Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 132
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huck6048 Excellent Stay, except for:
I had an excellent 13 night stay except for the distance and route you have to go to get to the guest laundry. Please build one in the main bldg. Thank you
August 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shelly17 Too much time to correct a grave problem with reimbursement for incorrect charges
I booked a wedding block over the phone and this was not done correctly. Even though I spoke to the Latham holiday inn where my guests were going to stay I was not really listened to and therefore. Many erroneous errors. I told Latham to RELEASE rooms not taken and was misunderstood- not sure how that could have been clearer since there were five rooms for the bride and I said she did not need them. Then instead of circling the problem I had to wait three hours until an employee that could review the problem came to work. Meanwhile the hotel manager walked past me at the front desk saw there was an issue and never stopped to help. Gift bags for my wedding guests were not all distributed and found behind the desk with many of the items missing such as water bottles and expensive chocolates. No apologies for any of the above. While waiting at the hotel for reversal of incorrect charges to my card I contacted corporate guest services and then and only then did the ball start to roll. I would never recommend this hotel for a massive booking- customer service and valuing the consumer was PATHETIC.
August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COL2631 Accessible good place to RON
RON at your Motel two years ago and enjoyed stay again this year - keep up the excellent facility and service!
August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MrsB07 clean and quiet
The room was modern, the bed comfortable. The shower was clean as well as the towels, etc. My only complaint would be not bright enough lighting to read by.
The breakfast bar is very good, The room was clean.
August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MORENO234 GREAT ROOM
EXCELLENT room very quiet, i enjoy the stay.
All service was very good
August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Scott54115 Clean, Comfortable, Safe and a Great Location
Hotel was very nice. Only problems I encountered were the other guests who were rude by letting their doors slam.
August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Chuck1230 Good front desk service - poor housekeeping
Came back one night from being out all day and found that our room was not cleaned properly. It wasn't vacuumed, no clean towels. The bed wasn't even made properly. Front desk was notified and new towels delivered. They also credited our Priority Points account with additional points and correctedvthe housekeeping problems the next day.
We did find the room noisy with the air conditioners from other rooms very loud.
The pool was murky and unheated.
August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by jk113 The worst hotel experience EVER
This was by far the worst hotel experience we have ever had.
my wife has severe arthritis & it was important to have an indoor pool.The pool was cloudy & unusable for our entire stay.
Complaints to the staff never resolved the problem.
On the 1st morning the breakfast food was not replenished timely
& when my wife asked about yogurt she was told it's gone.
when we returned to our room on the 3rd night we found that it
had never been cleaned. On return to our room on the 4th night
we found that our bathroom had never been cleaned & the fresh
towels had been thrown on top of our suitcase,unfolded.
Upon checkout I told the poor front desk clerk what a nightmare this
had been & she apologized many times.
She finally discounted the bill as some compensation,but that
does not excuse the poor service & amenities not provided.
August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by joe081 Rowdy Youth Group on 4th Floor 10pm-2am
I usually enjoy this location very much. Good breakfast, great area centrally located, nice staff and a relatively new building; as well as fine rooms. I stayed #2 nights. 2nd night was wonderful. 1st night there was a youth group staying on my 4th floor that was loud (running in hall, yelling, slamming on my door, etc.) between the hours of 10pm to 2am; a nightmare. I called down numerous times to front desk and also went down personally around midnight to express my displeasure w/the situation. We went back and forth until 2am when the riot finally died down; a bit after I threatened to call the police. The youth group was not invited back the following night and for that I am grateful. HIE did also compensate by providing me IHG points. I am still waiting for HIE to comp my first night stay.
August 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by CSIV Only Half of the Bathroom Cleaned?
The lamps and clock at the head of the bed where unplugged. At least the clock should have been noticed as not working. One of the lamp cords was not even long enough to reach the plug.
The next morning, there was no bath mat for the floor in the bathroom. Used one "towel" thinking it was the bath mat and put it on the floor. Started the shower, got in, now wet, to realize there were two half used bars of soap still in the holder. Then the only towels left to dry off with where all hand towels. Someone started to clean the bath room because the sink had new soap, shampoo etc. but then I'd say they did not finish the rest.
Worst part, I started to think about the cleanliness rest of the room.
August 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lana25 No Hot Water
I was staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Latham for my best friend's wedding. I was in the bridal party and had to stay near her house, so this hotel was a good option. The hotel room itself was very nice, king size bed with a flat screen tv.. the furniture was very comfortable and it was as to be expected. I noticed that there was a dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door that I did not put there, so that was a little gross. Then, after dancing all night at my friend's rehearsal dinner/party, I needed to take a shower before her wedding day the next day. The water was ICE COLD in the shower! Before I even attempted to get in, my boyfriend went downstairs to tell management that our hot water wasn't working. The kid at the desk downstairs told my boyfriend that he knows all about it and "maintenance is working on it" .... it was after midnight.. there was no way that maintenance was actually working on it at that time. I was forced to suck it up and mentally prep myself to take an ice cold shower and wash my hair. The next morning, the staff did not compensate us at all for our inconvenience. The best that they could offer us was to allow my boyfriend to stay in the room and check out at 1pm instead of 11am so that he could hang out a little longer before the wedding ceremony while I was out getting ready with the bride. I'd also like to point out that another bridesmaid was staying at the hotel, and she had to shower in cold water as well the night before. I'm not sure what the problem was, but I felt as if we should have been compensated for our inconvenience.
August 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Neveragain123 Unpleasant experience
Checked in late at night....booked a suite to accomodate family of 5, but it happened to be directly above and adjacent to the bar attached to the hotel. The room smelled of cigarette smoke and hotel was full for the night, so they couldn't change our room.
The bar also was extremely loud and easily heard until well past midnight (on a tuesday)....music blaring, people yelling, etc. Called front desk - they said they'd turn down the music, but nothing ever happened.
Final straw was the carton of spoiled milk at breakfast.
Mentioned everything to manager in the morning....6 days later - haven't heard back from them on how they might "take care of us".....
August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bearcwboy GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE
This property is a great place to stay. The customer service people I came in contact with were very good. If I needed something they went out of their way to help out. Mike and Tyler were extremely nice and very upbeat and seemed to love their jobs.
It is great to see a smiling face, and they remember me since I have stayed here on more than one occasion.
The breakfast service is somewhat lax and not very efficient
August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by geokahjr Nice Room But AWFUL Neighbors!
We were a group of three nurses staying one night on business. The hotel is nicely decorated and our rooms were comfortable and clean. Both sink drains (the one in the mini kitchen & the one in the bathroom) were very slow draining - to the point of being almost completely plugged). Otherwise we have absolutely no complaints about the room.
Around midnight a group of youths decided to make the hallway outside our room a playground - running up and down the hall and talking/laughing so loud that they woke all three of us from a sound sleep. When they didn't quiet down after about 10 min, one of us opened our door and asked them politely to please quiet down as people were trying to sleep. The noise never abated, but rather got worse! After about half an hour we again asked them to quiet down. At this time there was a hotel employee in the hall who assured us we would be comped for our room. I must add here that the noise continued intermittently until at least 5:00 AM! So much for getting any sleep before work in the morning.... Had we known it would go on for so long, we would have left around midnight and found a quieter place to sleep.
Upon checkout in the morning we were charged full price for our room, tho a quick trip to the front desk remedied that with no trouble at all.
I certainly don't blame the hotel staff for the noise. They did their best to restore order - even I'm told, calling the General Manager in, in the middle of the night. I do blame the young teenagers and especially their chaperones. Shame on them for allowing their charges to behave so badly.
August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sadanddisappointed82013 Ok stay ......except for front desk individual
I reserved 3 rooms at the Holiday inn Express in Latham on July 3 for guests attending a memorial service a month later on August 3, 2103. It was booked through my AAA agent, and a confirmation e-mail sent to me. When calling the hotel to verify an adjustment to the reservation made by the widow of the deceased I felt the front desk clerk was less than helpful, impatient, and certainly unprofessional.
When pulling up the reservation he claimed that there was only 2 rooms reserved under the original reservation name when in fact the confirmation I had in front of me listed 3. I was not at my computer so could not verify the confirmation number on the print out in front of me (that I had printed earlier) but he insisted that there were only 2 rooms on the reservation. I was put on hold 2 times, and during our conversation he was conversing with other people and obviously tending to other matters as well.
I told him I would have to call AAA again to retrieve my information and get back to him. He then told me that I should call the hotel directly in the future when dealing with reservations and I kindly asked what he thought I was doing at the moment in trying to straighten the matter out.
I hung up and called AAA and they too confirmed my reservation and confirmation number and that 3 rooms had been reserved. I called the hotel back again and once again was greeted by Mike. I gave him the confirmation numbers again and this time he did in fact pull up a total of 3 rooms under the given name. Amazing! This was furthermore upsetting in that the rooms reserved were supposed to be all 2 queen bed rooms and he informed me that no, some were single king bed rooms.
A few days later (Sunday July 28) I called to add an additional room to our reservation for another 2 family members arriving for the memorial service and the same desk clerk once again answered. I was put on hold for a period of time which is fine but when he came back and pulled up the available rooms the cost was considerably more. Rather than offer other options or give me a moment to think and ask questions he was very quick in asking for a credit card to hold the room. I once again felt rushed and that he was too busy to take the time to help out. I promptly hung up the phone after telling him that I thought he could have handled it more professionally and then booked a room of choice myself on-line on the hotel’s website at a much lower cost than quoted and still fully refundable up to 6 p.m. on the day of arrival.
I hope this weekend that family is treated a little more professionally at the front desk than I have been over the phone.
If it was not for all the other arrangements that have to be made and relocating out of town guests who all want to be in the same hotel I would take my business elsewhere.
A follow up is in order here I believe. My mother-in law and son and daughter in law and grandson did stay at this hotel as planned. When checking in, the same desk person met us at the front desk. I was very willing to let bygones be bygones and move on from there. There was a sign posted next to the font desk that if hotel guests could not rate their stay as a perfect 10 that they wanted to hear from them. I was happy to see this and expected the best. He commented on my sheet of paper that had several confirmation numbers written on it that I placed on the desk so I could verify all the rooms and dates. Because he commented, I then kindly revealed to him that I was the one he had had a conversation with the previous week. I assured him that I totally understood short staffing problems as I experience them as well at work. Rather than say he apologized for the misunderstanding over the phone or try to assure us that our stay would be welcomed and comfortable he said “yes, yes I’m terribly busy all the time.” I was made to feel that it was my problem, not his.
We checked in and were never asked if he could be of assistance with our luggage. We maneuvered a luggage cart that we found on our own out to our car and then found our room. The shift was changing and there were not less than 4 people (all males) standing behind the desk as we passed by with the luggage and not one looked up or offered help. I am thankful that we (ages 76 and 57) were able to help ourselves! A simple acknowledgement that we may have needed help or an offer would have been nice.
While at the hotel my mother-in law’s room had not been serviced by 4p.m. one day. She was fine with that except for wanting a few fresh towels. When she called down to the desk the same individual answered. Rather than say I will make sure someone helps you out shortly he said in a disgruntled tone, “The housekeeping staff is here until 5 so they will get there eventually.” Ok, not the response she would have expected for a simple request for fresh towels.
My sister in law also felt a bit uncomfortable one morning at breakfast when she requested something for her 7 year old. After taking care of the matter the same individual then got near her and sarcastically asked if everything was alright now? Again, we are not looking for trouble. We went into the stay with the assumption of a comfortable stay during a sad time for the family.
My mother-in –law is returning tonight for an overnight before catching an early flight tomorrow. When she went to confirm this reservation last Sunday the same individual informed her that it had already been confirmed with “your friend” upon check in. What was wrong with saying yes, I would be happy to check that for you??????
I did ask a niece and nephew who are both in the hospitality business (one in Jackson Hole, Wy. and one in a hotel in Greenwich Village) if these responses and behavior were acceptable. They both agreed that most likely he had not been well trained and seeing as I have not had a response to the call I placed to the manager of the hotel, the manager was not well trained either.
I will definitely think twice before suggesting this Holiday Inn Express again.
August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by QRV511 Very Satisfied
One night stay but we plan on returning. Clean room and bathroom and a full supply of towels and bathroom items. Comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast was hot and fresh and replenished as needed.
August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LFisc Comfortable, Clean and Friendly.
We just stayed overnight but the rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant; service was good and so was the food. As a Priority Club member, many of the Holiday Inns offer a small welcome gift such as extra points, welcome beverages etc but there was nothing like that there. We'll definitely stay there again if we're in the area and would recommend it to others.
August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by INeedBob I always stay at Holiday Inn Express
I try to stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels whenever I can. Always a good experience. Breakfast choices as good for the room price although the bacon was not the best. Had to choose Poor for "Able to Relax" question because I had my kids with me, not because of the hotel.
August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 no sheets no service
first of all the rooms pull out couch mattress was too small for the frame spring exposed on both sides sheet were dirty when never changed evan after we made the hotel aware we could not get an extra comforter until we actually told them we would check out.
no bottom sheet on one of the queen beds when we check in to a clean room?
Room that can sleep 6 had 2 towels
when we made front desk aware was told the gen manager would contact us never did went back three time until i got the same overnight person at 7 pm saying the GM would contact me after i checked out still has not happened.
Yes they took something off the bill but not till i had to return three time to the front desk and still no fallow up from any one
August 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by circus rude staff
the room was really nice and comfortable...
the staff was less than accommodating to our group...not providing a space to gather as they originally promised, even put up signs so we could not access the gathering area.
the patio was nice
staff was rude, not at all looking to accommodate our needs as a group
if you have low expectations of a great stay, and are only concerned with the room, this is probably the place...if you want anything to make you feel good, or to feel like they are trying to earn your repeat business, you will probably be discouraged
August 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sydnee I think they were overwhelmed
When I arrived to register, a gentleman sidled up to ask the desk clerk for towels, that there weren't enough. Turns out we would be in the same predicament and there were only two of us - not a family like he had. We had barely enough towels for two (no bath mat). We couldn't locate the alarm clock initially. It'd been unplugged and was behind the bed stand. The bathroom was slightly below par in terms of cleanliness and we didn't take it up with the staff - they were overwhelmed with an influx of baseball families/teams arriving right behind us. The AC was louder than other HI's we've stayed in. We tend to favor IGH hotels but this was slightly below par. I did like the signs all over to remind people of quiet hours, presumably due to the influx of excited youth/baseball folks.
July 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SKEN Staff and A/C Unit
Cleaning guy came into my room twice BEFORE 9 AM....very, very annoying!
Air conditioning unit was too loud also.
July 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bpal Disappointed with Holiday Inn Express Latham, NY
Although the staff was extremely courteous as they always are, the room I was assigned was so close to the nearby highway (directly outside my window), that I could not fall asleep. When I finally did manage to get to sleep, I was awakened well before 7 AM (my wake up call requested time) by the incredibly loud noises of grounds keeping power equipment. I can't believe that the hotel would authorize their landscaping company to make that much of a racket before 7 AM.
The room also had the poorest excuse for a desk I have ever seen. It was essentially a table which stood much higher than the tallest chair available in the room creating a very uncomfortable work environment which is extremely important to me because as I do most of my work via computer.
Sorry but extremely disappointed with my stay here.
July 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Monkey13 Not again...
My fiancé and I were unhappy with our stay at this particular location. While he showed he had to turn the water off so as not to flood the bathroom as the drain did not work properly. We notified the front desk on our way out to dinner, and luckily someone got it to drain. After we got back we had to wait a hr for extra pillows, and for someone to fix our light into the room (only the ones by the bed worked) but the poor girl (only one working that evening that we saw) asked if we minded waiting till the next day. We said that was fine as it was so late. At breakfast there were no serving utensils for the food, so everyone was using their fingers which made eating unappetizing. We ended up never getting our light fixed in our room, and left more annoyed than relaxed. So much for a relaxing birthday getaway.
We recommend the Cooperstown, NY location. It was heavenly!
July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by waldo333 Comfortable room after a long day of driving.
Nice and friendly people. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.
July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lostcode75 Clogged shower room 505
Shower was good until i looked down and realized i was showering in a growing tub of water. Not that appealing.
Everything else was fine.
July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Derek03 Non-accomodating
There were 13 families where rooms were supposed to be blocked together. Rather than keeping us all together they scattered us all over the hotel. They also weren't very accommodating with providing us with a common area. One washer and dryer in the entire hotel is ridiculous.
July 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Kgoods Thoroughly Disappointed
We have used online reservations for many years. Our son's soccer team was playing in a tournament and we IGNORED the tournament recommendation for a competing hotel and booked separately with Holiday Inn Express, since we have been loyal customers for MANY years and had stayed here last year for the tournament. We even convinced several other families to join us. Our seventeen year old son had a devastating injury in June, fracturing his tibia and was placed in a full leg cast. He was unable to play (which was terrible enough) but when we called to cancel our reservation we were told we would receive NO REFUND. That's $329.00!!! The condescending response from the Latham on site representative was insulting.So confusing- since the previous weekend- we were graciously released from our reservation from a Pennsylvania hotel with good wishes for our son's recovery.
Life happens. I cannot imagine that Holiday Inn would support a 100% no refund policy. You have lost a very loyal and supportive customer- and the impact will carry throughout our club as this story is shared.
July 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bbtravel Understaffed
We were given a quiet room upon check-in as requested. However, we noticed a large rip in the bottom sheet and I called down to the desk to get a replacement. A half hour went by and I called again. Another half hour went by and my kids went to sleep on the ripped sheet. Finally, a front desk person delivered the sheets, which we didn't bother to change at this point because the kids were asleep. The next day when we returned to the room, the beds were made but the ripped sheet was still on the bed (they obviously don't change the sheets every day). We were not given any fresh towels either. I think the hotel was short staffed and should be better equipped to provide replacement bed linens and clean towels each day.
July 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by ALBHIEx504 Quick Stay - Disappointed
A quick overnight and early rise for a flight out of ALB left me with a few options in the area. Chose HI Express because I thought it would meet at least a minimum standard of acceptability. I was disappointed.
Check-in took 15 minutes at about 6pm - peak time, not enough front desk staff to tackle the expected rush. Upgraded me to a king as a loyal customer which was nice but the front desk clerk forgot to give me the bottle of water the she offered me (didn't realize it until I got up to the room).
Room was not clean. Carpet not vacuumed. Garbage in trash can from last guest. Dirty sock on the floor!
Here is the kicker. Had it not been for my smartphone alarm clock, I never would have woken up in time to catch my early morning flight. The alarm clock in the room did not go off - unacceptable!!
All in all a very disappointing stay that did not even meet the minimum standards expected of a chain like HI Express.
July 17, 2013