• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: ORLANDO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Universal’s Islands of Adventure®
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Universal CityWalk®
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Universal Orlando® Resort
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Universal Studios Florida®
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:224
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking in hotel lot for guests

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:196
  • Total number of suites:40
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:132
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel near Universal Studios®

As an official Universal Orlando® Hotel Partner, we offer an unbeatable stay for your next Orlando vacation! Walking distance from Universal Studios® Florida, Universal’s Islands of Adventure® and Universal CityWalk®, with a free hot breakfast buffet daily and free WiFi, our hotel combines a dependable Holiday Inn Express stay with the jaw dropping excitement of Orlando. Choose from a
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel near Universal Studios®

As an official Universal Orlando® Hotel Partner, we offer an unbeatable stay for your next Orlando vacation! Walking distance from Universal Studios® Florida, Universal’s Islands of Adventure® and Universal CityWalk®, with a free hot breakfast buffet daily and free WiFi, our hotel combines a dependable Holiday Inn Express stay with the jaw dropping excitement of Orlando. Choose from a spacious suite, a king or a double queen room while enjoying proximity to other popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World® Resort, SeaWorld® Orlando and Aquatica. Just a few minutes off International Drive, explore the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Orlando Premium Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away and our hotel is only 15 minutes from downtown Orlando.

Business travelers will also appreciate the location of our hotel just 10 minutes from Orlando Convention Center. Spacious work desks in every room, a Business Center, Fitness Center, and indoor pool will make sure your work and health don’t skip a beat.

Book a reservation today and enjoy great Universal Orlando hotel deals and rates at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nearest Universal Orlando.

Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in.

View Less
Features
Enjoy free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel to help you stay connected to friends, family and coworkers. Workout in our Fitness Center, then relax in our outdoor pool. Free breakfast is served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 279 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE EVERY TIME I have stayed on several occasions and the staff and atmosphere is always the same EXCELLENT !!! May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special Needs Group Travel Very Helpful and Courteous Staff. Nice clean comfortable atmosphere. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed for a Wedding To preface my comments below, we stayed at the hotel for a wedding and did not have a personal vehicle during our stay, so we were at the hotel nearly the entire time: - food delivery in both the restaurant and room service was superbly slow - the quality of the food was not very good at all - wait staff at the restaurant was under-staffed and slow to respond to tables - the shuttle service was nearly non-existent (not even sure why they say they have one) - on a positive note, the staff was very friendly and helpful May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Long lines for check-in. Took approx. 45 minutes. 1 employee seemed to know what she was doing. The other seemed rattled & walked away twice w/o giving a reason. I overheard him saying the cleaning staff was running behind & people were waiting for rooms to be cleaned. Unacceptable. Check in time was 4pm & this was close to 5pm. We were upgraded to a king suite. This did nothing for our situation as there was only 1 bed so I had to sleep on the couch. No extra blanket in the room & only 1single serve packet for coffee in the morning. Also no creamer- powder or otherwise. We went to the bar/restaurant for dinner. The woman behind the bar was very nice but we waited forever for our food. She apologized repeatedly. We picked this hotel thinking it was above average & offered a shuttle to the Amway Center. Extremely disappointed that several areas of service were very understaffed making our stay less than pleasant. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff The staff were so friendly and helpful. The bar tender on Friday evening was so nice to let me have a drink and move about the hotel. On Saturday morning there was some confusion about getting breakfast and when one of the staff saw the problem he immediately helped out. It was really very nice and all ended well. You have the most cooperative and polite staff ensuring each guest is looked after. Never been more looked after. Simply a most enjoyable experience. I look forward to my next trip to Orlando and the Crown Plaza! May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Adam at the Front Desk and the waiter at the breakfast buffet made my stay. When I arrived I did not feel very welcomed. My boss paid for my room and expenses and the gentleman at the front desk did not help me immediately. I was waiting for at least 15 minutes beofre everything was cleared up. I just came back from training that lasted 9 hours and was very tired.The first room that they put me in had an A/C unit that as frozen over. The front Desk sent engineering and Adam promptly moved me to a nicer room, apologized, and gave me 2 vouchers for a free breakfast buffet. It was a very nie gesture. Minus the firt impression, everything was ok. New room was very nice and I appeciated the buffet. My stay in Orlando was for certification training. All in all, a good experience. May 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Hotel I stayed at this location for two days. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. We did have a problem when we got to our room. The safe wasn't working. They moved our room immediately. I thought the room was clean and comfortable. I used the gym which was very small and unfortunately, I saw guest using equipment but not cleaning them so I do hope the staff does. The one thing that surprised me each morning was how dirty the outside area by the pool was. Glasses, ashtrays and cups were all over the tables outside and were not cleaned first thing in the morning. When we went outside to have coffee, the table were a mess. I saw a worker clean them around 9:00 a.m. This should be done after an event or first thing in the morning before guests use this area. The service in the dining area was good. They have complementary coffee in the rooms but if you purchase coffee downstairs it is high for the cup they offer. Complimentary coffee would be a nice touch. We had a lot of noise on the Saturday night we stayed. At 1 a.m. we called security because guests were slamming doors and screaming and out of control in the hallway. They finally quieted down around 2 a.m. It stared again around 3:30 a.m. I did mention it to the staff when we checked out. She was very pleasant and said she would add points to our account since we had a rough night. They were aware of it. She certainly handled it as a professional should. I have not gotten an email yet nor have I seen what she promised. I will give it a few days. I am staying at another location in a few weeks and again in September so I hope that the other locations keep their outside areas clean. May 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to be Updated The only thing my family enjoyed was the pillows, Other then that, the paint was chipping off the walls,the self parking was terrible, the gate didn't open without going to get someone to fix it, Keep your doors locked! Bad area! People begging for change outside. No amenities, Pictures were better then what it really was. I don't reccomend this place. staff was just ok April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Visitor This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel and both times have been great. The rooms are nice, don't smell, and look rather new. I honestly did NOT expect them to be so nice inside the first night I stayed there. The exterior of the building gives the interior no justice. Pros: Clean, friendly staff, decent little bar, nice rooms with nice features (couch, sink, etc.) Cons: The outside of the building looks old (hence the 3 star value) and you don't really expect the inside of the rooms to be as great as they are. You have to pay for parking. Also, there is only one ice machine on the 2nd floor... which is not that big a deal. I guess I'm just being lazy and picky. lol. Would I recommend? Yes! Will I be staying here the next time I'm in Orlando? Yes! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I did have a most comfortable bed and the front desk and restaurant service was second to none! You were recommended to me by The Rawls Group and I was most pleased to learn about you since their suggestion made for a most pleasant and comfortable two nights. March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good Choice Right off I-4 in downtown Orlando. Not really within walking distance of any dining or shopping though. Hotel is not new but seems to be well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Ask for a room at the end of the floor, farthest from the elevators, they are much bigger than the rest of the rooms. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Everyone on the staff was helpful and, friendly. Room was clean. My only complaint was that one morning the lobby restroom was in absolutely terrible condition -- paper towels overflowing and on floor; no toilet paper, dirty toilets and toilet paper on floor. I notified the front desk and assume it was taken care of, but did not check. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Review My stay was for five nights and booked well in advance, however, thought the hotel was overpriced for a couple of the nights during my stay. My room was facing the I-4 interstate so it was difficult to get good rest. Hotel is located in a less than desirable part of town. Parking was $15 per day, which shouldn't be a charge at all for guest of the hotel. Hotel restaurant was over priced...$8 for a pint of Guinness is ridiculous. Staff was very friendly and courteous. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Room very clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was very professional and courteous. I feel that parking should not have cost extra but other than that everything was great! March 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, front desk service was not great The hotel offered a great experience for me and my husband who were in town for a conference. The room and entire hotel was very clean and always smelled fresh and clean everywhere we went. Our only problem was select employee(s) who did not have good customer service skills or communication skills. These issues were dealt with with the proper manager and our problems were set right. the hotel is right in the middle of a bad part of town, but the gated parking lot offers good safety and you can drive past the bad part of town to a downtown area with a nice park. March 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Okay a stay My reservation was for a full week while I attended meetings in the Orlando Area. The hotel was nice but nothing special. As a Gold Elite Member of IHG I have stayed at many Crown Plaza locations. One evening when returning to the room after being in meetings till 9pm I returned to find my room still hadn't been cleaned. I called the front desk and they sent up clean towels and coffee. The restaurant needs a complete overhaul. The one evening I stayed in to have dinner I ordered the ribeye steak. The first one I sent back since it was overcooked. I ordered medium rare and it was well done. the second one was overcooked as well but it was at least medium. I was to tired and hungry to wait for another one. After two bites I realized it was a sirloin and not a ribeye so I told the waitress. The chef came out and gave me an excuse that they cut their own so it would look a little different. I have been in the food business for over 20 years and know quite well the different cuts of steak. The chef should have stayed in the kitchen. The only good thing about this location is it is close the highway. other than that I may find another hotel to stay at when I return this fall. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location but..... Rooms are not well isolated and one can hear the highway 24hours in a day. Elevators are outdated and slow. Rooms are dated and nice. Staff at the front desk is fine for Orlando and dealing with tourist but not with business guys. Still a very good location. March 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unclean Bathroom and Dead Zone for Most Food Delivery When searched on GPS using the address, I was look for an entrance off Colonial. The entrance is actually on Hughey. Got to my room just to drop off my belongings and headed out to a business meeting and to meet up with an old colleague. Came back to my room and found that the bathroom was not cleaned but the towels replaced. The location is alright as it is in the Downtown area, but when I tried to call food establishments near the hotel, they would not deliver. Hence, the location is a dead zone for most food delivery. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Mallory at the front desk was very helpful and suggested a great restaurant also the shuttle service was top notch March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great king suite but a few reservations I loved my room. The bed was comfy, the room was huge and very clean. Only draw backs... I had two balconies in the living room and the bedroom that the doors would not open on. Very frustrating not to be able to open these. No light blocking curtains so the room gets bright when the sun comes up. The hotel is also next to nothing. Nothing is walkable to from there without passing through some scetch neighborhoods. Also parking is not free. I don't have scar and they still charged me. The fitness center lacks a bit to be desired. The treadmills were all broken. The food in the restaurant is good but very slow and it is the only place for a bite to eat. I liked the hotel and what they have done with it overall. I would stay there again. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom dirty upon arrival; clothes in the room trash can Crowne Plaza – Downtown Orlando 02.25.14 – 02.27.14 Feb 23, 2014, Travel agent called Crowne Plaza-Downtown Orlando to extend my stay by one day. Hotel told the agent the hotel was ‘over sold’, however, the online hotel reservations was showing availability. I asked the agent to extend online and call the hotel to join my reservations and ask for the same rate (vs paying $40+ more for the extra day). They would not join the reservations and informed her that I would need to check in the first day, check out the second day and check back in. This was very inconvenient because I was in Orlando for a convention. Feb 25, 2014, checked into Crowne Plaza – Downtown Orlando at approximately 9:30-10pm. Arrived to the room to find that the room was not completely cleaned. There was used soap and hair in the shower. Also, a man’s tank shirt in the trash can in the room. Feb 26, 2014, When I returned the same night, I asked to have ‘regular’ coffee, for the room coffee pot, sent up to my room. The staff brought up decaf only. Housekeeping at Crowne Plaza – Orlando Downtown is disappointing. March 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by weekend I and A group of friends stayed here last week and everything was very good. We would definitely stay again!! February 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good not great We RESERVED a 2 bed room but when we got to the hotel they told us they were all booked and they had a 1 bed with a pull out couch. This is not what we reserved and we did not receive any sort discount or compensation. Other than that the room was nice. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service. My stay happened to fall during a busy concert weekend and although I was disappointed that I wasn't able to get into the room earlier than the 4pm check-in I didn't mind waiting the 15-20 minutes they said it would take to get my room ready. My patience and relaxed attitude was rewarded with a voucher for a free buffet breakfast for 2. Not bad, especially since the room was ready in under 10 minutes. Thanks Mallory at the front desk! Once in the room, it was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that there was a sink and microwave but no fridge. So I can heat up restaurant leftovers but can't keep them for later? Bummer. I also read in advance that the rooms didn't keep out hallway sound, which was true. But I was traveling with a toddler so I was more worried about him making too much noise to care. The bellman and valet guys were also super nice and friendly, Smiling! opening my doors (why do some valets NOT do that?# making sure I had directions and helping with my bags. Overall, the customer service and nice beds made up for the mediocre breakfast buffet #I don't like oatmeal), lack of fridge and noisy halls. Mallory also got me a 1pm check-out which was heavenly to not have to rush my toddler's nap. Kudos to the employees at the Crowne! January 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, friendly housekeeping, but slow service During my stay over two days I would rate the hotel as average. I called prior to my arrival to add a name to the reservation. During the time that they sent me a new confirmation email, my room type was changed. I called back to have this fixed and was told that no one was able to help me at this time and to call back. I called back and was transferred around, but eventually the issue was resolved. While on the phone I asked if there was a possibility of an early check in. I was told they were unsure, but to call the day of check in around 11-12. No one seemed to have an answer for the room mistake or an answer to any question I had. A few days later I was almost done with my 7 hour drive to the hotel. I was told there was no early check in, but the room would be ready at the regular "3 o'clock check-in". I arrived at 3:10 pm and then was told that check in wasn't normally until 4. I work in the hospitality industry, and understand that people make mistakes and perhaps I was given the wrong information. However, I felt that the woman at the front desk had an attitude when I was trying to explain to her what I was told. She was very quick to let me know that the early check in is first come first serve. However, I do find it strange that when I called before I arrived I was told that this was not an option. The desk made no effort to ask to hold my bags, or even give me friendly service at that rate. The housekeeping staff was very friendly! They were all very polite and the room was well kept. I had a chance to also get breakfast as well as some drinks over my weekend here. The breakfast was ordered right before closing time. I along with another guest ordered bagels, croissants, 1 coffee and a breakfast sandwich. We paid and waited for about 20 minutes. After waiting about 30 minutes for something that I could imagine should only take about 10-15, we asked how much longer. We were given an attitude at this point as well and told it should be another 30 minutes. We went back to the room because the staff offered to call and let us know when it was ready. At this point I was not even offered the coffee that I ordered which was in a container sitting on the table ready to be poured into a cup. The food took another 20 minutes before the staff called to say they were out of the croissants and we were given extra bagels instead. When I got my breakfast sandwich it was cold. It was also topped with scrambled eggs (old from the buffet) while the menu described it as a fried egg. All together a few cold bagels and breakfast sandwiches took over an hour and were not even fresh when they arrived. I have stayed at many crowne plaza hotels before, and this was the worst service I have received. The location, price, and room were all positives for the hotel. January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I stayed here on business and was very disappointed with my experience. I was reassured at check-in that my company card would be charged and my personal debit card would only be held for incidentals. NEVER was an authorization document mentioned. My personal card was charged the full amount. I have since faxed, emailed, and called Austin many times without a response. Two weeks later I'm still at square one. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'll be back The staff at this hotel was awesome. I have a food allergy and the Chef did a great job of making food for me that was safe to eat. I really enjoyed the pool. It was too cold to swim but it was really relaxing to sit outside. January 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, poor noise management . I have stayed at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas, and Denver..wonderful stays! This one was a disappointment. We drove in from Naples for a Dr.'s appointment so that we would be rested and able to take our time before the appointment. The room was fantastic, great beds, pillows that I liked so much I ordered them for home, the room was spotless and roomy...so what was the problem you ask? There is an expressway that runs beside the hotel- it sounded like it was running right through the room! Not a bit of sleep was had this night...there is no excuse for the lack of seals around the doors to the balcony which would probably help that immensely. There was literally a breeze coming through the top and bottom of the door, on what was a chilly night in Florida. You made this a very nice place to stay, but you didn't make it a great place to sleep. It would take pennies to place weather seals or insulation around the doors to make them more sound proof. January 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but loud I travel for work regularly and this is possibly the noisiest hotel I have stayed at in a long time. I could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room above me, like clockwork on the hour I was awaken by creaking and furniture been moved across the room. Awful. That was one side of the hotel. The other side of the hotel was very close to the freeway so you could hear the traffic from the freeway exit (honking and loud trucks). Not well designed to deal with noise issues. To add insult to injury I was there during a week when the weather was very cold and for the first day and a half of meetings at the meeting rooms it was so cold that 14 of the 15 people in the room were wearing winter jackets while sitting in meetings. The hotel staff told us they had the heat on but it felt as if we were sitting in 45 degree weather. No fun. On the positive, the staff is very pleasant, the hotel is clean, and although the gym is tiny it’s well equipped with everything you need for a workout. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY!!! I booked two rooms next to each other, one a King suite, the other 2 Queens. I can't say enough positive things about the cleanliness of the room, and friendly staff. We will always stay at The Crowne Plaza in Orlando!! Go HEAT!! January 9, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Our Hotel Near Universal Studios
Our Hotel Near Universal Studios
Select to close.
Our Hotel Near Universal Studios The front desk at our Universal Orlando hotel is open 24/7 Relax in one of the various seating options in our lobby Welcome to our Universal Orlando hotel lobby!
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading