Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 161 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by “3 Years On...” Bacon and Bed-GATE put to rest” Date of stay 18-20th May 2014 Room 233 My last review of this hotel was in March 2012 and previously to that in March 2011. This review is to hopefully act as an update to my last reviews. I currently stay at this hotel about 4-5 times per year. The Holiday Inn Express at Strathclyde remains a cheaper style outer circle Glasgow hotel, with easy 20-30 min car access to the city if required, it is also situated within a few hundred meters of Scotland’s only all year round theme park and sits next to Glasgow’s rowing / boating lake which makes an ideal walk or run of an evening. (for info the lake its about a 4 mile loop) If you do choose to walk round the lake, on the right hand side there is an underpass which leads over to Hamilton (under the motorway) where there is a Cinema, Supermarket and further shopping outlets. (It’s about a 20-30 minute walk, about 2 miles) The hotel was originally owned by the Six Continents Group and was one of the first Holiday Inn Express hotels that the founding group established, it has now been sold to a franchisee (like the majority of the chain) . Over the last few years the hotel has undergone a "makeover". This has resulted in a flat screen TV renaissance in the bedrooms, replacement of the lounge and dining room furniture. The all IMPORTANT free WiFi has been granted throughout the whole hotel since my last review My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows: On arrival at the hotel the check in staff are welcoming and friendly. Check-in is simple and easy. The reception area is the typical open plan bar, breakfast and dining area which is always well kept, tidy and clean. The rooms, are of brand standard and were clean and tidy and well maintained. A number of other reviewers have complained of the softness of the beds, however I found the bed to be just the same as every other hotel in the chain with no noticeable difference. The hotel has a free car park which I have never encountered a problem with. The breakfast (complimentary) is now the typical Holiday Inn Express “part English, part continental” which is a mix of croissant and pastries and or sausage, powdered scrambled egg mix and baked beans, with toast or bread option and machine orange and coffee available. A number of reviewers have posted that bacon is noticeably missing from the breakfast options, however Holiday Inn Express do not offer bacon as part of their branded breakfast, Bacon is available in the more expensive Holiday Inn chain. The hotel does provide an evening meal service which I have not tried to date. As with most Holiday Inn Express’s they are happy to let you order food in from local takeaways (menus are available from behind the bar). Opposite the hotel is the "standardised" Tobey Carvery which is available apparently for "good food" but this review is not for that particular chain. Check-out is normally a pain free process with very helpful staff. You ask why I stay, the answer is simple, on the staffing front, as a seasoned traveller, a special mention to the following staff members, David from the breakfast team who always wears a smile and is always happy to say hello. David (who was front-of-house staff then the Food Manager and subsequently the night porter) who over the last many years has been the heart and soul of the hotel for many a weary traveller sadly was not here on my visit (come back soon David) Finally Isabella who is quite simply the nicest hotel Manager I have had the fortune to meet, so much so if I could copy her into every hotel I wash up in, I would. In summary I have sustained this review as a 4/5 for an older style looking Holiday Inn Express that has the extra special staff touch. May 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking rooms IHG needs to adopt a policy of informing customers who have a smoking room booking when the hotel they're booked into changes its smoking policy after a booking has been placed. I chose to stay at this hotel because smoking rooms were available at the time of booking. On arrival I was offered no apology or alternative accommodation at another IHG property. May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected cost Overall comfortable and convenient, not made clear that if you pay by cash on arrival you must also leave a £50 deposit (which you get back in the morning). What would happen if you didn't have it on you. This is not made clear at time of booking. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Second stay here. Comfortable room . Friendly staff who coped well with busy breakfast. Recommend. May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place easy access from motorway ample free parking Cheery helpful staff [as always] Clean room and very comfortable bed.very good relaxing breakfast. will stay there again and would recommend Holiday Inn Express May 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor breakfast Upon booking a few rooms for a family funeral was disappointed that the cooked breakfast was only beans sausage and scrambled egg will definitely not stay again May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good functional hotel We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occassions and never been disappointed. It delivers a very functional experience. The staff are always friendly and courteous. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotels. As a family, we always stay in Holiday Inns and are never disappointed. The staff are exceptionally helpful and seem very happy in the workplace so I imagine Holiday Inn must be very good employers. On our latest visit, I managed to leave a bag at the hotel and the staff sent it on with amazing efficiency (beautifully packaged) and it arrived very quickly. Thank you. All in all another great experience. April 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dreadful mattress and poor quality food On first night I was unable to sleep well due to aweful mattress. Told desk staff in the morning who told me they would put a board under the mattress to give more support. They did and second night was actually no better. I could feel the springs through matress material. Breakfast was also poor as there was only sausage(poorest quality imaginable) beans and scrambled egg (horrible) for the hot breakfast. Cereals are the best option (they are also the cheapest option for the hotel). Should have stayed in a local B&B for same price and would have been better. Good location for our visit to Glasgow and surrounding area. April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by poor range of cooked food for Breakfast Stayed here several times and will stay again, but please do something with the cooked food at breakfast, every day Sausage Beans and scrambled egg is boring by day 4. Stayed at other Holiday Inns and had more to choose April 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not to HIE Standard Not impressed by this HIE. Not greeted as a gold level member, which doesn't bother me much but it is something that IHG insist their staff do when welcoming guests to their hotels. Our room had a bed that was barely off the floor and was wobbly. It felt more like a camp bed the a decent hotel room bed. The pillows were dreadful and were virtually useless. The kettle in our room looked as old as the hills along with the tv. Rooms need updated in my opinion. The shower hardly got you wet as the pressure was awful. The drunk banging on our door at around 11.30pm woke as up and reception had to be called. In the morning the same member of staff that checked us in was on duty at reception and no mention or apology was given for the alarming interruption. Finally, we were told that after booking online and giving card payment details the hotel had not managed to take payment, which was annoying as this delayed us from continuing on a further 4 hour journey. As we have booked another HIE in England for arrival in May and this payment has already been taken, therefore being told that it is normal simply to take payment on departure appeared to simply be an excused. I doubt we'll be staying here any time soon. April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay I have stayed in various holiday inns but I must admit that the Strathclyde park has excellent staff, from reception to the cleaners in the morning at breakfast they are all very friendly and helpful. Our room was good value and cleaned spotless every day ( we stayed 4 days). We had an excellent sleep every night. Buffet breakfast was excellent considering you didn't pay extra for it. Would highly recommend. April 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stop over As usual, no problems with Holiday in Express. Very handy for travellers wishing to take a break half way through a long journey. Convenient location right on the main M74 motorway. April 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed No sleep at all- worse bed ever!!! Soft and hopeless. Should have been changed years ago April 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Service was good Room stinks towels stink don't think I will be back April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbeatable value Great service & superb value for money. Nice setting, friendly & helpful staff, clean & nice scented room, quiet & undisturbed sleep, good breakfast, fantastic price - couldn't be bettered! March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 lovely hotel Had a lovely stay here even though it was only for 1 night. Excellent staff from the minute you walk through the door to the time you checkout. Had a lovely evening meal,good nights sleep and a nice free breakfast to set you on your way.Very clean hotel and excellent location.Big thank you to all staff and keep up the great teamwork.Will definitely use again and reccomend to all. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will definitely stay again. I have stayed several times and the quality and service has been excellent. Particularly impressed by front of house staff and their helpful and positive attitude. I shall be staying there again in a few days time. Definitely would recommend. March 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't stay again Pleasant man on reception, room not very clean. Lots of noise from corridor through night resulting in poor sleep. Poor selection at breakfast and no free tables to sit at. March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access from motorway Great accommodation, breakfast, location. Only fault, and it's a personal one, is that the bed was too soft -it was very like how I imagine it to be sleeping on a water bed. One of us moved and we both swayed! Otherwise great! March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Friendly welcome from receptionist at check-in and also from staff at breakfast next morning, who also kept the breakfast room tidy and buffet well stocked and buffet area clean. Usual Holiday Inn Express experience that one expects. I have stayed at a few HIE and the sausages here were the best I've had! Although close to Motorway noise was minimal with window closed and bearable with it open - didn't stop us sleeping! Toby Carvery next door was " cheap and cheerful" on the previous night but is popular - quietened down after 8.00. Easy access into city centre - 20 minutes on a Saturday morning and I was parked in Buchanan Galleries car park . March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for Business Overnight Business stop, good for access to the M74 not far from Glasgow, Usual Holiday Inn Standard, staff good and very welcoming, Rooms average but comfortable for overnight stay. The Internet access is a little protracted but free and good. Bar a bit pricey but there s a good pub / restaurant Toby) next door . Breakfast basic but something for everyone and as it's included you do feel free to take what you want. Clientele Business based so was of a decent quality. Would stay again. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money Easy to find off the motorway, this hotel ticks all the boxes for a short stay. Comfortable bed, clean room and a decent range at breakfast. Has a Toby Carvery next door too! Only downside is the lack of sockets available in the room - I had one for the tv and another for the kettle! This made it difficult to charge my laptop, phones and e-reader so this needs improving. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and neat Hotel I have stayed there 3 time now and all times it is clean, neat and tidy February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Never disappointed. 7th + stay at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park and it never disappoints. Always a friendly welcome, always acknowledged on entry. Rooms clean, tidy and welcoming. Breakfast good and now free WiFi. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place,staff and price....fact Our stay was just great with no issues whatsoever! Will be back! February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location for various social activities hotel convenient for our purpose. visit relative with learning difficulties regularly and as journey is quite long, stay overnight to ease the travelling. Special rates help to cut down the expense of the visits. there are plenty of choices for us as vegetarians, for breakfast. Fresh orange juice could be thicker! February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kev's Trip Nicley situated for Hamilton, Tannochside onwards to Glasgow or Edinburgh, finding the hotel was easy. Checked in, polite and friendly staff on the desk, booking me in and giving me all the info for my stay. Found the room with ease, usual ameneties you find, nice bed, shower, TV, Kettle plus free Wifi. I wnet for a little walk, there is a Country park close by whihc would be good in better weather, okay for those who are fit and can go jogging. MY son was in the hotel opposite so met him for a drink and food. In the morning I wnet down for my breakfast, good choice of freashly prepeared food, enough to feed the biggest appetite. Oveall a good stay, will ertainly be stopping there again when I'm up that way. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FAB! We use this chain of hotels regularly travelling with our KICKBOXING TEAM. This one in particular we use regularly booking in on average 20people each visit. Our only grumble is the sofa bed....not quite as comfortable as we would like for a nights rest before our Tournament. Otherwise an excellent choice for our party of mixed ages. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Standard accomodation Bar prices, my goodness, 2 small bottles of Magners, 1 glass of white wine, £14.70. I'd expect silver service and crystal glasses. Breakfast is the usual fare of buffet style, not bad but not great either. Accommodation is a good standard. TV is a very limited choice of Freeview (why?) Free Wifi, how complicated can you make it. Used another local hotel, free wifi, just enter password and you are in, with this place, obtain a password (daily), log onto website, enter 4, yes four words as a password, logs you onto site, then enter your personal details. No thanks. Would I stay here again, Yes as a latter choice. January 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>