• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Punjabi

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking equipped with 24 security cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy
View More

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy General Hospital and the US Coast Guard are also nearby. Our professional amenities include more than 3,000 square feet of event space and an on-site business center.

Sacramento boasts activities that the entire family can enjoy. You can go shopping at Arden Fair Mall or test the rides at Raging Waters. As you soak up the California sun, you can hone your golf game at Cherry Island or Haggin Oaks golf courses. While you're in the area, remember to check the schedule at Cal Expo, or visit Casino Royale to enjoy a fabulous night of dining and gaming. Sacramento's energetic downtown is just a few miles away, as well.

We provide great amenities and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Sacramento, CA, start your day with our complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and spend the afternoon at the outdoor pool. We also provide a shuttle to Sacramento International Airport (SMF) by appointment.

View Less
Features
Sacramento loves our hotel's modern event facilities, which boasts two meeting rooms, totaling over 3,000 sq ft that can accommodate up to 280 people. Free Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment are available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 291 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Location Good Hotek I've been staying here about 4 times a year for the last 3 years. The location is amazing next to the Capital Plaza and walking distance from Old Town Sacramento is what makes the Holiday Inn amazing. The location is also a bad thing when it comes to night activity but hey its part of the package of staying in an area such as this. The staff is excellent its my favorite thing about this facility, when you stay at a hotel you want clean rooms and a friendly staff and you get both here. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff What a great staff you have!!! Starting with Jasmine at the front desk to your staff in the restaurant. To the closing checkout and your valet. Everyone to a t was above and beyong expectations!!! Thank you . Jasmine shared her IPhone power cord with me to use to charge my IPad. Way above the call of duty. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff and Great Value All of the above is true, but I don't want word to get out, because it's already difficult to get a reservation at this popular conveniently located spot. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed, great sleep, awesome customer service At my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capitol Plaza I received excellent customer service. The staff were very professional, courteous and friendly. The mattress was extremely comfortable. Where do you but your mattresses from. I'm serious! I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Sacramento Mary February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, solid experience This hotel is very convenient and provides good value compared to other centrally located hotels. I have stayed here many times before but not within the last year or so. It is a good hotel and I recommend it often. My main areas of improvement would be noise - as ever traffic on I-5 starts early, better sound insulation on windows would really help. The second is the bar menu - its is very limited. Not much to choose from except burgers and fried/high calorie appetizers. There are salads but what a bout a simple baked chicken or grilled fish with veggies. Travel is tough enough - more healthy options please that go beyond salads. February 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay For the past 14 years our group used the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza for our annual youth conference, this says a lot about the facility and staff. Five star service all the way February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised! I had to stay downtown in Sacramento and grudgingly stayed at this property. It had some not so great reviews, so my expectations weren't all that high. However, I have to say, I was very, very surprised at this property. It was clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. My room was quiet and comfortable. Wow! I was very pleased with my stay and I will be choosing this as my hotel in Sacramento from now on. I had a very nice burger in the bar (since I was too early for dinner) and later we had a lovely glass of wine in the bar as a nitecap. My room service breakfast arrived within minutes of my phone order. What a surprise! It was tasty and hot. I would only say the potatoes were not great but the Sacramento omelet was yummy! Great value. Great service. Wonderful room! I will definitely be coming back! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service The staff and service at this hotel is always excellent! February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Room Our room was very comfortable, clean & well decorated. The bed was comfortable. The only issue I had was that we could hear some of the noise from the upstairs bathroom. As well, the coffee I made in the room in the morning was very weak (couldn't drink it) and there was only 1 package of creamer/sweetner for only 1 cup of coffee. Overall, we really enjoyed our experience and will stay there again. January 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad, not great either. I recently stayed at the hotel for two nights on business. Overall, not a bad experience, but I would stay somewhere else next time I'm in Sacramento. Check-in was fine, but I was disapointed to learn that both the valet and self-park options came with a cost. There was nothing to indicate a parking charge when I made my reservation. I selected the self-park option because it was less expensive and I was told that I would have unlimited access to the public parking garage next door. After I completed my check-in, I was informed that I would need to get my parking ticket validated at the front desk each time I wished to exit. While this was a minor inconvenience, it seemed fine, and generally took about 10 seconds to complete on my way out the door. On the evening of Wednesday, January 8th, at approximately 6:30PM, I went to the front desk to get my parking validated. I found