Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Cleanliness of Room 222 I was very disappointed in this particular room 222 upon my arrival . There was old rotten food in fridge and remaining items left in room from previous guest. The food in fridge was from guest long before my arrival which was disappointing. I was comped. for one day due to the inconvenience but in my years of holiday inn stays . Have I ever experienced in adequate cleaning. I had 3 rooms total for my stay this is just my review for the first room. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Escape al Paraiso Esta vez tuve el privilegio d volverme a sentir como en casa desde mi llegada hasta mi salida me trataron de maravilla gracias a "TODO EL PERSONAL" DEL HOLIDAY IN EXPRESS RIO GRANDE March 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Staff was exceptional and enjoyed every aspect of stay. March 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rio Grande City not my favorite place to stay The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, at least to my high standards. . The suites had good clean working frigs and microwaves. There were a few issues that could be easily fix. 1. The manager, Ernesto Aguilar, was not very personal. He did not acknowledge people who walked into the lobby. He was all business. 2. Not at the fault of the hotel, but there were a lot of parties and activities in the rooms around me. In the 3 weeks I was there I may have had 4 -5 night of restful sleep. 3. I was awaken by several times by the night shift staff outside my window talking loudly on the phone, and to other people, and in one case playing loud music. 4. I wanted to use the workout room, but there wasn't any privacy. The weight machine faces a large window in the hallway. If these issues are addressed I would recommend this hotel, but ask for an upper room facing away from the front. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service We were in Rio for a family funeral. The young lady who was in charge of the front desk (Jessica, I believe) was awesome. Very attentive and willing to help. Would stay here just to be treated to her friendly smile & great service! February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Descanso Placentero En las estancias que he tenido en el Holiday Inn Express he podido descansar de maravilla, a mis amigos les comento que llego a mi casa en Rio Grande. porque asi me siento estando en el Holiday Inn Express Rio Grande Gracias February 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review pillows too soft, bed not as comfortable as other times at this same hotel, staff very friendly and accommodating. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and clean rooms Had a great stay. 100% recommended. Friendly staff at reception desk. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thumbs up Excellent rooms for very affordable prices. They have a very friendly staff. Very good experience. I will be visiting. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Enjoyed My Stay!!! I really enjoyed my stay at the Rio Grande City location. Great Staff, Clean, no noise. super fast check in, and no need to check out... November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place but no Wifi This is a great place to stay in Rio Grande City, but I was not able to get the work done I needed to and couldn't check my email because the WiFi connection was terrible. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion The hotel was more than I expected after reading some of the reviews. I must say that people have a different idea of what a hotel should be. I had no problems, food was very good, room was clean, and staff that I met was very hospitable. Keep up the good work. will return some day when in the area. November 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not very happy The mattress on one of the beds was not firm and you could feel the springs. We were not offered water bottles like at the other Holiday Inn Express hotels. October 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by below par for a Holiday Inn Express The property is slowly falling below the standards that I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed here 3 times and because of the small size of this town there aren't many choices. This time the room was comfortable (thankfully). These are the problems I found: 1. The side door which was right by our room was broke and wouldn't unlock with a key. The staff did not bother to put up a sign to let guest know it was broke, so all night we heard people attempting to open it. When I notified the staff the door was broke I got the response "yeah we know". Evidently, it's been broke for a while because someone set a rock outside the door in order to keep it open. 2. the swimming pool needed cleaning - the walls of the pool were green 3. the filtering system of the pool wasn't circulating out of the fountain on the side of the pool 4. there were no pool towels set out 5. the pool door lock doesn't work 6. the breakfast eggs weren't tasty September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent breakfast problems on drainage of bathroom in room, very very slow, it was reported but say no maintenance on weekend! appart from that very good September 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by MY STAY IN RIO GRANDE CITY The check in attendant was in another world he didn't listen to me put the wrong address for my home. I told him I forgot my priority card and he said he would fix it, which he didn't. The room rug was thread bear, worn out and sticking up plus it was dirty or so it felt on my bear feet. Next there was no telephone working in my room as the connection had no wires in it.. I had no wifi or internet as the attendant gave me nothing with the password on it I was not going down 3 floors to tell them this.I received nothing for checking in with priority club such as water popcorn or M&Ms NOTHING. The breakfast was poor the sausage was awful tasteless and total geese. Pancakes well how do they work? no sugarless syrup. when I checked out the girl attendant seemed to know the phone didn't work in my room!! She gave me $20,00 off for these reasons May 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay GREAT STAFF CLean rooms fast check in fast check out56 May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and great staff I have stayed at the Hotel before ad always had great eperiences. I will continue to stay here everytime I visit. However the bed was alot harder than I remember. Thankfully I only stayed one night or else my back would be hurting. Also, had trouble finding out how to turn on the shower. After a while with messing with it I found out that you have to pull the ring thats under the spout where the water comes out. Wish it had an easier way to turn on the shower. Other than a hard bed and a confusing shower I enjoyed my stay. Would reccomend it for its service, cleaniness and affordability. April 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel bad employees. No recognition of priority club member's. Previous staff was more experienced and provided better customer service. I have stayed here before but never had i had something stolen from me. I checked out in the morning, but when i was leaving my room i dropped my glasses. I had my hands full so i thought I'll get them when i return for the rest of my stuff. I took some stuff to my car and checked out while i was downstairs. I came back up stairs and got my the rest of my stuff. and got in my car and left. Then after about an hour i realized my sunglasses were missing. I remembered that i had dropped them and forgot to get them from the room. I was still in the immediate area and decided to go back. I entered and asked for the manager and he gave me a copy of my room key. I went upstairs and it was apparent that someone had gone in the room. Well i looked around and couldnt see them where i had dropped them. I was kinda in a hurry and did not want to bother the cleaning ladies, so i spoke to the manager and asked him to please inquire about my sunglasses. He said "OK" and that's it. Did not even bother to ask for my name. I had to stand there in silence starring at him and hoping that he had enough common sense to ask for a name and phone number. So... I finally blurted out my name and told him my phone number and he looked for a pen and scribbled it on a notepad that he had. 1 week later i still had not received the call so i picked uo the phone and called the front desk clerk, who's named i remebered because it the same as mine, and asked him about my glasses. when he finally remembered who i was he said that he had not had anything turned in to him. I informed him that i knew my glasses were in that room, when i left and stated to him that at least now i know what type of establishment they were running. As far as reporting this incident to his superiors, I think he really did not even care. If not I know i would have received a call from the managere or the customer service for holiday inn express. Oh well, i guess in part it was my fault for not waiting around to talk to the cleaning lady. But I would have expected better from this national chain of hotels. SO CONSUMER BEWARE IF YOU STAY HERE DONT LEAVE ANYTHING BEHIND CAUSE IT MIGHT NOT GET RETURNED. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Quite As Good As Past Stays I have been staying at this location since it opened in 2007. I stay here multiple times a year for business. This last stay was not quite up to what I have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. The staff person that I checked in with on the evening of my arrival was not friendly, did not greet me and made no mention of me being a priority club member. When I asked about the WiFi password she acted like I was bothering her. When I got into my room on the 3rd floor at the end of the hall. I found the WiFi signal was very faint or non-existent most of the time. I could not use my business laptop at all and barely able to use it on my iPhone. It seems to me like the management has gotten a little complacent in recent years at this location. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfast and safe Rooms are average. No flat screen. There was a huge red stain on the carpet in my room. Staff was courteous and friendly. I stayed one night. It was comfortable and safe. February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Excellent customer service from all the staff. The manager is is very attentive. Any issues are addresses immediately. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service! I travel alot during the year and I'm usually happy just to get a room that has clean sheets and a clean bathroom. But, when I go to South Texas I always look forward to staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Rio Grande because I know I can count on a warm and welcoming greeting from the staff and of course a great room. December 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and quiet. Staff service was excellent. My stay was very convenient, priced right, and the service was excellent. November 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific place! I enjoyed my stay here. Everything was top-notch and spot-on. As a Platinum member, I was upgraded to a nice suite- I appriciated that and that means I will be back each month. If a site upgrades me, it means they actually notice me. I will then notice and remember them as I plan my schedule for the next month. A good move on their part! This location was up to standareds in all regards. I loved the big fish tank in the lobby! Very cool- I have never seen any HIEX in the country that has one! Price was great and Rio Grande City is quite nice. Usually I go on down to Misson- from now on, I will stay in RGC. November 14, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old and Tired This one is not up to normal Holiday Inn Express standards. Dirty, DUSTY, room was worn out. Front desk was not friendly, not rude. Said they do not give out items to PC members. October 28, 2012
<<prev2