• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location poor room Location of the hotel is ideal for business ad well as tourism. nevertheless rooms are not at international standards. Rooms are old and overheated. need to be renovated and the hotel should provide earplugs, especially weeks days including saturdays due to the noisy construction work around. March 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive Hotel and great service The first impression on entering the Lobby was excellent - decor, ambiance and courtesy of reception staff. The process of booking in was efficient and extremely polite, speedy and helpful. The Standard room was very clean although the furnishings were a little tired and some items were in need of attention. We were very comfortable on the three nights we spent there. We only had one meal in the hotel - The Bank Restaurant - an excellent experience! The staff were attentive, jovial and very obliging. The food was pretty good, too! The location is great for Buckingham Palace and other landmarks, and St James' Undergound Station is only about 10 minutes away. I would recommend this Hotel March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cosey and Friendly My wife and I decided to have a short break in London during what turned out to be a particularly cold week in March. On arrival the receptionist who dealt with us was friendly and welcoming. This is a very nice hotel and is easily as luxurious as some in Park Lane. The room we occupied had obviously been recently refurbished to a good standard and its cleanliness was impeccable. It was always cosily warm but not too hot. Even though our room was on the front of the hotel, it wasn't noisey and we slept well every night. The hot water could have been a little hotter. The Location is reasonably central, being just a stones throw from Buckingham Palace and yes we did see the Queen and Prince Philip who just happened to be leaving the Palace as we passed the gate one evening. All in all, we found this to be a very nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere and would not hesitate to recommend it or stay here again March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel but! I first stayed at the Crowne Plaza St James in August last year and thought I had found the best Hotel of its class in London, alas what a difference six months can make. The Hotel looks great and 99% of the staff are still some of the friendliest, most helpful and efficient in London. However our experience at breakfast on both days, directed to an upstairs room, a wait for a table and an overcrowded breakfast room, has taken some of the shine off our visit. The other disappointing thing was the nasty smell in the bathroom which was reported to the front desk but not resolved. The room itself was really nice and it is a shame that a small plumbing problem can cloud the stay at what is otherwise a superb hotel. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will come back This time we stayed in a superior renovated room which was much nicer. Spacious and clean. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. I booked three rooms at this hotel and I was very happy. So were my guests. I will most certainly recommend this hotel and I will come back again. Just one thing I was not happy about was in the hotel room guest information book it said that the Zander Bar closes at 1am. Not so it closes at 11pm. I wanted to use that particular bar when I came back with my guests after a night out in London. We had to use the hotel bar and their charges were outrageous . The hotel should do something about both of these subject. It did not alter the fact that this was a good hotel and well worth a visit. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! My wife and I loved everything about this hotel. What we liked about the hotel: -The knowledgeable staff -The bars located in hotel -The restaurants located in hotel -Close to Buckingham Palace -Close to the Tube -The nice bathroom -Big selection of free newspapers -As a platinum member, they upgraded me to the Superior Room. -Close to many places to eat. -Close to many cool English Pubs -Everyone was friendly. -Room was clean and perfect. -We were in London for the first time from the states and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. March 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in superior room My first stay 3 days ago I was given a non renovated room which was very tired looking and the carpet not very clean. For this stay I was given a renovated room which was much better and more enjoyable. Be sure to stay in a renovated room. For both stays room size was nice and spacious for London standards. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic from start to finish We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Buckingham Palace as we were attending an award ceremony there; we were extremely impressed with all aspects of our stay. While the hotel decor was great, the room comfortable and spacious and the location spot on, it was the members of staff, from all departments, who were the stars. We were an excited family party of ten who, on a high after coming back from the Palace, chatted loudly and dawdled over our pre-lunch drinks and then, having finally made it into the Bank Restaurant, took an age to choose and eat our meal. It goes without saying that we enjoyed our food, my starter and main course were superb, but the patience of the staff was faultless. Nothing appeared too much trouble and we were indulged at every turn; lunch that we started late (entirely our fault) at 2pm and went on to after 7pm in the evening was a fantastic affair. At no time were we made to feel rushed or to have outstayed our welcome. I should add that the cost, which included far too many bottles of wine, was very reasonable considering we were in central London - we really expected the whole experience to be much more expensive. I should like to add that my Mother, who is in a wheelchair, was looked after superbly at every turn, even to the extent of being provided with a blanket and pillow to keep her warm during the short taxi ride to and from the Palace. Breakfast was plentiful and nicely prepared on both days and, again, the staff took the trouble to arrange seating so that the six of us who stayed overnight could breakfast together. Overall a great couple of days made all the better by the Ladies and Gentlemen of the Crowne Plaza. Thank you. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel with excellent customer service We have recently enjoyed a fabulous stay at the St James Court Hotel. The hotel offers excellent quality and the staff are professional, friendly and effcient. Sleep quality is possibly the best we've ever experienced in a hotel. We would definately recommend the hotel to friends (we already have) and will stay there next time we visit London. Cannot praise it enough. March 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Berty Waited 15 minutes for fried egg at breakfast!!! I ordered veggie sausages and 15 minutes later I was told they were almost ready, only then to be told I needed to order them!!!! Not impressed as my friend overheard staff saying they did'nt have any. Staff elsewhere very good and room was okay although dated. March 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff really do make this place, from the moment you step out of your taxi the customer service is 100% Rooms where great and accommodated our requests. Stayed for 2 nights and had to request our room to be made up at 4pm after first night, I'm not sure if its standard to make beds etc on 2 night stay. Had lovely massage in the spa Only one small improvement was the Hamptons bar, service could be quicker. we booked afternoon tea and the day before explained an allergy with one of our party. Had to explain again twice the next day yet they still got it wrong. Of course they rectified it but this was slow. Thanks March 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely noisy After a long, sleepless 8-hr night flight from NY to LN (thanks to a crying baby nearby), plus an additional trip from Heathrow to Paddington, and then a taxi to the hotel, I was met by competent hotel staff in the lobby. I had a meeting in several hours, so I was hoping to sleep for at least an hour or two. However, there is a grammar school next to the hotel. There was about 150 young children playing football and screaming in a courtyard. And there was a construction crane operating non-stop. It was painfully noisy. The windows are extremely thin and do not reduce any noise. The breakfast restaurant was mediocre at best. The dining restaurant was quite good with excellent service. March 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, first class hotel We only spent one night, but my goodness were we impressed! Never known service like it. Excellent location, and a very comfortable luxurious hotel. March 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable, but very noisy I was unlucky enough to be given a room that overlooked the construction site and a schoolyard, so had no peace all day (I tried and failed to have a nap when we arrived), and the construction definitely started pre-8am, more like 7am. They go on about 'sleep advantage', but I only had about four hours' sleep in the end. One of my colleagues was in a different part of the hotel, but overlooking a train line, so didn't have much more luck. The staff were polite and helpful, but slow - it took over half an hour to check in our little party of six. The room was clean and comfortable, not very big, but then it was one of the cheaper ones they offer. Apart from the lobby and the prices, I wouldn't say this is a luxury hotel, more like a high-end travel lodge. However, the stay wasn't unpleasant - if you had to be up early anyway or requested a room away from the construction works, it would be fine. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would Recommend Stayed for 1 week for our Silver Wedding Anninversay. Excellent central location and close to St James / Victoria underground stations. Hotel room was spacious and very clean, staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good, but did get very busy some mornings. Looking forwards to stopping again later in the year. (when its warmer) March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfort and location The hotel is in a very central location close to Buckingham Palace. I had an excellent stay there. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were absolutely brilliant and really gave great service all round. Being part of a large group the hotel did everything they could to make us feel welcome and provide us with facilities we needed (including a nice private room just off the bar area where my party could have a few drinks before going for our meal). The staff were friendly and provided fantastic service at all times. Breakfast was lovely with a very good selection of continental breakfast options and the traditional hot English breakfast. A great hotel with great staff and I would definitely stay there again when I am next in London. March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class From the greeting at the door to the goodbye on the way out-excellent service. Hotel was very comfortable.Room was clean and bathroom immaculate. Would highly recommend due to proximity to Buckingham Palace and to Victoria for easy travel within London. March 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Free WIFI please ! Old, but cosy, I spent a good time in this hotel, except for the prohibitive price of wifi access that prevented me from reading my emails & chatting with my children left at home... quite a disappointment for my business trip ! March 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel, a very comfortable and relaxing stay This is my second stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed the second time round. Very attentive and charming staff throughout and we were so happy to be upgraded to an executive room with adjacent suite so we could be near to our teenage daughters in the next room. All the family cannot fault the service, breakfast, cleanliness or decor of the rooms. The beds were so comfortable, the quilts fresh and light. Just fantastic and made our stay in London all the more enjoyable. Am looking forward to our next stay! I hope we can come in the summer next time and enjoy sitting in the courtyard. Also a great location, you can walk to most of the best tourist attractions, shops and restaurants. February 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High Quality and Good Value Welcoming and well trained staff, stylish and comfortable room, easy access by bus, train or foot to most of the wonders of London what more could you want ? February 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location - Horrible room I have previously stayed at this hotel (aprox 3 months ago) for business purposes. On that occasion I was allocated a lovely room hence my decision to stay again for my own purposes. The room allocated to me on this occasion can only be described as dismal. The carpet was badly stained, the curtains ripped, and the general decor tatty. As I was only staying one night, I could have put up with this but when sitting on the bed, I discovered that the mattress was clearly very old, every single (saggy) spring could be felt beneath the bedding and quite frankly it was obvious that the room itself had not been renovated in a very long time. I did complain and I was moved to a better room but my visit was soured by the fact that a hotel of this calibre and reputation could ever have felt it was acceptable to allocate such a room to a guest. This hotel is a 4 star establishment and the communal areas reflect this (very nice) but surely, any room allocated (regardless of whether the hotel is currently renovating them) should be up to a certain standard for the price paid?. I do not think I will be using this hotel again mainly because they feel it is acceptable to charge 4 star prices and then allocate a room which I would hesitate to give 1 star given its price range. My opinion is that ANY room given to a guest should meet a minimum standard and this room most certainly did not. February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer Service The Crowne Plaza at St James must be noted particularly for its great customer service and attention to detail. I was thrilled to receive my own birthday greeting in the room - which was immaculate by the way. The waiter ( I wish I could remember his name) also quite unexpectedly got the chef to whizz up a complimentary pudding. Lovely smiley people at every stage of the visit. February 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely lovely! We arrived late, and were made to feel very welcome: the service really was fantastic, and it was lovely to hear a live pianist. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean and we had a most enjoyable stay. We were made to feel very special, and the atmosphere, decor etc were fab. Would definitely recommend! February 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent front service and housekeeping staff Although the hotel facilities, especially the rooms, are not up to par, the professional demeanor and helpful attitudes of the staff was excellent. All guest requests were immediately attended to, and I believe the staff were genuinely interested in our comfort. Keep up this standard, since it is hard to achieve, and is rare even in Four Seasons level hotels. February 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Tired room doesn't warrant 4* Booked this Hotel for its location and "supposedly" 4* rating for my Wife's birthday. Room was tired and windows were very drafty due to window latch broken! which would probably gain a 2* rating, to top it off there was no hot water due to a boiler breakdown. We moved rooms upon complaint and new room was better and more modern which probably was 4*, during the night however the water pipes started to make a right 'din' probably due to air being trapped in the pipes from the earlier debacle. However, my main issue is that when people book thinking they are getting 4* quality on various websites (Late-rooms) how come the Hotel can fob off the customer with sub-standard rooms? Surely 4* means 4* ......happy to discuss! February 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by avoid during renovation looked forward to staying here and know was a special hotel and had planned a pre valentine weekend. was aware hotel was being refurbished. we arrived early afternoon and was advised we would have to wait at least an hour to see if a refurbished room was ready , we decided to take old rooom as was advised that they were prefectly acceptable. The room we had smelled very musty, over looked a building site and was so far from reception that ht epromised newspaper did not arrive the following morning - presumeably too far for staff to walk - in the a,m there was no hot water we were advised this affected the whole hotel as they had a problem with the air con in the early hours all in all very poor value - and very disappointed February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay Very friendly and welcoming hotel. Efficiently run and very caring staff. The room was excellent and catered for every need. Would wholeheartedly recommend a stay. Only there for one night but will definitely use this hotel again. The breakfast was fantastic. February 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience - will be back soon Very good hotel with keen and willing staff. First night was less comfortable because of hard pillows but we asked to change them for softer, feather ones. This was done immediately the next day and sleep quality improved. Lovely room, spacious and quiet. Impressive offering of TV channels, going beyond the standard offering you normally get elsewhere. Only room related niggle would be the lack of 13 amp electric sockets in suitable places and UHT milk. Saturday morning breakfast was very busy with staff working hard but too many tables left uncleared for too long whilst guests waited to be seated. Otherwise, a very good stay, staff in general were very attentive and anticipated our needs which is always a good sign. Would definately stay again. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wi-fi This is the 10th year that my wife and I have stayed at this Hotel. We find it much to our liking, with an excellent concierge, staff, ambiance, service and food. However, we were displeased that you are charging 9.99 pounds per day for the use of the internet in the room. In this day and age of mobile computer devices, not to have free wi-fi for your guests is unthinkable and does not match your competition. We suggest that this charge be eliminated as soon as possible. February 10, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading