Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 435 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location For shopping,theatre or sightseeing the hotel is perfect. Clean and comfortable room and very helpful and pleasent staff Nice relaxing bar with music and TV not to loud overall we had a excellent stay October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for a theatre visit. It was an excellent location just across the road from the theatre and very close to many excellent restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.The staff were helpful and welcoming. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but needing some minor caring The hotel is in a very central position ans would suit theatre goer or business guest. It was very busy and the breakfast in the "great room " was a squeeze with too many tables and chairs for the space allocated. The room we were given had a very annoying squeaking floor when we moved about in the room and air conditioning was not fitted at all. The shower gel ran out and no replacement was in the bathroom, I would have to go off to find a maid in the middle of my shower (I didn't bother !!) All in all the hotel was satisfactory but as a loyalty card holder I would have expected more. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient comfortable hotel Return visit to the hotel which appears to consistently provide good service and value for money. Breakfast is knowingly limited but simple and substantial. It's location in a very popular city attract many visitors and is always busy. The service provided always matches most needs. October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service from staff and room very comfortable The only downside to our visit was too many people trying to get seats at breakfast, we came at 8.30 couldn't get a seat and went back to our room for a while then tried again. We managed to get a seat but I feel the breakfast area is too small for the amount of guests. We were told we could take our meal downstairs but having to go up and down for items did not appeal. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great condition and great service Very clean hotel. Room good size and beds very comfortable. Breakfast surprisingly good. Excellent service at a very busy breakfast time. October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend theatre break Ideal location for playhouse theatre and shopping. Comfortable hotel with adequate room facilities. Friendly, helpful staff. Bar friendly and comfortable for pre or post theatre drinks. Breakfast area a bit cramped and chaotic depending on what time you go for breakfast. 10 minute walk to the train station. Bus stops 5 mins away. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodation Having always passed the Holiday Inn Express on our way from our twice a year visit to the Edinburgh Playhouse, I always commented on how nice it was when we were going for the bus home to Glasgow. We were going through to see the Jersey boys and decided to stay the night at the Holiday Inn in Picardy Place. It certainly exceeded our expectations and we would not hesitate to return to same or to recommend it to anyone. Everything was excellent October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location for a Girly weekend We were two ladies out on our own and felt very safe and relaxed.The location of the hotel was perfect for the Theatre, cinema, lots of restaurants. and shopping of course. Parking was not too far away but quite expensive - next time we'll leave the car behind, and there will be a next time. Our twin room was small but very comfortable and on the same floor as the restaurant for breakfast. We couldn't believe how quiet it was in the middle of the city. You wouldn't believe this was a budget hotel. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice Hotel to spend a nice couple days in Edinburgh with the family..... well located just to blocks from one of the main street of a lovely city. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All you could ask for in a hotel An excellent hotel in all respects. Friendly and attentive staff. Extremely comfortable Great Room. Well appointed rooms. Ideal location for train, tram, bus and city center. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel situated in a great place If travelling to Edinburgh, I would recommend this hotel, its situated in an ideal spot. Its practical, clean and the staff are lovely an friendly. October 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Confortable room but poor breasfast The hotel is very well located and gave an attractive, comfortable stay. The main downside was the poor range of hot items at breakfast-a much smaller range than at other budget hotels we have stayed at, including some other Holiday Inn Expresses. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is in a great location! If you are visiting Edinburgh on Holiday, it is hard to beat the location of this hotel. It is located a short walk from most of the major tourist and shopping locations in the city. The train station is only blocks away, and if one is lightly packed with a small roll aboard or backpack, it is an easy walk to the train station. There are ample dining experiences right around the hotel, and a nice British pub across the street. The Edinburgh City Centre Enterprise Rent-a-Car facility is right around the corner (less than 1 minute walk). The rooms are typical European small (as compared to much larger American style hotel rooms), but they are clean, comfortable, and quiet. This is a great get away hotel! September 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second Express on trip through Scotland The location was great for visiting the Castle, Royal Mile etc. Spent 3 nights and walked everywhere easily. Super access from the airport via the Tram. One block from the end of the line to the hotel and one block to catch it back to the airport. Can't get easier. Only knock on the place was the bed! It was very low to the floor and very soft. We both had poor sleeps. The bed at Sterling was much better. The other beef was the room temp. No AC so they relied on a fan. It was rattling and with the weather humid the room was warm. Under the covers you got warm and sweaty and then off with the duvet and you got cold and damp. They don't use a top sheet over here so it was the duvet on or off. If there was a top sheet it would have helped. Not sure why they don't use a top sheet but seems like all the HIEX are the same here. If we had of been staying for a week we would have gone to the Crown Plaza's. But for 2 or 3 nights it was ok but would have been much better if they had a comfortable mattress. September 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Going downhill Very slow and unorganised at check in - not recognised as IHG member - one room completely messed up on a group booking - brusque don't care attitude - breakfast a complete scrum - used to be great - isn't now September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Great hotel very centrally located. Great breakfast, good choice of rooms. Very clean. September 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & Well located Hotel We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express from Friday 12/09/14 till 15/09/14 as a, long week end away from London. The location was ideal as it was our first visit to Edinburgh, a vibrant city. When we booked we asked for a standard double room and we expected a double bed. Unfortunately when we arrived late night on Friday we were given a room with twin bed. I suggest when you book and if you are couple make sure that you specifically mention that you want a double bed. However the following two nights they re-allocated us a new room. The staff are friendly and polite and breakfast is ok. September 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Holiday Inn that you are used to Booked this hotel based on great experiences staying at Holiday Inn hotels for both buisness and liesure travel in the past........ This hotel did not live up to the expectation that comes with the name. The staff at the front desk were great, friendly and curteous, no complaints there at all. Aside from the staff at the desk, the rest of the stay felt like I was in a cheap hotel somewhere in eastern Europe. Had it not been for a lack of availability at other establishments in the same part of town, I would have checked out immediately. I will not in the future judge Holiday Inn hotels based on this stay, but I will be more cautious when booking. September 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average HIE Great building from the outside, and good location. Interior is not so great, with a few strange steps and creaking hallway floors, and no wardrobes. Breakfast is good. September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A hotel my family and I can count on The HIE Edinburgh City Centre is the hotel of choice for my family and me. From the time of booking to the time of check-out, we know we can count on it. It is that kind of 'no worry' experience that makes us go back to this hotel from time to time. The quality of service, the nice people, the no nonsense breakfast, the great location (just minutes' of walk from Waverly Station), the excellent value for money, the recognition of IHG membership and enjoyment of benefits, etc, all make this hotel stand out amongst the rest. September 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Muy buen hotel Muy recomendable por trato del personal, ubicación y precio-servicio September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good breakfast poor Room was clean and spacious enough but too warm. After opening window it was obviously noisy. Bathroom good. Breakfast very poor, bland , with little fresh healthy choice. Poor quality white sliced bread was the only bread on offer. Croissants were not fresh tasting. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs air conditioning Excellent staff Brilliant location Very warm rooms needed air conditioning September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central location Brilliant central location just at the end of the tram line. Friendly & helpful staff, usual comfortable, clean & modern rooms. Breakfast lacks the quality that could be achieved with better ingredients but is adequate. Plenty of good restaurants & pubs within short walk. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Warm and welcoming staff Great location. Great welcome. Good choice of breakfast. Superb weekend break. Thanks August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location good value for money Great location when visit the Fringe. the price was included breakfast which was great. August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location but poor sleep Very convenient central location but I had an interrupted night's sleep because the room was too hot and the cleaning staff woke me in the morning by knocking loudly on the door despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign being displayed. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent efficiency Always expensive in Edinburgh during the festival but worth it for staying close to all the venues etc. especially as I needed to keep going back to hotel to warm up and dry out as it was so rainy. Lovely calm, efficient and polite staff at such a busy time. Please, please get some real coffee for breakfast! Had to go out to get a decent cup, such a shame. August 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive but worth it for a one-off. I was in Edinburgh for a one-off event and this was one of the few places left which was relatively near to where I wanted to be. I expected it to cost a bit more, not only because of its location but also because it was Edinburgh Festival time. On the whole it was a nice stay. My only minor complaint was the Great Room at breakfast - the tables were crowded so close together, it was a bit of a struggle to get around, especially with a loaded tray of food. The hotel claims to have accessible rooms but there is no way you could get a wheelchair or someone on crutches even near the breakfast bar because the aisles left between tables were so very narrow. Given this is likely a very popular spot, the layout of the breakfast room really does need a rethink. Perhaps there should be an overspill into the extensive bar one floor down? Or perhaps reduce the number of tables? Apart from that, it was a lovely stay. August 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>