Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by over all great stay ! visiting the campus at stony brook, everything we expected and more both at the school and at the holiday inn express very nice people did their job well, room was very clean and cool, it was 90 degrees outside. will definitly look for HIE on our next trip. July 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DJ I think the hotel was fair overall. The hallway carpets were not kept clean, and our toilet and others would not shut off on their own, they were stuck open until you shook the handle. There was an on site small bar, but it never opened on a Friday or Saturday. There was a lot of noise in the hallways, both nights. Obviously no insulation in the interior walls. The breakfast and variety was good on Saturday, but more limited on Sunday (no meat). We booked on line, but had to pay in full up front, with no cancellation. There were no other choices. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay very enjoyable The staff are very friendly and accomadating. When a problem arose it got immediate attendtion---This is a very busy Hotel but you are made to feel very comfortable--You'll enjoy your stay July 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Given wrong information I have a terminal illness, so travelling is hard for me and I don't do it anymore. But, we had to drop my son off at SUNY Stony Brook for a summer program and I couldn't miss the chance to set him up in a dorm as it may be my only chance. Because we were coming from California, we couldn't bring dorm room stuff but I saw online there was a Target close so figured we'd settle in our hotel, get a car, and shop at Target for what he needed. I called the hotel a week in advance and also confirmed by email that we could rent a car while there. I was assured the answer was yes, cars were available and not only that, but they could get the car to the hotel for us so we wouldn't have to go pick it up, just let them know when we arrived. As it turns out, that was not the case. All the rental car places were closed for the weekend, so we were left with no car and no items for my son's 2 month school experience: no linens, no shampoo, nothing but the clothes we brought. They did have a shuttle that took us to the school but nowhere else, so we had to walk to Target - numerous times: get stuff, walk back to the hotel, arrange for a shuttle, wait, have them take us over with the stuff: rinse, lather, repeat. We were limited by what we could carry so my son is now n an un-airconditioned dorm with no fan. We also had to walk to restaurants (okay, Chili's, the only one close).. All of this is very difficult for me and a week later, I'm still swollen and in pain. It was very disappointing because my dream before I died was to take him and set up a dorm for him; I've kind of lived for doing that, and without a car, that dream was wrecked. I couldn't fuss and do the mom thing they way I'd hoped. We couldn't get him a fan, fridge, soda, rug, posters, anything heavy or bulky. Okay, I have cancer. I know negative things happen and things don't work out the way you plan - but when we arrived, discovered that we couldn't rent a car and had to rely on a shuttle, I asked if there would be any problem reserving the shuttle the next day as we had to bring my son to the college, and the supercilious middle-aged desk agent, a woman, told me to "think positive" and "hope things worked out." These are not the things to say to a woman dying of cancer, and who has difficulty even walking. Though she didn't know, she should have just said "we'll make it work." When we left, she asked if things had worked out regarding the shuttle, and when I said yes, she then told me "See, I told you to think positive" and my husband to "be nice to each other." We don't fight so I have no idea what that comment was about except maybe she saw the exhaustion on my face and interpreted it as anger. Her attitude very inappropriate. Service staff should not be making personal remarks to their customers as they have no idea what is going on, they should only try to solve problems. We asked for a late checkout, since our fight was at 8:00 pm and checkout was at noon and we had no car or anything to do in the meantime. They let us stay in the room until 1:00 which was kind, and then stored our luggage until our ride arrived at 3:30.. We sat in the lobby for hours and it was ice cold. Freezing. Miserable. It was only in the 80s outside so not sure why it had to be that cold except New Yorkers seem afraid of heat and aggressively over-air condition. On the plus side, they did have iPads in the lobby so we could while away our time surfing the net, which is what I did.. I have to give kudos to both the shuttle drivers, who were both safe and very kind. They both deserve a raise. Nobody knew my personal situation so they didn't know we couldn't go out and see "Port Jeff", but they gave us lots of ideas to do in that town and picked us up right where we asked at the college. They were both very helpful - one was the maintenance man who did that job when he didn't have maintenance duties and one was a young kid, 22 years old who worked two jobs. Both had the customer service ethic. Without them, I would have had a much more negative view of Long Island and this hotel. They were also very safe drivers, which says a lot when you are 22. The hotel was clean enough although I'm not picky as long as it's not gross, and the linens were nice and comfortable and I loved their soft pillows, I'm going to go buy one if I can find them.. They did have a rollaway for my son available although I had to ask for it even though I had put it in the reservation. It was loud in the hallways because of kids, but I have ways of combating that and I slept well; although as a person with terminal cancer, I always sleep very well. Staying awake is the hard part. As is walking back and forth with bags. The grounds had many amenities but I was not able to see any of them so can't comment, not having a car with errands to run took up our entire time. Dear Hotel Manager: Please don't tell your weekend customers that they can rent cars any more, at least if they arrive at check-in time on weekends. They can't. Also, on weekends, you might consider allowing your customers with special needs, like us, to be able to go to other places than the school and airport. Rides to Target - even if you couldn't have waited - would have been helpful and we could have gotten bigger and more stuff. Yes, I know we could have taken cabs but that would havbe been time consuming too. June 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There is one shuttle driver you need to avoid I was there for a conference with at least 15 others, for 5 days. They offered a shuttle ride to the conference place. However, the driver who drove most of the mornings is extremely annoying. He asked all people to crowd in one single shuttle, sometimes 2 people had to sit on the rim of other's seats, which makes the shuttle ride dangerous. One morning I decide not to take the scheduled shuttle since it will arrive at the conference site 45 minutes ahead of time. When I finished my breakfast, I asked the front desk politely if there was yet another shuttle that could take me to XXX, mentioning that I totally understood that there was one earlier. She said yes and asked me to wait for 5 minutes. When we (I and another conferencer) were waiting for it, the above-mentioned driver, came up with anger, yelled at us, accusing us being late. Late for what? For his overcrowded early scheduled shuttle? He also accused us delaying his another errand. So just because we were with a conference, we had to get up 1 hour earlier to wait to be put in an illegally crowded shuttle, otherwise we would have lower priority to use the service?? I was just being lazy then and got on his shuttle without quarreling, but I knew that I would have not chosen to stay there had I know this kind of thing would happen. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Stay We travel a lot and whenever I find that there is a Holiday In Express definitely that is the one we choose to stay either for 1 night or 10 nights. We enjoy their confortable beds, big and clean rooms, very accommodating staff, good breakfast and the best of allo: THE VALUE IS GREAT! We defi9netely recommend THE HOLIDAY IN EXPRESS HOTELS! June 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice! Staff recognized my Priority Club status right away! Very friendly service. Great location and the room was nice ( I must have been upgraded to the romance suite as there was a big jacuzzi tub near the bed! LOL) Thank you! June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This was one of the nicer hotels we have stayed at in quite a long time. Room was clean, everything worked properly and the staff answered all questions without difficulty (mainly directions and suggestions for someplace to go with kids). We would recommend this hotel without hesitation! June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MATRESSES VERY NICE HOLIDAY INN. THE ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THE BEDDING - THE MATTRESS NEED TO BE COVER IN PLASTIC. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice for short stay We were visiting friends for the weekend and needed a comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay for an overnight. Holiday Inn Express was a good choice. It was clean, comfortable and located near to our friends. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Although check in time was three we were able to check in upon our arrival at 1:30. The room was clean and exactly what we expected when we booked on line. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Amenities This hotel even has an outdoor playground for the kids! June 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable Quality for Location The property is centrally located and easy to get to. The rooms are a bit worn and need refurbishing. The breakfast is adequate and at least has a steady supply of fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. There is a lobby bar, but it is only open for managers hour one night a week. The fitness room also needs refurbishing and refreshing. There is one excercise mat that is torn and must be years old. Reasonable pool area. Nice outdoor areas for children. May 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by addition to review Addition to my review. On morning of check-out, house-keeping wakes us by pounding on door at 915am. NEVER have I had housekeeping knock on the day you are leaving! Another negative part of the whole experience. May 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room reserved was not available Arrived on the 25th at approx 10pm, the night of my 10th wedding anniversary. I had reserved a king jacuzzi room. I noted in my reservation that it was our 10th anniversary and the next day was my husbands birthday. Upon arriving I was informed that the room I reserved, and that was already charged to my credit card was not available. They proceeded to tell me someone extended their stay and that's why I didnt have my room. Girl at front desk stated she tried calling me 3 times starting at 5 and did I get any of her messages? I told her no we had been out at dinner. On that note, no messages were ever left on my answering machine, and only 2 missed calls from Holiday Inn at 7:13pm and 8:13pm. Really?? check out is at noon and you came in at 2 and you're not calling me till after 7 to tell me you dont have my room and you didnt even leave a message like you said. I'm now furious and hysterical, my husband and I just had twins a few months ago and were able to get a babysitter and were looking forward to a relaxing night away. They stated that had a regular room with a king bed we could stay in or did we want a refund. Asked to speak to the manager on duty and was told the manager left at 2pm and none would return until Tuesday as it was a holiday weekend. I walked out hysterical, only reason we were getting a room was for the jacuzzi. My husband continued to talk with desk and came out telling me we were getting the room free of charge and that we should stay since we had activities in the area the next day. I finally agreed. Arrived to room and a/c was cranking, mind you it was like 50 degrees out, TV volume blew me away at 85. Next morning we went down to front desk to check out and girl informs me that they creditted the difference of room rates to our charge. Difference??? I said no way was I paying for that room and that desk last night said I didn't have to. I only stayed as the room was free. Girl did credit back our card for full amount. Prior to this she had presented me with a 30% off my next visit to that hotel coupon. Seriously, youre gonna try to get me to stay again for only 30% off and you tried charging me for the room. As a priority club member I love staying at Holiday Inn but was very disappointed by this and don't think I would stay again. What is the point of reserving a room and paying in full in advance when you just gave it away to someone else? And you barely tried to notify me of the change. What else do you do at 10pm at night?? Holiday Inn at Stonybrook, very disappointing! If you must stay I would call well in advance that day to make sure you have your room. May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Where's the bar? Hotel is nice. Great amenities, But, there is no bar. May 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay for access to Stony Brook UNiversity We were traveling down for orientation at Stony Brook University and this Hotel was great. As I was attending orientation and my fiance was not, they allowed him to remain in the room until 2pm to minimize the time he would have to spend with nothing to do (waiting for me to finish). The Hotel also offered complimentary shuttle service to and from the University, which was extremely helpful. Staff was knowledgeable about the area. Internet worked in the room. I am also 7 months pregnant and at 10pm we realized the room was lacking in extra pillows; however, the front desk personnel quickly brought up two for us after my fiance called down. The only downsize to the pillows was that they were brought to us without being in pillow cases and we had to put them on...not a big deal at all, but it seemed a bit odd to bring a guest pillows and then have them put the cases on. May 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable set up and very professional staff. Good value and very nice property. For the business traveler it met all my needs very well. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by not a single complaint We enjoyed our stay here. Location was great for wedding we were attending and proximity to some fun recreational activities and great dining. The staff was excellent and decor nicely done. Greeted as Priority Club Member and have to note I watched them check in several people and they treated everyone as if they were an important guest. Landscaping great. Didn't use the pool but looked nice. Outdoor fields and horseshoe pits as well and a nice playground for youngsters and a sitting area. Though this is an express they offered a lobby area to hang in and nice sundries/beer/wine in the little store. LOVE the ipads throughout the common areas instead of always having to go to business center. Though we didn't choose to have housekeeping in they offered us supplies without us asking. Nice job! May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by never disappointed My wife and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn many times over the past 11 years. We have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, the staff is extremely cooperative, and the breakfast is very satisfying with many choices available. We will be staying there again June 5-10th and expect to find the same excellent service we are accustomed to phil May 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service When I first walked into this Holiday Inn Express I was very impressed. It was one of the nicest, cleanest HIE facilities I have ever stayed in. That is where the good ends. The staff here is very unorganized, confused, and unprofessional. Within an hour of being in my room I took a shower. As soon as I got out and started dressing the door opened and 3 strangers entered my room. When I approached the desk they tried to blame me for this even though the room key envelope stated the room I was in and the key opened the door. Never even an apology. Since I was there with a large group (27 rooms) I stated to tell my story only to find out that one of my friends walked in on a stranger. I heard this happened at least 3 times. In another HIE I would have been offered a discount or extra club points but here they charged me an extra night and I am still fighting, over a week later, for the credit. Maybe they figured they would charge me for the extra occupancy. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for what I needed Needed a hotel close to my office because of a late night meeting and this was great! Friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Quiet. And free breakfast in the mornings April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handicapped Room was perfect! The shower was large and equipped with a bench and hand rails. The bathroom was large enough for easy access with the wheelchair.The staff was amazing. Great experience and will be back again! April 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Monthly Guest - Worst Experience Ever Business Travel once a month with this Holiday Inn Express location. February 20 stay. On check out I phoned the hotel, shared my room number and that I left my pair of $150 Cole Haan loafers in the closet. I was told, no problem we will havve them for you on your next stay March 20. On arrival, March 20 around 4 p.m. staff did not locate the pair of shoes, very disappointing and don't understand what the disconnect is here? Staff did not offer to do anything further to help resolve. As Platinum, I was "upgraded" to room 300. I placed my contents in the room and learned the television set did not work. The internet service was "limited or no connectivity." Neither was addressed as I spoke with the front desk, prior to my departure for dinner after 5 p.m. I was told they would send someone up to "fix" the problem. I arrived back in my room at 8:50 p.m. and neither had been addressed. I phoned the front desk and was told "oh I'm sorry, can we move you to another room?" My response was not pleasant sharing are you kidding me at this time of night! Why would a guest have to share what is not working in the room upon check-in. What is the process/lack thereof of insuring all rooms are up to par and ready for guests? Wasn't able to connect and work / prep for my meeting with the local healthcare system the following morning. Very disappointed. March 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast foods poor/ pillows uncomfortable The staff of this hotel is a 5. Wonderful. Unfortunately, the quality of the fake breakfst omlettes and sugar drink-orange juice are horrible. The pillows, labeled firm and soft, are awful. They feel exactly the same. You'd think a company of this size could have better pillows. My queen size bed had a valley in it and should have been replaced three years ago. Only go there if you bring your own mattress, pillows and breakfast. March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I got a very cheerful welcome from the front desk attendant when I arrived, and it set a pleasant tone for my stay. March 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Confusing heating controls Difficult to adjust heating system/ windows rattled in the wind/ noisy and unbalanced sliding bathroom door in handicap room/ pillows not conducive to comfortable sleep March 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room at good price. A negative was the heating unit which worked well, but cycled on and off and was noisy when it did so. This disturbed my sleep, so I had to turn it off. TV excellent. Room clean, large and comfortable. Furniture and bed comfortable. One has to drive to restaurants, as none are within walking distance. Breakfast very nice. March 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fourth time guest; probably last time visitor Staff ok; generally pleasant and helpful. The property itself needs considerable upgrading to meet the standards I'm accustomed to from my many visits to different Holiday Inn Express properties each year. I constantly tell friends about the amazing brand revival IHG has accomplished with Holiday Inn Express, but if this were the first such property any of my friends were to visit I would be embarrassed and they would think me crazy. I know that there are a lot of bucks behind this particular franchise, but they are not being put to work here. Get the Islip Airport HI to upgrade to a legitimate HIE and no one would stay here except Stony Brook U visitors who want to be close to the school. Even I would rather take my chances at the generally dumpy HI at the airport then go ten miles out of my way for a depressing, under-lighted room in Centereach accessed with the slowest elevators imaginable. February 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy Check in. Went to wedding. After wedding headed back to hotel during snow storm. Entrance was blocked. Wasn't able to get to room Had to head home. But instead got stuck 5hrs on 347. Called management. Not a return call. Requesting refund several calls made. Nothing. February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay in Stony Brook The Staff was friendly and Great to talk to. If i am anywhere near the area again i would stay there again and commute a bit longer if i had to. February 14, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>