Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a great place to stay This is a reasonable place to stay, especially if it's just an overnighter for a long journey. The room is reasonable as far as comfortability is concerned. It would have been nicer if they had a but more of a selection of hot food, not everybody wants or likes beans and sausages. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent base We stayed at the Holiday Inn express for a short stay with family. Very convenient for Alton towers, around a 40 min drive depending on traffic. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Bed needed to be a little more comfier but for 2 nights it didn't matter. Breakfast was great and a nice choice of cereals, toast, and cooked breakfast if you wanted it, kids found something to eat every morning. Lattes were excellent at breakfast time. All in all a brilliant base in which to explore.I would definately stay here again. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff I had cycled to Burton from Derby and on arrival reception offered to store my bike but I decided to take it to my room which wasn't a problem. I was going out to Barton Marina and after showering - spotless room and bathroom with soap and good quality towels I went to the bar where staff ordered me a taxi. Decent pint of Stella I think. I had a good evening out but came back very late and had been caught in the rain. I had also lost my door key. Not a problem for night staff and I was able to get a hot chocolate from the restaurant area. Breakfast was fine very clean restaurant and friendly staff. Rogether a great Holiday Inn - not sure why it's just am express. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location Very pleasent place to stay clean,tidy the staff were very helpful and polite we intend to stay there again in the future.Just like to take this oppotunity to say a big thank you to all the staff especially the reception. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great stay Not cheap but worth the expense. 3rd year of staying here and still would come back May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit noisey Everything fine but if you sleep with your window open be prepared for a noisey night boy racers cars and bikes reving engines up over at the super market area till the early hours even with window closed you can still hear them ask for a room on the other side Drink in the bar expensive . April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money I would definitely stay again. The staffs are friendly and attentive. Some fried eggs would be nice to add on for breakfast. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super Friendly Staff The Staff is the greatest asset to this hotel. They continually asked if everything was fine. They switched our rooms to our liking, no hesitation and answered any questions we had. Very friendly. The free breakfast was good, standard free breakfast items. Just a suggestion would be to change 1 of the 3 flake cereals to something more popular with kids - chocolate rice or similar. The only issue we had was the Wifi. This isn't a staff's problem, they try to be helpful. It is their provider. The signal constantly drops every 10-15 minutes causing lots of re-logins. Have your device remember the password to save your sanity. When connected, it is painfully slow. Near impossible to get work done over it. Even the lobby computer isn't Ethernet to the router, so same issues. Since the hotel is not charging for WiFi, they should change to different provider and just update one password for entire hotel each week or month like other Holiday Inn expresses do. Mcdonalds is around the corner and their free wifi is great for getting work done. Thank you for a pleasant stay! April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the breakfast I stayed here to be close to an event I was attending. The hotel itself is clean and bright. I was welcomed by four pleasant staff at reception. This was let down a little by the fact that one of them repeatedly called me "love". However the check in itself was smooth as I had booked and paid online. The room was clean. The shower cubicle had no shelf on which to place shampoo, conditioner etc so had to put these on the floor. My sleep was disturbed by noisy children in the room above who ran up and down the floor of their room shouting, crying and screaming. The corridor was also quite noisy. However this paled into insignificance in comparison to the breakfast. On going down to the self service breakfast area, there was a long queue for the very slow coffee machine and for the toasting machine. There were no plates, no cutlery, two and a half dried up sausages, some beans, an empty space and some rather old dry scrambled egg. There was a good supply of cereal. There were several staff on duty observing but I had to ask for plates and cutlery. Of course this is not aiming to be a five star hotel but it is not unreasonable to expect the basics to be available. The food itself was not particularly good quality. This may not be the norm for this hotel so wouldn't say you shouldn't book it but just be aware you may have to ask for the basics. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by saturday night!!!! great stay, food, room,service excellent, BUT-- we stayed on a Saturday night. and at 3 am it became noisy as some guests arrived home from a function obviously the worst for drink. laughing loudly, running up and down corridors, slamming doors etc.Shame, it spoiled and otherwise fabulous stay. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Overhaul the Hotel was fine. the only complaint the breakfast was not up-to the Hotel normal standards. The cost of drinks is well above the average. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Break Used hotel for visiting nearby National Arboretum and it was ideally located April 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi not great Hotel good value for money but the wifi connection/speed wasn't great. Overall enjoyable stay. April 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Indifferent staff, poor sleep quality When asked at check out how my stay was I stated that the bed was worn out and resembled a hammock, receptionist said he could not say that but someone would contact me to discuss, they have not. I asked for a quiet room and was given one with noisy neighbors and an adjoining door so I had extra noise to listen to. Not the standard expected from HI, will go to Premier Inn next time, at least I would have got my money back March 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing was Premier except the price! For the price paid I would recommend staying elsewhere. The 'double' was two badly made single mattresses pushed together and the breakfast was poor. Last time I stay in a Holiday Inn Express. I think 'Express' means limited and poorly thought out proposition. The ' off-site Amenities' mentioned on the website #one of the reasons for staying# were no longer available so I was sent to the local leisure centre. March 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Interior a bit tired looking Stayed at Holiday Inn Shrewsbury the night before which was far superior to this one in Burton-on-Trent. Carpet in the passageway looked as if there had been a flood along it as all water marked. Although bathroom was ok it didn't have the same little touches as the previous one and there was a smell coming up from the sink. All in all looks a bit tired and in need of an update. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good staff very friendly and helpful good breakfast good room February 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for three/four persons too small The room was too small for our family.When asked senior staff was told" All our rooms are this size,shame! Rooms in hotels should be sound/noise proof now,several nights to get to sleep were hard pushed as next door rooms got very noisy and people/children in corridors running up and down screaming!!! For these reasons above will not be staying here again.Do hope all taken into account and in the very near future changed! February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Staff at hotel always friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Burton Excellent value for money. Staff were particularly helpful, friendly with nothing too much trouble for them February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location & great value Burton HIEx is in a great location (by the A38) & offers great value - great as a gateway to the Peak District. Room good as usual here & great for an overnight stay. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, even by HIEx standards, with not a great deal of choice (lots & lots of croissant's!). IHG membership recognised on arrival & staff very pleasant. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Conference Following the success of last years annual team meeting, we met again at Burton, with repeated success of the previous year. Communication from the hotel leading up to the event was on time, informative and professional. The night before the event was hosted superbly, food was very good and to feed the party of our size (20) was handled very well and efficiently, great staff interaction. Equally so on the following day of the meeting and the account tied up well and accurate for all costs over the 24hr period. Great feedback from within our team, great job from the Burton team, so an important meeting supported fantastically well. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice place for business or pleasure This is the second time I have stayed here (convenient location) and it was as good this time as before - proving it no fluke! Staff excellent - so helpful. Room the usual "Express" standard. Nice towels! Will stay again. Having stayed in "Express" brand for many years the hot breakfast is a good improvement. Late checkout for Rewards club members good. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, comfortable and spotlessly clean I am 70+ and travelling alone and was made to feel very welcome as soon as I arrived. Fast and efficient check-in. Room was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable with a choice of pillows, either soft or firm, ensured a good night's sleep. Continental style breakfast. I will certainly use this hotel again. January 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A standard express with good staff This express hotel is well located for my needs and that is probably the main reason I use it. The staff are helpfull and friendly but I fear that this is because the Hotel is in need of refurbishment and they have become expert at dealing with customer complaints. The lift is one of the few I have used that I can honestly say I would get to my floor quicker using the stairs (and I am major unfit). Also watch out for the breakfast minesweepers as I call them. Turn your back for a second and your breakfast plate has been taken away. One lady actually took the glass out of my hand after I had finished drinking my orange juice. Jokeing aside it is what it is a slightly grubby Holliday inn express with the same breakfast selection, decor, layout and bedroom design that I have stayed in around the country. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel The hotel may be tucked away in one of the many dark corners of town but when in full view looks very attractive and inviting, very nice lobby area with a rather nice looking bar and really nice staff to greet. The bed was very comfortable which is more than can be said for other hotel chains mentioning no names (Lenny Henry) but in all honestly the only draw back I had with the hotel is the dire layout of the television, now don't get me wrong I'm not saying it was bad or didn't work and I like the way my name was displayed on the screen "very jazzy" but there is no need for these menus! If I wanted a night of watching adult films and programs believe me I wouldn't be paying £60 a night to do so in private believe me there are other places you can receive 3D versions of this for cheaper. All in all a lovely place to stay. January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sleeping The staff were great, but loud noises from a pump, I think was a real nuisance throughout the night intermittently cutting in and out. I am a regular Holiday Inn customer, but this really was the worst I have encountered. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay again After a 320 mile journey the check in was quick and efficient. Nice room which was on the ground floor. Breakfast was basic but fine - (cereals or fruit, scrabbled egg, sausages and beans - help your self) free of charge. Staff friendly and helpful. On a personal note my wife left behind a diamond ring which she didn't realise until we was only 40 miles away from our home. Called the hotel from the car and the chamber maid had handed it in to the duty manager. What a relief and so good to know that there still are people with honesty and integrity. December 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Too Average It is ok this hotel but it just isn,t good. The room is clean but has much less class than a Premier Inn. The bed is functional but not comfortable. The bar works but is soulless. The breakfast is free but you probably wouldn't pay for it anyway. This visit will not linger long in the memory. December 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room smelt of dampness and smoke upon arrival Stayed here for a saturday night as myself and my wife were attending a wedding nearby. We were checked in quite swiftly and provided our room key. When we entered the room it smelt of smoke even though it was a non-smoking hotel. I asked if we could change room but reception advised that they were fully booked. They did make effort to remove the smell by spraying air freshner however this made a difference for about 10 mins and the smoke smell returned. Not the staff's fault but they could have been made aware by housekeeping. December 10, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>