• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel We had a very comfortable stay here. Location very convenient to Penn Station and many attractions. Would stay again. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Space in Midtown Manhattan After a frustrating search for a convenient and reasonable place to stay in Manhattan for ourselves and our two adult children and their significant others, we decided to try the Holiday Inn on 31st Street based on positive reviews online. We booked three rooms and were not disappointed. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of midtown and even the theater district, and just two blocks from the subway at Penn Station. The neighborhood is busy but fun, with plenty of excellent restaurants and stores nearby. The hotel itself has a small but attractive, clean, modern-looking lobby, and a restaurant where we had a fine breakfast one morning. Room service is available. The rooms are sparkling clean and spacious for a New York City hotel. Even the bathroom is roomy. The bed was very comfortable, and the hot water and water pressure in the shower were excellent. The rooms were also generally quiet--just some occasional, typical ambient hotel sounds from the hallways, and everyone slept well. The in-room microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in two of our three rooms came in very handy, as did the in-room safe. All staff--front desk and housekeeping--were friendly and helpful. We requested and got rooms close to one another and on higher floors. We were also able to delay check-out for all three rooms, and the hotel stored some of our bags while we were out for the day. Our only criticism is that the wifi, while free, was extremely slow. We therefore mainly used our phones on LTE. We mentioned this on check-out, and hope the hotel will look into boosting the wifi signal/capacity. Also, we'd suggest that the hotel routinely provide more towels in the bathrooms--although we were easily able to get additional towels when we requested them. Overall, a great experience and a great value in New York City. We will be back! P.S. The view from the rooftop lounge is amazing! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really great value! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location. Perfectly fine, comfortable room. Bathrooms have been beautifully re-done and are larger than many hotels in NYC. The lobby is small but who cares. Staff was very responsive to needs and questions. I would definitely stay there again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lisa and Team in restaurant Great job helping me on short notice get set up and execute a sales meeting. Service was great, all conditions were terrific. Thanks again, Tom April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Holiday Inn! The Holiday Inn is a great alternative to the large hotels in Times Square as it's has a better value and still provides great service and first class accommodations (this Holiday Inn is a lot nicer than the Crowne Plaza Times Square). Although the rooms are a bit small, they are tastefully decorated and the bathroom felt like a spa. I'd definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the city. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Weekend I have just returned from a quick trip to the city for a wedding. I booked directly through the hotel over the phone and from that point to my check out the experience was fantastic. I reserved a standard room and upon my arrival I was told that I had been upgraded to a suite. When I got to my room and drew the curtain I discovered a picture perfect view of the Empire State Building. The staff was exceptional, particularly in helping me navigate the subway, giving me directions to everywhere I needed to go. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and look forward to visiting them again. April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Visited New York to attend niece's wedding, stayed at the hotel for two nights. Location was excellent, room is on the smaller side but adequate. Staff were courteous and friendly. Breakfast at the restaurant was great. Will definitely recommend this hotel. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Problem resolved quickly Person in next room started a party at 11pm. I called front desk and within a few minutes the noise stopped and the party people left. I was then able to sleep and wake refreshed. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay at this property This is at least the 3rd time I have stayed at this property. Service and comfort are consistent. Staff is welcoming and room is comfortable. Always a positive experience. Perfect location for my business needs as well. For this stay, front staff did not recognize me as Platinum which is not a big deal, but did provide a nice ugrade to the executive suite when I asked. I should not have had to do this. Apparently my Platinum status was not showing on the check in screen. Housekeeping on 18th floor - no shampoo in shower and light burnt out immediately over sink. Minor inconvenience that I mentioned at checkout as it was too late in the evening to fix issue (my choice not to seek "fix"...not hotel staff). I will definitely stay again and recommend to anyone traveling to this area. April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience of location, comfortable stay Location of the hotel is quite convenient for business as well as leisure point of view, big shopping malls are also in close proximity. Overall its a nice hotel, front desk staff was always helpful & friendly, this hotel can be recommended for future stay. Breakfast menu was not very great with less choices but OK, maybe, it should also offer Buffet breakfast as many of other Holiday Inn hotels offer. Room was sufficient & comfortable, street where it is located is also quite & nice, despite of being in the middle of Manhattan. April 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast only This has been my usual place to stay in NY, but I was disappointed this time. The restaurant was open for breakfast -- and the food was very good as usual -- but no restaurant in the evenings and the bar was closed. I never really understood why. This was during the major New York Textiles Market - with lots of people from the industry in the hotel - but no luck when you wanted to catch a quick dinner. So, I think I'm going to find another place when I go to New York. Too bad, because Brenda at breakfast in the morning was one of the best servers I've ever found. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value in mid-town NYC I stayed in this hotel for the first time, having stayed in three other hotels in the area in the last few years of similar price range. The Holiday Inn was the best experience of all four hotels and also the best value. The rooms are small-ish, but very clean and very practicable. The staff are very friendly, very approachable and very helpful. The location is about as convenient as it gets, right in the middle of Manhattan and very close to Penn Station with its connections to JFK and Newark airports. I will definitely stay here again if there is availability. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Service The hotel is in the perfect location, nothing is too far away. Most places are $5.00 dollar cab ride away and public transportation is very close. The staff is great and provided outstanding service. This hotel will be my first choice when staying in New York City. March 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, not value Not a good option for a business stay, as the internet did not work reliably. The rooms are very dark & the air is too dry to sleep comfortably. I moved to the intercontinental for only a slightly higher rate. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not least expensive Very good property if u can book in advance before price goes up March 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room / Hot Water Slow Room and ammenaties were great. Ice only in the basement was not practical with a room on the 12th floor. The water takes a long time to heat up in the morning. Not sure what the bar open times are. It seems to always be closed. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great property I stay at this hotel just about every week. Excellent location, great rooms and friendly staff. If you're taking train into Penn St and need a place to stay....this is it!!! Thanks, Dan March 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent except for internet If not for poor internet service and the night staff's inability to fix it, I would have given this Holiday Inn 5 stars! I would recommend this Holiday Inn for its comfortable accommodations but if you have any serious work to do, better have your own wifi! March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised I booked a room at this Priority Club/IHG location mainly due to location and an unbelievable price. Upon arriving, I was a bit dubious: the surrounding streets are nothing pretty or particularly interesting. But inside I discovered an amazingly quiet, upscale, clean oasis. The night before, I stayed at a similar property, but found Midtown 31st Street's furnishings to be far superior. Great (but small) bath, totally comfortable bed and, again, quiet as a mouse! Had a very minor issue with the TV channels, but no big deal. With easy access to Penn Station and midtown activities, I would definitely stay here again. February 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Comfortable This was my third time at this location and I will come back again . Very clean room and comfortable bed. Friendly service. The location is convenient with reduced garage rates around the corner.. February 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, terrible food service Nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of Manhattan. One of the worst breakfast experiences I've ever had in NY. Should just shut the restaurant down. Hotel and food and beverage managers generally disinterested in the situation, which was terrible and disinterested service, mistaken orders, overcharging, lack of knowledge about their own menu, little communication ("Oh, by the way, we can't make the oatmeal you ordered 20 minutes ago and the other food order has been sitting under a food lamp for the last 15 minutes"), visible finger prints and marks on the toast etc. Bleccchhhhh. February 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service Lacking Facilities were adequate, staff was less than helpful: I requested a late checkout as I was a priority club platinum member. Her response was that they have a lot of platinum members. Left my phone in the cab upon arrival, the staff at the desk refused to call my phone for me and suggested I ask another guest in the lobby. February 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Please uptrain your Check in staff Lets forget that the obnoxious guy who checked me in did not acknowledge me as a priority member and didn't offer me any upgrade. as soon as i check in and he pulls up my information he got the nerve to loud enough for everyone to hear that "he wish is rent was this low of a rate im paying", i did not ask him what i paid nor do i want others in my business like that, Please up train this guy before he does this to someone with some serious connections in the media and you guys will be in the news in a bad way the room is very small but nice, you should put a smaller desk in those rooms so the chair will not be so close to the desk, but before you do that UPTRAIN that guy who checked me in, He attitude shows he does not care about his job. Side note: i did not visit the restaurant due to the fact i didn't want to take the chance of your other staff being the same way so i ate out during my stay there, so some lost of business to your restaurant since i ate out with family every night there. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and central location I was very happy with our stay, for a budget style hotel this was very clean neat and tidy. Unfortunately the hotel location was not in the gps and unknown to our cab driver from Newark airport so it took a little longer to reach than anticipated and $90US was given to our cabbie. The hotel was very neat and tidy from the outside and check in was quick and easy. Our room was small but hey! we only needed somewhere to sleep and shower, The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and near new.I highly recomended this hotel for location as well, it was easy to walk into times square and walk to a great bar down the street O'Riellys Pub. Well done to the friendly welcoming reception staff too. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely Surprised I was very surprised when I read reviews on how small NY hotel rooms were. When we got to the Holiday Inn, I was nicely surprised that this was not the case. There was four of us and the room was fine. It had a safe, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was good size but there was hardly any counter space around the sink to put things. We took a train from New Jersey to New York as we were told that it was a lot easier then driving a car into the CIty. We got off underneath Madison Square Garden and it was a short walk with luggage to the hotel. We had a pretty nice view of the street and Empire State Building on the 6th floor. It was only 2 blocks away which was great as we had plans to go there. I am so glad we had that side of the hotel. The first night, we also walked to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and Grand Central Station. The second day we went to Empire and then walked up 5th Avenue to Central Park. My point is the hotel is within walking distance to all points. There is a lot of walking, however in NYC it was a lot fun so you didn't notice the walk so much. It was also very very cold, so in warmer wether I'm sure its a lot easier walking also. The only complaint is the internet service is very slow. Also we came back to the hotel on Sunday night at 9:20pm and we were hungry. We went to the restaurant only to find it closed when the book in the room said it was open till 10:00pm. All-inAll it was a great place to stay and a great location. I would definitely stay there again. January 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best experience "For a week in NY we booked this hotel based on all the positive reviews here and on IHG.com I have to say that we were not happy. I am a Platinum member of IHG and as such entitled to an upgrade of rooms. We were 3 persons, and I expected to be upgraded. However upon check in we were assigned the room we booked. (Of course normally you can´t expect anything else) We were told that upgrade were subject to availability, I can understand this for a Holiday Inn with not that many opportunities to upgrade. I asked to be put on a list for upgrade when available, and was promised this. After 2 days, we decided that the room was too small for 3 persons, so we told the hotel that we wished to check out. We were told it would mean an early departure penalty of 250,- USD. And that all of a sudden we could be upgraded immediately. So to save the penalty, we decided to stay. And moved to a larger room the following day. Left with a feeling that they were just trying to avoid giving us the upgrade, that I am actually entitled to. Breakfast was also a bad experience. Since we were 3 persons and the room only included 2 for breakfast we were told that we could just use 3 vouchers each day, and then pay for breakfast for the last days. We did so, the first days. Anyway strange breakfast arrangement. Not too good, and if you dared to ask for a second glass of juice, you were presented with a bill. Anyway, on the 4th day, it was a new waiter serving us, and all of a sudden we could not use our vouchers, since the dates were not correct...... This was the drop, so we checked out 10 min´s later. I haven´t mentioned smaller things, like no water replacement. Difficulties getting beddings for the sleeping sofa etc. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn´s, and am normally satisfied with this, but not in this case. I have to say that esp the front desk manager at night was a very nice and service minded guy though." January 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip to NYC Great value for short business trip to NYC. Comfortable, clean and well designed room considering the location. Recommend this hotel for business trips to down or mid town NYC. January 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! The location of the hotel is ideal for 5th Avenue, Broadway and Times Square. Our room actually overlooked the Empire State Building which was a great bonus. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and rooms were comfortable, clean and great value. We'll certainly be staying at the Holiday Inn on 31st Street on our next trip to NYC January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Korea Town Overall my stay was ok. The only big disappointment was that there was no fridge or microwave. But I guess I should have inquire about it. I was not as please with the wireless internet but did not end up staying that long to make a complaint. I was also bothered that the heavier curtains did not close all the way. Again not a long enough stay to complain. The room is small but is expected in NY. Also the sheets had holes but nothing that deemed a complaint. Again I really didnt stay much inside the hotel room. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property and location in midtown NYC Confortable hotel with good breakfast but small roms; very well located and a walking distance from 5th Av and subway. It offers free Wireless internet. January 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading