Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 128 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, very clean, very good breakfast Stayed two different nights & in two different types of room. The staff was very friendly and professional. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good and there was a nice selection of food choices. My only complaint is that the fitness room could use an update. The equipment needed maintenance. Being a fitness enthusiast, I normally choose hotels that offer a fitness center, and I am more likely to revisit properties that have quality equipment and suitable space to use it. All-in-all, a terrific hotel, and I would recommend it to others. July 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Why they even have a workout room? Who knows.... The treadmill is cheap and the track sticks each time you place a foot down, making you feel unstable (I weigh 180 lbs). The elliptical won't even turn over a full rotation before getting stuck. The free weights are nice but there's no bench or anything to sit on or do anything with, so that really restricts what you can do. The only thing that works is the excercise bike. It was awkward when a second guest came in to use the room and I had to watch him realize that the only thing left was the bike. Then I felt rushed. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay We recently spent a week here, visiting family. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had a wide variety of choices, and the breakfast lady was the best, always smiling and very helpful. What a nice way to start the day. The pool was relaxing. The location was very convenient to the middle of Branford. Next door served some of the best pizza EVER! July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I was in Branford for a week and chose this place due to its location and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, food was good, and wi-fi was reliable. Staff was helpful and friendly as well. I actually have to come back for another week and will definitely stay there again. July 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great environment we have spent one night every other year there for the past decade while traveling to our son's home- a wonderful hotel and staff and the city of Branford is so uber charming!! July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and accommodating staff. The room was clean and comfortable but some of the furniture was stained. The breakfast choices were good and fresh, though it would be nice if gluten free alternatives were offered. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. June 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Key will not work Room keys would not work for entire stay. Staff apologized repeated but did not correct problem. Needed problem fix not sorry. June 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by HIE - Branford Staff were warm, helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable but it smelled like smoke, but should have been a non-smoking room. June 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced room The condition of the hotel did not warrant the price of the room. The bathroom had peeling wallpaper and a bathtub chipped in multiple places. The walls are paper thin and you can hear noise from the hallways and adjacent rooms. We had a problem with the water pressure for hot water. It was only a trickle which made taking a shower a challenge. After talking to the front desk about the issue after our first night, although kind, they did not really know what to do. Said they would check the hot water filter for the hotel to see if it was clogged, but offered no other solution and never followed up with us on the issue. The problem was not resolved during our stay and and I did not have the time to stay on top of it myself as we were leaving early and arriving late each day. The location is why we stayed here, but the service and facilities were lacking. June 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by needs sprucing up This facility needs renovation. The rug in our room was stained, the bathroom sink didn't drain properly, and the curtains didn't close all the way. The breakfast wasn't as good as we're accustomed to at Holiday Inn Express. Alex at the front desk was very friendly & accommodating. The room rate was high relative to other stays at Holiday Inn Express. June 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Your Only Option Hotel 1. We were there for six ( 6 ) days.  Literally EVERY time we left our room we had to get our keys re-programed in order to re-enter our room. 2. The air conditioner in our first room didn't work.  The clerk insisted we just had to "give it time".  After giving it "time" we insisted we be moved to another room, which she did resentfully. 3. When we were moved to a different room our new room was not cleaned the next day because they still showed us as being in the original room.  The day clerk did not believe us at first when we told her our room number, said no, you are in room "___". 4. The lighting in our room was very poor.  For their part, the clerk did bring us another table lamp. 5. The hotel is located directly next door to a car dealership.  Every day we were woken BEFORE 7AM by their loud speaker announcements.  This should be disclosed when making reservations. 6. The woman working the breakfast area was extremely rude.  She "monitored" exactly what everyone was eating.  When I took 4 milk cartons (for 3 people) to our table in the breakfast area, which did already have 3 yogurts, two bowls of cold cereal and two bowls of biscuits and gravy, she told me I could only take one carton per guest, that the hotel was feeding us breakfast, not food for the whole day.  I believe we should be able to drink as much milk and eat as much food we want at breakfast without having a limit put on it.  At one point while I was making myself a bowl of biscuits and gravy she actually told me "That's enough".  Other hotels allow guests to take breakfast up to their room, especially if breakfast time is ending and one guest is still showering or sleeping.  That was completely impossible at this hotel.  We were told we could not even take a banana with us. 7. The employees at the front desk were not concerned or even particularly interested when we told them of our unpleasant breakfast experience. May 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Memorial Day weekend sleeplessness So we stayed Friday, May 24 during Memorial Day weekend. We were given the worst room in the building, Room 101 that bordered the main lobby's activity room. There were multiple weddings and a baseball team in the hotel that weekend. It was so loud that I could not sleep. By 2:00 AM I had to go to the front desk and ask them to do something. They said they would. By 2:30 AM, I had to go back because it was clear whatever they did did not work. They said in a few minutes they were going to empty out the room for cleaning so to hold tight. By 3:00 AM things started to quiet down. It was not a restful sleep after that. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful facility I think that this is one of the best HDIEX's that I have ever stayed in. I can not say enough about the staff and the facilities. It is a wonderful site. Very clean and well maintained. May 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hie with shower drainage issues It's right off of 95 and route 1 so that's good. But like I said in the title, the showers don't drain so well. I stayed in five differant rooms over three weeks two of which were because of being moved out of rooms that had no drainage at all. The staff were great and moved me verses sending someone up to fix it. The other rooms didn't drain fast but was tolerable. May 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty pool and neighboring rooms too loud I've stayed in this hotel twice before and enjoyed my stay. I've also stayed in other Holiday Inn Express locations and had an exceptional experience, specifically in Tilton NH. So, I was surprised with how disappointed I was with my stay in Branford, CT last weekend. Most notably was the unkempt condition of the pool room. The water was cloudy, had hair floating in it, was cooler than a heated pool should be and there were not enough towels. The walking area around the pool had phlegm on the ground every few feet. There was a family also in the pool room who were not only diving, jumping and yelling which meant my son and I had a 3x3 area by the stairs in which to wade around. They also had crackers and juice boxes; which meant there were soggy crackers around the pool. Staff at the hotel although pleasant were not attentive, evidently not to the pool area at all, but I also waited and had to knock on doors to find staff in order to make a purchase from the snack room. Our room itself was fine but our neighbors were too loud (TV volume, yelling and knocking on doors) until about midnight which resulted in a poor night sleep. On a positive note the breakfast was very good. I likely will not stay at this location again. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We only stayed one night, but had a great experience. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds so comfortable. I loved that the bathrooms weren't too tight like in some hotels. The pool was the perfect temperature. The woman at the front desk gave us an awesome recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. But the best part of the stay was being greeted in the breakfast room by the lovely attendant. She was so friendly. April 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location The room floor is a bit bouncy, not firm. As you walk, you can feel the floor shaking a bit. I've never experience that with other properties. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean & modern The property presents very well and was very comfortable. Although I did not have time to use the pool/gym both looked to be in optimal condition. The breakfast offered a very good selection and was well maintained by the very nice attendant, who despite the large number of guests kept everything well-stocked (Hint: giver her a raise). The previous guest in my room left food in the refrigerator and after my first of two nights stay I asked the desk attendant to please alert housekeeping to remove it. I had first tried to convey this to the housekeeper but English was not her first language so she did not understand. I noticed late that night that the food was still there and again mentioned it at checkout after my 2nd night. The only thing I would change on my next visit would be to stay on the 3rd floor because the room above us had a squeaky floor and every time the occupant walked it was noisy for us. March 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall nice place I've been couple of times in this hotel. Some of the rooms AC and fridge are very noisy. Breakfast is good only during the weekends. The other days not so many choices and fruits. February 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay I stay here quite often but, I found my most recent experience disappointing. My reservations were made incorrectly (thankfully there were other rooms available), the key would not work on my door and I had to make three trips back down to the lobby (luggage and all) to get it resolved, the Wi-Fi did not work because my room was at the far end of the hallway, and my shower completely lost pressure (down to just a drip) in the middle of my shower. Lastly, the refrigerator was not working properly. The only other major complaint is that the walls are paper thin which is a surprise considering how new this facility is. At 5am you can hear multiple I-Phones going off. Besides my most recent trip and the fact that the walls are paper thin - the service (depending who is on), comfort and cleanliness are very good here. January 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean comfy room. We were greeted by a friendly smile and welcome! She also said I just made a fresh pot of coffee......help yourself! How great that was. Our room was warm, clean and comfy. Area restaurants outstanding. Chowder Pot delicious. An enjoyable movie at the theater, back to hotel for a nice swim. Great way to celebrate New Years Eve! January 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Property getting tired... The bed was about as soft as a marble slab. The toilet was loose on its mountings. The message lights on the phones kept flashing, even though there was no message, and nobody could fix them. The shower curtain rod was sagging so badly that the curtain wouldn't stay closed. On the other hand, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They and the property deserve some investment. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accomodations Our room was not ready upon our arrival at the hotel. When we returned later, the desk clerk had given us an upgrade for our delayed check-in. The accomodations were great. We also noticed the cleanliness of the hotel property. Thank you. December 28, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay for business This is my second time staying here and quite honestly I will not return. The elevator looked as if no one vacuumed the carpet in days. There was a noticeable odor that was offensive. The bed was comfortable and the room was basically nice; but I don't understand why cleanliness is an issue. Additionally, the toilet did not flush properly, so this made for a very unseemly look in the bathroom. For the money I paid over a three night period, it was not worth it. Once I find a place that is of good value, I tend to stick with that choice for future stays. Unfortunately, this will not be one of those locations for me. December 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant hotel My stay at HIEX in Branford, Ct. has been the most enjoyable stay that I can imagine. The Manger(Linda) and her staff have been outstanding. The staff has been very courteous and helpful. While not all requests can be granted, They have "bent over backwards" to accommodate not only me, but their other guests as well. On more than one occasion, I have stood in the lobby and heard guests check-out. They were all very appreciative to Linda and her staff. They thanked them profusely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in this vicinity. December 11, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over charged and No help from staff. I recently stayed at this hotel and when I checked out the first time I was charged over the government per diem rates for weekends which was not in the original agreement when I checked in. Also, when I checked out I was charged an additional $1000.50 and the only explanation that was provided me was "it must just be a hold on your card that will never actually be charged to your card" which I tried to explain to her that my card had already been charged the additional charges, but she would not provide any additional help. Because of the nature of my work this was the only hotel I could stay at, so 2 days later, I returned to this hotel. When checking out the second time another unexplainable charge of $804.88 was charged to my card. When the charges showed up on my card, a few days later, I called back to try to get answers as to why this had happened again, and was told "I don't know". As of writing this the charges are still on my card and I am waiting to here back from the General Manager as to why this has happened. December 6, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by spacious comfortable and clean room Many items available for breakfast but please provide higher quality juices. They taste like fruit punch November 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Definitely This Holiday Inn Express is bright and cheerful. The staff was outstanding... particularly the receptionist and the breakfast hostess. The pool is right off the lobby which makes it convenient and inviting (the hot tub was not working for our entire stay which was disappointing... an apology letter upon check-in would have been a nice touch). The rooms are extra large and extremely clean. The location is right off 95... lots of restaurants... we even went into New Haven for a show. AND... Rita's Ice is 1/4 mile away! We have stayed here (and other hotels in the area) - this is by far, the best in Branford. November 2, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My first business trip Excellent front desk staff. The pretty night desk clerk was very helpful and informative. I used to work in Hospitality and they take care of out-of-towner's right. Great location. Delicious little pizza spot right next door. Exactly what I needed. Only one eyebrow raised, no fan in the bathroom? Is that a northeast thing? October 26, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Up To Standards The hotel is clean, but the beds are uncomfortable. Stayed with another family and in our room the TV did not work until they fixed the cable and they had a broken toilet seat. The food in the morning is really not edible. Even the kids who eat everything could not eat. Considering it was more money than other hotels in the area, you would expect better October 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5