• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking available complimentary to registered hotel guests only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:128
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:59
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:128
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US
View More

Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event.

Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel.

Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, free hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel is located right in the Arizona Mills shopping center, and we are happy to offer an excellent heated outdoor pool and whirlpool area where you can relax and unwind. 42" plasma TVs are in every room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 133 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping director focused and effecient I spent two nights at the newly remodeled San Marcos Crowne Plaza in Chandler and had a great experience. My room was in tip-top shape and I really appreciated not getting needled with a lot of sometimes tricky extra expenses. On my way home I realized that I had left 2 items in the room. When I called and left a message for the housekeeper, I was called back right away and told that the items would be mailed within a day or two. The front desk clerks were also extremely professional and knowledgeable. The new remodel looks fantastic. January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rundown property with poor shuttle service I stayed at the San Marcos as part of a wedding block solely because they offered a shuttle to the wedding venue. I was disappointed in our overall stay – the hotel rooms were rundown, the layout was very confusing, and I typically don't stay at hotels where the door opens to the outside, so I wouldn't have stayed here if I knew that's how this hotel was set up. The shuttle experience was disappointing. The shuttle to the wedding left 10 minutes later than the front desk agent told us it would. The driver didn't know where the venue was and when he started texting the front desk agent while driving, I pulled up the address on my phone and gave him directions. On our way, the driver played a radio station featuring a comedian who made fun of several ethnic groups and homosexuals. Once we arrived, the driver ran over a curb. The return trip was much nicer, as the driver knew his way around and he was friendly. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay Room was newly refurbished, clean and comfortable. View from balcony was not great, but street traffic was non existent. A little cool for pool, but area looked great. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The only concern was the bedding. It was too institutionalized/commercial feeling. Not soft or homely reminder. Also, when are you going to put a fridge and microwave?? December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only one problem Our experience was wonderful except who ever was sleeping in room 170 on December 24 and 25, 2013 snored so loudly that it kept both my husband and I awake! Seriously loud and you could hear them through the outside door. We should have asked to be moved. December 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience Bathroom sink clogged up immediately, loudest stay I've ever had with people constantly banging doors and shouting throughout the stay. Took 30 min's to check in. Room service didn't verbally tell me gratuity was already included. Room smelled like a heavy dose of rubbing alcohol. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Marcos Golf Resort The overall outward appearance of the Hotel is nice. However, the staff are less than motivated. The restaurant has very poor service. In addition, there was no hot water when taking a shower. I stayed two days and both times took cold showers. And finally, the toilet was stopped up. I called maintenance and they came and supposedly took care of the problem. It was still stopped up and we were unable to flush the toilet the remainder of the time. December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Honeymoon-small king suite This is a very nice resort...after all these years. Everything was great, we had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room. The king bed was very comfortable and tons of pillows! The only thing that detracted from our stay was the tub drain. We had to take quick showers so the water did not rise too much. Also, the coffee was not very good. But the room was updated nicely, had a great HDTV, and a lot of room. I did inform the front desk and they did make me happy! Great customer service! I would come back or recommend this hotel again. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable place but cold!!! The room would not heat up at all. Set thermostat at 775 but room would not get above 68. That is my only complaint so tell your maintenance to fix thermostat in room 116!!! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A few issues, but staff made it right I stayed 2 nights for business and was really impressed by this beautiful place. Overall it was awesome, but... -The drain in the shower was terribly slow -The closet door was off its rail -The heating system was really loud I notified staff of the 3 issues above and they responded beautifully: immediately apologized, offered a free breakfast, said there wasn't much they could do about the heating system, and the next time I was in my room the first two issues were fixed. Great job. December 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 problems with room Upon arrival, the chair in the vanity area of my room was horrible. There was a considerable amount of long, dark hair stuck in the creases of the seat back. A large amount of paint had been spilled on the back of the chair, dripping down the entire seat back. It's inconceivable to me that no one noticed this chair during housekeeping. It was so disgusting, I took a picture. I called the front desk, and someone came with a different chair, but I didn't feel clean in that room the rest of my stay. Two days later, toilet wouldn't flush. Plumber was sent to our room to fix, which he did, but he left such a mess around the toilet (debris inside, dirty hand prints everywhere)...it was pretty gross. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New rooms, Great Staff Check in was easy, very nice personable young man helped us. Got to room, it was modern, clean and comfortable. During the night it got pretty cold, the thermostat didn't work. Next day went to front desk and informed them of the situation, they had a gentleman there to repair it within 15 minutes. (We ran into another couple with the same issue) turned out to be the batteries in the thermostat. Couldn't get an internet signal in the room, so I bellied up to the bar in the lobby and had great signal and drink. All-in-All it was nice. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and a lot of history! We didn't know what we were getting into when we booked the room. It was just close to were we needed to go and the web sight looked good. What a nice surprise and all that history. November 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needed early check in I needed to have an early checkin and called ahead. Told Operator would need to cancel unless could ensure early checkin. 90 percent sure no problem. 4 hour later had to take a different room so we can change and be at event, staff was rude and told hotel executives and VIP had not checked out. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by could use some extra attention The room was just remodeled so it was nice however, the "little things," could have been improved. No trash bags in the trash cans, there was broken glass in the closet, the ice machines and elevators weren't working. We ordered room service and the restaurant was so busy it took 2 hours to finally get our food #which was cold#. The staff was very friendly and you could tell they were working very hard. They needed more staff! November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Comfort !! My Family and i, stayed at this amazing place for 3 nights, and the room smells like new, everything Was shiny and clean. Golf was excellent !! The área at chandler downtown is just great. Front desk guys were very friendly. Simply put: what a great time we had, súper comfortable beds !!! Súper clean bathroom, huge Space inside the room, nice big Tv, great Service from check in to check out. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and amenities We recently (November 2013) stayed there to celebrate the wedding of our daughter. The wedding, reception and associated activities all took place at the hotel. The entire staff could not have been more professional, accomodating and friendly. The location, grounds and facilities were excellent. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel but no frigid We were in town for a wedding held at the hotel. Check in was easy but we were not given any details about the hotel, i.e. restaurants, fitness center, pool or the shopping district right down the street and that the art walk was that night. Due to the layout of the hotel, the rooms are sometimes a longer walk than normal from the elevator especially with luggage. Our room looked newly remodeled and was super clean. I was not a fan of the bed but it was a good solid bed. Probably brand new. The bathroom was clean and looked freshly updated however it appeared that the final inspection has not occurred because there was still grout and sealer that needed wiped off the tiled walls, the shower was missing some grout/caulk along the wall and tub. It also appeared that the tub and sink had not been replaced just the fixtures around them. Based on other hotel stays, we have come accustomed to having fridges in our rooms and there was not one in this room. When we inquired about a fridge we were told that it would be an additional charge each night to have one placed in the room. This was difficult for me to understand due to the fact that we were at an upper scale hotel, golf resort and the best western that we just stayed at for a lot less money had fridges standard in all the rooms. The banquet staff at the wedding was superb, they worked the wedding Saturday night and then were back the next morning for brunch. Great ladies and great service. November 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing in a room No coffee machine, no dryer, no hanger, no shower curtain, no tissue... Nothing. I suspect I was assigned to a room which is under renovation process. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in There were problems with check in with room not being ready, but staff was wonderful and did a great job of getting the problem solved. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! My husband and I were extremely pleased with our stay and love the fact it's within walking distance to restaurants and bars! When we ran into an issue with our room, they upgraded us at no charge. We will definitely stay with them again. It's a peaceful environment. November 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I never get free continental breakfast for my normal room charge. November 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not what I expected for the price This resort hotel was part of a long road trip, and while not outrageously expensive, was among the highest price I paid over staying in hotels for 12 nights. I expected something a little nicer as I had stayed in nicer hotels for less before and after this stop. There are renovations being undertook, the unit we stayed in was a bit of a walk from the parking lot, and I didn't feel that there was much offered in the way of service. I've stayed at Crown Plaza in San Antonio (very nice), and this place is not what I expected. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience The Crown Plaza proved to be an excellent location for our reunion. The facilities including pool, hospitality room and dinning room were great. Thanks for your efforts above and beyond. DWM October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Weeklong Stay I've been to this property on numerous trips from 2005-2010 for business. I've recently been reassigned to this area so this is my first trip back since 4/10. At check in I asked for a complimentary upgrade and was accommodated without question. Staff in the front lobby and restaurant were very friendly and helpful with any of my questions. The property is currently under remodel (historic buildings) for an anniversary program. At the time of my stay the activity was in full swing. They crews were respectful of the guests and made every effort to ensure the noise level was acceptable. The property is located adjacent to old town Chandler. Great food, wine, shopping and entertainment a walk or stroll away, without using your car. One of my favorite properties when traveling in the greater PHX area. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Completely disappointed - will never go again. I go every October with my friend for events in the area. We go because of the pool and the bar. Both were closed but we were offered no discount for this inconvenience, nor were we warned about it. There was a party upstairs above us and I got no sleep for two nights. I will never ever go back again. EVER! October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel is a perfect place in downtown Chandler! October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Crowne Plaza is my all time favorite place to stay when I visit Chandler. Even with the renovation going on, it is the same great place in the heart of downtown Historic Chandler where there is always something going on. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is great. There is a workout area that I haven't used yet but looks awesome also. The restaurant there serves great food. I love the Crowne Plaza and will choose this place every visit. October 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only a fair experience We should have been informed that remodeling was in process. Our room smelled strongly of paint, so much so that we both woke up with headaches. We also inquired about where the in room refrigerator was and were told it would be an extra $10 dollars to have one. Unfortunately the ice makers were also not working in our section. When we took a shower the drain was plugged and they had to come up and snake it We also had to call for the in room alarm clock . The dead bolt on the room was also not working. I believe more attention needs to be made towards customer service in this hotel. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Summary Everything perfect except the poor quality of the breakfast compared.to other Crowne l visited either in Usa or Europe. Very poor choice, no ham, no turkey, no cheese, no smoked salmon... Just basic american breakfast for a premium price. Again coared to other Crown. THis is the level of a holiday inn express. However, l should again say we really enjoed this place. We can survive without breakfast.... September 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Select to close.
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall Area Attractions Area Attractions Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mils Front Desk Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mills Sit down and relax in our hotel lobby at Arizona Mills
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading