Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ms We were warmly welcomed by the staff the minute we got there till the minute we left. The room was exceptionally clean and tidy. Fab choice of items for breakfast and was being replaced constantly not just sat there getting cold. children were giving activity packs that went down a treat. Loved our stay and would definitely use them again. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by super environment was a bit of a shock to be charged for parking, residents usually park for free. e-mail advised it contained everything we need for our first stay, when in actual fact it is our sixth or seventh stay. still not to detract from a most pleasant hotel, as above, we return often, and will continue to do so. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfort stop we stayed here after a hard days fun at Alton towers. not too far a drive . staff were lovely and breakfast was great September 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Such a pity! Having booked two family rooms for myself, my daughter and her children having arrived later than planned we were only in the rooms for an hour before we exited to go to a party. Coming back late we were glad of the comfortable beds. Next morning however in room 225 my daughter complained of a bad smell coming from the toilet. In the other room 227 there was no hot water in the bathroom at all. I reported this at once. Offered shower facility at check-out! I am not sure I would have used the shower anyway as the sliding door came off the track as I opened it. Luckily it wasn't one of the children. Hoping for a better start we went down to breakfast. The capacity of the breakfast bar is totally inadequate. Queues of seven or eight people trying to use one toaster, hot dishes emptied so quickly and replenished too slowly to cope with the queues. With a party of 6 of us breakfast together was impossible. September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Checking staff. The hotel was pleasant. The checking staff were very nice and approachably . We needed a hotel just for the night thought it was over priced. but had no choice. Would not pay the same again. The hotel is in a good location with McDonald's & Torbay's , Harvesters in walking distance. Good hotel for a quick stay over. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel efficient friendly staff We booked a double bed with sofa room but on checking in were offered a twin room which as a married couple really wasnt suitable so we were then offered a accesible room again not what we booked followed by a king bed room after about 10 minuted we were finally offered the room we booked. To be fair the receptionist was polite throughout this process. The rest of the stay was fine, breakfast was adequate for our purposes but think bacon rather than sausage would be most peoples preference, the availability of free coffee through the day was a bonus and the room was clean and tidy. We had read previous reviews and chose to park on the road rather than pay what we felt was an unneccessary charge of £3 daily. we would stay again August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A HOME FROM HOME WE STAYED HERE FOR 1 NIGHT. WITHOUT DOUBT THE BEST BUDGET HOTEL .WE HAVE STAYED IN. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY SPOTLESS FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT AND THE STAFF WERE GREAT. AND ALL FOR A GREAT PRICE. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WANTING A STOPOVER. EXCELLENT August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort in Burton Excellent service, efficent friendly staff quiet and comfortable, easy to locate August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disabled Room No Twin Beds Unfortunatly ,whilst the hotel is good and value for money,we will not be returning ,as the policy of having a double bed in the disabled room is totally unsuitable for most disabled people. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Nice hotel that does the job. The lady that checked me in was very welcoming and very friendly. That's all most people ask for. Everything else met the standards I would expect. It's a pity there aren't. More staff like her . Working in a service industry I would employ this individual tomorrow without hesitation August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely clean room Overall we had a lovely stay our only disappointment was that the TV was still anologue August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient This was a clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet location. I would have scored it more highly except for the extremely limited breakfast choices: I have some common food intolerances, and would have liked to see bacon, mushrooms and gluten free bread on the menu. For this reason, I will try not to stay at one of this chain of hotels again. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff, good value Very friendly staff, very pleased sofa bed was made up ready for our son and was very comfortable which is unusual! Breakfast better than expected with some hot items. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A clean, tidy and efficient hotel - but beware the HIDDEN parking charges We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton-upon-Trent during July 2014 on our way to the Lake District. Having stayed at this venue before we knew what to expect (or so we thought) and were looking forward to a comfortable break in our journey. Our stay coincided with one of the hottest days of the year and consequently our room was stiflingly hot and stuffy. The guest rooms have no air conditioning (only air circulation). Clearly we can't complain about the weather, but having a top floor room facing the sun meant that with no air-con and all the fans in the hotel having been loaned to other residents - we didn't have a comfortable night. Otherwise the hotel was clean, well maintained, with polite staff and a fair breakfast (not quite as well stocked as other HI Expresses we have stayed at in the UK). The sting in the tail with this hotel is the HIDDEN parking charges. Since last we stayed the hotel has secured their car park, presumably to avoid non-residents using it for free parking. The additional security is welcome but nowhere does the hotel indicate that there are any parking charges as you enter the car park, neither is this mentioned in the reception area or during check-in. The first indication of a parking charge is a laminated sign in the elevator to the guest rooms. Whilst Holiday Inn have every right to charge for parking, I consider it very poor that they keep the charge a secret until after you have driven in to their car park (for which exit is only possible through a security barrier), and no mention of charges is made until after check-in. This behaviour is bad practice, ill conceived and only serves to irritate. I raised the matter with the duty manager and would expect that at a minimum the charging structure is clearly stated and declared BEFORE you enter the car park. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff Convenient location and the staff are friendly and professional. the rooms are clean and tidy although the Air conditioning was not able to cope with the warm weather which led to a restless night. However I would recommend the hotel as stayed many times and shall return August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room and parking charges the first room we had a water leak and carpet was wet, we were moved to another room refurbished the air con did not work so it was impossible to sleep or stay in the room. Your staff are one of the best and nothing is too much for them to help, they found a fan which did little to cool the room. Considering the room was refurbished they still is not hand rail in the shower which is very dangerous . Finally parking fees !! we were already booked our stay before you put it on the web, we have one more booking in October and after that we will not be returning to the holiday Inn, We have bought a lot of our friends over the years to stay at the hotel which we have always enjoyed, but when times are hard for people you put parking charges on, we are not business people who can claim on their expenses, most of us are retired, we came for a get together with friends and family. We am sorry that we will not be staying again unless you drop the parking charge July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK Overall OK. But don't rely on website driving instructions! Very confusing, so that we got lost and arrived stressed. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed, food basic Room is average, but there are no noises from adjacent rooms July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value would definitely stay here again Great value which included breakfast. Beds really comfortable with a choice of pillow firmness. Really good powerful shower and like the wash and soap in the dispensers provided. Only let down for us on this occasion was we couldn't get the room cool enough using the air conditioning. Really hot night! Staff were very helpful and smiley! July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel with excellent staff We found it een very fine hotel. Stay over for 4 nights. The sleepingbank was not perfect. We complain a about this by the staf. They directly have served us. The breakfast was good. The whole day you can take coffee or tea. You can take for a few pound a beer of the local brewery of Burnton upon trent. You have to pay 3 pounds a night for parking your car on de local parkingground of the hotel. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first time first time we have stayed and will again from booking to leaving was first class plenty of space in the rooms and bathroom was clean . staff were very pleasant and very cheerful even when busy . one downside the milk was not very cold in the morning for breakfast but no complaints just i like very cold milk. very good value . July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant stay Great service especially on night of arrival when Hotel busy. Good Meal, portions large - go hungry for dinner!! Quiet room, undisturbed nights sleep. Location on business park near road but with windows closed barely heard traffic. Mattress a little elderly but still comfortable. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Staff were excellent, very helpful and polite. Room carpet needs replacing and bed is too soft, otherwise a very good stay. Breakfast has a very good selection. Public rooms are clean and comfortable.. Will stay again when in the area. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This is why I normally choose Crowne Plaza As a Platinum member coming for a Rewards night, this has completely put me off revisiting the HIEx chain. - Lift was not working in a 4-storey hotel! - I had to carry 2x luggage & 2x sleeping children up 3 flights of stairs, only to get to the room and the keycard not working. Why are the family rooms not on the ground floor - no effort from the staff to help or relocate room. - Wasn't really the feeling of a "can-do" service. - Lager was horrendously flat, wine was poor - Family room in the middle of a loud wedding party sharing the same corridor + Breakfast met HIEx standard + Adequate parking] + Free (but slow) WiFi July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great night's sleep :-( We stayed as a family for a weekend in June. It was very pleasant June weather, about 20ish degrees (the reason I mention that will be apparent). The staff and reception were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is a budget, limited service hotel and is clean and tidy, perhaps in need of a lick of paint and new carpet as it's looking a bit old. We booked a family room (2 adults and 2 children 10 and 15). So we got a double bed and a sofa bed, when the sofa bed was out it was up against the end wall of the room and impossible to walk round. Thankfully we weren't in the room much other than to sleep otherwise it would have been a right pain. The room was stiflingly hot when we arrived at 10pm. It was a fairly normal summer's day so hardly abnormal weather. We switched the aircon on, this was very noisy and made hardly any difference, it was really slow to chill the room. When none of us could sleep because of the constant whirring of the aircon we switched it off and opened the window. You could feel the cool air coming in immediately - relief! The relief was short lived though - traffic noise, alarms, people in the pub on the corner, the McDonalds drive thru across the dual carriageway - it was ages before we could get to sleep. The beds were the complete opposite of each other. The double bed so soft and spongy that me and my wife just rolled into the middle so we had to sleep ' on the edges' of the bed. The sofa bed was rock hard. No-one had a comfortable night. It was worse the second night as it was a Saturday night and the noise from the pub on the corner went on for longer and there were more people outside as it has been a warm sunny day and was still a warm evening. The breakfast was mostly as expected and for a budget hotel, good basic fayre, hot drinks, juices and bread/croissants/toast etc. However the cooked food option - sausages and scrambled egg is the sort of mass catering food that features on 'how do they get away with serving this' documentaries! The egg I presume comes as a powder, they add water and heat. It is simply disgusting. Many people did actually seem to be eating it - which goes to show why so many people are accustomed to ready meals and mass produced tastes. The sausages were presumably frozen ones, reheated and then able to build up a leather thick skin under the heat lamps. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses on my own when on business and would happily do so again given the prices you can get rooms for. It's generally a good budget brand and you get what you pay for. However I think if I told my family we were staying in one of their 'family rooms' again I would not be very popular, they woke up groggy from 2 poor night's sleep and frankly that's the most important part of a hotel stay! They also make a big thing about free wi-fi. Notices plastered everywhere. Well, if you're going to provide free wifi and make it a selling point then at least provide the bandwidth to enable a full hotel to use it. It's like providing hot water but some of your guests having to have cold showers when the boiler's run out. At times the speed was less than 0.2 Mb/s and when it was at it's best it was very very slow at no faster than 2Mb/s. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a great place to stay This is a reasonable place to stay, especially if it's just an overnighter for a long journey. The room is reasonable as far as comfortability is concerned. It would have been nicer if they had a but more of a selection of hot food, not everybody wants or likes beans and sausages. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent base We stayed at the Holiday Inn express for a short stay with family. Very convenient for Alton towers, around a 40 min drive depending on traffic. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Bed needed to be a little more comfier but for 2 nights it didn't matter. Breakfast was great and a nice choice of cereals, toast, and cooked breakfast if you wanted it, kids found something to eat every morning. Lattes were excellent at breakfast time. All in all a brilliant base in which to explore.I would definately stay here again. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff I had cycled to Burton from Derby and on arrival reception offered to store my bike but I decided to take it to my room which wasn't a problem. I was going out to Barton Marina and after showering - spotless room and bathroom with soap and good quality towels I went to the bar where staff ordered me a taxi. Decent pint of Stella I think. I had a good evening out but came back very late and had been caught in the rain. I had also lost my door key. Not a problem for night staff and I was able to get a hot chocolate from the restaurant area. Breakfast was fine very clean restaurant and friendly staff. Rogether a great Holiday Inn - not sure why it's just am express. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location Very pleasent place to stay clean,tidy the staff were very helpful and polite we intend to stay there again in the future.Just like to take this oppotunity to say a big thank you to all the staff especially the reception. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great stay Not cheap but worth the expense. 3rd year of staying here and still would come back May 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>