Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Central location In a good location and very quiet. Family room was very cramped for 4 of us and sofa bed was uncomfortable. For the price that we paid we did not feel we got good value for money. Even taking its central location and the time of the year we stayed into account half the price for three nights would have been slightly more than we should have paid for the basic room and facilities provided. August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by lack of options for requests While the stay was nice, and the location of the hotel was great, I found the management to be completely unhelpful when dealing with requests. I needed to ship my bags to another hotel, and I received no support from management. Reception was as helpful as they could be, but the sense I got was that there was no room for creativity, to go above and beyond...that the hotel would be run in a certain way, with no room for doing the right thing to help a guest. I wound up removing a day from my UK trip of a lifetime to return to the hotel to pick up my bags because the shipping options would not allow for guarantee weekend delivery. Had I know that there were issues earlier in the week, I could have re-arranged that delivery. Instead, I lost a day of my vacation with my family for 5.5 hour one-way train ride. If this is how all of your hotels are managed---lack of vision and support---then I'm not terribly keen to stay in any of your hotels anywhere in the world (for business or otherwise). August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The hotel provided everything we would expect in a clean, efficient manner, but we would have liked bacon to be available for our otherwise very satisfactory buffet-breakfast. The outstanding thing was the attitude of every staff member that we met, who, quite simply, could not have been more helpful nor more pleasant, despite the fact that the hotel was full (Edinburgh Festival was in full swing). definitely recommended. August 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap'ish & cheerful Convenient location for all that's going on during the Edinburgh Festival month of August. If it is luxury you seek, try elsewhere (and pay a lot more) but the hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Worst thing was the ghastly coffee served at breakfast. August 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A real disappointment We have stayed in several Holiday inn and Crown Plaza properties in the UK, USA and Europe. In comparison to other holiday inn properties, this was a massive disappointment. Quite how a property that does not have wardrobe to keep clothes, a shower that is so feeble that it takes two minutes to get wet under it, rooms that are not ready for your occupation at 10pm at night and interenet that does not work for half the time one stays there, is given four stars is beyond me. This deserves two star rating. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Holyday Inn Express,royal mile,Edinburgh is located perfectly in old town. Walking distance to almost everything...botn streets and nature. Great for modning-run to arthurs seats ! August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Helpfull Staff Staff went out of their way to help good choice for breakfast room was comfortable and cool August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and very helpful staff I would highly reccommend this hotel if sightseeing in Edinburgh. It is located close to all the main sights and the station but rooms were very quiet even in Festival week. The staff were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and advice on how to get to the various sights. Rooms were clean, airy and spacious. There was a good selection for breakfast and space to sit even though the hotel was busy August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff just lovely I have stayed in luxury hotels around the world. The patience, kindness, knowledge of their city, good humor, and competence of the FOH staff here are equal or greater than any of them. When they didn't know an answer immediately, they found out fast. They performed services similar to those done by a concierge. When I asked the same question more than once, they smiled, but still answered. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay We had a very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay here in two double rooms. Staff were so friendly, welcoming and efficient. Made it a great place to return to after our hectic days out at the Edinburgh Festival shows. Very quiet at night, very clean rooms, excellent room service and wonderful shower with great water pressure. Any small queries dealt with straight away and always with a smile. Thanks for a great stay! August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and prompt service The room was quiet with a lovely view. If there was anything we needed attending to, it was done so immediately. The bathroom was very nicely re-done. Staff was exceptional and the entire premises were kept very clean. If the breakfast choices included gluten free bread, the breakfast experience would have been better. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff comfortable room We stayed at this express three nights and could not have made a better choice. The hotel has a fantastic position to enjoy all Edinburgh has to offer within walking distance of many attractions. We were able to access our rooms before the stated check in time which was so convenient for us. All staff were extremely accomodating and very helpful and very cheery - this makes a huge difference - our rooms were immaculate and maintained to a high standard. We had no concerns at all and had a fantastic break. We will definately stay again and would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Edinburgh Very Nice hotel ! Very near the olé city center and everything you would like to see and visit August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and convenient place to stay,great service We enjoyed our stay at you hotel very much.convenient location and the service was excellent.highy recommend to everyone wishing to stay in Edinburgh . August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Ideal location for sites and tours. Room facilities a little sparse, e.g. Wardrobe space, but fine for short break. Breakfast convenient and adequate. Free wifi a plus. Helpful staff. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great location...walking distance to all major tourist sites. Nice, friendly staff at desk and house keeping. Room was clean and modern. Free breakfast with great variety and Free WiFi are always welcome. I would stay here again and probably will since I plan to visit Edinburgh again. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected Well situated, well priced, with great service. An easy walk to all the sights. Room was very clean and modern: slightly smaller than expected but easy to adjust to. Breakfast provided as well as internet: both a plus. Overall, a very nice hotel, and better than many at higher prices. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST HOTEL HOME AWAY FROM HOME WE RETURNED TO EDINBURGH -ROYAL MILE THIS IS THE 3RD YEAR IN A ROW AS THE STAFF ARE LIKE FAMILY GOOD FAMILY ,AMY ALWAYS WITH A WARM SMILE AND A CAN DO ATTITUDE.NICOLA WITH HER LOVELY CURLY HAIR ALWAYS RUSHING TO HELP YOU.AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST BILLY WILL GO OUT OF HIS WAY TO POINT OUT A GOOD PUB ,BAR ECT THIS IS WHY THIS HOTEL IS NUMBER ONE ,THE STAFF CARE, THE BREAKFST IS FRESH.BEDS SO COMFORTABLE ,LOCATION IS GRAND ON THE ROYAL MILE .WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT...PARDISE...THATS WHY ME AND MY HUSBAND KEEP COMING BACK EVERY YEAR July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value! Very clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful! We will stay again. (Please provide bacon for breakfast....who doesn't like bacon???) July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location yet quiet area and good value for money Within 10 minute walking distance from Edinburgh Waverly train station and within 50 meters from the Royal Mile High Street, this IHG property is in a quiet street. The breakfast is great though the bed could be a little bit bigger. Good value for money if you are not looking for room service. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great city centre location and a good nights sleep We booked this for 2 nights to do a city break in edinburgh as part of a scottish road trip. The location is great for exploring edinburgh, and although it's central, its not in a noisy location. There is a secure NCP car park a couple of minutes away at discounted prices. The room was excellent, large and well appointed. The breakfast is a bit cafeteria like, with a narrow range of hot food- but if you've used a holiday inn express before you'll know what to expect. nevertheless we had a great stay June 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location The location of the Holliday Inn Express at Cowgate is perfect to explore Edinburgh city. Within walking distance to all great places. Very friendly and helpful staff. June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, excellent staff My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was incredibly friendly and you could not beat the location. It was approximately a block from The World's End Pub and the Royal Mile. We were able to go everywhere just walking, including the Waverly train station. Even though the hotel was very close to everything, it was also located on a quiet street. No traffic or pedestrians could be heard in the room. The only downside was that in order for the lights to work in the room, you had to put your key card in a slot by the door. The continental breakfast was surprisingly good and included a variety of warm and cold options. Would definitely recommend this hotel. June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service especially by your front desk staff It was a very comfortable, convenient and great stay at the hotel for 2 days. your staff was excellent - very helpful, always smiling and great service. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Stayed with a group of young people. Staff were always friendly and helpful and didn't mind that we were quite a large group and took up lots of space in public areas. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Scotland in an Excellent Holiday Inn Express. Once again, I am impressed with how Holiday Inn serves its guest. The little things like electric kettle in the room and the the message/note that informs guest that in case we forget some travel kits from vanity items like cotton, toothbrush or sanitary napkin- they'd be happy to provide with compliments. I liked that very much especially travelers really at times run out on these stuff. Location is perfect as just around the corner is the Royal MIle where you can walk straight to the Edinburgh Castle and lines of shops and restaurants. Waverly Station is just 5-10 minute walk Thanks to Daniel and AMy who are very helpful especially when we requested for a reservation for our last-minute tour. Choice of breakfast is great, but I think its best to suggest that breakfast choices can be planned to be served alternately (ex. sausage and egg for Monday, bacon or beans the next then alternate it again) so that long staying guests (3 days up) won't be eating the same stuff for the entire duration. But everything is a great selection. Except for the rain, Edinburgh is an amazing place to visit and we were very pleased to have chosen HIE-Royal Mile. Thank you for your hospitality, keep on being great in service. Definitely a big smile for Holiday Inn Express team! May 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious and modern Enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Rooms large and quiet. Air con and heating controls in room so great as I could warm up or cool down according to the British weather! Only problem was wifi was variable. Reception told me only iPads and iPhones have this problem. But don't the majority of people use these now? Great location, close to all Edinburgh tourist sites. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value This property has the rare combination of great service, location, and price. We were easy walks to a myriad of cafes, pubs, restaurants, as well as to the areas and sights we wanted to explore. Rooms were small but well-designed and used the space brilliantly. The bed was comfortable. We asked for a quiet location and the HIE delivered--utterly quiet and peaceful for great sleeping. The staff was great and tremendously helpful, especially Vicki at the front desk. A great stay! May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satified, would stay again. We stayed at this hotel both nights we were in Edinburgh. The three of us shared a room, which meant two in a bed and one on a sofa bed. The bed was comfy enough, but the sofa bed was hard as expected. The shower had strong water pressure which is good after all the hill climbing in Scotland. The room had its own A/C unit, which kept the room comfortable while in it, unfortunately had to turn it off at night due to the noise and flashing lights it made. Breakfast was decent enough, I always find the scrambled eggs at breakfast's as these to not be very good, no exceptions here. Improvement can be made on the breakfast, but it is complimentary. Hotel is located close to the Royal Mile, and the Bus/Train station, which is great for those coming from the Airport or elsewhere. Not much for Restaurants or Entertainment on Cowgate, but plenty within walking distance if you head in the right direction. Overall, I would gladly stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Royal Mile again. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met all expectations The staff at the front desk were very helpful! They offered restaurant choices, sightseeing tips, and arranged our taxi pick up. Breakfast was nice to have as an option. Good choices available, fruit with warm and cold options. Also appreciated the informal book exchange. After finishing my novel on the long flight over it was nice to be able to pick up a new book and leave mine for someone else to enjoy. May 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>