several people in line waiting to check in, with two people working the front desk. Knowing that parking validation took no more than 5 seconds, I approach the desk and was told by Linda that I would need to wait. I could see that she was helping another customer and I did not want to intrude. I waited approximately 10 minutes while she completed the check-in process for the other guest. When she was done with that person, I once again approached the counter. She then pointed to the line and informed me that I would need to wait until everyone else had been helped. I quickly did the math and determined that I would need to wait in line for another 40 minutes so that she would stamp my parking card. No thank you! I returned to my car and paid my own way out of the public garage. I'm all for playing by the rules, but the situation was not reasonable in this case. My need to have my parking validated was an imposition placed on me by the hotel, an imposition I was paying for as well. I was litterally paying for the privalage to stand in line. Over the past year, I've found myself traveling to nearly every major city in the US. I've patronized Holiday Inn Hotels repeatedly, and generally found their accomodations and staff great all around. However, this hotel was the exception to that rule. The next time I'm in Sacramento, someone else will be getting my business. January 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience (Jan 2014) As usual, everything from check in to check out was good, but I do have a few issues I'd like to bring up. Bathroom drainage - it seems the past few times I've visited, there are increased issues of bathroom drainage. The bath tub always seems to suffer from a slow, if not stopped up drain. My visit before actually had my entire bathroom slowly flooded overnight. I woke the next morning to trickling water and a flooded floor. Drink coupons - As an IHG (base?# member, why only one drink coupon for the entire stay instead of one per night? And what happened to the coffee coupon? State Room Tax exemption - Travelling for a County #State) agency, why must I wait until check out to have my room charges adjusted? The form should be filled out at check in so there will be no need to stand in line at check out to get it adjusted. It defeats the purpose of the trouble-free, speedy check out. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice job My compliments to the General Manager and the entire staff for a job well done. Keep up the good work and you'll be my home away from home. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location The hotel was a smooth experience from check in to checkout. good food and location January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great New Years Venue The only negative was dinner during the main fireworks show in old town. A earlier start for dinner would have made dinner relaxing and less rushed to enjoy the events. January 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's Eve party lukewarm Loved everything about the New Year's Eve party package except the actual "party"...poor choice of band...very little "danceable" music for those of us under 55 yrs...my guests and I were bored and, like many others in the ballroom, we left well before midnight. My first event at a venue that I have been told for several years is the best choice in the area turned out to be just ho hum. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room We signed on for a package for new Year 2013 Celebration, it was really a good deal. The foods are good, clean room and friendly staff. We are looking forward for a good package this year. Happy New Year.to all of you. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location and Reasonable Value Room Service We lucked upon this hotel on the IHG web sight, and found it to be very convenient to visiting Old Twon Sacramento. It is by far the closest to both shopping and sightseeing, all by foot. As for room service, it was not only prompt, but was actually very reasonably priced for room service. And the quntities were quite generious. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Problem Fixed There were a few problems with our room. With a simple conversation with the manager, Mary, things were made right and then some. We later, upon our return, found bottled water, and soft drinks compliments of the house. To take it to the next level, Mary personally delivered a cheese platter and again apologized for the way we found the room. In this day and age, where we empty our shopping carts, bag our own groceries, bus our own table and provide our own customer service, Mary made us believe again in excellent customer service. This hotel is located close to some of the best restaurants and shopping in Sacramento. We look forward to visiting Sacramento and the Holiday Inn, Downtown again and we hope Mary is still there making everyone's stay as good as ours was. DB January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Decaf in a long time This HI has good central location, standard HI comfort, all good. But I had breakfast in the restaurant and the Decaf was either the cheapest you can buy or diluted with too much water. A good cup of coffee in the AM makes for a good start of the day, this one made the most memorable lousy Decaf! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay Last minute we decided to stay at a hotel to avoid family conflict. This property was perfect. Check-in was pleasant. Front desk and valet service were very pleasant. Location was exactly what we were looking. Many things in walking distance. Rate was great which included a fabulous breakfast for two. Room was well maintained and very clean. Up to date decor and very spacious. I have paid triple for lesser kept rooms The Christmas decorations made it fun. We participated in voting for best staff Christmas gingerbread village display. I wonder who won? I highly recommend. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Exceptional staff The staff makes this hotel. Yes it's convenient location but it's the caring, smiling staff that makes the difference. Thank you Armando, Erandi, Jodie, Stephanie, Brittney and Jordan for making our stay a memory we will never forget! December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay...once again! For the last several years the company I work with holds our annual Christmas party and company training at the Holiday Inn on Capitol Plaza. Seems like each year just gets better and better. The room was very comfortable and the food supplied throughout the entire function was perfect. I could not have been more pleased and am looking forward to my next trip to Sacramento and staying with you! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Very happy with my stay recently. Staff were excellent, very atentative and knowledgeable. This is my second time staying here and highly recommend this hotel. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property overall From check in to check out we really enjoyed our stay. Location was great since our event was walking distance to the Railroad Museum. Staff was knowledgable and helpful which is nice. Many times employees are not aware of the surrounding areas of their hotels. Our valet person even cleaned off our windows before we drove away. This is definitely a place we will return to. December 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I Have Stayed As you can tell from my member status I stay at Holiday Inns almost on a weekly basis. I have stayed in some outstanding properties with world class service and I have stayed in some average properties. This property I would have to add a different category and tops the list at the worst Holiday Inn that i have ever stayed at. Here is a list of issues that i see woith this holiday inn. 1. My room was fairly clean, how ever, I just got in from a long trip 8 hrs approximately. Wanted to sit in the tub (though extremely shallow) and just relax. I turned the water on and at the same time the shower came on and could not turn it off completely. Had a constant trickiling stream the whole time I was in tub. While I was relaxing in the hot tub, and enjoying the almost a steady streak of cold water at the foot of the tub, I could not help notice the back of the toilet. It looked as though it had not been cleaned and there were runs of dried urine on the porcelain fixture where it went into the wall. I notified desk but i doubt it was taken care of. When I sat down at work desk located in the room, the chair at that placve was practiclly on the ground. When i called they sent someone up told me how to raise it (insulting my intelligence). So I told him to raise it; the chair would not raise so he promptly removed the chair from my room and replaced it with the next rooms chair then placed the defective chair into the room he took out of my room with. 2. I eat dinner that night at the lounge. I ordered the vesgetable wram and the calamari. The calimari was so greasy, I had to remove the breading and eat the meat alone. 3. I called for a wake up call but did not receive the call the next morning 4. I went to the breakfast buffet. It lloked to be a nice selection. Every flip pan (2 or 4 of them) was broken and would not stay up. There was one that stayed up but while I was dipping the eggs out, it slammed on my hand and bruised the back of my hand, I informed the lady at the checkout register of this issue. I told her that it appears that these pans need to be adjusted.. She told me that they had tried to adjust them but they are just worn out and cannot be adjusted. When I checked out, I informed the person at the desk of my experience. She listened and before I finished, I informed her that i did not want my room free as my company pays for it anyway and would be of no benefit to me personally so I paid full price for my room. As i said before this is the worse Hoilday Inn that i have ever stayed at. It is such a shame also because it is a beautiful building in a prime location with lots of potential. December 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't care attitude.... I had an issue with the housekeeping re-stocking my room with the same towels from the night before, when I went to tell the front desk that housekeeping had not changed my towels, the young man at the desk responded with...we willl make sure it gets done tomorrow. I then waited for him to ask me for my room number and he didnt, how are you gonna make sure to change them when you don't even know what room I'm in? There was also no apology !!!! I walked a way from the desk in amazement as to the lack of concern for their guest issue! December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Convenient Our family took a Thanksgiving trip on the train to Old Sacramento. Overall it was a great experience and the hotel was very quiet and comfortable. We were traveling with 2 grandchildren and they wanted to swim if possible. I was aware that the pool might be closed due to the time of year but decided to ask. One of the front desk clerks said no it's closed, and we didn't question it. This clerk was not friendly, and her appearance was not professional. Coming from a customer service background I pay close attention to the details and she did not present a positive first impression. Later in the day we went to look for the gym, and the pool was right next to it. Totally full of water, & in no way looked closed. My grandchildren swam in the evening for over 2 hours, and the next afternoon for an hour. One staff member brought them out extra towels. The front desk clerk never volunteered any information about the pool, that possibly it wasn't as warm as usual, etc. Her attitude, and lack of professionalism was disappointing. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and luxury Absolutely loved our visit! What could be better than a clean, comfortable, quiet room just steps away from Macy's and Starbucks! Also, a shout out to the wonderful omelet chef and wait staff at the morning buffet, just topped off the stay perfectly! Thank you so much for a wonderful place for my family! November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than the average Holiday Inn Only two questions need to be answered: Would you stay there again? - Yes Would you recommend the hotel based on your experience? - Yes Only one night but definitely a better than average Holiday Inn in every respect November 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok. Bedside lamps and tables need to have accessible outlets for electronic devices. The wifi in the room was terrible. In-room coffee and tea selection was sparse and the room decor and furniture were pretty worn. I guess I would recommend if nothing else comparable was available. Not a terrible stay but I would look for other locations first before staying here. November 24, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading