved quicikly I had the same problem in your Crowne Plaza City Centre and one of the reasons I moved to this one but if it continues, I will be forced to change again. In the last two trips, I request for a call to be made at 6 am, a newspaper to be delivered, and to have access to free internet, as my perks allow but to no avail, all of these are inconsistent in delivery. The weke up call is not made everyday and not on time, the paper is not there at the time I leasve for breakfast or the ofifce, and the internet, I end up paying everysingle time as the free access does not come up. have mentioned it several times to staff and I get vouchers to complete.which is really time consuming. Next rip I will be trying the indigo hotel in city centre and see how it works. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great Bed no complaints at all We only stayed one night before travelling but the staff were excellant - all looked happy to greet us and very helpfull. What more can we say. Would difinitely stay again if we have to come that way. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff The staff were excellent during our short stay. Friendly , obliging and nothing was too much trouble. A real credit to the hotel. November 14, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 Front of Hotel A warm welcome awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express B'ham-South Front Desk Our staff will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive The Great Room
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading