• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DURHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Fifty dollar non refundable pets fee Pets not to be left unattended in rooms Pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor Pet Policy is required to be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking. One vehicle per room. Oversized vehicles not permitted. Parking permit required. Overflow parking may be available at UNH or the Town Offices.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other
View More
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other schools are nearby as well. We offer free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access in all of our smoke free guest rooms, as well as complimentary use of our business center to help make your hotel stay convenient. This location makes us a part of the UNH community, so we're the ideal accommodations for prospective students and parents. The Whittemore Arena, home of the UNH Wildcat hockey team, is just moments up the road. You can take a tour of Redhook Brewery or search for great deals at the Kittery Outlets. We're close to Portsmouth, Rochester, Exeter and Dover for fun filled day trips. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free hotel welcomes your pets with a one time non-refundable fee. We offer terrific facilities like our fitness center which has a TV to make those miles fly by. Join us for a free, daily breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s amenities and unbeatable location next to UNH, and in the heart of NH’s Seacoast, makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel.
View Less
Features
Our Durham, NH hotel's location at the University of New Hampshire makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel. Besides location, we offer great amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Located in a quiet area yet close to the downtown. The hotel was located in a good area and close to the downtown. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and had good recommendations of the area. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An all around quality stay Personnel were all nice and professional. The common areas were clean and updated. Bathroom could use more/better lighting. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AT THE HOLIDAY INN IF NEAR PORTSMOUTH NH The Holiday inn in Portsmouth should be your only choice. Yes there are other choices, I have actually tried them but will not begin to look elsewhere again. The staff, facility, location and value are second to none. I hope this review helps in the decision making process. Matt. September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Declining Have stayed at this property numerous times over the past several years. The condition of the property has declined in the past year as evidenced by stained carpets, marred furniture, etc. Free drink perks granted to Rewards customers have been severely reduced. While still a good choice for this area, it no longer rises above the competition as before. Time to consider other competitors' recently renovated properties in search of better value.... September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Portsmouth NH Wonderful time, location easily accessible for shopping August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We stayed at this hotel while bringing our daughter to college. We were unhappy that the rates seem to climb whenever there was an event at the college. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise level I feel the guests should be reminded that not all guests are up at 7 AM and that some retire at 9PM. There was too much talking/yelling in the corridors. I can't believe the doors make so much noise when they close. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Portsmouth Comfortable stay. Access to restaurant and pool very convenient. Staff from front desk to housekeeping very attentive. Could use another elevator or at least one with better airconditioning during peak vacations times. August 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Basic hotel will fill need for sleep and shower. Overpriced for what you get, but if all you need to do is sleep and shower it is your basic hotel and is just okay. I might have preferred a B August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice people, standard hotel hotel staff were very friendly and responsive. slept well and parking was easy. standard of a holiday inn August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Quality Hotel I stayed here with my partner for the last night of two week road trip and the access to the highway and the city was easily from this location. Anytime I go to Portsmouth I will use this hotel if it is available. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Alright Place It was an alright hotel. Wasn't the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. There are better hotels for the same price in the area. I probably will not be staying here again. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Hotel but not Senior Citizen Friendly Have stayed in a number of hotels but have never been denied a Senior Discount because I purchased a breakfast plan. Seems at this hotel you can only have one or the other. Seniors on a fixed budget need to be able to have both. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quick little get away Had a great time. We arrived early and were able to get into our rooms. The staff was great. Location was excellent close to a lot of places with easy on and off routes right there. Would recommend this property. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ordinary room for the price/points The room I was in had a small bathroom. The air conditioning fan was loud. The reception of the wireless kept dropping or was very slow. The carpet doesn't look very clean. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Wi-Fi could be better...kept cutting out..over all comfortable August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by aug 2014 good bed poor elevator the bed was extremely comfortable but the elevator was soooo slow,also there was only one there should have been at a minimum 2 August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Portsmouth, NH Great place to stay, even though the power at the hotel and the whole area was lost due to a car wreck in the area that knocked out the power. The staff handled it very well. Highly recommend this place to stay! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel We enjoyed our stay at the Portsmouth Holiday Inn. The great selection of local beers on tap was a nice surprise. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good stay Visiting Portsmouth for business, has an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and the service was great. Recommended. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and Cleanliness. The Holiday Inn in Portsmouth again did not disappoint us in any way. We have stayed there for the past five years and if anything the hotel has got better. The pool is awesome, the restaurant is immaculate and the food very good. We will be staying there again this year coming. Wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bathrooms The room was lovely but we thought the bathroom was terrible, much too small dull lighting, no towel racks. The soap was not the best and there were only three bath towels. The bathroom floor had something on it in the corner which looked like rust or blood. Otherwise no complaints. August 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A Little Disappointed I've stayed here before and always had a pleasant stay however this last time I was let down. While checking in the person behind the counter gives me the paper to sign for check in and then disappears to help someone else out. She left me there for as long as 10 minutes to go behind the desk in another room and work with another employee. She just left me standing there for over 10 minutes! I was never thanked for being a gold member either. She eventually came back and then apologized and was giggling thinking it was funny. If that wasn't rude enough when I got to my room I was given a handicap room which I put on my profile that I would not accept. I was stuck with a handicap room for my two night stay after making my reservation over 2 weeks in advance and checking in at 5 PM!!!!! The hall way smelled like a church full of burning candles! Never again! August 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room has issues Room 500 at this facility is hidden away at the end of the hall and is much smaller than the others. Bathroom door severely out of adjustment. Could tell repairs had been attempted but effort without results is still failure. Bathtub drain stopper would not function at all. If you take a bath, good luck getting it to drain. Bathroom light switch is outside the bathroom. Not sure what this is about. Found left items from previous customer, other trash items left on the floor. Room service is top notch, quick service and the food is excellent. It was hot on delivery, 2 of 2 times, and if you can eat it all you must be really hungry. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value We stay in this hotel 2 to 3 times a year when we want to get away for a few days or when we take the grandchildren to Maine. Always love the service here . The food is a great value and we love having a drink in the bar before we retire. The staff are always friendly and caring. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Excellent check in staff t front desk when we arrived. July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Had to argue to get the Military Discount Front desk personnel were argumentive about offerring me the military discount, tried to give me some story about how they only offer a specific percentage of rooms at that rate. Also both of the neighboring hotels offer a full complimentary breakfast for all individuals, all we got was a small cup a coffee. Stay away. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by empty nesters Except for only having one elevator for a building of that size and the cleaning staff opening my door at 9AM, we would and will be back. Everything you need is there. Pool, Lounge, Resteraunt, and amung other things. We like to just go to Portsmouth's Downtowm at about 11:30 AM walk around some, have lunch and check into our room, unwind, go to the pool. Around 5 or 6PM have the front call us a cab to return to the Downtown area and start over again but this time do some bar hopping and meet taxi at a pre arrainged place and time to take us back to Holiday Inn. Its a great time. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What you'd expect I book at Holiday Inn because I know what to expect and this hotel lived up to those expectations. After an 11 hour drive, this standard is what I need to be able to face the next day's activities. Clean, quiet, comfortable...this hotel delivered. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for a quick family stay I was able to book this room on a holiday just a few days before heading out. The staff was courteous and the room was sufficient for my family. July 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading