• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Really bad hotel, even worse than a motel !!! The worst hotel we ever stayed. The room is very damp. When we open the door, we can smell a very bad damp smell. There are a lot of bugs in the bathroom. And there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. I think that's why the room is so damp. When we ask the font-desk to change the room. His attitude is very bad. He said there is no room to change and he can change it tomorrow. But in the next day, he said that there is no room again. Then we asked him to get a room in another holiday inn. And he refused because they use different rate system. Finally, they don't give us any solutions. August 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need to be checked I stayed at this HI as I wanted to change from the HI Express I normally stay at down the street. The room AC was not able to cool the room properly, despite setting the unit to its lowest level of 60 degrees the unit was not able to cool the room. It also seemed the air vent in the bathroom was blowing warm air into the room. The hallway to the room was always hot. Not sure if its because the guest laundry area in the floor seemed to be venting into the hallway or what. When I opened the curtain to step into the patio there was an empty wine bottle in the bottom of the curtain that house keeping missed collecting after a previous guest stayed there. Otherwise the hotel was Ok, but next time I go to SA I may be staying at the HI Express again August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Remodelación en general El servicio , atención y confort en general son buenas, pero da ña impresión de estar descuidado en remodelación general del hotel, por lo demás es muy bueno August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but price to high Good hotel, but price to high if you consider they don't offer free breakfast. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping Terrible & Front desk Needs retraining This is my second time staying at this hotel never again will I stay here again housekeeping would not change out my sheets on bedding nor would they leave towels in my bathroom i had to constantly go to the front desk & ask for towels every night (was there for 4 nights) The front desk would say we'll deliver them to your room yea like 2hrs later. The resturant yea dont waste your time food & service terrible treated me as i didnt exist. The atmosphere is just not welcoming if you know what i mean i stayed on my reward points figured i got them so i'll use them right wrong i think since i used my reward points i was not considered a valued customer when i would ask for something at the front desk all they would always say is "not included your staying with reward points" wow all the money i spend at Holiday Inns across the state of Texas. by the way I'm still waiting on the Manager to call me back i left some shorts & my sons Nintendo DS in the room still 3 days later no phone call....Dont stay at this hotel bad representation of a Holiday Inn this should be more like a local cheap rundown hotel in my opinion. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel with super friendly staff The hotel is a clean property, inside and out. The staff is always friendly! The bedding is super comfortable! I look forward to my business trips knowing that at the end of the day I get to rest my head on those great pillows. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid this Holiday Inn if possible Dirty tub, mildew, dated room conditions and bugs. With the kids running through the halls screaming, difficult to sleep. Time for a remodel/refresh for this property. Pick another hotel in San Antonio if you can if possible. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to Stay We visited San Antonio during an extensive trip out west. This was by far the best experience we had at any hotel. We cannot say enough about how great the hotel staff helped us during our stay. EVERYTHING was great - and the price was more than reasonable. August 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dirty room very dirty room, the carpet was so dirty . The restroom was in poor condition. Did not feel safe in the hotel. It was ghetto August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bueno en general en general la estacia fue Buena, solo con el detalle de la puerta de la habitacion que no cerraba, un dia estuvimos sin agua caliente, y el internet que es muy lento, por lo demas la pasamos bien August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not such a great stay the staff was great and the restaurant was good. I had problems with the a/c unit in my room and was provided a fan to help the problem which was not that great of an idea. August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to downtown The hotel was not very updated. Carpets were old. The beds seemed very small. The room were not very cool and they never gave us enough towels. When cleaning the room they did not clean the bathroom or sweep the carpets. We had to ask for new liners for our Ice bucket. I would not recommend a stay at this Holiday Inn. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room and cold showers Two mornings in a row after sleeping horribly due to a hot room(a/c was not blowing cold enough to cool the room past 76 degrees), I woke up only to take a cold shower. I was very upset and relocated to a different hotel brand in town for the remainder of my stay in San Antonio. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my family or colleagues. August 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a place i would stay again musty smelling. a/c went out in the first room and took over an hour for the front desk to get us moved to another room and then the door was lose on the hinges in that room so we had to pick up on the door to open and close it . the gate to the pool wouldn't latch, August 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected This hotel was ok for the price. It did need some updating. We had a walkout balcony which was nice. However, there were five of us staying in the room. I thought when I booked that the room would have a foldout but it did not. The first night my daughter opted to sleep on the floor. The next night when I called for extra blankets the staff told me they would bring some up. They did not. When I called back later, they informed me that they did not have any more blankets because they had been given out to people with foldaway beds. I took that to mean they did not have any of those available either. So my daughter had no choice but to sleep on the floor our whole stay. The next night, when I called they informed me that they would bring us extra sheets but they did not bring any. The shuttle was nice but it ends at 9pm and the walk to and from the riverwalk is sketchy. Sometimes I felt that we were not safe walking back. The staff was nice and the hotel allowed us to check in early which was extremely helpful. And they do have free WIFI--you just have to call and ask for the code. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Three night stay made more pleasant by the staff, their open welcome and prompt service and attentiveness. Well located at Market Square and a hop from downtown and business as well as leisure attraction. August 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Teacher The air conditioner in our room worked properly until we went to bed. We could not get it to cool down. We also were not reminded about our free breakfast that evening or the next morning when we were checking out. We found out about that by reading copies of a previous email as we were going to our next hotel. Our stay was not a pleasant one. August 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing :( The room had wet carpet and smelled of mildew. The buffet was awful and too much money. Cold showers, not enough towels and blankets. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Travel Excellent service and very friendly staff, they were very helpful on several different times,/ Please tell them excellent job CON. A/C unit in room was blowing cool air but would never cool the room down to desired temp. July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Paid to sleep on the floor Holiday Inn poster plastered inside all of the elevators: "It is our promise to make your stay enjoyable" Refused to provide us w/ a fold out bed. Our 2 bed(full size) room could not accommodate 3 fb coaches. The management's reasoning for their refusal was due to a fire hazard, which is understandable. However, it is disappointing that the management and staff declined to acknowledge our situation, and did not even attempt to provide a compromisable solution. So I settled, called room service to provide us an extra set of bed sheets & pillows (which we received 4 hrs after our request). Thus, I spent my entire stay at The Holiday Inn sleeping on the floor. I did, though, experience the magnificent view of the spots on the carpet. July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but not worth the $ The hotel was clean and the staff was good but I would not return due to the cost of the room. It was too expensive for the small room we got. Only perk was that we had a back door going straight to the pool area. I also had a problem a couple of days before heading to San Antonio with the hotel. Apparently, the supervisor of the hotel had added 4 days to my stay and raised the price I had originally gotten the room for. I had to call and clear it up but, the person who answered the phone took care of the situation. Luckily, I always make copies of my paperwork when I set things up and had the original price they had quoted me. My sister-in-law got a suite about 10 minutes away, much larger than my room for about $50 a night less. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but... This location is great if you do not mind walking to the Riverwalk and Alamo as it is close enough, but not so close that you pay the prices for staying on the Riverwalk. It is also a short distance to Market Square, which is a nice plus for this property. However, I felt that this hotel was more about quantity than quality. The room is pretty sparse in terms of furniture (no fridge or microwave). The bathroom is relatively small, as well. The cost of the breakfast buffet seemed a bit much for how much the room already cost. This would not be my first hotel choice if I returned to San Antonio, but I certainly would not rule it out. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need a new contractor but great service! The only complaints I had about the hotel were the condition of the room. Its bathroom needed cosmetic repairs and hotter/colder water, and the balcony could use at least one chair. The bed was VERY comfortable and there were a LOT of outlets refrigerator/microwave. The hotel itself is great! The only complaint I have about the service was that I asked the shuttle driver if he could drive me to the post office about 6 blocks away (I was walking and it was 90 degrees) and he said he only went to the Riverwalk. I guess that's okay, since it wasn't on the way, but I would have waited until he could drop off the other people. This hotel is right on the bus system (but a block from the downtown trolley and a LONG block from market square) so a car isn't necessary if you don't mind walking a little. The restaurant was overpriced, but the food was great! I recommend the salmon. The hot tub could use a few more jets, but the pool and hot tub were clean :) I would definitely stay here again next time I come to San Antonio. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great Service. Staff was awsome. The only complaint I have is that the room smelled old upon our initial arrival. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Doesn't meet Expectations I stayed here mid July for business and was hoping to get a good room close to DT. We got a room DT but it was lacking a lot of what you come to expect at a Holiday Inn. If you are wanting to get a signal for internet it would be best to try the lobby, I was in the middle of the hotel and it was so slow that I just quit trying. The shuttle only runs Tues-Sat and 3-9 pm. The beds were comfy and I had no problem with that part of the room. The TV is OK but didn't really try it too much. There is not much around the hotel but it is walkable to places if you don't mind walking 3-4 blocks over to Market Square or 1 mile to River Walk, for me it was no problem but I know a lot of folks that can't make it. Parking can be an issue if there is something going on in town or on the weekend. There are more rooms than parking spaces July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent services Excellent customer care, comfortable bed, great water pressure, friendly staff! July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by will never stay here again No microwave/refrigerator and breakfast packages are not entirely free--you have to pay a little extra. Customers beware!!! July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by seguro regresamos a este hotel Todo perfecto, estuvimos felices, el hotel está muy bonito y bien ubicado, la atención exelente July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel for good price place with good service to rest after busy day, respectable rate, clean room, nice swimming pool, good sleep July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room capacity If Room could have two queen size beds it would have been more corfortable July 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Streetcar ride to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center Close to major attractions. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading