Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 131 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would Not Come Back My wife and I made advance reservations to stay at this hotel for one night at the beginning and end of a vacation in which we flew in and out of Philadelphia from the west coast. Both of our stays were extremely disappointing and probably the worst Holiday Inn experience that we have ever had to endure. The entire facility was dark and tired appearing and was not clean. The door to our room did not fully close and latch without a lot of extra effort. The walls were so thin that we could hear people in the next room speaking in their normal voices. There is a restaurant/bar/nightclub next door with live music is noisy and attracts a young crowd that likes to "hangout". Large groups of people gathered in the parking lot under our window and were talking loudly and laughing at 2am. On one occasion my wife used the stairs to get to our upstairs room and they appeared not to have been cleaned in quite some time. We ate at the restaurant immediately next door and found the service and food quality to be poor. When checking in we found, despite being a rewards member, that we were paying more for our room than almost all of the other guests checking in. The overall experience has caused us to choose to fly into Baltimore rather than Philadelphia in the future and reconsider our continued participation in the rewards program August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded We were recently stranded in the Philadelphia airport when we happened upon the accommodations kiosk. Where do I begin in thanking Tarnia(?) and Bob. She quickly eased our stress and sent a shuttle to pick us up. Upon pickup at 9 at night, Bob offered to take us to get something to eat, and provided many food delivery choices.. At arrival, she made more suggestions on good delivery food and actually gave us menus! She set up wake up call right then and shared her apologies for the airport issues! Only apology we received on our trip. Nothing but understanding and help were provided by the employees. The hotel was a safe place to land instead of staying in the airport. Thank you doesn't express our appreciation for the kindness shown!! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Views The location was real convenient to the airport and the surrounding area was fine. The view of the adjoining park and river were excellent. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Philly Airport location I chose this location because it was close to the airport and was convenient for me. Everything was up to or above the normal H.I. Express standards except that the rooms did not have a safe or a refrigerator. Neither of these were a deal breaker but would have been nice to have. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Efficient Staff The staff handled my reservations for 2 room very well. The computer connection was good and essential. We enjoyed the restaurant next door. What a view both from the restaurant and from the hotel. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Excellence Aiesha; at the desk should be the face of your facility. She was above and beyond in every contact with me and several of my colleagues for the week I was there.She convinced me to join your rewards program and I have used it several times since I joined. I cannot say enough about her. She is a shining jewel in your employee crown, one that you need to do whatever is needed to keep her! Unfortunately, good employees do move on. Ed, the Shuttle driver was a fountain of information as well as courteous, knowledgeable and funny and humorous in his deportment with the guests. Upon our leaving at the end of the week he was flexible in bringing our bags to the airport and meeting us, thereby saving us an extra trip to the hotel and then have to get right back to the airport to make our late afternoon flights, as we were in downtown Philly for government training. I have never had that kind of courteous, willing and goodnatured service and I've traveled traveled a lot in the past 35 years. Donna; helped to make my room home for the week that I was there. I ask for only decaf coffee and she obliged, not to mention the other many little things she did to to make things comfortable. Judy; made it a point to make sure I had a banana or apple or both, every day, to take with me downtown so that I would not have to stop and buy one in the Market Street Station. I am a diabetic and that fruit was an essential part of my daily diet! Not to mention those fabulous breakfasts that were there every morning. Good thing I was only there for a week! Anthony; Another jewel in your crown of employees. Good sport, filled with good tips and information on the area for our free time, what little of it there was. He also helped orchestrate arrangements with Ed on our last day and made sure all of our baggage was together for that late in the day pickup when we did our last day in Philly! Shawna; as a manager you are obviously very good at your job, when you consider the team of employees you have running your operation. There is nothing else that needs to be said, in my opinion. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired hotel with friendly staff I travel a lot....and stay at hotels all over the country. I have to agree with one of the other reviewers (actually I think he didn't go far enough# - this HI Express is probably in the bottom 25% as far as showing it's age. Set off the beaten path, you have to park quite a distance away from the building and carry your bags past all the "park and fly" signs in the windshield of cars that are parked closer... I arrived after dark,, and the word "creapy" kind of sets the mood - next to a marina dry dock, with a lot of old boats. Generally not an inviting atmosphere. The elevator is old and feels it. Doors that seem to be metal and have had a coat of paint to hide their age give the first indication of the condition of this hotel. I would guess that it had a "paint and carpet" remodel a few years ago - and nothing else. In addition, there is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I just stayed in Daytona Beach at a HI last week that was 50% less per night and almost brand new - by comparison this location is way overpriced for the quality of the hotel. Breakfast was ok - #not great, but not bad) - I also agree with another reviewer that the friendly older lady taking care of the breakfast room was the best part of the stay - but the rest of the staff was also pretty friendly. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and Helpful Staff My review will be mixed. First, high marks for room and hotel staff. I have stayed here a few times, and always a good sleep. However, I carry two computers, one personal and one for business. The Business Computer does not connect to the internet at this site. Sometimes this happens because my firewall and your system have a mismatch. Unfortunately, it hurts not to have the internet and I will probably seldom return now. July 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by July 2013 Visit I stayed in this hotel for one night in July, 2013. Even though I am a platinum member, I was given a handicap accessible room, which I didn't want. The bathroom had an ant problem. The room and hotel are outdated and not particularly cleanly. The breakfast in the morning was below the standards that I have seen at other Holiday Inn Express locations. The hotel, itself, is not in the best neighborhood. Overall, would not recommend. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet comfortable night This property seems a little off the beaten path sort of place, but I think that gave me a more secure feeling, and it is next to a park and a marina on the waterfront which also contributed to the quiet relaxing air. The room and beds were very comfortable. Not a big deal, but the elevator sort of banged, not sure if it is the door or what, but we were not next to it so it did not disturb us in our room. The bathtub drain would not stay open, so housekeeping came and took it entirely out as there was no maintenece available on Saturday evenings. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again if I were back in the area. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New and Nice New property right near the water. I had the end room and it was huge. Very clean and a nice new bathroom design. The restaurant next door has good food but they close early so plan accordingly. There is a great pizza place down the street and cheesesteaks nearby. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We were going to the Stones concert and needed a place to stay afterwards since we were coming from Virginia. The hotels next to the stadium were $500 a night. Going 5 miles down the road to a recently renovated HI Express was well worth it. It was easy to find and had plenty of free parking. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice. Would stay there again next time we come to the Philadelphia area. June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and friendly front desk This hotel was convenient to PPL park, and walking distance to local eateries and Catholic Church. This is not a new hotel, the entrance looks newly redone, but the rooms and hallways show the age and wear and tear. Everything was clean and all workers were very friendly. The breakfast was great and we even had to use the micro and toaster very early in the morning due to working at US Open very early. The front desk staff was very accommodating and more than happy to help us out. The only complaint was a housekeeping employee who on her shifts knocked early, 8 AM to see if we would be needing the room service. We felt like she could have just checked in a few hours later or waited for us to take the sign off the door. We are Priority Club members and the only offer was a bottle of water and bag of pretzels. We thought maybe points or a free appetizer at nearby restaurant would have been a nicer bonus. June 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not that great Of the many HI Express I have stayed in, this one is in the bottom third. Generally not an inviting atmosphere. No minifridge or microwave. Overpriced for the quality of the hotel. No water at all on the morning of departure, but that was due to a water main break outside of their control. Staff wsa good. Left too early to eat breakfast. June 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at H.I. Philly, 06/05/2013 My stay was very pleasant. I am sure glad you folks have a shuttle. Also, I want to Thank the older gentleman for picking me up from the airport. Con: That was the first time in over 25 stays at a Holiday Inn that I was asked for a $25 deposit for room insurance. (The hotel stay was already paid for by my company) "I am not going to have a Frat party in my room!!!!!!!" I am middle-aged and boring. If I am in a similar circumstance (pre-Flight at Philly), I will stay at the Philly Airport Holiday Inn. June 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Not recommend this location for anyone.. Bed was uncomfortable and TV was never working. I called down to the front desk about the TV. Some came and change the wire, he left and same thing. It was like Direct TV while in a heavy storm, but it was a nice day and evening. One of the worst Holiday Inn Express I ever stayed in. The little lady at the breakfast area was the best part of the stay June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job Everything was just as advertised and very comfortable. The setting was fantastic. Loved seeing the river in the morning. Quiet, clean and a place I will visit again June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All great except..... Staff was awesome, rooms were clean, area is quiet, and the shuttle service is great. Don't be fooled by the location. There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and the shuttle driver will even take you. Great family atmosphere. BUT, the hotel appears to have a policy that allows employees to eat breakfast in the morning. Do employees really need to take up table space, talk on their phones, while guests have to stand because of a lack of table space? May 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Great Room I often fly from the Philadelphia Airport and I always stay at the Holiday Inn at Essington. it is a newly renovated hotel and It is a great value and the staff is extremely courteous. The last time I was there, I forgot whether I locked the car or not. I was already at the airport and I didn't know anyone in the area to stop and check the car. I quickly thought of Kyle who greeted me at the desk in the morning when I was checking out. I called him and asked if he would be able to check the car. He told me it would be no problem. He even took the time to call me back and assure me that everything was ok. I can't thank him enough for putting my mind at ease. Thanks and see you again soon!!! May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 All you would ask for in a hotel Before and after flying from the Philadelphia Airport, this clean, quiet, comfortable hotel is as good as it gets. It's close to the airport; the shuttle service is reliable; the staff is courteous; and the breakfast is varied, tasty, and overseen by an amazingly positive woman whose friendly demeanor brightens any morning. Oh, and the rates are competitive. Finally, check out their generous arrangements for leaving your car for an extended time. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service My husband and I stayed here over Mother's day weekend and we like to commend first the housekeeping staff Sandra, and Dolores for the oustanding job, our room was always clean and fresh.. Second the front desk staff..Tarshia and Anthony,,Tarshia worked with me on combining two separate reservations so we can stay in the same room. Anthony deserves a promotion and raise his knowledge of the area and his friendliness was refreshing....Overall the experience was wonderful. I use to live in the area until I moved out west. When I come back to visit, I would most certainly stay here again. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent rate in the Philly area This was my 2nd stay at this hotel in the past 6 months. I really enjoyed being close enough to the city to drive in for a special event, but far enough away to get a great rate and be able to relax with a stroll next to the water. The rooms are modern, the staff is excellent and the stay is always great. This will be my new home away from home for all Philly trips. May 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Loud music at night couldn't sleep until they gave us another room This Holiday Inn Express is fairly new and the property is very clean and nice. However, there is a nightclub two buildings down the dock area that has extremely loud music with subwoofers that rattle the rooms on that side of the building (odd numbered rooms). We could not sleep the noise was so loud. The staff were very accommodating and moved us to the other side of the hallway (even numbered rooms) and we slept fine. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Best Hotel Staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and close Property is obviously older but the property and rooms were clean and serviceable. Internet connection was solid as well. I would not want to spend a week at this location but for an occasional night before/after a flight it's fine. May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DO AGAIN STAY Our experience at this Express was delightful! The staff was warm, courteous and MADE our stay. Since we have relatives in the surrounding area, this is the only reservations we need to make. We are coming up from Houston, TX for Thanksgiving and I'm already making our plans. We do wish a few finds couls be improved on: The back patio was a great resting area (very soothing next to the inlet#, but the back door did not allow access with our room key. We had to walk around the entire building. Since our stays will be for a period of 4 to 7 days, it would be a great idea to place small refrigerators in the rooms. It would be very convenient for your guests. Thing you do not want to do is change your staff. From the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the maid service #breakfast included), they made our stay so very welcoming. THANKS!!!!!! April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept Philadelphia Airport secret Great service -- very polite staff and very nice rooms. The free parking and airport shuttle was a huge bonus April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Benefits We took advantage of staying here the night before an early morning departure from the Philadelphia Airport and walked next door for dinner and drinks overlooking the Delaware River from the large dining deck. The room quality and cleanliness, combined with the free parking and airport shuttle provided by friendly and helpful drivers made this trip that much more relaxing. April 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn Let's start by saying the internet was not working. Both wifi and cable in room, nor were the buisness ones. It had been out for two days. Yes they did get it running later that night. NO cell service I had to prop up my phone on pillows on the desk just to get a fleeting one bar that would go in and out. My room was right next to the lobby but I think most of the noise came from the 1 inch gap on the door at the bottom. I travel 75% of the time so I can easliy say this is the worst Holiday Inn Ive been to. When I return to Philly I will not be staying here. Oh yea they dont have a resturant just a three bin buffet with poor quality food. March 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay This is our second stay at Holiday Inn Express in Essington, and I would definitely recommend it. Shuttle to and from the airport was right on time. Staff was especially courteous and friendly. Anthony and Shauna did a great job in checking us in and signing us up for Priority club membership. Would highly recommend this facility. March 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>