Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 110 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A clean, tidy and efficient hotel - but beware the HIDDEN parking charges We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton-upon-Trent during July 2014 on our way to the Lake District. Having stayed at this venue before we knew what to expect (or so we thought) and were looking forward to a comfortable break in our journey. Our stay coincided with one of the hottest days of the year and consequently our room was stiflingly hot and stuffy. The guest rooms have no air conditioning (only air circulation). Clearly we can't complain about the weather, but having a top floor room facing the sun meant that with no air-con and all the fans in the hotel having been loaned to other residents - we didn't have a comfortable night. Otherwise the hotel was clean, well maintained, with polite staff and a fair breakfast (not quite as well stocked as other HI Expresses we have stayed at in the UK). The sting in the tail with this hotel is the HIDDEN parking charges. Since last we stayed the hotel has secured their car park, presumably to avoid non-residents using it for free parking. The additional security is welcome but nowhere does the hotel indicate that there are any parking charges as you enter the car park, neither is this mentioned in the reception area or during check-in. The first indication of a parking charge is a laminated sign in the elevator to the guest rooms. Whilst Holiday Inn have every right to charge for parking, I consider it very poor that they keep the charge a secret until after you have driven in to their car park (for which exit is only possible through a security barrier), and no mention of charges is made until after check-in. This behaviour is bad practice, ill conceived and only serves to irritate. I raised the matter with the duty manager and would expect that at a minimum the charging structure is clearly stated and declared BEFORE you enter the car park. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff Convenient location and the staff are friendly and professional. the rooms are clean and tidy although the Air conditioning was not able to cope with the warm weather which led to a restless night. However I would recommend the hotel as stayed many times and shall return August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room and parking charges the first room we had a water leak and carpet was wet, we were moved to another room refurbished the air con did not work so it was impossible to sleep or stay in the room. Your staff are one of the best and nothing is too much for them to help, they found a fan which did little to cool the room. Considering the room was refurbished they still is not hand rail in the shower which is very dangerous . Finally parking fees !! we were already booked our stay before you put it on the web, we have one more booking in October and after that we will not be returning to the holiday Inn, We have bought a lot of our friends over the years to stay at the hotel which we have always enjoyed, but when times are hard for people you put parking charges on, we are not business people who can claim on their expenses, most of us are retired, we came for a get together with friends and family. We am sorry that we will not be staying again unless you drop the parking charge July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK Overall OK. But don't rely on website driving instructions! Very confusing, so that we got lost and arrived stressed. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed, food basic Room is average, but there are no noises from adjacent rooms July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value would definitely stay here again Great value which included breakfast. Beds really comfortable with a choice of pillow firmness. Really good powerful shower and like the wash and soap in the dispensers provided. Only let down for us on this occasion was we couldn't get the room cool enough using the air conditioning. Really hot night! Staff were very helpful and smiley! July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel with excellent staff We found it een very fine hotel. Stay over for 4 nights. The sleepingbank was not perfect. We complain a about this by the staf. They directly have served us. The breakfast was good. The whole day you can take coffee or tea. You can take for a few pound a beer of the local brewery of Burnton upon trent. You have to pay 3 pounds a night for parking your car on de local parkingground of the hotel. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first time first time we have stayed and will again from booking to leaving was first class plenty of space in the rooms and bathroom was clean . staff were very pleasant and very cheerful even when busy . one downside the milk was not very cold in the morning for breakfast but no complaints just i like very cold milk. very good value . July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant stay Great service especially on night of arrival when Hotel busy. Good Meal, portions large - go hungry for dinner!! Quiet room, undisturbed nights sleep. Location on business park near road but with windows closed barely heard traffic. Mattress a little elderly but still comfortable. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Staff were excellent, very helpful and polite. Room carpet needs replacing and bed is too soft, otherwise a very good stay. Breakfast has a very good selection. Public rooms are clean and comfortable.. Will stay again when in the area. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This is why I normally choose Crowne Plaza As a Platinum member coming for a Rewards night, this has completely put me off revisiting the HIEx chain. - Lift was not working in a 4-storey hotel! - I had to carry 2x luggage & 2x sleeping children up 3 flights of stairs, only to get to the room and the keycard not working. Why are the family rooms not on the ground floor - no effort from the staff to help or relocate room. - Wasn't really the feeling of a "can-do" service. - Lager was horrendously flat, wine was poor - Family room in the middle of a loud wedding party sharing the same corridor + Breakfast met HIEx standard + Adequate parking] + Free (but slow) WiFi July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great night's sleep :-( We stayed as a family for a weekend in June. It was very pleasant June weather, about 20ish degrees (the reason I mention that will be apparent). The staff and reception were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is a budget, limited service hotel and is clean and tidy, perhaps in need of a lick of paint and new carpet as it's looking a bit old. We booked a family room (2 adults and 2 children 10 and 15). So we got a double bed and a sofa bed, when the sofa bed was out it was up against the end wall of the room and impossible to walk round. Thankfully we weren't in the room much other than to sleep otherwise it would have been a right pain. The room was stiflingly hot when we arrived at 10pm. It was a fairly normal summer's day so hardly abnormal weather. We switched the aircon on, this was very noisy and made hardly any difference, it was really slow to chill the room. When none of us could sleep because of the constant whirring of the aircon we switched it off and opened the window. You could feel the cool air coming in immediately - relief! The relief was short lived though - traffic noise, alarms, people in the pub on the corner, the McDonalds drive thru across the dual carriageway - it was ages before we could get to sleep. The beds were the complete opposite of each other. The double bed so soft and spongy that me and my wife just rolled into the middle so we had to sleep ' on the edges' of the bed. The sofa bed was rock hard. No-one had a comfortable night. It was worse the second night as it was a Saturday night and the noise from the pub on the corner went on for longer and there were more people outside as it has been a warm sunny day and was still a warm evening. The breakfast was mostly as expected and for a budget hotel, good basic fayre, hot drinks, juices and bread/croissants/toast etc. However the cooked food option - sausages and scrambled egg is the sort of mass catering food that features on 'how do they get away with serving this' documentaries! The egg I presume comes as a powder, they add water and heat. It is simply disgusting. Many people did actually seem to be eating it - which goes to show why so many people are accustomed to ready meals and mass produced tastes. The sausages were presumably frozen ones, reheated and then able to build up a leather thick skin under the heat lamps. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses on my own when on business and would happily do so again given the prices you can get rooms for. It's generally a good budget brand and you get what you pay for. However I think if I told my family we were staying in one of their 'family rooms' again I would not be very popular, they woke up groggy from 2 poor night's sleep and frankly that's the most important part of a hotel stay! They also make a big thing about free wi-fi. Notices plastered everywhere. Well, if you're going to provide free wifi and make it a selling point then at least provide the bandwidth to enable a full hotel to use it. It's like providing hot water but some of your guests having to have cold showers when the boiler's run out. At times the speed was less than 0.2 Mb/s and when it was at it's best it was very very slow at no faster than 2Mb/s. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a great place to stay This is a reasonable place to stay, especially if it's just an overnighter for a long journey. The room is reasonable as far as comfortability is concerned. It would have been nicer if they had a but more of a selection of hot food, not everybody wants or likes beans and sausages. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent base We stayed at the Holiday Inn express for a short stay with family. Very convenient for Alton towers, around a 40 min drive depending on traffic. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Bed needed to be a little more comfier but for 2 nights it didn't matter. Breakfast was great and a nice choice of cereals, toast, and cooked breakfast if you wanted it, kids found something to eat every morning. Lattes were excellent at breakfast time. All in all a brilliant base in which to explore.I would definately stay here again. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff I had cycled to Burton from Derby and on arrival reception offered to store my bike but I decided to take it to my room which wasn't a problem. I was going out to Barton Marina and after showering - spotless room and bathroom with soap and good quality towels I went to the bar where staff ordered me a taxi. Decent pint of Stella I think. I had a good evening out but came back very late and had been caught in the rain. I had also lost my door key. Not a problem for night staff and I was able to get a hot chocolate from the restaurant area. Breakfast was fine very clean restaurant and friendly staff. Rogether a great Holiday Inn - not sure why it's just am express. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location Very pleasent place to stay clean,tidy the staff were very helpful and polite we intend to stay there again in the future.Just like to take this oppotunity to say a big thank you to all the staff especially the reception. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great stay Not cheap but worth the expense. 3rd year of staying here and still would come back May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit noisey Everything fine but if you sleep with your window open be prepared for a noisey night boy racers cars and bikes reving engines up over at the super market area till the early hours even with window closed you can still hear them ask for a room on the other side Drink in the bar expensive . April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money I would definitely stay again. The staffs are friendly and attentive. Some fried eggs would be nice to add on for breakfast. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super Friendly Staff The Staff is the greatest asset to this hotel. They continually asked if everything was fine. They switched our rooms to our liking, no hesitation and answered any questions we had. Very friendly. The free breakfast was good, standard free breakfast items. Just a suggestion would be to change 1 of the 3 flake cereals to something more popular with kids - chocolate rice or similar. The only issue we had was the Wifi. This isn't a staff's problem, they try to be helpful. It is their provider. The signal constantly drops every 10-15 minutes causing lots of re-logins. Have your device remember the password to save your sanity. When connected, it is painfully slow. Near impossible to get work done over it. Even the lobby computer isn't Ethernet to the router, so same issues. Since the hotel is not charging for WiFi, they should change to different provider and just update one password for entire hotel each week or month like other Holiday Inn expresses do. Mcdonalds is around the corner and their free wifi is great for getting work done. Thank you for a pleasant stay! April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the breakfast I stayed here to be close to an event I was attending. The hotel itself is clean and bright. I was welcomed by four pleasant staff at reception. This was let down a little by the fact that one of them repeatedly called me "love". However the check in itself was smooth as I had booked and paid online. The room was clean. The shower cubicle had no shelf on which to place shampoo, conditioner etc so had to put these on the floor. My sleep was disturbed by noisy children in the room above who ran up and down the floor of their room shouting, crying and screaming. The corridor was also quite noisy. However this paled into insignificance in comparison to the breakfast. On going down to the self service breakfast area, there was a long queue for the very slow coffee machine and for the toasting machine. There were no plates, no cutlery, two and a half dried up sausages, some beans, an empty space and some rather old dry scrambled egg. There was a good supply of cereal. There were several staff on duty observing but I had to ask for plates and cutlery. Of course this is not aiming to be a five star hotel but it is not unreasonable to expect the basics to be available. The food itself was not particularly good quality. This may not be the norm for this hotel so wouldn't say you shouldn't book it but just be aware you may have to ask for the basics. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by saturday night!!!! great stay, food, room,service excellent, BUT-- we stayed on a Saturday night. and at 3 am it became noisy as some guests arrived home from a function obviously the worst for drink. laughing loudly, running up and down corridors, slamming doors etc.Shame, it spoiled and otherwise fabulous stay. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Overhaul the Hotel was fine. the only complaint the breakfast was not up-to the Hotel normal standards. The cost of drinks is well above the average. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Break Used hotel for visiting nearby National Arboretum and it was ideally located April 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi not great Hotel good value for money but the wifi connection/speed wasn't great. Overall enjoyable stay. April 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Indifferent staff, poor sleep quality When asked at check out how my stay was I stated that the bed was worn out and resembled a hammock, receptionist said he could not say that but someone would contact me to discuss, they have not. I asked for a quiet room and was given one with noisy neighbors and an adjoining door so I had extra noise to listen to. Not the standard expected from HI, will go to Premier Inn next time, at least I would have got my money back March 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing was Premier except the price! For the price paid I would recommend staying elsewhere. The 'double' was two badly made single mattresses pushed together and the breakfast was poor. Last time I stay in a Holiday Inn Express. I think 'Express' means limited and poorly thought out proposition. The ' off-site Amenities' mentioned on the website #one of the reasons for staying# were no longer available so I was sent to the local leisure centre. March 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Interior a bit tired looking Stayed at Holiday Inn Shrewsbury the night before which was far superior to this one in Burton-on-Trent. Carpet in the passageway looked as if there had been a flood along it as all water marked. Although bathroom was ok it didn't have the same little touches as the previous one and there was a smell coming up from the sink. All in all looks a bit tired and in need of an update. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good staff very friendly and helpful good breakfast good room February 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for three/four persons too small The room was too small for our family.When asked senior staff was told" All our rooms are this size,shame! Rooms in hotels should be sound/noise proof now,several nights to get to sleep were hard pushed as next door rooms got very noisy and people/children in corridors running up and down screaming!!! For these reasons above will not be staying here again.Do hope all taken into account and in the very near future changed! February 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>