• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay too short! We booked a room for one night as we were going to a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. We arrived in the late afternoon and had the lovely surprise on our arrival of being offered an upgrade for our room. The room was very comfortable - only one small negative point was that there were 2 twin beds although we'd asked for a kingsize bed. We helped ourselves to drinks from the minibar (reasonably priced) before going out. As we got back to the hotel late we only had a few hours' sleep but the beds were very comfortable and the special scent a nice touch! Breakfast was also very good. It's just a shame we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the hotel facilities (piano bar, restaurant) but perhaps next time! October 23, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Shabby wing of hotel low level poor standard room When i booked your hotel I requested a high level room with a view I got a room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard . When I queried the second floor room I was told that that was all that was available in that category ( which I have never heard of before) The bathroom had no power socket so my wife could not dry her hair before a mirror. The corridor leading to the room was very shabby October 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good sleep We stayed here for a weekend. It is close to a tube station so you can easily access anywhere. Walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Our room was comfortable and quiet, slept well. It seemed busy around the reception area but still had a calm feel not frantic as some places can be. Would stay again without hesitation. October 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay but sweet We had a lay over on our way to Portugal. The helpfulness in using our walking time to see the sights was so appreciated. When we would return to the hotel, they achknowledged us and that was very pleasant. The cocktail waitress served the best Long Island Tea that I have ever had! October 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious and clean room, comfortable bed, friendly service As soon as we arrived in our room we heard and saw the building site outside with six heavy plant vehicles, however it was interesting to watch and it all stopped at five pm. We guessed correctly it would begin again at 8am the next morning but we were ok with that. However when we arrived back tired from our tour of art galleries at 4.30pm I wanted a soak in the bath and my husband wanted to relax with the paper and the TV. But the industrial hammer hammered away until 5.45pm by which time we were pretty fed up. It was a pity because the hotel, was comfortable, welcoming and in easy walking distance of the main sites and art galleries. October 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab wkend breakaway Hotel was beautiful,room was excellent and food in hotel was great and good value.Well located close to central london,only 10 mins walk 2 the city and around the corner from Liz's house!!Hotel staff were excellent and very accomodating,partic household staff who supplied us with a few essentials we had forgotten!Room was cleaned really well each day and all staff were very friendly,the only downside was that the coffee machine wasturned of at midnight and we culdnt get a coffee in the bar when we returned from our night out!! October 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EWverything great I have no problem in recommending this hotel. Wherever I go, one of the first things I check, is the sealant around the bath and sink. On many occasions, this item is dirty, grey or sometinmes black!!!!! No problem at all here. Bed was great, food and service fine. The one blemish on our stay, is the building site in opeartion from 8am, to 6pm, every day. The hammers on the diggers were loud and incessant. Maybe they are only heard from the back rooms, and whether the hotel fills rooms up from the front, leaving the back rooms to last. Anyway, I'll be staying here again, no problem. Good location for visiting the tourist sites. October 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience + Very friendly staff, great location, couple of minutes walk to tube station. Very nice rooms - no free wifi,10GPB for 24hours is ridiculous October 14, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed We very rarely take the time to complete hotel reviews but on this occasion feel it necessary. We arrived at the St James Crowne Plaza Hotel at around 2am on Saturday 6th October after a delayed flight and difficult journey from Jersey. Wet and cold after a walk from Victoria Station in the rain and extremely tired, we were told by the gentleman on reception that no room had been allocated for us despite the fact that we had made a non refundable booking over a month ago. Unapologetic and unsympathetic to our situation, it took a conversation lasting over 20 minutes and various paperwork until we were finally found a room. We were told reluctantly that the hotel had had to give us an upgrade to find us a double bed that evening (the alternative being single beds and a room change the next morning). The room was on the fourth floor down seemingly endless corridors. Desperate to wash and get into bed, we headed for the bathroom to find a wobbly tap, barely attached to the sink. The room itself was dated which was particularly surprising given that we'd just been told we'd been given an upgrade. Living in Jersey, we frequently travel to London to visit friends and family. We have stayed in many impressive 4 and 5 star hotels in the capital and would certainly not recommend the St James Crowne Plaza. October 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by superb excellent stay. took a while to get checked in and bags delivered to room. Other than that was fantastic. October 13, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Freindly staff From the arrival to departure staff members responded to my needs, and performers excellent. The hotel atmosphere is genuine and pleasent. October 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another awsome stay! The Crowne Plaza London St. James is undoubtedly our favorite place to stay in London. The staff are knowledgeable, kind and always helpful and as an Ambassador member the upgrade we received (to a huge suite) was much appreciated following a long trans-Atlantic flight. We will definitely be back! October 11, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and well managed Well operated with great staff. Competent assistance and exceptional housekeeping added to an enjoyable stay. Only problem was an upper window that was open to the courtyard below allowing noise into the room. Did not think any windows were open for the first nights, then discovered it. October 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely comfortable room. Bed excellent We were very happy with our time at the hotel. Excellent service, the staff couldn't do enough. Would thoroughly recommend Crowne Plaza and will stay there again. October 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! This is the second time we have stayed at the London-St.James Crowne Plaza. We chose to return to the Crowne Plaza because we were so happy and comfortable on our first visit. The location is so convenient for walking to Buckingham Palace, St. James Park, The Mews, Trafalgar Square, Parliament, Big Ben and the Underground. This trip we had reserved a standard double room. It was newly renovated and very nice, but I was unhappy with the size of the room, too small, and how far it was from the elevator. If we were staying for only one night, it would have been fine, but we were staying for six nights We were also traveling with friends and were on different floors. After seeing the room, we returned to the front desk and explained that we would like a larger room, preferably on the same floor as our friends. The guest staff could not have been nicer, especially Javier. Our room was upgraded, just a few doors from our friends and much closer to the elevator. I truly appreciate the care and concern that was shown to us. October 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with a great location! Great hotel with a great location. Very near (walking distance...5-10 minutes) to Buckingham Palace, Westminister Abbey, and Houses of Parliament. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and clean and everyone makes you feel welcome and like a million bucks. The hotel also served food late at night which really comes in handy because most of the restaurants stop serving food and close by 10 p.m. October 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Comfortable hotel in good location. Short walk to Buckingham Palace & other tourist attractions. Tube nearby. Pleasant attentive staff. Loved the courtyard. We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Arrived at hotel after 3.30pm where I was greeted as a Platinum Member but informed that our room wasn't ready. Room (423) was not serviced till after 4pm on next two days.Not convenient when we were meeting our daughter who was also staying in hotel & we had reservations made.When I reported this to Duty Manager on reception on second day she couldn't have been more helpful & rectified situation after we had waited in reception for 40 minutes. Overall had a great stay & hope to return. October 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay at Crowne Plaza St James As in the past we enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel. We received the room location requested but we were upgraded to a larger room which we were very happy with. The breakfast provided at the Crowne Plaza St James is one of the best I've experienced. Plenty of food choices backed up by excellent service. Only negative this time with the breakfast food on offer is that it appears the fresh berries have been dropped. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating. We had an issue on the first night with cigarette smoke from an adjacent room on what was supposed to be a non-smoking floor. We contacted the front desk and within five minutes they had security check the rooms nearby. I've travelled extensively worldwide in the past ten years and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel as a travel experience that never disappoints. October 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super comfortable bed, loved the sleep aromatherapy treats in the room! I was traveling with my daughter and father from Canada on business and leisure. We had two rooms that were both great and the service was fast and very friendly. We all felt very welcome in the hotel and the internet service allowed me to work freely as well. We found the food to be wonderful and also enjoyed the restaurants associated and close to the hotel. Amazing location to walk everywhere! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone! Thank you! September 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel and will not be the last, excellent staff, great rooms and excellent value. September 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great choice Looking for a luxury room in central London with easy access to tourist attractions - then this is the place for you. In addition to a lovely room and comfortable bed, the bar and bar staff were exceptional. I recommend the house speciality cocktail and martini. September 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent example of English High Class Service I have been here a number of times on business and pleasure. The service and facilities are always top class and the staff make everyone feel special. There are many cheaper hotels in the capital but they all lack the quality factor that the Crowne Plaza provides every time. I especially like the Bistro 51 restaurant at breakfast. It's a great way to start the day feeling comfortable and well looked after which sets things up for the remainder. If you are in London give it a try if it's within your budget. You will remember it for a long time. September 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Location excellent,Hotel is of a very high standard with the staff exceptionally helpful and professional September 26, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay but no PC recognition I've stayed here many times. Both business and leisure (theatre trips). As a long time Platinum Elite member and regular visitor I was disappointed not to be "recognised" or offered a room upgrade (or alternative if none available). Perhaps I've just got used to having my membership level recognised and so when it wasn't I was disappointed. The hotel is both convenient to work offices and easily within reach of places I regularly visit in London. September 24, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room for improvement The room was not ready at the stated time. I had two wait two hours before I could check-in. The staff were very appologetic. I did receive a complimentary hot beverage whilst I waited. The decor on the interior outside the rooms (downstairs in the lobby) is much more grand than the hallways that lead up to the room. I received a free upgrade from the most basic room to the middle room but it still looked rather standard to me. The rooms are dated. I did however note that rooms were being refurbished, im just sad I did not get a refurbished room. The food is top class, although I did not eat in any of the restaurants they all looked top quality. The staff are very attentive and would do anything for you. Check-out displeased me the most. Although it was made very easy with express check-out I do not appreciate staff members banging on the door at 11:50 ushering us out of the room. Totally inappropriate and unnecessary. I have never encountered that at any hotel before. Overall it was an average nights stay, in an average room, in a grand looking hotel (from the lobby). September 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant We really enjoyed our stay with you while visiting London. The staff -front desk, bell hop, doormen, housekeeping and concierge were very helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was tasty with a nice selection of items. The hostess and servers were very pleasant. We found the location very convenient to everything. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer! September 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant room - good value at discounted rate Conveniently situated and good quality hotel. The trainee receptionist was pleasant, if a little scripted. The room was fairly spacious but was about as far away from Reception as it was possible to get, and some of the signage to find your way back to Reception is confusing. Hotel workers were noisy outside from about 0630. Complimentary bottled water was welcome. Shame you have to pay for wi-fi in the room, though. September 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Spa in quiet location In spite of being so near-by two underground stations (St James's 5 min walk and Victoria 10min walk), this hotel offers enough comfort and quiet for a full relaxation weekend. I was able to book at a great low rate for the weekend, I assumed because it is when everyone goes home from a working week. The deco in the hotel is a it dated, and internally is a bit of a maze. The personnel (reception, concierges, restaurants) was amazingly courteous and helpful. The breakfast and the food on the internal yard were great. The spa is not really big but I had it all for myself, a steam room, a sauna, the treatment (thank you Wallika!) and relaxation room offered me a great weekend! Definitely, this hotel is on my list of must-do-again. September 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I picked the hotel as it was close to the Palace for the planned visit and it's minutes away from the underground on a direct line to Kew Gardens which was our other planned visit. The room wasn't ready on arrival but they arranged a drink for us while we waited which you don't get in some other places. The room overlooked the courtyard which made it quiet for sleeping, it was a reasonable size for London, clean and bright. The breakfast could set you up for the day and the pastries are the best I've tasted at a hotel breakfast. So overall it wasn't cheap but then it was London so I thought it was good value and would happily stay again. September 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Great service! stayed 3 nights during August 2012. Room could probably do with redecoration but contained everything needed and bed was exceptionally comfortable and location (at rear) was quiet. Housekeeping excellent - very clean and tidy everywhere. Public areas of the hotel elegantly decorated. Nice touch was the fruit flavoured iced water dispensers in the lobby - very welcome when returning from a day's sightseeing. Dined from the bar menu and at Bistro 51 and food was excellent on both occasions, there was also a good choice of fruit, cereals, and cooked items for breakfast. Pianist in bar/lobby in evenings added to the ambience. Location could not be better for sightseeing, particularly on foot. Buckingham Palace at end of street and an easy walk to Westminster/Whitehall/Thames /Victoria Station. All members of staff encountered were pleasant and helpful. Particularly on our returning to collect our luggage the day of our departure, when we had got caught in a thunderstorm and were drenched, staff arranged for us to get showered and changed before leaving to catch our flight. September 2, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading